DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on July 24, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Of such, claims 1-6 represent a method directed to investigating encrypted civic profiles, claims 7-13 represent a system directed to quorum recovery of a compromised component, and claims 14-20 represent a method directed to manipulation resistant quorum formation.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Claims 1-6, directed to a two-stage investigation on pseudonymized, encrypted civic profiles; classified in G06Q 50/265, Government or public services (Personal security, identity or safety).
Claims 7-13, directed to quorum-based recovery of a compromised component; classified in G06F 21/57, Certifying or maintaining trusted computer platforms, e.g. secure boots or power-downs, version controls, system software checks, secure updates or assessing vulnerabilities.
Claims 14-20, directed to selecting a quorum subset of nodes with a cryptographic algorithm; classified in H04L 67/1044, Group management mechanisms.
During a telephone discussion with Spencer Jacobs (Registration No. 82186) on 10/8/2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the design of Group II, claims 7-13. Affirmation of this election should be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being for a nonelected design.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract contains “The present disclosure provides…”
The abstract states that profiles are input “into machine learning models trained to flag potential crimes”. This is inconsistent with the specification which states in ¶ 61 “At no point in the operational enforcement system are machine learning models… used for violation detection or classification”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ 1, the specification discloses “This application claims priority U.S. Provisional Patent Application” should be corrected to “This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application”.
In ¶ 131, the specification discloses “one of more…” should be corrected to “one or more”.
In ¶ 366, the specification discloses “may include selects” should be corrected to “may include selecting”.
In ¶ 580, the specification discloses “coped container isolation” should be corrected to “scoped container isolation”.
In ¶ 431, the specification discloses “The method 300…”, however the figures do not disclose a method 300.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 discloses “a runtime attestations” should be corrected to “a runtime attestation”.
Claim 7 discloses “a Guardian AI validation” should be followed by a comma.
Claim 9 discloses “the quorum of verified recovery nodes include” should be corrected to “includes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 discloses “wherein verifying the integrity of each recovery node comprises confirming a certificate origin prior to quorum inclusion”. However, Claim 7 fails to disclose a verifying step therefore lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9 discloses “a minimum threshold” and “mission-governed voting threshold”, however claim 7 already recites a “dynamically selected threshold”. The claims do not state whether the minimum threshold and/or the mission-governed voting threshold are the same as the dynamically selected threshold or different thresholds. For examination purposes, the minimum threshold will be examined as the dynamically selected threshold.
Claim 9 discloses “at least one fixed-role node”. It is unclear whether the one fixed-role node is the same as “one fixed-designated node” of claim 7. For examination purposes, they will be treated as the same.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 7 – “A Guardian AI module”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Jevans, David (US 20220092587), hereinafter referred to as Jevans, in view of Husain et al. (US 20190160660), hereinafter referred to as Husain, in further view of Kaplan, Craig (US 20260111748), hereinafter referred to as Kaplan.
Regarding Claim 7, Jevans discloses:
A system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (In ¶ 112, Jevans discloses “The example computer system 1 includes a processor or multiple processor(s) 5 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), or both), and a main memory 10 and static memory 15, which communicate with each other via a bus 20.”): receiving an indication of a compromised component associated with the system (In ¶ 93, Jevans discloses “Another example is in the case of an employee receiving a phishing email where he or she clicks on something and it throws their system off. A security verification service or another party can detect it and drop the compromised party until the problem is fixed.”); initiating, based at least in part on the indication, a quorum-based recovery protocol comprising (In ¶ 95, Jevans discloses “Should any of this information become compromised, a roll back to the latest version may take place. For example, a consensus of the parties on the network could have a consensus message, where all agree to roll back to the last time the compromised party was secure or the last time the compromised party published something on the blockchain when that party was secure.”): and validating, using a digital certificate, a system integrity hash, and a runtime attestations, an integrity and an operational trustworthiness of each recovery node in the quorum of verified recovery nodes (In ¶ 82, Jevans discloses “Criteria can be used to validate the participation of a node in transactions/messages. Use a hash of one's blockchain combined with a hash of one's environment and send to the blockchain with a timestamp and nonce” and further in ¶ 109 “the SVS may periodically check on the integrity of one or more blockchain community participants.”); and authorizing, based at least in part on a quorum consensus and a Guardian Al validation a controlled recovery protocol to restore the compromised component to a nominal state using a verified configuration (In ¶ 54, Jevans discloses “This will help ensure that public and private blockchains/distributed ledgers/tangles will be trustworthy and in the case of a security breach, the affected party can be decoupled from the blockchain until their security is repaired and validated. This can also serve as the base for agreed-upon rollbacks of blockchains. For example, if a smart contract or a node in the network is compromised, all nodes can roll-back to the latest agreed secure state of the blockchain. ”); and logging the controlled recovery protocol in an immutable, cryptographically verifiable ledger (In ¶ 60, Jevans discloses “Ability to rollback portions of a blockchain and then re-integrate these into a new block in order to incorporate “agreed” changes into the blockchain”).
