DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites “wherein the corrosion inhibitor further comprises an additional imidazoline.” However, there is no provision for an imidazoline in claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends, and, as such, it appears there is thus a lack of antecedent basis for an additional imidazoline. The Examiner acknowledges [0078] of the specification as filed recites wherein imidazolines and imido imidazolines are referred to as fatty acid amine condensates and imido fatty acid amine condensates. However, such has not been clearly identified within the claims; consistent terminology and recitations throughout the claims is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webber et al. (US 2015/0148266 – cited previously) in view of Bennett et al. (US 2018/0148632).
With respect to independent claim 1, Webber et al. discloses a hydrate inhibitor and corrosion inhibitor composition ([0011]) comprising: from about 10 wt% to about 99.9 wt% ([0011]) of an anti-agglomerant low dose hydrate inhibitor (AA-LDHI), wherein the AA-LDHI is a cationic ammonium compound ([0009], wherein Applicant’s elected formula of Formula IIIb is disclosed); a corrosion inhibitor ([0011]; [0046]; [0056]; [0058]); and at least one additional functional ingredient ([0046]; [0056]), solvent ([0058]), or a combination thereof ([0046]; [0056]; [0058]).
Webber et al. discloses the composition as set forth above, wherein a corrosion inhibitor is injected with the hydrate inhibitor; the reference further specifies wherein the hydrate compositions do not interfere or react with any corrosion inhibitor used in the system ([0046]). Webber et al., however, fails to specify a specific corrosion inhibitor employed and/or amount thereof.
Bennett et al. teaches corrosion inhibitor compositions for providing protection to oilfield production equipment against corrosive fluids and gases ([0006]) wherein the corrosion inhibitor can comprise a combination of corrosion inhibitors that include an imidazoline, including various fatty acid amine condensates, and a quaternary ammonium compound ([0015]-[0037]; [0055]-[0072]), wherein the quaternary ammonium compound has the structure of Formula (IV) ([0037]); a sulfur-containing compound can be included therewith for the purpose of enhancing the corrosion inhibiting and cleaning performance as a synergist ([0085]). The sulfur-containing compound can be present in an amount of about 1-20 wt% ([0084]) and the corrosion inhibitor component can be present in an amount of 5-95 wt%, with a preferable amount thereof in the composition being 20-30 wt% ([0053]).
Since Webber et al. suggests wherein the AA-LDHI does not react with any corrosion inhibitor and Bennett et al. teaches a corrosion inhibitor comprising a quaternary ammonium compound of Formula IV, a fatty acid amine condensate, and a sulfur compound as a synergist for the purpose of enhancing corrosion inhibiting and cleaning performance of a corrosion inhibiting system comprising such a quaternary ammonium compound and fatty acid amine condensate, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try such a corrosion inhibitor in the composition of Webber et al. in order to yield the predictable result of imparting corrosion inhibition to the AA-LDHI composition therewith. Since Webber et al. discloses the hydrate inhibitors do not react with any corrosion inhibitors in the system and Bennett et al. teaches the corrosion inhibitor as suitable for use in providing corrosion inhibiting protection to oilfield equipment against corrosive fluids and gases, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to employ such in the composition of Webber et al. in order to yield predictable results.
With further regard to the amount of corrosion inhibitor, given the suggested amount by Bennett et al., one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the optimal amount thereof to employ in the composition of Webber et al. in order to effectively provide corrosion inhibition therewith since it has been held wherein generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 wherein it was held "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) wherein claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art."). Additionally, the Examiner notes, obviousness can be shown in a predictable art when a difference between the claimed ranges is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. In re Brandt, 886 F. 3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018). (“A simple case in the predictable arts that does not require expertise to find that the claimed range of “less than 6 lbs/ft3” and the prior art range of “between 6lbs/ft3 and 25 lbs/ft3” are so mathematically close that the examiner properly rejected the claims as prima facie obvious.”). The instant specification fails to explicitly establish the instantly claimed weight percent of corrosion inhibitor as critical, as exemplified by the extensiveness thereof, and it is unclear if any unexpected results are achieved by using the instantly claimed weight percents. Since the corrosion inhibitor of Bennett et al. is suggested as being provided for in an amount that overlaps the instantly claimed range, and, further, in an amount for inhibiting corrosion inhibition therewith in a composition that further provides anti-agglomerate hydrate inhibition, it does not appear that such would be considered an unexpected result of using the presently claimed weight percent of corrosion inhibitor, and, as such, the determination of optimal percent thereof in the composition of Webber et al. would be achievable through routine experimentation in the art.
