DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The 2nd-to-last line of claim 1 recites “reduce a printing density of the fixing device”. It does not make sense to reduce a printing density of the fixing device, when the fixing device is not known to be responsible for the act of printing. For examination purposes, the indefinite language will be interpreted as --reduce a printing density of a printed image--.
The last two lines of claim 7 recite “operate the fixing device to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type”. This is confusing because the fixing device is not known to be responsible for printing. For examination purposes, the indefinite language will be interpreted as --operate a printing device to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type--.
The 2nd-to-last line of claim 13 recites “operate the fixing device to perform single-color printing”. It does not make sense for the fixing device, configured to heat a sheet, to perform printing. For examination purposes, the indefinite language will be interpreted as --operate the image forming apparatus to perform single-color printing--.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are rendered indefinite due to their dependence upon indefinite claims.
Note: the following rejections are based upon the claims as best understood by Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,385,579 (“patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the outstanding claims are broader and thus fully met. Note that patent claim 9 does not explicitly claim reducing the printing density “to be less than a threshold printing density”. However, this is an inherent feature when reducing a printing density from some initial amount, the initial amount being considered a threshold.
Claims 1-6, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,385,579 (“patent”) in view of Sone et al. (US 2018/0150010; “Sone”).
Regarding outstanding claim 1, though slight differences in wording, claim 1 of the patent claims image forming apparatus comprising: a voltage measuring device configured to measure an input voltage; a fixing device comprising a heater configured to heat a sheet; and a controller configured to: determine a heating timing of the heater when the input voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold, and activate the heater at the determined heating timing.
Claim 1 of the patent fails to claim the controller configured to reduce a printing density of the fixing device to be less than a threshold printing density at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation.
Sone teaches an image forming apparatus 100 (Fig. 1) comprising a controller 50 (Fig. 3A) configured to reduce a printing density of the fixing device (i.e., a printing density of a printed image) to be less than a threshold printing density ([0161]) at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation. (Note that Sone does not explicitly describe reducing the printing density specifically at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation. Regardless, the heater requires activation in order for a printed image to be fixed by the fixing device. Further, any reduction in printing density is interpreted as a reduction of efficiency of the printing operation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim the controller configured to reduce a printing density of the fixing device to be less than a threshold printing density at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid cumbersome control that controls unnoticeable level of image density (Sone [0161]).
Outstanding claims 2-6 clearly correlate to patent claims 2-4 and 6-7, respectively.
Regarding outstanding claim 13, though slight differences in wording, claim 1 of the patent claims image forming apparatus comprising: a voltage measuring device configured to measure an input voltage; a fixing device comprising a heater configured to heat a sheet; and a controller configured to: determine a heating timing of the heater when the input voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold, and activate the heater at the determined heating timing.
Claim 1 of the patent fails to claim the controller configured to operate the fixing device to perform single-color printing at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation.
Sone teaches an image forming apparatus 100 (Fig. 1) comprising a controller 50 (Fig. 3A) configured to operate the fixing device to perform single-color printing at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation (in steps S112-S114 the controller switches to monochrome printing; Figs. 13A-13B [0147]). (Note that Sone does not explicitly describe reducing the printing density specifically at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation. Regardless, the heater requires activation in order for a printed image to be fixed by the fixing device. Further, any reduction in printing density is interpreted as a reduction of efficiency of the printing operation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim the controller configured to operate the fixing device to perform single-color printing at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid cumbersome control that controls unnoticeable level of image density (Sone [0161]).
Outstanding claims 14-16 and 18-19 clearly correlate to patent claims 2-4 and 6-7, respectively.
Regarding outstanding claim 20, modified claim 1 of the patent claims the image forming apparatus of claim 13, but fails to claim wherein the controller is further configured to display a notification indicating single-color printing.
Sone teaches wherein the controller is further configured to display a notification indicating single-color printing ([0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim wherein the controller is further configured to display a notification indicating single-color printing, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this case, the predictable results would be effectively informing a user of a change in printing conditions.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,385,579 in view of Sone (US 2018/0150010) as applied to outstanding claim 15, and further in view of Okada (US 2004/0022550).
Regarding outstanding claim 17, patent claim 3 claims the image forming apparatus of claim 15, but fails to claim wherein the controller is further configured to deactivate the heater before the zero crossing point.
