DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 2, and 4-14 in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 2, 4-20 are pending. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, lines 3-4, “the first” should begin on a new line with “surface is an irregular surface.”
Claim 12, lines 5-7:
the second object has a different shape than the first object; the one or more sensors are configured to detect the second customizable
identifier of the second object;
should be amended to:
the second object has a different shape than the first object;
the one or more sensors are configured to detect the second customizable identifier of the second object;
That is, a new line should begin between “the first object;” and “the one or more”; and a new line should not appear between “second customizable” and “identifier of the second object;”.
The last sub-paragraph of claim 12 should be indented.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Szarski et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0291275).
Szarski teaches:
Re claim 1. A system, including:
a robot (robot 102, Figs. 3 and 9) that includes:
one or more sensors (sensor system 114, Fig. 10; and paragraph [0042]: “The robot 102 may additionally includes a sensor system 114 having a plurality of sensors such as lasers 116 (e.g., laser scanners) and/or cameras 118”);
a mechanical arm (robotic arm 106, Fig. 9);
a first object that includes a first customizable identifier (workpiece 300, fiducial markers 316, Figs. 3-8);
wherein:
the one or more sensors are configured to detect a first customizable identifier of the first object (paragraph [0042]: “The sensor system 114 is configured to detect fiducial markers 316 (e.g., FIGS. 4-5) on the workpiece 300, and transmit identification data and positional data regarding the fiducial markers 316 to the data processing system 200 for coordinating the movement of the robot 102 and the robotic arm 106 relative to the workpiece 300.”);
the one or more sensors collect location data corresponding to the first customizable identifier of the first object (paragraph [0042]: “positional data”);
the robot is configured to align the mechanical arm of the robot with the first object, based at least in part on the location data corresponding to the first customizable identifier of the first object (paragraph [0042]: “coordinating the movement of the robot 102 and the robotic arm 106 relative to the workpiece 300.” Paragraph [0044]: “The processor 204 is configured to autonomously generate a master plan 222 defining the movements of the end effector 110 in operating on the operating surface 308 of the workpiece 300. … The master plan 222 defines a plurality of working waypoints 228 corresponding to the plurality of fiducial markers 316 mounted on the workpiece 300. The master plan 222 also defines movement paths 238 (e.g., three-dimensional) of the end effector 110 for the robot 102 stationed at each of the working waypoints 228, and defines a sequence of movements of the end effector 110 along the movement paths 238 for the robot 102 at each working waypoint 228.”).
Re claim 4. Wherein:
the customizable identifier has a first color (paragraph [0048]: “the fiducial markers 316 may be provided in any one a variety of different sizes, shapes, colors, and configurations.”); and
the first portion of the surface of the first object has a second color that is different from the first color (paragraph [0048]).
Re claim 5. Wherein the customizable identifier has a predetermined shape (Figs. 6-8 and paragraph [0048]: “identification patterns 318 that are square-shaped”).
Re claim 6. wherein:
the customizable identifier has at least one flat surface (Figs 5 and 20);
the customizable identifier is located on the first surface of the first object; the first surface is an irregular surface (Figs. 5 and 20).
Re claim 9. Wherein the customizable identifier is a QR code (Figs. 6-8).
Re claim 12. Including a second object that is different from the first object (paragraph [0005]: “different types of operations on a variety of different types of workpieces.”); and
wherein:
the second object includes a second customizable identifier (paragraph [0050]: “The CAD model 208 may be manually selected by a user from among a listing (not shown) of different workpieces 300.”. Paragraph [0053]: “The processor 204 may also save a definition of the plurality of fiducial markers 316 in the geometry file 216. As mentioned above, the fiducial markers 316 are included in the CAD model 208 of the workpiece 300.”);
the second object has a different shape than the first object (paragraph [0005]);
the one or more sensors are configured to detect the second customizable identifier of the second object (paragraph [0042]: “The sensor system 114 is configured to detect fiducial markers 316 (e.g., FIGS. 4-5) on the workpiece 300, and transmit identification data and positional data regarding the fiducial markers 316 to the data processing system 200 for coordinating the movement of the robot 102 and the robotic arm 106 relative to the workpiece 300.”);
the one or more sensors collect location data corresponding to the second customizable identifier of the second object (paragraph [0042]);
the robot is configured to align the mechanical arm of the robot with the second object, based at least in part on the location data corresponding to the second customizable identifier of the second object (paragraph [0042]: “coordinating the movement of the robot 102 and the robotic arm 106 relative to the workpiece 300.” Paragraph [0044]: “The processor 204 is configured to autonomously generate a master plan 222 defining the movements of the end effector 110 in operating on the operating surface 308 of the workpiece 300. … The master plan 222 defines a plurality of working waypoints 228 corresponding to the plurality of fiducial markers 316 mounted on the workpiece 300. The master plan 222 also defines movement paths 238 (e.g., three-dimensional) of the end effector 110 for the robot 102 stationed at each of the working waypoints 228, and defines a sequence of movements of the end effector 110 along the movement paths 238 for the robot 102 at each working waypoint 228.”).