With respect to dependent claim 6, Bennett et al. further suggests wherein the corrosion inhibitor further comprises one as claimed ([0054]-[0075]). As such, when utilizing the corrosion inhibitor of Bennett et al., the further inclusion of a compound as claimed therewith would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try in order to yield predictable results, for at least the reasons set forth above.
With respect to dependent claim 7, neither Webber et al. nor Bennett et al. suggests the inclusion of a boron-hydroxylalkyl(amine) compound, urea or calcium nitrate corrosion inhibitor. As such, it is the position of the Office that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to exclude such compounds from the composition of Webber et al. in view of Bennett et al. since such corrosion inhibitors are not required for inclusion by Webber et al. in view of Bennett et al. and it has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired. Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). In the instant case, Bennett et al. suggests suitable alternative corrosion inhibitors for use with the AA-LDHI, and, thus, any corrosion inhibiting function that would be imparted by the compounds of claim 7 is not necessary and/or desired.
With respect to further dependent claim 8, Bennett et al. further suggests wherein the corrosion inhibitors comprise a component as claimed ([0075]-[0076]; see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Webber et al. discloses wherein the composition includes a single AA-LDHI ([0009], wherein a compound, i.e., a single AA-LDHI, is disclosed).
With respect to dependent claim 10, Webber et al. discloses wherein the composition does not include any quaternary ammonium compound AA-LDHIs or halide-containing AA-LDHIs (wherein no quaternary ammonium compounds are disclosed; [0037], wherein the anion can alternatively be a carbonate or a carboxylate).
With respect to dependent claim 11, Webber et al. discloses wherein the solvent comprises a polar and/or nonpolar solvent ([0052]-[0054]; [0057]-[0058]; [0061]).
With respect to dependent claim 12, Webber et al. discloses the additional functional ingredients as claimed ([0011]; [0056]).
With respect to dependent claim 13, Webber et al. teaches wherein the composition can include kinetic hydrate inhibitors ([0055]; [0059]). The reference additionally fails to teach any specific inclusion of a fluoroalkyl compound. Since the composition of Webber et al. can include a kinetic hydrate inhibitor, it is the position of the Office that such can therefore also not include such a kinetic hydrate inhibitor and, as such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try a composition free of kinetic hydrate inhibitors and fluoroalkyl compounds since such are not required components of the composition of Webber et al. and therefore one of ordinary skill would recognize the omission thereof as obvious should the functions attributed thereto not be desired and/or required, such as, for example, when a kinetic hydrate inhibitor is not necessary and when an alternative substituent to a fluoroalkyl is employed. Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989).
With respect to dependent claim 14, Webber et al. discloses wherein the AA-LDHI can be injected with a corrosion inhibitor, in which instance a polar solvent is used ([0058]), as well as wherein individual inhibitors can be added to the fluid at separate ports ([0059]). Webber et al. additionally suggests wherein various additional functional additives can be used in combination with the corrosion inhibitor ([0056]). The AA-LDHI is further suggested as injected as prepared or formulated in an additional solvent depending on the application and requirements ([0061]). Although silent to the provision of wherein the composition is a two-part composition wherein the first part comprises the AA-LDHI and the second part comprises the corrosion inhibitor and the additional functional ingredient, solvent or combination thereof, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to formulate the composition as a two-part composition wherein the first part comprises the AA-LDHI to which the second part comprising the corrosion inhibitor and additional functional ingredient is added at, for example, a separate port, as suggested in [0059], in order to ensure the addition of the corrosion inhibitor and additional functional ingredient when such is deemed necessary and/or desired.
