Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunn, et al., US 2023/0415612 A1.
As per Claim 13, Dunn teaches an abnormality determination system that determines whether an abnormality has occurred inside or outside a battery pack using a first parameter correlated with an internal temperature of the battery pack (¶ 61; as “the measured battery temperatures may be internal temperatures for each battery 242” of Figure 2), and a second parameter less correlated with the internal temperature than the first parameter and correlated with an external temperature of the battery pack (¶ 93; “based on external temperature sensor data”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn as applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of Munson, et al., US 2024/0266842 A1.
As per Claim 1, Dunn teaches a battery system comprising:
a battery cell (¶ 45; battery 104 of Figure 1);
a housing that houses the battery cell and that is mounted on a vehicle (¶ 45; thermal management system 106 of Figure 1);
a first detection device that detects a first temperature indicating a temperature of the housing (¶ 59; “battery surface temperature sensors (see T.sub.bat)”); and
a second detection device that detects a second temperature indicating a temperature in the housing (¶ 61; as “the measured battery temperatures may be internal temperatures for each battery 242” of Figure 2).
Dunn does not expressly teach: a first control device that compares a result of detection by the first detection device with a result of detection by the second detection device to determine whether a temperature increase in the battery cell is due to a change in an external environment of the housing or due to a malfunction in the battery cell. Munson teaches: a first control device that compares a result of detection by the first detection device with a result of detection by the second detection device to determine whether a temperature increase in the battery cell is due to a change in an external environment of the housing or due to a malfunction in the battery cell (¶ 119; to identify “battery cell fault status (e.g., faults of individual cells or other battery subcomponents)”). At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to combine the battery system of Dunn with the diagnostic system of Munson, in order to determine proper maintenance remedies for an electrical system of a vehicle.
As per Claim 2, Dunn does not expressly teach that when a first rate of increase in the first temperature is higher than a second rate of increase in the second temperature, the first control device determines that the temperature increase is due to a change in the external environment, and when the second rate of increase is higher than the first rate of increase, the first control device determines that the temperature increase is due to a malfunction in the battery cell. Munson teaches that when a first rate of increase in the first temperature is higher than a second rate of increase in the second temperature (¶ 155; based on “temperature data”), the first control device determines that the temperature increase is due to a change in the external environment (¶ 157; per “a thermal runaway state”), and when the second rate of increase is higher than the first rate of increase, the first control device determines that the temperature increase is due to a malfunction in the battery cell (¶ 69; as “temperature sensing components . . . determine states of the battery or apparatus(es) in communication with the battery 10” of Figure 1A). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 3, Dunn does not expressly teach a second control device capable of communicating with a server external to the vehicle, wherein the first control device activates the second control device to transmit, to the server, information from which a result of determination can be acquired. Munson teaches a second control device capable of communicating with a server external to the vehicle, wherein the first control device activates the second control device to transmit, to the server, information from which a result of determination can be acquired (¶¶ 98-99). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 4, Dunn teaches that the first detection device is provided at a position other than on a path along which gas is discharged out of the housing from the battery cell upon generation of the gas in the battery cell (¶ 59; “coolant temperature sensors at the battery system inlet (see T.sub.b_in)”).
As per Claim 5, Dunn does not expressly teach that a plurality of battery cells are housed in the housing, an insulating plate that provides insulation between the battery cells is provided between the battery cells, and the first detection device is provided in a lower portion of the insulating plate. Munson teaches that a plurality of battery cells are housed in the housing, an insulating plate that provides insulation between the battery cells is provided between the battery cells, and the first detection device is provided in a lower portion of the insulating plate (¶ 23; “separators, [and] insulators”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 6, Dunn teaches an abnormality determination system comprising:
a battery pack (¶ 45; battery 104 of Figure 1);
a first detection device that detects a first parameter correlated with an internal temperature of the battery pack (¶ 59; “battery surface temperature sensors (see T.sub.bat)”); and
a second detection device that detects a second parameter less correlated with the internal temperature than the first parameter (¶ 61; as “the measured battery temperatures may be internal temperatures for each battery 242” of Figure 2) and correlated with an external temperature of the battery pack (¶ 63; per “an empirical correlation”).
