DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 6/12/2025. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202510786974.5 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first deflectors” and “second deflectors” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show reference characters 35 and 38 referring to first deflectors” and “second deflectors” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number 14 in Figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4 line 3, “of another straightening surface” should read “of the second straightening surface” or “of the other straightening surface” as to make it clear that it is referring to the other claimed surface and not an additional one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the straightening air outlet of another straightening surface is configured for the first blocking part to expose out of the hair treatment body; and wherein a part of the first blocking part exposed out of the hair treatment body is formed with a second guide channel communicated with the interior of the hair treatment body, the first guide channel and the second guide channel being configured to guide the directional fluid to flow out toward another side of the straightening surfaces.” It is unclear what is meant by the first blocking part exposes out the hair treatment body and how the first blocking part can be formed with a second guide channel and how that can guide air flow if it is part of the blocking member. For examining purposes, it was understood that the guide channel is configured to be blocked to switch between modes and as shown in the figures and described in the disclosure, that the second guide channel is formed in the second straightening surface and NOT in the blocking part. Clarification is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein a plurality of curling air outlets” in line 2. It is unclear whether this is referring to the same curling outlets recited in claim 1 or different ones. For examining purposes, it was understood that claim 1 recites a plurality of curling air outlets and that claim 6 recites the curling air outlets of claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2023/0270221 A1), in view of Deng (CN117084491A), translation provided.
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches a straightening and curling dual-purpose hairdressing device (see at least abstract, [0043-0049], [0092-0095] and [0191]; such that the device can clamp hair between the two middle plates and therefore would be fully capable of straightening hair and the curved sides having air outlets 24 can be used to curl), comprising
a main body (1), the main body (1) being of a hollow structure (see Figure 1), a control circuit (6) being integrated inside the main body (see Figure 1), one end of the main body (1) being provided with an air inlet (10; see Figure 4 and [0156]) and another end of the main body being connected to an air nozzle (2), whereby forming inside the main body a fluid channel extended from the air inlet to the air nozzle ([0156]-[0160]),
the fluid channel having provided therein a motor (31) and a heating unit (4) electrically connected to the control circuit (11) respectively (see Figures 3-4 and [0013-0015], [0059-0069]); and
the fluid channel being configured to generate a directional fluid through the motor that enters along the air inlet and flows through the heating unit before being blown out from the air nozzle ([0168-0171] and see Figures; the arrangement of the structures makes the device fully capable of blowing air through the heating unit before being blown out from the air nozzle),
wherein the air nozzle comprises an air outlet component (2021) and an air blocking component (2022), wherein the air outlet component comprises an outer ring body (2212’) fixedly connected to the main body (see Figures) and two hair treatment bodies (see annotated Figure below) formed on the outer ring body (see Fig. 26), the two hair treatment bodies being of a hollow structure and being communicated with the fluid channel through the outer ring body (see Figures; such that the bodies are hollow and receive support plates of 2022),
wherein the two hair treatment bodies are provided with straightening surfaces arranged facing each other to clamp hair therebetween (see Figures [0031-0033], [0043], [0071-0081]; such that the clipping plates are fully capable of straightening hair) and curling surfaces (see annotated Figure below; such that the curved surfaces are fully capable of curling hair) arranged back-to-back to wrap hair thereon;
the straightening surfaces being formed with straightening air outlets (231, Fig. 12), the directional fluid passing through the straightening air outlets to guide hair between the two straightening surfaces and blow it in one same direction (see Figures 11-12 and [0188-0192], [0197]);
the curling surfaces being formed with curling air outlets (24), and the directional fluid passing through the curling air outlets to guide hair to wrap around the curling surfaces (see Figures and at least [0204-0208]); and
wherein the air blocking component (2022) comprises an inner ring body (2003’) and two blocking bodies (see annotated Figure below) formed on the inner ring body and extended into interiors of the two hair treatment bodies (see Figures) respectively.
Wei teaches the inner ring portion (2003’) is operable to rotate circumferentially ([0255]) as to translate a movement of the inner bodies relative to the outer bodies (see at least [0251-0259]) and therefore teaches the ring body (2003’) being rotatably connected to an inner side of the outer ring body. However, Wei does not teach the blocking body being provided with a first blocking part configured to block the straightening air outlet and a second blocking part configured to block the curling air outlet; and wherein a toggle element configured to drive rotation of the inner ring body is arranged at the inner ring body and the outer ring body, allowing the inner ring body to rotate between two positions; wherein when the inner ring body is rotated to one position, the first blocking part blocks the straightening air outlet and the second blocking part is removed from the curling air outlet; and wherein when the inner ring body is rotated to another position, the first blocking part is removed from the straightening air outlet and the second blocking part blocks the curling air outlet.