With respect to dependent claim 22, Bennett et al. teaches wherein the quaternary ammonium compound is as claimed ([0071]; see motivation to combine in the rejection of claim 1, above).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-14 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-8 and 11-14 of copending Application No. 18/461,676 (‘676 herein) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘676 provides for a hydrate inhibitor and corrosion inhibitor composition comprising an amount of AA-LDHI overlapping that which is instantly claimed, and, further, fully recites the structure of Applicant’s instantly elected AA-LDHI, thereby fully encompassing the hydrate inhibitor as instantly claimed in claim 1; ‘676 further recites in independent claim 1 the same weight percent of corrosion inhibitor, wherein such comprises a fatty acid amine condensate, at least one sulfur compound and a quaternary ammonium compound which is further identified in the specification of ‘676 as having a formula according to that which is instantly claimed. Lastly, 676 includes at least one additional functional ingredient, solvent, or a combination thereof within the composition of claim 1, as is instantly claimed. As such, Applicant’s instantly claimed composition in claim 1 is fully encompassed by that which is recited in ‘676 and would thus be obvious thereover.
Instant dependent claims 6-8 and 11-14 mirror dependent claims 6-8 and 11-14 of ‘676 and therefore would also be obvious thereover.
Although instant dependent claims 9 and 10 are not explicitly recited in ‘676, such would indeed be obvious thereover in view of ‘676’s use of “consisting of” in claim 1, wherein the composition consists of an AA-LDHI that is a cationic ammonium compound of Formula (IIIb).
Lastly, with regard to instant dependent claim 22, although not recited within ‘676, ‘676 suggests such quaternary ammonium compounds as used as the corrosion inhibitor within the specification, and, therefore, the use of such within the composition of ‘676 would indeed be obvious thereover.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims as unpatentable over Webber et al. in view of Bartels et al. have been considered; the Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 1 to require the corrosion inhibitor comprise the additional components of a fatty acid amine condensate and at least one sulfur compound and Bartels et al.’s lack of teaching thereof. As such, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made over Webber et al. in view of Bennett et al. as Bennett et al. suggests a corrosion inhibitor comprising the combination of components instantly claimed.
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s further arguments pertaining to the unexpected synergistic results for the claimed combination that would not have been predicted from the cited references, as well as wherein Table 8 of the specification shows superior results for the AA-LDHI/CI combination product 6 containing a quaternary ammonium compound, a fatty acid amine condensate and a sulfur compound.
However, instant independent claim 1 recites a composition that includes from about 10-99.9 wt% of the AA-LDHI that is a zwitterionic compound or a cationic ammonium compound and from about 0.01-50 wt% of the corrosion inhibitor that comprises the instantly claimed components.
Whether the unexpected/superior results obtained by Applicant are indeed the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980) (Claims were directed to a process for removing corrosion at "elevated temperatures" using a certain ion exchange resin (with the exception of claim 8 which recited a temperature in excess of 100°C). Appellant demonstrated unexpected results via comparative tests with the prior art ion exchange resin at 110°C and 130°C. The court affirmed the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-10 because the term "elevated temperatures" encompassed temperatures as low as 60°C where the prior art ion exchange resin was known to perform well. The rejection of claim 8, directed to a temperature in excess of 100°C, was reversed.). See also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329-31, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-85 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (data showing improved alloy strength with the addition of 2% rhenium did not evidence unexpected results for the entire claimed range of about 1-3% rhenium); In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 741, 218 USPQ 769, 777 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to certain catalysts containing an alkali metal. Evidence presented to rebut an obviousness rejection compared catalysts containing sodium with the prior art. The court held this evidence insufficient to rebut the prima facie case because experiments limited to sodium were not commensurate in scope with the claims.).
In the instant case, it is unclear if the unexpected/superior results for AA-LDHI/CI combo product 6 indeed are achieved with each and every combination of percentages of AA-LDHI and CI over the extensive range claimed, and, further, with both zwitterionic and cationic ammonium compound AA-LDHIs. Furthermore, the corrosion inhibitor of product 6 appears to consist of a quaternary ammonium compound, a fatty acid amine condensate and a sulfur compound. Instant claim 1 recites the corrosion inhibitor as comprising such components, and, thus attempts to more broadly define the invention than that for which the alleged superior results are achieved. As such, the new grounds of rejection has been presented above.
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s request to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/0228095, US 6866797 and US 2021/0253938 each teach a corrosion inhibitor comprising a quaternary ammonium compound, a fatty acid amine condensate and at least one sulfur compound.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Angela M DiTrani Leff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
ADL
07/21/26