DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Application #19/279,876 and RCE filed on 31 August 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-34, 36-40, 43-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2022/0170718 to Reese et al (Reese).
Regarding Claims 31, 43. Reese discloses a pistol sight comprising a lens and a housing including a base and a shroud disposed above and supported by the base (see figures), the shroud holding the lens configured to be viewed by a shooter of the pistol when aiming the pistol in a forward direction with respect to the pistol sight, wherein the housing has a first and second side (see figures, clearly illustrated), the first side including:
a first ridge, a second ridge (see marked fig.1 below), and a third ridge (fig.1, 156), each of the first, second and third ridges being generally upstanding, the second and third ridges each having a forward facing shoulder arranged to be engaged by a hand of the shooter to grip the pistol sight to rack the slide of the pistol, the first ridge being spaced apart from and in front of the second ridge (see marked fig.1 below for the relative locations of the first and second ridges, then see fig.3 to see the first ridge extends farther forward than the second ridge), the third ridge being located rearward of the second ridge, wherein the third ridge is on the base and extends to a bottom side of the base (fig.1, 156), and the first and second ridges extend along the shroud (see marked fig.1 below). Regarding Claim 43, please see figure 7 as it shows a matching mirror image on the opposite side of the sight and the first, second, third and fourth ridges will be identical to the marked fig.1 below.
Regarding Claims 32, 44, see marked fig.1 below.
Regarding Claim 33, see marked fig.1 below.
Regarding Claim 34, 45, see marked fig.1 below, the first and second ridges appear to be approximately along the base level of the sight.
Regarding Claims 36, 46, see fig.1 at 190 for the first recess, and fig.1 at 192 for the second recess.
Regarding Claims 37, 47, see fig.1, bottom of 192.
Regarding Claims 38, 48, see fig.3.
Regarding Claims 39, 49, see marked fig.1 below.
Regarding Claim 40, see figures 1-2.
Regarding Claim 41, see marked fig.1 below.
Marked Figure 1
Regarding Claim 50, a different interpretation of the claimed limitations of claims 31/43 will be provided, please see marked fig.2 below.
Marked Figure 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2022/0170718 to Reese et al (Reese).
Regarding Claim 42, Reese discloses the sight of claim 31 but fails to specifically disclose the third ridge extends upward and rearward along the base. Reese has the ridge extending upward and forward. However, selecting a different angle would have been an obvious matter of engineering design choice to one having ordinary skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-12, 14-30 are allowed.
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Reese does not disclose newly added limitations to claim 31, and argues Reese fails to disclose first ridge generally upstanding and spaced apart from the second ridge and in front of the second ridge. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the same manner the instant application has different ridge surfaces as the surfaces change angles, Reese is also interpreted as such. In the marked fig.1, one can see changes in height and angle of the ridges generally pointed out as 154, and identified by marked fig.1. Using this interpretation, which the Examiner believes meets the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim limitations are clearly seen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for pertinent art.
/JOHN COOPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641