However, Jevans does not explicitly disclose selecting a quorum of verified recovery nodes.
Husain discloses:
selecting a quorum of verified recovery nodes from a cryptographically anchored quorum roster, wherein the quorum of verified recovery nodes includes at least one fixed-designated member and a dynamically selected threshold of validated nodes (In ¶ 18, Husain discloses “When joining a self-policing group, the agent device 106 may exchange public keys with other members of the group using a secure key exchange process… the number and makeup of the agent devices may change from time to time.” and further discloses in ¶ 40 “the override criteria 174 may be satisfied if override messages are received from a simple majority of agent devices of the self-policing group, and an override message is received from a trusted infrastructure device within a threshold time period from receipt of the first override message.”);
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jevan’s approach by utilizing Husain’s approach of selecting a quorum of verified recovery nodes as the motivation would be to let the network act on a compromised party without waiting for every party to agree, while still requiring a trusted device to concur (See Husain, ¶ 45).
However, Jevans does not explicitly disclose a mission-charter-bound Guardian Al module.
Kaplan discloses:
evaluating the quorum-based recovery protocol through a mission-charter-bound Guardian Al module configured to assess an alignment with a predefined ethical constraint and a public safety safeguard (In ¶ 446, Kaplan discloses “Further referring to FIG. 8, the scalable ethics check can compare any one of or any combination of the problem request, the sub-problem and the sub-solutions against prohibited attributes and assign an ethics value based on any one of or any combination of a result of the comparison, and an ethics criteria…. The ethics criteria can include a confidence level threshold ” and further discloses in ¶ 810 “The suspended identity, with potential input and oversight from other intelligent entities (including humans), is gradually reintroduced with updated protocols, ensuring its alignment with the overarching priority of human safety and ethical behavior.”);
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jevan’s approach by utilizing Kaplan’s approach of a AI safety/ethics check as the motivation would be to minimize possibility of errors or human safety concerns (See Kaplan, ¶ 810).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Jevans, Husain, and Kaplan disclose:
The system of claim 7, wherein the controlled recovery protocol comprises reinitializing the compromised component using validated configuration data cryptographically attested to by the quorum of verified recovery nodes and the Guardian Al validation (In ¶ 54, Jevans discloses “For example, if a smart contract or a node in the network is compromised, all nodes can roll-back to the latest agreed secure state of the blockchain” and further in ¶ 107 “ Certificates issued by, verified by or revoked by a Certificate may be used by members of the blockchain community to confirm their access to the blockchain or to issue or verify or digitally sign new blocks or transaction or data posted to the blockchain.”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Jevans, Husain, and Kaplan disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, Jevans does not explicitly disclose selecting a quorum of verified recovery nodes.
Husain discloses:
further comprising determining the quorum consensus, wherein determining the quorum consensus is based on performing a cryptographically provable consensus validation among the quorum of verified recovery nodes, the quorum consensus requiring a predetermined threshold percentage of nodes to affirm an integrity status of the compromised component (In ¶ 40, Husain discloses “To illustrate, the override criteria 174 may be satisfied if override messages are received from a simple majority of agent devices of the self-policing group, and an override message is received from a trusted infrastructure device within a threshold time period from receipt of the first override message.” and further in ¶ 77 “the override message is encrypted using a private key of the agent device that transmitted the override message”).
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jevan’s approach by utilizing Husain’s approach of selecting a quorum of verified recovery nodes as the motivation would be to let the network act on a compromised party without waiting for every party to agree, while still requiring a trusted device to concur (See Husain, ¶ 45).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Jevans, Husain, and Kaplan disclose:
The system of claim 7, wherein logging the controlled recovery protocol comprises storing all processes in a tamper-evident, distributed ledger audit trail comprising at least one of timestamps, node identifiers, cryptographic hashes of quorum-validated recovery decisions, digital signatures of participating quorum nodes, and Guardian Al countersignatures attesting to a mission-aligned compliance (In ¶ 87, Jevans discloses “Use a hash of one's blockchain combined with a hash of one's environment and send to the blockchain with a timestamp and nonce.” And further in ¶ 95 “there may be periodic transactions such as every day or every hour that are posted and digitally signed. ”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Jevans, David (US 20220092587), hereinafter referred to as Jevans, in view of Husain et al. (US 20190160660), hereinafter referred to as Husain, in further view of Kaplan, Craig (US 20260111748), hereinafter referred to as Kaplan, in further view of Qiu, Honglin (US 20190036682), hereinafter referred to as Qiu.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Jevans, Husain, and Kaplan disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, Jevans does not explicitly disclose a digital certificate validated against a trusted certificate authority.
