DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 7/25/2025, no claims have been cancelled, no claims are newly added and claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 6, 9, 15 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-3, 9, 15 recite “the rotation axis” which should read as “the rotational axis” since claims 1 and 14 recite “a rotational axis”.
Claims 6, 18 recite “the facets” which should read as “the at least one concavely shaped facet” to be consistent with the previously recited “at least one concavely shaped facet” in claims 5 and 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the plurality of top corner radii" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The plurality of top corner radii are not recited in claim 14, which claim 16 is dependent off of, but instead are first recited in claim 15. For this reason, Examiner best interprets claim 16 to be dependent on claim 15.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the plurality of top corner radii" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The plurality of top corner radii are not recited in claim 14, which claim 17 is dependent off of, but instead are first recited in claim 15. For this reason, Examiner best interprets claim 17 to be dependent on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190290290 Bono et al. (hereinafter Bono ‘290).
Regarding claim 1, Bono ‘290 discloses a surgical cutting tool (100, Fig. 1-18) comprising:
a shank (2) defining a longitudinal axis (4), a distal end (8) and a proximal end (10), the shank having a perimeter surface (6) extending around the longitudinal axis, the longitudinal axis also defining a rotational axis about which the shank is adapted to oscillate (paragraph 31);
the shank including a cutter (14) disposed at the distal end, the cutter including:
a plurality of flutes (18) uniformly and circumferentially arranged around the longitudinal axis to define an outermost diameter (16), each flute extending inwardly from the outermost diameter toward the longitudinal axis to form a recessed flute channel (20); each flute channel having a pair of opposing concave sidewalls (22, 24) (paragraph 31);
a plurality of blades (32) with each blade being defined by a pair of adjacent flutes (18) (as seen in Fig. 4), each blade having an exterior concave surface extending along a length of the each blade (as seen in Fig. 4, 6, 9-12, paragraph 31, top rake 34 of each blade 32 extends inwardly from the outside diameter 16 towards the axis of rotation 4 to make a concave surface);
each sidewall (22, 24) forming a cutting edge (42) extending along a length of a corresponding flute channel so that each flute channel provides two opposing faces (26) for bi-directional cutting when the shank is rotationally oscillated around the longitudinal axis (paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 2, Bono ‘290 discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein each blade includes a top corner radius extending inwardly from the outermost diameter towards the rotation axis (as seen in Fig. 3, 8, 14-15, the distal corner of each blade is rounded to have a top corner radius extending inwardly from the outermost diameter towards the rotation axis).
Regarding claim 13, Bono ‘290 discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the cutting flutes extends proximally of the blades (as seen in Fig. 7, 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bono ‘290 in view of US 20170071704 Huwais.
Regarding claim 10, Bono ‘290 discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Bono ‘290 is silent on wherein each flute extends helically relative to the longitudinal axis.
However, Huwais teaches a surgical cutting tool (36, Fig. 3, 6-7, 10-11, 14-15) that comprises flutes (62) formed in a helical spiral around a longitudinal axis (A, Fig. 6) (paragraph 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bono ‘290 with the teachings of Huwais in order to optimize cutting performance and optimize the level of stress applied to the material to be cut as disclosed by Huwais (paragraph 65, 74).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bono ‘290 and Huwais teaches the limitations of claim 10, and Huwais teaches wherein a helix angle of each flute is at least four degrees (paragraph 65, helical spiral angle may be formed with a 9.5° angle).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bono ‘290 and Huwais teaches the limitations of claim 10, wherein a helix angle of each flute is between four degrees and ten degrees, inclusive (paragraph 65, helical spiral angle may be formed with a 9.5° angle).
Claims 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bono ‘290 in view of US 20130304069 Bono et al. (hereinafter Bono ‘069).