Dunn does not expressly teach a control device that determines whether an abnormality has occurred inside or outside the battery pack using the first parameter and the second parameter. Munson teaches a control device that determines whether an abnormality has occurred inside or outside the battery pack using the first parameter and the second parameter (¶ 119; to identify “battery cell fault status (e.g., faults of individual cells or other battery subcomponents)”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 7, Dunn does not expressly teach that when a predetermined change occurs in the second parameter before in the first parameter, the control device determines that the abnormality has occurred outside the battery pack. Munson teaches that when a predetermined change occurs in the second parameter before in the first parameter (¶¶ 155, 157; per “a thermal runaway state”), the control device determines that the abnormality has occurred outside the battery pack (¶ 69; as “temperature sensing components . . . determine states of the battery or apparatus(es) in communication with the battery 10” of Figure 1A). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 9, Dunn does not expressly teach that the predetermined change includes a change greater than or equal to a predetermined value in a predetermined time period. Munson teaches that the predetermined change includes a change greater than or equal to a predetermined value in a predetermined time period (¶ 110; as “time series sensor data” reveal potential faults). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 8, Dunn does not expressly teach that when a predetermined change occurs in the first parameter before in the second parameter, the control device determines that the abnormality has occurred inside the battery pack. Munson teaches that when a predetermined change occurs in the first parameter before in the second parameter, the control device determines that the abnormality has occurred inside the battery pack (¶ 69; as “temperature sensing components . . . determine states of the battery or apparatus(es) in communication with the battery 10” of Figure 1A). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 10, Dunn teaches that the second detection device includes a plurality of detection targets (¶¶ 57, 59; with sensors at different locations). Dunn does not expressly teach that when a predetermined change occurs in at least one detection target of the plurality of detection targets before in the other detection targets, the control device identifies a location of the abnormality outside the battery pack using a position corresponding to the at least one detection target. Munson teaches that when a predetermined change occurs in at least one detection target of the plurality of detection targets before in the other detection targets, the control device identifies a location of the abnormality outside the battery pack using a position corresponding to the at least one detection target (¶ 119; either with a motor or an EV battery or an inverter or other components). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 11, Dunn teaches that the first detection device and the second detection device are mounted on a vehicle (¶¶ 41, 43), the control device is provided in a server capable of communicating with the vehicle (¶ 45; “discrete hardware components”), the first detection device detects the internal temperature as the first parameter (¶ 61; “internal temperatures for each battery 242” as in Figure 2), and the second detection device detects an outside air temperature as the second parameter (¶ 93; “based on external temperature sensor data”).
Dunn does not expressly teach that when an abnormality occurs in the vehicle, the vehicle transmits information about the first parameter and the second parameter to the server. Munson teaches that when an abnormality occurs in the vehicle, the vehicle transmits information about the first parameter and the second parameter to the server (¶ 111; “the controller of the signal conditioning and communications subsystem 130 goes into low power mode and periodically wakes up to monitor GPS location and transmit location and status to the host server” as in Figure 1A). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 12, Dunn teaches that the first detection device and the second detection device are mounted on a vehicle (¶¶ 41, 43), the control device is provided in a server capable of communicating with the vehicle (¶ 45; “discrete hardware components”), and the first detection device detects the internal temperature as the first parameter (¶ 61; “internal temperatures for each battery 242” as in Figure 2).
Dunn does not expressly teach that the second detection device detects a pressure in a tire of the vehicle as the second parameter, and when an abnormality occurs in the vehicle, the vehicle transmits information about the first parameter and the second parameter to the server. Munson teaches that the second detection device detects a pressure in a tire of the vehicle as the second parameter (¶ 74; per “a set of tire pressure sensors configured to detect load balancing across a vehicle”), and that when an abnormality occurs in the vehicle, the vehicle transmits information about the first parameter and the second parameter to the server (¶ 111; “the controller of the signal conditioning and communications subsystem 130 goes into low power mode and periodically wakes up to monitor GPS location and transmit location and status to the host server” as in Figure 1A). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 14, Dunn teaches a vehicle (¶ 41) comprising:
a battery pack (¶ 45; battery 104 of Figure 1);
an acquisition device that acquires an internal temperature (¶ 61; as “the measured battery temperatures may be internal temperatures for each battery 242” of Figure 2); and
an external temperature of the battery pack (¶ 93; “based on external temperature sensor data”).
Dunn does not expressly teach: a control device that transmits, to a server, information including a first parameter correlated with the internal temperature, and a second parameter less correlated with the internal temperature than the first parameter and correlated with the external temperature. Munson teaches: a control device that transmits, to a server, information including a first parameter correlated with the internal temperature, and a second parameter less correlated with the internal temperature than the first parameter and correlated with the external temperature (¶¶ 209-210). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 15, Dunn teaches an abnormality determination method for determining an abnormality in a battery pack (¶ 43), the abnormality determination method comprising:
detecting a first parameter correlated with an internal temperature of the battery pack (¶ 61; as “the measured battery temperatures may be internal temperatures for each battery 242” of Figure 2); and
detecting a second parameter less correlated with the internal temperature than the first parameter and correlated with an external temperature of the battery pack (¶ 93; “based on external temperature sensor data”).
Dunn does not expressly teach: determining whether an abnormality has occurred inside or outside the battery pack using the first parameter and the second parameter. Munson teaches: determining whether an abnormality has occurred inside or outside the battery pack using the first parameter and the second parameter (¶ 119; to identify “battery cell fault status (e.g., faults of individual cells or other battery subcomponents)”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 16, Dunn teaches a server comprising:
an acquisition device that acquires, from a vehicle having a battery pack mounted thereon, information including a first parameter correlated with an internal temperature of the battery pack (¶ 61; as “the measured battery temperatures may be internal temperatures for each battery 242” of Figure 2); and
a second parameter less correlated with the internal temperature than the first parameter and correlated with an external temperature of the battery pack (¶ 93; “based on external temperature sensor data”).
Dunn does not expressly teach: a control device that determines whether an abnormality has occurred inside the battery pack or outside the vehicle using the acquired first parameter and the acquired second parameter. Munson teaches: a control device that determines whether an abnormality has occurred inside the battery pack or outside the vehicle using the acquired first parameter and the acquired second parameter (¶ 119; to identify “battery cell fault status (e.g., faults of individual cells or other battery subcomponents)”; and ¶¶ 209-210). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661