DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an amendment/argument submitted on 02/18/2026. The applicant does not submit an Information Disclosure Statement. The applicant amends claims 1 and 4. Claims 18 and 19 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14, and 20 - 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Einecke US 2013/0190965 in view of Wong US 2013/0226344.
As per claim 1, An autonomous system, comprising:
a drive system comprising one or more motors and a drive mechanism configured to move the system through an environment; (Einecke paragraph 0052 discloses, "at least one propulsion system, like a motor 2") and (Einecke paragraph 0053 discloses, "a module 13 for motor control (i.e. control of the mower movement), which uses the output of the grass detection module 11 for issuing motor commands that for example allow the mower to avoid obstacles in its path or to navigate to a certain target, e.g. a home base for recharging the mower.") and
at least two cameras, each having a lens, wherein the at least two cameras have a combined field of view of the camera lenses that is greater than 180 degrees. (Wong paragraph 0115 teaches, "This allows the robot 100 to detect objects and/or obstacles approaching the robot 100 within at least a 180 degree. sensory field of view along the drive direction of the robot 100." And paragraph 0219 teaches, "In examples, where the viewing angle theta sub. V is less than 360 degrees, the imaging sensor 450, 450a, 450b (or components thereof) may rotate with respect to the robot body 110 to achieve a viewing angle theta sub. V of 360 degrees.") and (Wong paragraph 0183)
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose a field of view greater than 180 degrees. Wong teaches of a field of view greater than 180 degrees. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to perform in environments where obstacles may approach from different angles and blind spots.
As per claim 2, The system of Claim 1, wherein the at least two cameras are 3-D cameras. (Wong paragraph 0105 teaches, "In the example shown, the robot 100 includes a first and second imaging sensors 450a, 450b (e.g., 3D depth imaging sensors) disposed on the torso 140. Both imaging sensors 450a, 450b are arranged to have a field of view 452 along the forward drive direction F.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 3, The system of Claim 1, wherein the at least two cameras are 3-D time-of-flight cameras. (Wong paragraph 0118 teaches, "the imaging sensor 450 is a time-of-flight camera (TOF camera), which is a range imaging camera system that resolves distance based on the known speed of light, measuring the time-of-flight of a light signal between the camera and the subject for each point of the image.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 4, The system of Claim 1, wherein: one or more cameras are configured for the recognition of at least one or more of: fiducial markings, people, or one or more objects. (Wong paragraph 0188 teaches, “The robot 100 may use the imaging sensor 450 for 1) mapping, localization & navigation; 2) object detection & object avoidance (ODOA); 3) object hunting (e.g., to find a person); 4) gesture recognition (e.g., for companion robots); 5) people & face detection; 6) people tracking; 7) monitoring manipulation of objects by the robot 100; and other suitable applications for autonomous operation of the robot 100.”)
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 5, The system of Claim 4, comprising: a computing device configured to: (i) receive data from the one or more cameras, and (ii) compute a distance to the at least one or more of: fiducial markings, people, or one or more objects. (Wong paragraph 0184 teaches, "A larger number of accumulated clock pulses represents a longer TOF, and hence a greater distance between a light reflecting point on the imaged object 12 and the light source 1510. The operations further include determining 1610 a distance between the reflecting surface of the object 12 for each received light pulse reflection and optionally constructing 1612 a three- dimensional object surface. In some implementations, the operations include repeating 1614 operations 1602-1610 and optionally 1612 for tracking movement of the object 12 in the scene 10.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 6, The system of Claim 1, additionally comprising at least one modulated light source; and wherein returning light emitted by the at least one modulated light source is detected by the at least two cameras. (Einecke paragraph 0031 discloses, "Preferably, the at least two cameras are a stereo camera, wherein both are facing in the same direction in this case, preferably to the front.") and (Wong paragraph 0013 teaches, "the infrared range sensor is a structured-light three dimensional scanner, a time of flight camera, or a three-dimensional light detection and ranging sensor (e.g., Flash LIDAR). In some examples, the infrared range sensor includes one or more triangulation ranging sensors, such as position sensitive devices.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 7, The system of Claim 6, wherein phase differences between emitted light and returning light are used to calculate a distance to an object. (Wong paragraph 0184 teaches, “"A larger number of accumulated clock pulses represents a longer TOF, and hence a greater distance between a light reflecting point on the imaged object 12 and the light source 1510. The operations further include determining 1610 a distance between the reflecting surface of the object 12 for each received light pulse reflection and optionally constructing 1612 a three- dimensional object surface. In some implementations, the operations include repeating 1614 operations 1602-1610 and optionally 1612 for tracking movement of the object 12 in the scene 10.