Regarding claim 14, Bono ‘290 discloses a surgical cutting tool (100, Fig. 1-18) comprising:
a shank (2) defining a longitudinal axis (4), a distal end (8) and a proximal end (10), the shank having a perimeter surface (6) extending around the longitudinal axis, the longitudinal axis also defining a rotational axis about which the shank is adapted to oscillate (paragraph 31);
the shank including a cutter (14) disposed at the distal end, the cutter including:
a plurality of flutes (18) uniformly and circumferentially arranged around the longitudinal axis to define an outermost diameter (16), each flute extending inwardly from the outermost diameter toward the longitudinal axis to form a recessed flute channel (20); each flute channel having a pair of opposing concave sidewalls (22, 24) (paragraph 31);
a plurality of blades (32) with each blade being defined by a pair of adjacent flutes (18) (as seen in Fig. 4), each blade having an exterior concave surface extending along a length of the each blade (as seen in Fig. 4, 6, 9-12, paragraph 31, top rake 34 of each blade 32 extends inwardly from the outside diameter 16 towards the axis of rotation 4 to make a concave surface);
each sidewall (22, 24) forming a cutting edge (42) extending along a length of a corresponding flute channel so that each flute channel provides two opposing faces (26) for bi- directional cutting when the shank is rotationally oscillated around the longitudinal axis (paragraph 31).
Bono ‘290 is silent on a cutting module adapted to be detachably attached to an oscillating motor assembly and including: a housing; and the shank rotationally coupled within the housing.
However, Bono ‘069 teaches a similar oscillating surgical tool that comprises a cutting module (Fig. 10) that is detachable from an oscillating motor assembly (52, Fig. 2-3) (paragraph 40) and having a housing (78, Fig. 10) and a shank (36) rotationally coupled within the housing (as seen in Fig. 10, paragraph 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bono ‘290 with the teachings of Bono ‘069 in order to allow for interchangeable functionalities of the tool assembly as disclosed by Bono ‘069 (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Bono ‘290 and Bono ‘069 teaches the limitations of claim 14. Bono ‘069 teaches wherein the cutting module includes a pinion gear (74, Fig. 10) attached to the proximal end of the shank and configured to be in mesh with an oscillating arcuate rack gear (72). Bono ‘069 does not have the rack gear 72 in the motor assembly, however, a rearrangement of parts to place the rack gear 72 and the proximal parts 68, 64, 66, 56, 80, 82 coupled to the rack gear 72 on the motor assembly 52 instead of in the cutting module would still allow for the predictable result of the pinion gear 74 to mesh with the rack gear 72 on the motor assembly and would not modify the operation of the device (See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 15, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: No prior art references alone or in combination with other references teaches each and every limitation of the claims. The closest art of record is Bono ‘290 and Bono ‘069.
Regarding claim 3, Bono ‘290 discloses the limitations of claim 2, however does not disclose each top corner radius terminates in a sharp corner in closer proximity to the rotation axis.
Regarding claim 4, Bono ‘290 discloses the limitations of claim 2, however does not disclose wherein the plurality of top corner radii define a central recessed area, wherein the central recessed area includes a sharp central point defining a zero angular velocity point, the sharp central point positioned on the longitudinal axis and pointing in a distal direction.
Regarding claim 5, Bono ‘290 discloses the limitations of claim 2, however does not disclose wherein: the plurality of top corner radii define a central recessed area; each area in the central recessed area between two adjacent blades defining at least one concavely shaped facet.
Claim 6 is objected to on the basis of being dependent on claim 5.
Claim 7 is objected to on the basis of being dependent on claim 6.
Claim 8 is objected to on the basis of being dependent on claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, Bono ‘290 discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: each blade includes a top corner radius extending inwardly from the outermost diameter towards the rotation axis (as seen in Fig. 3, 8, 14-15, the distal corner of each blade is rounded to have a top corner radius extending inwardly from the outermost diameter towards the rotation axis). However, Bono ‘290 does not disclose each top corner radius terminates in a sharp corner in closer proximity to the rotation axis and pointing towards a center point lying on the longitudinal axis; the plurality of top corner radii define a central recessed area, wherein the central recessed area includes a sharp central point defining a zero angular velocity point, the sharp central point positioned on the longitudinal axis and pointing in a distal direction; each area in the central recessed area between two adjacent blades defining two opposed concavely shaped facets that converge at the sharp central point.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bono ‘290 and Bono ‘069 teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Bono ‘290 discloses wherein each blade includes a top corner radius extending inwardly from the outermost diameter towards the rotation axis (as seen in Fig. 3, 8, 14-15, the distal corner of each blade is rounded to have a top corner radius extending inwardly from the outermost diameter towards the rotation axis). However, the combination does not teach the each top corner radius terminates in a sharp corner in closer proximity to the rotation axis.
Claims 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 is objected to on the basis of being dependent on claim 17.
Claim 19 is objected to on the basis of being dependent on claim 18.
Conclusion
/KHOA TAN LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/DIANE D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771