Double Patenting
Claims 37-43 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- and 14 of U.S. Patent No. US 12408763 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope.
Instant application
U.S. Patent No. US 12408763 B2
37
1
38
1+13
39
5
40
6
41
7
42
8
43
14
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 and 30-36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) data processing including gather and outputting using generic computer elements. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the combination of additional elements fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, given that the claim is directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements, such that the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer (data gathering or outputting). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of remote control, bed controller and screen when considered separately and in combination, do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception, given that the additional limitations only store and retrieve information in memory, explain that these are well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Re claim 15. a method of operating a bed system having a remote control (data processing), the method comprising:
fetching, by the remote control, a state of a bed from a bed controller that is physically separate from the remote control; and (data gathering)
displaying an interface on a screen of the remote control responsive to the fetched state. (data outputting)
16. The method of claim 15, further comprising:
waking the remote control responsive to receiving a signal from a capacitive surface of the remote control, the signal being indicative of a touch by a user. (data gathering and processing)
17. The method of claim 15, wherein fetching comprises wirelessly communicating between the remote control and the bed controller. (data gathering)
18. The method of claim 15, wherein receiving a response comprises the remote control receiving an indication of a new state, and displaying an interface comprises displaying an interface appropriate for the new state. (data processing including outputting)
19. The method of claim 16 wherein upon waking the remote control, receiving a response comprises the remote control receiving an indication of no change in state since a previous fetch, and wherein displaying an interface comprises displaying a last used interface. (data processing and outputting)
20. (Original) The method of claim 15, further comprising:
transmitting, by the remote control, a command signal to the bed to change the state of the bed from the state to a new state; (data processing)
receiving, by the bed controller, the command signal to change the state of the bed from the state to the new state; (data gathering)
adjusting, by the bed controller, the state of the bed based on the command signal; (data processing)
transmitting, by the bed controller, a signal representing the new state to the remote control; (data processing and outputting)
receiving, by the remote control, the signal representing the new state of the bed; and (data gathering)
displaying, by the remote control, the new state of the bed on the screen of the remote control. (data outputting)
30. The method of claim 16, wherein waking the remote control responsive to receiving the signal from the capacitive surface of the remote control, the signal being indicative of the touch by the user comprises receiving the signal from the capacitive surface of the remote control from a portion of the remote control that is capacitively sensitive. (data gathering and outputting)
31. The method of claim 16, wherein waking the remote control responsive to receiving the signal from the capacitive surface of the remote control comprises receiving the signal from the capacitive surface separate from at least one capacitive button of the remote control, separate from the screen, and separate from a first input area of the remote control. (data gathering and outputting)
32. The method of claim 31, wherein waking the remote control responsive to receiving the signal from the capacitive surface of the remote control comprises receiving the signal from between the at least one capacitive button between the screen and the first input area. (data gathering and outputting)
33. The method of claim 16, further comprising:
pinging the bed controller upon waking; (data processing)
receiving a state from the bed controller responsive to the pinging; and (data gathering)
displaying an interface on the screen responsive to the received state. (data outputting)
34. The method of claim 16, further comprising responsive to toggling of a slider switch of the remote control between a first position and a second position, adjusting an interface displayed on the screen to control a first side of a bed when the slider switch is in the first position and control a second side of the bed when the slider switch is in the second position. (data gathering and outputting)
35. The method of claim 16, further comprising responsive to receiving ambient light at a light sensor of the remote control, producing a light signal representative of an ambient light level. (data gathering and outputting)
36. The method of claim 35, further comprising adjusting a brightness of the screen and an input area of the remote control responsive to the light signal. (data gathering and outputting)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by COLLIN, JR. et al. (US 20070210917 A1).
Re claim 15. COLLINS, JR. discloses (abstract) a method of operating a bed system having a remote control [0088], the method comprising:
fetching, by the remote control 38, a state of a bed 22 from a bed controller that is physically separate from the remote control; and
displaying an interface on a screen 222 of the remote control responsive to the fetched state. [0088]
[0088] FIG. 10 is a screen shot of a "Bed Alerts" template screen 222, which is another example of a Care Alert template (see the Care Alert template examples and discussion in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 11/189,781 which is already incorporated by reference herein), that appears on a display screen of computer 38 to enable a caregiver to select various alert conditions for an associated bed 22 to which one or more assigned. Screen 222 has configurable alert conditions associated with the bed status data received by computer 38 from the associated bed 22. Screen 222 has various check boxes and radio buttons that are selected in screen 222 to configure system 112 with the associated alert conditions. Screen also has various text boxes in which data is typed.
17. COLLINS, JR. discloses (FIG.1) the method of claim 15, wherein fetching comprises wirelessly communicating between the remote control and the bed controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLLIN, JR. et al. (US 20070210917 A1) in view of FLEURY et al. (US 20150026896 A1).
However, COLLIN, JR. fails to explicitly disclose:
18. the method of claim 15, wherein receiving a response comprises the remote control receiving an indication of a new state, and displaying an interface comprises displaying an interface appropriate for the new state.
FLEURY teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention [0037] a process of receiving a response of new state indication, user’s button depressions for adjustments, and displaying on interface the adjustment change.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try receiving and displaying an indication of new state in order to provide proper remote operation of a bed.
However, COLLIN, JR. fails to explicitly disclose:
20. the method of claim 15, further comprising:
transmitting, by the remote control, a command signal to the bed to change the state of the bed from the state to a new state;
receiving, by the bed controller, the command signal to change the state of the bed from the state to the new state;
adjusting, by the bed controller, the state of the bed based on the command signal;
transmitting, by the bed controller, a signal representing the new state to the remote control;
receiving, by the remote control, the signal representing the new state of the bed; and
displaying, by the remote control, the new state of the bed on the screen of the remote control.
FLEURY teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention [0037] a process of receiving a response of new state indication, user’s button depressions for adjustments, and displaying on interface the adjustment change. Furthermore, adjustment signal is transmitted to a control box 24 from remote control 300 an instruction for adjustment selected by a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try processing adjustment command signals from a user in order to provide operation of bed as desired by a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 7/13/2026