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 8, The system of Claim 1, further comprising: a navigation system to direct motion of the autonomous system through a designated environment. (Wong paragraph 0155 teaches, "The controller 500 may use the object map for navigation, obstacle detection, and obstacle avoidance. Moreover, the controller 500 may use sensory inputs from other sensors of the sensor system 400 for creating object map and/or for navigation." And paragraph 0159 teaches, "The reasoning software processes the data collected from the sensor system 400 and outputs data for making navigational decisions on where the robot 100 can move without colliding with an obstacle, for example." And paragraph 0188 teaches, "The robot 100 may use the imaging sensor 450 for 1) mapping, localization & navigation; 2) object detection & object avoidance (ODOA); 3) object hunting (e.g., to find a person); 4) gesture recognition (e.g., for companion robots); 5) people & face detection; 6) people tracking; 7) monitoring manipulation of objects by the robot 100; and other suitable applications for autonomous operation of the robot 100.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 9, The system of Claim 8, wherein the at least two cameras provide data used by the navigation system. (Wong paragraph 0155 teaches, "The controller 500 may use the object map for navigation, obstacle detection, and obstacle avoidance. Moreover, the controller 500 may use sensory inputs from other sensors of the sensor system 400 for creating object map and/or for navigation." And paragraph 0159 teaches, "The reasoning software processes the data collected from the sensor system 400 and outputs data for making navigational decisions on where the robot 100 can move without colliding with an obstacle, for example." And paragraph 0188 teaches, "The robot 100 may use the imaging sensor 450 for 1) mapping, localization & navigation; 2) object detection & object avoidance (ODOA); 3) object hunting (e.g., to find a person); 4) gesture recognition (e.g., for companion robots); 5) people & face detection; 6) people tracking; 7) monitoring manipulation of objects by the robot 100; and other suitable applications for autonomous operation of the robot 100.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 10, The system of Claim 9, wherein the data provided by the at least two cameras is matched to a location in a pre-stored electronic map. (Einecke paragraph 0031 discloses, "Preferably, the at least two cameras are a stereo camera, wherein both are facing in the same direction in this case, preferably to the front.") and (Wong paragraph 0013 teaches, "the infrared range sensor is a structured-light three dimensional scanner, a time of flight camera, or a three- dimensional light detection and ranging sensor (e.g., Flash LIDAR). In some examples, the infrared range sensor includes one or more triangulation ranging sensors, such as position sensitive devices.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 11, The system of Claim 9, wherein the data provided by the cameras is used to construct a navigation map for use by the system as it moves through a designated environment. (Wong paragraph 0155 teaches, "The controller 500 may use the object map for navigation, obstacle detection, and obstacle avoidance. Moreover, the controller 500 may use sensory inputs from other sensors of the sensor system 400 for creating object map and/or for navigation." And paragraph 0159 teaches, "The reasoning software processes the data collected from the sensor system 400 and outputs data for making navigational decisions on where the robot 100 can move without colliding with an obstacle, for example." And paragraph 0188 teaches, "The robot 100 may use the imaging sensor 450 for 1) mapping, localization & navigation; 2) object detection & object avoidance (ODOA); 3) object hunting (e.g., to find a person); 4) gesture recognition (e.g., for companion robots); 5) people & face detection; 6) people tracking; 7) monitoring manipulation of objects by the robot 100; and other suitable applications for autonomous operation of the robot 100.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose 3-D cameras. Wong teaches of using 3-S cameras. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 12, The system of Claim 8, additionally comprising:
a chassis; (Einecke paragraph 0002 discloses, "Autonomous or robotic mowers, e.g. lawn mowers, are an increasing market. Such mowers typically mow a lawn autonomously in a random brute-force fashion cutting only small pieces of grass in every run. It is inherent these machines have a chassis, the claim features does not specify a specific chassis material or construction design.) and (Wong paragraph 0095 teaches, "the base 120 may include a base chassis 122 that supports a base body")
a power source attached to the chassis; (Einecke paragraph 0052 discloses, "at least one propulsion system, like a motor 2")
a computing device attached to the chassis; (Einecke paragraph 0053 discloses, "a module 13 for motor control (i.e. control of the mower movement), which uses the output of the grass detection module 11 for issuing motor commands that for example allow the mower to avoid obstacles in its path or to navigate to a certain target, e.g. a home base for recharging the mower.") and
a coupling attachment for a first additional accessory, comprising a connector for providing electrical power from the power source to the first additional accessory; (Einecke paragraph 0003 discloses, "an onboard energy reservoir to power the drive unit, at least one sensor and a computing unit functionally connected to the sensor(s) and the drive unit.")