Qiu discloses:
wherein each recovery node in the verified recovery nodes is associated with a node-level digital certificate that is validated against a trusted certificate authority roster (In ¶ 33, Qiu discloses “Therefore, in the one or more implementations of the present application, each service node can store a certificate. The certificate is sent by a CA that corresponds to the service node. As with the existing technology, the certificate can include an identifier of the service node, and a public key of the certificate includes a signature of the CA that issues the certificate” and further in ¶ 42 “In the one or more implementations of the present application, each blockchain node in the consortium blockchain network is configured with a CA trust list, and the CA trust list includes one or more CA identifiers”), and wherein verifying the integrity of each recovery node comprises confirming a certificate origin prior to quorum inclusion (In ¶ 40, Qiu discloses “because a certificate includes a signature of a CA that issues the certificate, after determining the second certificate included in the communication request, the first blockchain node can determine, based on a signature in the second certificate, the CA identifier of the CA that issues the certificate to the second blockchain node.” And further in ¶ 52 “before establishing a communication connection, the service node in the blockchain network can determine whether to establish the communication connection based on the pre-configured CA trust list and a certificate”).
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jevan’s approach by utilizing Qiu’s approach of verifying the nodes against a certificate authority as the motivation would be to improve security and transfer of data between the nodes by first verifying the nodes (See Qiu, ¶ 52).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Jevans, David (US 20220092587), hereinafter referred to as Jevans, in view of Husain et al. (US 20190160660), hereinafter referred to as Husain, in further view of Kaplan, Craig (US 20260111748), hereinafter referred to as Kaplan, in further view of Reed et al. (US 20240007461), hereinafter referred to as Reed.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Jevans, Husain, and Kaplan disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, Jevans does not explicitly disclose a threshold in part.
Reed discloses:
wherein selecting the quorum of verified recovery nodes comprises dynamically determining a minimum threshold number of nodes for recovery, the minimum threshold number of nodes based at least in part on a total number of eligible nodes in a distributed network and a security-tier classification of the compromised component (In ¶ 40, Reed discloses “One advantage is that more than the minimum number of approvers may be invited so that approval is based on an established quorum. The quorum policy may be a M of N approach, whereby so long as M of N authorizors approve, access is granted” and further in ¶ 56 “Where the policy does not provide indication of quorum related activities, the app 57 permits the authorized users to also vote on quorum configurations, for example, the quorum approval and how many votes are required from each role to meet the threshold for permitting data access.”),
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jevan’s approach by utilizing Reed’s approach of using a threshold in part as the motivation would be to scale the required approval to the sensitivity of what is being restored (See Reed, ¶ 32).
However, Jevans does not explicitly disclose weighted quorum rules.
Husain discloses:
and wherein the quorum of verified recovery nodes include at least one fixed-role node and satisfies a mission- governed voting threshold defined by weighted quorum rules (In ¶ 78, Husain discloses “an override message from a trusted infrastructure agent device may be weighted more heavily in the vote count (e.g., counted twice in the vote count) than an override message from a peer agent device. ”).
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jevan’s approach by utilizing Husain’s approach of selecting a quorum of verified recovery nodes as the motivation would be to let the network act on a compromised party without waiting for every party to agree, while still requiring a trusted device to concur (See Husain, ¶ 45).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Jevans, David (US 20220092587), hereinafter referred to as Jevans, in view of Husain et al. (US 20190160660), hereinafter referred to as Husain, in further view of Kaplan, Craig (US 20260111748), hereinafter referred to as Kaplan, in further view of Fu et al. (US 20210037042), hereinafter referred to as Fu.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Jevans, Husain, and Kaplan disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, Jevans does not explicitly disclose a real-time monitoring.
Fu discloses:
the operations further comprising monitoring real-time operational telemetry and behavioral indicators across nodes in a distributed network to detect potential compromise (In ¶ 68, Fu discloses “As an example, for adjusting the credit value of the first node, the method further includes: step S404, detecting an abnormal behavior of the first node; and step S405, reporting the abnormal behavior of the first node. The report of the abnormal behavior will lead a decrease of the credit value of the first node… Therefore, with the credit value and the detection of the abnormal behavior, the attestation for a node may be quickly implemented, as soon as the node behaves suspiciously.”), wherein the indication is generated based on a combination of anomalous behavior patterns, failed cryptographic integrity checks, and correlation of observed deviations from a mission-aligned operational baseline. (In ¶ 57, Fu discloses “Then the attestation result may be generated based on the attestation response as in the following steps: step S303, determining a response time of the first node; step S304, generating the attestation result indicating the attestation fails, in response to the response time is longer than a response time threshold; step S305, verifying the attestation response, in response to the response time being less than the response time threshold; step S306, generating the attestation result indicating the attestation fails, in response to the attestation response being unsuccessfully verified; and step S307, generating the attestation result indicating the attestation succeeds, in response to the attestation response being successfully verified.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jevan’s approach by utilizing Fu’s approach of monitoring abnormal behaviors as the motivation would be to improve the security performance for the network, particularly for a network including many distributed nodes (See Fu, ¶ 52).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dumitrascu et al. (US 20240193283) discloses a method for detecting that a threshold plurality of authorization events are performed by the plurality of entities and a storage system to perform a restricted operation.
Kwatra et al. (US 20210160261) discloses system and method for device discovery and recovery in a secure network comprises registering a plurality of devices
/SHADI H KOBROSLI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492 /RUPAL DHARIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492