Re claim 13. Wherein the customizable identifier includes at least one surface that is conformal with at least a first portion of a surface of the first object (Fig. 20, fiducial markers 316 conform with the flat surface intended to host the fiducial markers 316).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szarski et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0291275) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McCay et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0118617).
The teachings of Szarski have been discussed above. Szarski fails to specifically teach: (re claim 2) wherein the customizable identifier is 3D printed as a single, integral unit, with the first object.
McCay teaches, at paragraphs [0009-0010], using unique metrology features 3D printed into a component to allow measurements of the component’s position or orientation. This allows for fixed metrology features that are present throughout a component’s life and eliminates any extra steps required to apply metrology features after the manufacture of a component.
In view of McCay’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Szarski, (re claim 2) wherein the customizable identifier is 3D printed as a single, integral unit, with the first object, with a reasonable expectation of success, since McCay teaches using unique metrology features 3D printed into a component to allow measurements of the component’s position or orientation. This allows for fixed metrology features that are present throughout a component’s life and eliminates any extra steps required to apply metrology features after the manufacture of a component.
Szarski fails to specifically teach: (re claim 11) wherein the first object is configured to be manipulated or moved by the mechanical arm of the robot.
McCay teaches, at Figs. 7-10 and paragraph [0124], such robots may manipulate 3D printed components with metrology features to put the components into desirable positions.
In view of McCay’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Szarski, (re claim 11) wherein the first object is configured to be manipulated or moved by the mechanical arm of the robot, with a reasonable expectation of success, since McCay teaches such robots may manipulate 3D printed components with metrology features to put the components into desirable positions.
Szarski fails to specifically teach: (re claim 14) wherein the customizable identifier includes at least one surface that is conformal with at least a first portion of a surface of the first object.
McCay teaches, at Figs. 2, 4, and 10, and paragraphs [0009-0010], integrating metrology features into the surface of a component through 3D printing. This allows for fixed metrology features that are present throughout a component’s life and eliminates any extra steps required to apply metrology features after the manufacture of a component.
In view of McCay’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Szarski, (re claim 14) wherein the customizable identifier includes at least one surface that is conformal with at least a first portion of a surface of the first object, with a reasonable expectation of success, since McCay teaches integrating metrology features into the surface of a component through 3D printing. This allows for fixed metrology features that are present throughout a component’s life and eliminates any extra steps required to apply metrology features after the manufacture of a component.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szarski et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0291275) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oleynik et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0118618).
The teachings of Szarski have been discussed above. Szarski fails to specifically teach: (re claim 7) wherein: the customizable identifier is located on a mechanical mechanism of the first object, wherein at least a portion of the mechanical mechanism is configured to be manipulated or moved independently of other portions of the first object.
Oleynik teaches, at paragraphs [0439, and 0551-0552], a robotic arm may be used to open and close an oven door which has triangle-shaped markers including QR codes to help a robot identify and localize the oven door. This enables such robotic manipulators to accurately interact with and manipulate oven doors.
In view of Oleynik’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Szarski, (re claim 7) wherein: the customizable identifier is located on a mechanical mechanism of the first object, wherein at least a portion of the mechanical mechanism is configured to be manipulated or moved independently of other portions of the first object, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Oleynik teaches a robotic arm may be used to open and close an oven door which has triangle-shaped markers including QR codes to help a robot identify and localize the oven door. This enables such robotic manipulators to accurately interact with and manipulate oven doors.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szarski et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0291275) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US Publication No. 2024/0317491).
The teachings of Szarski have been discussed above. Szarski fails to specifically teach: (re claim 8) wherein the customizable identifier is a barcode.
Cheng teaches, at the abstract, paragraph [0180], and claim 16, a barcode may be used to detect the position of an inventory item relative to a robot. This allows for robots to localize items based on simple, commonly available, and easy to produce codes.
In view of Cheng’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Szarski, (re claim 8) wherein the customizable identifier is a barcode, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Cheng teaches a barcode may be used to detect the position of an inventory item relative to a robot. This allows for robots to localize items based on simple, commonly available, and easy to produce codes.
Szarski fails to specifically teach: (re claim 10) wherein the first object includes a container.
Cheng teaches, at the abstract and paragraph [0057], a robot may be used to detect the location of containers so that the robot may move the containers as desired.
In view of Cheng’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Szarski, (re claim 10) wherein the first object includes a container, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Cheng teaches a robot may be used to detect the location of containers so that the robot may move the containers as desired.
Conclusion
/SPENCER D PATTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656