wherein the drive system is attached to the chassis and powered by the power source; (Einecke paragraph 0052 discloses, "at least one propulsion system, like a motor 2") and (Einecke paragraph 0053 discloses, "a module 13 for motor control (i.e. control of the mower movement), which uses the output of the grass detection module 11 for issuing motor commands that for example allow the mower to avoid obstacles in its path or to navigate to a certain target, e.g. a home base for recharging the mower.") and
wherein one or more electronic circuit boards used by the navigation system are mounted to supports attached to the chassis. (Wong paragraph 0155 teaches, "The controller 500 may use the object map for navigation, obstacle detection, and obstacle avoidance. Moreover, the controller 500 may use sensory inputs from other sensors of the sensor system 400 for creating object map and/or for navigation." And paragraph 0159 teaches, "The reasoning software processes the data collected from the sensor system 400 and outputs data for making navigational decisions on where the robot 100 can move without colliding with an obstacle, for example." And paragraph 0188 teaches, "The robot 100 may use the imaging sensor 450 for 1) mapping, localization & navigation; 2) object detection & object avoidance (ODOA); 3) object hunting (e.g., to find a person); 4) gesture recognition (e.g., for companion robots); 5) people & face detection; 6) people tracking; 7) monitoring manipulation of objects by the robot 100; and other suitable applications for autonomous operation of the robot 100.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose a navigation system. Wong teaches of using navigation system. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 13, The system of Claim 1, wherein the drive system comprises a plurality of wheels, with at least one wheel configured to be driven by a motor. (Wong paragraph 0097 teaches, "the drive system 200 includes first, second, and third drive wheels 210a, 210b, 210c equally spaced (i.e., trilaterally symmetric) about the vertical axis")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose a navigation system. Wong teaches of using navigation system. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 14, The system of Claim 1, wherein the drive system comprises a plurality of wheels, and differential drive for the plurality of wheels is used to control motion within the environment. (Wong paragraph 0097 teaches, "the drive system 200 includes first, second, and third drive wheels 210a, 210b, 210c equally spaced (i.e., trilaterally symmetric) about the vertical axis")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose a navigation system. Wong teaches of using navigation system. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
18. (Cancelled)
19. (Cancelled)
As per claim 20, An autonomous system comprising:
a chassis; (Einecke paragraph 0002 discloses, "Autonomous or robotic mowers, e.g. lawn mowers, are an increasing market. Such mowers typically mow a lawn autonomously in a random brute-force fashion cutting only small pieces of grass in every run." It is inherent these machines have a chassis, the claim features does not specify a specific chassis material or construction design.) and (Wong paragraph 0095 teaches, "the base 120 may include a base chassis 122 that supports a base body")
a power source attached to the chassis; (Einecke paragraph 0052 discloses, "at least one propulsion system, like a motor 2")
a computing device attached to the chassis; (Einecke paragraph 0053 discloses, "a module 13 for motor control (i.e. control of the mower movement), which uses the output of the grass detection module 11 for issuing motor commands that for example allow the mower to avoid obstacles in its path or to navigate to a certain target, e.g. a home base for recharging the mower.")
a drive system comprising one or more motors and a drive mechanism that allows the system to move through an environment, said drive system attached to the chassis and powered by the power source; (Einecke paragraph 0052 discloses, "at least one propulsion system, like a motor 2") and (Einecke paragraph 0053 discloses, "a module 13 for motor control (i.e. control of the mower movement), which uses the output of the grass detection module 11 for issuing motor commands that for example allow the mower to avoid obstacles in its path or to navigate to a certain target, e.g. a home base for recharging the mower.")
a navigation system to direct motion of the autonomous system through the environment, wherein one or more electronic circuit boards used by the navigation system are mounted to supports attached to the chassis; (Wong paragraph 0155 teaches, "The controller 500 may use the object map for navigation, obstacle detection, and obstacle avoidance. Moreover, the controller 500 may use sensory inputs from other sensors of the sensor system 400 for creating object map and/or for navigation." And paragraph 0159 teaches, "The reasoning software processes the data collected from the sensor system 400 and outputs data for making navigational decisions on where the robot 100 can move without colliding with an obstacle, for example." And paragraph 0188 teaches, "The robot 100 may use the imaging sensor 450 for 1) mapping, localization & navigation; 2) object detection & object avoidance (ODOA); 3) object hunting (e.g., to find a person); 4) gesture recognition (e.g., for companion robots); 5) people & face detection; 6) people tracking; 7) monitoring manipulation of objects by the robot 100; and other suitable applications for autonomous operation of the robot 100.")