Deng teaches a two-way outlet hair styling device comprising an inner body (2) for inserting into an outer curling body (1) and the outer body comprising first air outlets (14) and second air outlets (15) and the inner body comprising a plurality of blocking portions (121, 22, 23) that allow blocking the first air outlet or the second air outlet independently as a knob is operated to rotate the inner body relative to the outer body in different directions (see page 3 and page 4 paras. 3, 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inner body to have blocking portions that are controlled rotatably relative to the outer body and the plurality of air outlets when turned in different or opposite directions, as taught by Deng, because it would allow using each side of the styler independently and provides concentrated air flow for efficient use of two different modes (e.g., curling using the curved sides and straightening using the flat sides).
Regarding claim 2, Wei in view of Deng teaches the straightening and curling dual-purpose hairdressing device according to claim 1 (see rejection above). Wei teaches the straightening surface is of a flat structure (see Figures 8-12), the straightening surfaces of the two hair treatment bodies being spaced apart from each other (see Figures 8-12), allowing formation of a space (gap 20) between the two straightening surfaces for hair to pass through (see Fig. 11); and
wherein the curling surface is of a curved surface structure, centers corresponding to the curling surfaces of the two hair treatment bodies being located on one same axis (see Figures).
Regarding claim 3, Wei in view of Deng teaches the straightening and curling dual-purpose hairdressing device according to claim 1 (see rejection above). Wei teaches the straightening air outlet is arranged as an elongated structure along a length direction of the straightening surface (see Figures 8-12);
wherein both the straightening air outlets (231) are arranged close to one same side of the two straightening surfaces and facing toward another side of the straightening surfaces at an angle, thereby guiding hair to enter from one side of the straightening surfaces and blow out from another side of the straightening surfaces (see Figures 11-12).
Regarding claim 4, Wei in view of Deng teaches the straightening and curling dual-purpose hairdressing device according to claim 3 (see rejection above). Wei teaches the straightening air outlet (231) of one straightening surface is extended with a first guide channel (see annotated Figure below), while the straightening air outlet of the second straightening surface is configured for the first blocking part to expose out of the hair treatment body (the channel is fully capable of being blocked); and
wherein the second straightening surface is formed with a second guide channel communicated with the interior of the hair treatment body, the first guide channel and the second guide channel being configured to guide the directional fluid to flow out toward another side of the straightening surfaces.
Regarding claim 5, Wei in view of Deng teaches the straightening and curling dual-purpose hairdressing device according to claim 4 (see rejection above). Wei teaches both the first guide channel and the second guide channel have provided therein a plurality of first air deflectors that are uniformly distributed (see annotated Figure below).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2023/0270221 A1), in view of Deng (CN117084491A), translation provided, and further in view of Cai (CN219699269U), translation provided.
Regarding claims 6-8, Wei in view of Deng teaches the straightening and curling dual-purpose hairdressing device according to claim 1 (see rejection above). Wei teaches a plurality of curling air outlets (24) are provided that are uniformly distributed (see Figures), the plurality of curling air outlets (24) being arranged as elongated structures along a length direction of the curling surface (see Figures). Wei does not teach the curling air outlets being arranged at an angle tangent to the curling surface and, wherein the curling surface has an outside formed with a plurality of protrusion parts corresponding to the curling air outlets, the curling air outlets arranged at an angle tangent to the curling surface being formed by means of the protrusion parts, the curling air outlet is extended with a third guide channel along inside of the protrusion part, wherein the third guide channel is configured to guide the directional fluid to flow out at an angle tangent to the curling surface and wherein the third guide channel has provided therein a plurality of second air deflectors that are uniformly distributed.
Cai teaches a hair curling device comprising a plurality of hair curling air outlets (31, 32) uniformly distributed along a curved body of the curling body and the outlets having surfaces that are angled tangentially relative to the body (see Figures). Cai also teaches them having protruding parts and guide channels (10, 20) between to allow and direct air to flow from therein. Cai teaches surfaces that deflect the air in an intended direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the curling outlets to be angled relative to the body and to comprise protruding parts and deflectors that guide the air flow, as taught by Cai, because it is an alternate configuration to simple outlet holes that provide more focused air flow and would allow controlling or assigning a curling direction (e.g., each arm being set to a curl direction or the curling outlets being movable into opposite and alternate directions).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2023/0270221 A1), in view of Deng (CN117084491A), translation provided, and further in view of Sardar (US 2024/0245185 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wei in view of Deng teaches the straightening and curling dual-purpose hairdressing device according to claim 1 (see rejection above). Deng teaches the inner and outer bodies are rotated relative to one another by means of a knob/toggle but does not explicitly teach the toggle element comprises a long hole formed on the outer ring body and a toggle part formed on the inner ring body, the toggle part extending out of the outer ring body along the long hole, and the toggle part being capable of sliding back and forth along the long hole.
Sardar teaches a hair styling device having a latch (1010) extending through a latch opening (1012) within the body of the device and the latch being slidable within the latch opening to control a spring internal to the body (see at least [0085-0087] and Fig. 22a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the toggle to be a in the form of a latch or pin that extends through an opening in the outer housing, as taught by Sardar, because it would offer the device with a conveniently positioned location that would allow operating of the rotation mechanism easily using the user’s thumb.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached to this office action.
/LINA FARAJ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772