Okada teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 [0043]) having a controller (DSP 27; Fig. 4 [0057-0058]) configured to deactivate a heater 13/31 (Fig. 4 [0060]) before a zero crossing point (“the turn-off-timing in software is set to 100 µsec before the zero crossing point”; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim the controller further configured to deactivate the heater before the zero crossing point. One would have been motivated to do so in order to execute turning on/off of the heater securely and precisely and execute the phase control based on a more accurate zero crossing point without being influenced by the noise or the power source frequency (Okada [0089]).
Claims 7-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,385,579 in view of Sakai (US 2004/0131374).
Regarding outstanding claim 7, though slight differences in wording, claim 1 of the patent claims image forming apparatus comprising: a voltage measuring device configured to measure an input voltage; a fixing device comprising a heater configured to heat a sheet; and a controller configured to: determine a heating timing of the heater when the input voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold, and activate the heater at the determined heating timing.
Claim 1 of the patent fails to claim the controller configured to operate the fixing device to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation.
Sakai teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising a controller 16 (Fig. 1) configured to operate a fixing device (Fig. 1 [0045]) to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type (basis weight, thickness, roughness) at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation (Fig. 3 [0013, 0078]; the basis weight of a sheet determines heat transfer efficiency, and the apparatus will reduce efficiency when printing on different types of paper when adjusting a sheet interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim the controller configured to operate the fixing device to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure a stable fixing property and provide a fixing apparatus which is stable in curling, stacking performance, etc. and gives priority to the print quality (Sakai [0078]).
Outstanding claims 8-12 clearly correlate to patent claims 2-4 and 6-7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 13-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakutani (US 2020/0310326) in view of Sone (US 2018/0150010).
Regarding claim 1, Kakutani discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a voltage measuring device 301 configured to measure an input voltage (Fig. 2, [0049, 0052]);
a fixing device 150 comprising a heater 210 configured to heat a sheet (Figs. 1-2, [0024, 0031]); and
a controller 201 (Fig. 2) configured to:
determine a heating timing of the heater ([0038]) when the input voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold (as the controller 201 switches control methods based on the effective value of the AC voltage in accordance with regional differences, e.g., 100 V vs 230 V, at least one threshold must exist which serves as the basis for changing the heating timing; [0040-0041]), and
activate the heater at the determined heating timing ([0051-0057]).
Kakutani fails to disclose the controller configured to reduce a printing density of the fixing device to be less than a threshold printing density at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation.
Sone teaches an image forming apparatus 100 (Fig. 1) comprising a controller 50 (Fig. 3A) configured to reduce a printing density of the fixing device (i.e., a printing density of a printed image) to be less than a threshold printing density ([0161]) at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation. (Note that Sone does not explicitly describe reducing the printing density specifically at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation. Regardless, the heater requires activation in order for a printed image to be fixed by the fixing device. Further, any reduction in printing density is interpreted as a reduction of efficiency of the printing operation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Kakutani such that it is configured to reduce a printing density of the fixing device to be less than a threshold printing density at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid cumbersome control that controls unnoticeable level of image density (Sone [0161]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 1, wherein the heating timing is a timing after a peak of the input voltage from a power supply (Kakutani [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a zero crossing detection circuit 303 configured to detect a zero crossing point of the input voltage (Kakutani [0032, 0037, 0040]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 3, wherein the heating timing is based on the zero crossing point detected by the zero crossing detection circuit (Kakutani [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 1, wherein the voltage measuring device 301 is configured to measure the input voltage at a predetermined timing (Kakutani [0037, 0049, 0052, 0057]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 5, wherein the predetermined timing is at least one of a time at which power of the image forming apparatus is turned on or a time at which an elapsed time is reached (Kakutani [0037, 0049, 0052, 0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Kakutani discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a voltage measuring device 301 configured to measure an input voltage (Fig. 2, [0049, 0052]);
a fixing device 150 comprising a heater 210 configured to heat a sheet (Figs. 1-2, [0024, 0031]); and
a controller 201 (Fig. 2) configured to:
determine a heating timing of the heater ([0038]) when the input voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold (as the controller 201 switches control methods based on the effective value of the AC voltage in accordance with regional differences, e.g., 100 V vs 230 V, at least one threshold must exist which serves as the basis for changing the heating timing; [0040-0041]), and
activate the heater at the determined heating timing ([0051-0057]).
Kakutani fails to disclose the controller configured to operate the fixing device to perform single-color printing at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation.