a coupling attachment for a first additional accessory, comprising a connector for providing electrical power from the power source to the first additional accessory; (Einecke paragraph 0003 discloses, "an onboard energy reservoir to power the drive unit, at least one sensor and a computing unit functionally connected to the sensor(s) and the drive unit. ") and
at least two sensor modules attached to the chassis positioned to allow detection of distances to objects within the environment. (Einecke paragraph 0031 discloses, "Preferably, the at least two cameras are a stereo camera, wherein both are facing in the same direction in this case, preferably to the front.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose a navigation system. Wong teaches of using navigation system. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 21, The system of Claim 20, wherein the at least two sensor modules comprise at least two camera modules, each camera module comprising one or more cameras, and wherein at least two of the cameras of the camera modules are positioned collect images from different directions. (Einecke paragraph 0031 discloses, "Preferably, the at least two cameras are a stereo camera, wherein both are facing in the same direction in this case, preferably to the front.") and (Wong paragraph 0013 teaches, "the infrared range sensor is a structured-light three dimensional scanner, a time of flight camera, or a three-dimensional light detection and ranging sensor (e.g., Flash LIDAR). In some examples, the infrared range sensor includes one or more triangulation ranging sensors, such as position sensitive devices.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose a navigation system. Wong teaches of using navigation system. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Wong et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
22. (Original) The system of Claim 21, wherein each camera module comprises one or more illuminators in addition to the one or more cameras. (Einecke paragraph 0045 discloses, "Fourth, the mower is optionally provided with lighting means, e.g. a head light. The lighting means enable mowing in low-light conditions, like night, where the maximal exposure and gain do not yield a good signal quality. ")
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Einecke US 2013/0190965 in view of Wong US 2013/0226344 in view of Nagai US 20010055063.
As per claim 15, The system of Claim 1, wherein the drive system comprises a plurality of legs. (Nagai paragraph 0124 teaches, "the present invention is particularly suited to a humanoid robot that moves by the use of legs")
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Einecke US 2013/0190965 in view of Wong US 2013/0226344 in view of Schempf US 2012/0303179.
As per claim 16, The system of Claim 1, wherein the drive system comprises a plurality of rotors configured to provide lift. (Schempf paragraph 0011 teaches, "A flying module is configured to be received in the dock. The flying module includes at least one rotor powered by a motor, and a body portion including an imager.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose the use of legs. Schempf teaches of the use of rotors. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Schempf et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
As per claim 17, The system of Claim 16, wherein the plurality of rotors is used to control motion in three-dimensional space. (Schempf paragraphs and 0011 and 0055 teaches, " "Autonomy software control module 130 associated with flying module 122 can be configured to signal vehicle controller 132 in order to follow mobile robot 10, detect targets and track the same, provide for automated hovering and flight path generation and tracking, video based target tracking and the like. Autonomy software control module 130 may be configured to provide functionality for automated docking and release and climbing behaviors; automated obstacle avoidance; automated window look in positioning and hovering capabilities; three-dimensional model building; target and/or friend/foe illumination and/or detecting and tracking; higher floor, sniper detection, triangulation and monitoring; and the like.")
Einecke discloses a system, method, and apparatus for unsupervised adaptation of the perception of an autonomous mower. Einecke does not disclose the use of legs. Schempf teaches of the use of rotors. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Schempf et.al. into the invention of Einecke. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure the machine is able to identify obstacles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant amends the claims to contain features that are taught in the art of record for Wong paragraphs 0183 and Wong 0188. The claims do not identify the structural composition of the lens, therefore, the art of record teaches the features of the cameras have lens. The feature for recognition is taught in the art of record through gestures, people, faces, and tracking. The applicant argues the features of the field of view and the distinction of attached to the chassis. However, the features are claimed in such a broad manner that the art of record makes obvious the features. The omni-directional optics are functionally capable to perform the operations of the claimed invention. The claims do not identify any specific nuance that is functionally different than the claimed invention. With respect to the feature of attached to the chassis. The claims do not identify the form of attachment through bolt and screw, or solder, or some other form of attachment. In addition, the applicant has not shown in the remarks where in the drawings where the attachment is distinct from the art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664