Sone teaches an image forming apparatus 100 (Fig. 1) comprising a controller 50 (Fig. 3A) configured to operate the fixing device to perform single-color printing at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation (in steps S112-S114 the controller switches to monochrome printing; Figs. 13A-13B [0147]). (Note that Sone does not explicitly describe reducing the printing density specifically at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation. Regardless, the heater requires activation in order for a printed image to be fixed by the fixing device. Further, any reduction in printing density is interpreted as a reduction of efficiency of the printing operation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim the controller configured to operate the fixing device to perform single-color printing at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of a printing operation. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid cumbersome control that controls unnoticeable level of image density (Sone [0161]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 13, wherein the heating timing is a timing after a peak of the input voltage from a power supply (Kakutani [0043]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a zero crossing detection circuit 303 configured to detect a zero crossing point of the input voltage (Kakutani [0032, 0037, 0040]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 15, wherein the heating timing is based on the zero crossing point detected by the zero crossing detection circuit (Kakutani [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 13, wherein the voltage measuring device 301 is configured to measure the input voltage at a predetermined timing (Kakutani [0037, 0049, 0052, 0057]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 18, wherein the predetermined timing is at least one of a time at which power of the image forming apparatus is turned on or a time at which an elapsed time is reached (Kakutani [0037, 0049, 0052, 0057]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 13, but fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to display a notification indicating single-color printing.
Sone teaches wherein the controller is further configured to display a notification indicating single-color printing ([0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kakutani such that the controller is further configured to display a notification indicating single-color printing, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this case, the predictable results would be effectively informing a user of a change in printing conditions.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakutani (US 2020/0310326) in view of Sone (US 2018/0150010) as applied to claim 15, and further in view of Okada (US 2004/0022550).
Regarding outstanding claim 17, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 15, but fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to deactivate the heater before the zero crossing point.
Okada teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 [0043]) having a controller (DSP 27; Fig. 4 [0057-0058]) configured to deactivate a heater 13/31 (Fig. 4 [0060]) before a zero crossing point (“the turn-off-timing in software is set to 100 µsec before the zero crossing point”; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus to include the controller configured to deactivate the heater before the zero crossing point. One would have been motivated to do so in order to execute turning on/off of the heater securely and precisely and execute the phase control based on a more accurate zero crossing point without being influenced by the noise or the power source frequency (Okada [0089]).
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakutani (US 2020/0310326) in view of Sakai (US 2004/0131374).
Regarding claim 7, Kakutani discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a voltage measuring device 301 configured to measure an input voltage (Fig. 2, [0049, 0052]);
a fixing device 150 comprising a heater 210 configured to heat a sheet (Figs. 1-2, [0024, 0031]); and
a controller 201 (Fig. 2) configured to:
determine a heating timing of the heater ([0038]) when the input voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold (as the controller 201 switches control methods based on the effective value of the AC voltage in accordance with regional differences, e.g., 100 V vs 230 V, at least one threshold must exist which serves as the basis for changing the heating timing; [0040-0041]), and
activate the heater at the determined heating timing ([0051-0057]).
Kakutani fails to disclose the controller configured to operate the fixing device to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation.
Sakai teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising a controller 16 (Fig. 1) configured to operate a fixing device (Fig. 1 [0045]) to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type (basis weight, thickness, roughness) at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation (Fig. 3 [013, 0078]; the basis weight of a sheet determines heat transfer efficiency, and the apparatus will reduce efficiency when printing on different types of paper when adjusting a sheet interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the controller to operate the fixing device to perform a printing operation with a specific sheet type at a time of heater activation to reduce efficiency of the printing operation. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure a stable fixing property and provide a fixing apparatus which is stable in curling, stacking performance, etc. and gives priority to the print quality (Sakai [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 7, wherein the heating timing is a timing after a peak of the input voltage from a power supply (Kakutani [0043]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 7, further comprising: a zero crossing detection circuit 303 configured to detect a zero crossing point of the input voltage (Kakutani [0032, 0037, 0040]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 9, wherein the heating timing is based on the zero crossing point detected by the zero crossing detection circuit (Kakutani [0042]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 7, wherein the voltage measuring device 301 is configured to measure the input voltage at a predetermined timing (Kakutani [0037, 0049, 0052, 0057]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kakutani teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 11, wherein the predetermined timing is at least one of a time at which power of the image forming apparatus is turned on or a time at which an elapsed time is reached (Kakutani [0037, 0049, 0052, 0057]).
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852