Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hugel et al (US 10,658,761 B2), hereinafter Hugel.
Regarding claim 1, Hugel (Figures 1-7) teaches a waveguide antenna having at least two signal channels 34 (Figure 3), the waveguide antenna having an antenna distal side 3a and an antenna proximal side 3d (Figure 2), the waveguide antenna comprising:
a number of waveguide openings 34 (Figure 3) for at least one of transmitting electromagnetic signals to and receiving electromagnetic signals from an environmental space arranged at the antenna distal side;
an antenna interface structure 1 for connecting the waveguide antenna to at least one of a printed circuit board 2 and a semiconductor component 21, the antenna interface structure 1 being arranged at the antenna proximal side (Figure 2);
the antenna interface structure 1 including a number of interface waveguide apertures 17b (Figure 5), the number of interface waveguide apertures 17b being arranged in an interface carrying surface and coupled with the number of waveguide openings via a waveguide channel structure arranged within the waveguide antenna, wherein the interface carrying surface extends transverse to a normal axis, the normal axis extending between proximal and distal (Figure 2, antenna interface structure 1 extending transverse to the normal axis of distal side 3a and proximal side 3d);
wherein each interface waveguide aperture 17b is coupled with at least one associated waveguide opening 34 such that the respective interface waveguide aperture and the associated at least one waveguide opening are offset with respect to each other transverse to the normal axis (Figure 3);
wherein each interface waveguide aperture 17b and at least one thereto coupled waveguide opening 34 are configured for at least one of transmitting and receiving electromagnetic signals with respective polarizations rotated against each other (Figure 3, waveguide openings are all co-polarized while Figures 5 and 6 show that elements 17b are rotated by 90°); and
wherein the number of interface waveguide apertures 17b is arranged in a pattern selected from at least one of rows and columns, and wherein the number of interface waveguide apertures is arranged such that all neighboring interface waveguide apertures within at least one selected from a row and a column have different aperture orientations (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Hugel (Figure 5) teaches that the number of interface waveguide apertures 17b is arranged such that all neighboring interface waveguide apertures within each row have different aperture orientations.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1, Hugel (Figure 5) teaches that the number of interface waveguide apertures 17b is arranged such that all neighboring interface waveguide apertures within each column have different aperture orientations.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Hugel (Figure 5) teaches that the interface waveguide apertures 17b have in each case either of a first aperture orientation or a second aperture orientation different from the first aperture orientation, wherein within at least one selected from a row and a column, interface waveguide apertures having the first aperture orientation are arranged with interface apertures having the second aperture orientation in an alternating manner.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 4, Hugel (Figure 5) teaches that the first and the second aperture orientation are rotated with respect to each other by 90°.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1, Hugel (Figure 5) teaches that the interface waveguide apertures 17b have in each case an identical contour.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Hugel (Figure 5, col 18 lines 9-16) teaches that the antenna interface structure 17b includes an electromagnetic band gap (EBG) structure 16, the electromagnetic band gap structure projecting from the interface carrying surface.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1, Hugel (Figures 2 and 4) teaches the waveguide antenna assembly further including a printed circuit board 2, the printed circuit board having a printed circuit board proximal side (top side) and a printed circuit board distal side (bottom side), wherein the waveguide antenna is mounted on the printed circuit board distal side.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11, Hugel (Figures 8 and 13) teaches that the printed circuit board 2’ includes a printed circuit board interface structure with a number of printed circuit board waveguide passages 203, the printed circuit board waveguide passages each extending through the printed circuit board between the printed circuit board proximal side and the printed circuit board distal side, wherein the printed circuit board waveguide passages are in in each case aligned with a respective interface waveguide aperture 17b (col 21 lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12, Hugel (Figure 13) teaches that each printed circuit board waveguide passage 203 has a cross section that is different from the contour of the associated interface waveguide aperture 17b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugel.
Regarding claim 6, Hugel teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, wherein the interface waveguide apertures are U-shaped instead of having at least one of Y-shaped, Z-shaped, L- shaped, ridged-L-shaped, S-shaped or N-shaped. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arbitrary select any of the shaped contours to achieve a desired radiation characteristic.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugel in view of Fleancu et al (US 2020/0006863 A1), hereinafter Fleancu.
Regarding claim 9, Hugel teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the waveguide antenna further including a number of orthomode transducers, the orthomode transducer being electromagnetically arranged between the number waveguide openings and the number of interface waveguide apertures.
Fleancu (Figure 1, para [0086] to [0108]) teaches orthomodes transducer 1 and 2 in a common waveguide antenna structure 22.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hugel’s waveguide antenna with a number of orthomode transducers, the orthomode transducer being electromagnetically arranged between the number waveguide openings and the number of interface waveguide apertures, as taught by Fleancu, doing so would effectively combine two electromagnetic wave signals from two different interface waveguide apertures in a common dual-polarized waveguide to produce two mutually orthogonal signals.
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugel in view of Yamada (US 2011/0234466 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hugel teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 12, wherein the waveguide antenna assembly further including a semiconductor component 21, the semiconductor component being mounted on the printed circuit board proximal side.
Hugel does not explicitly mention that the semiconductor component including a number of electromagnetic signal launchers, the number of electromagnetic signal launchers corresponding to the number of printed circuit board waveguide passages, wherein the printed circuit board waveguide passages are in in each case aligned with a respective electromagnetic signal launcher in a one-to-one manner.
Yamada (Figures 1A-4, para [0043] to [0048]) teaches a waveguide interface structure wherein a semiconductor element (para [0036]) is mounted on a proximal side of the PCB 30 and wherein the semiconductor element comprises a signal launcher.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the waveguide antenna of Hugel with the semiconductor component including a number of electromagnetic signal launchers, as taught by Yamada, doing so would facilitate the exchange of electromagnetic signals therewith via respective through the respective PCB waveguide passage for enhanced integration.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 11, except explicitly mention that a printed circuited board electromagnetic band gab structure, in particular an electromagnetic band gap structure having mushroom-shaped electromagnetic band gap elements, is arranged on or within the PCB.
Yamada (Figures 2A and 2B) teaches a mushroom-shaped electromagnetic bandgap structure 33/37 disposed on a PCB S1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the waveguide antenna of Hugel with mushroom-shaped electromagnetic bandgap structure arranged on or within the PCB, as taught by Yamada, doing so would effectively enhance electromagnetic isolation for optimum antenna performance.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugel in view of Baur et al (WO 2020/200883 A1), hereinafter Baur.
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 11, except explicitly mention that the printed circuit board includes a printed circuit board coupling cut-out, the printed circuit board coupling cut-out extending between the printed circuit board distal side and the printed circuit board proximal side, the antenna interface structure projecting into or through the printed circuit board coupling cut-out from the printed circuit board distal side towards the printed circuit board proximal side.
Baur (Figure 2) teaches a waveguide antenna assembly comprising a printed circuit board 115 including a printed circuit board coupling cut-out, and an antenna interface structure 109 projecting into or through the printed circuit board coupling cut-out.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antenna waveguide assembly of Hugel with the printed circuit board includes a printed circuit board coupling cut-out, the printed circuit board coupling cut-out from the printed circuit board distal side towards the printed circuit board proximal side, as taught by Baur, doing so would reduce the number of PCB for assembly thus enhancing signal transmission performance.
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 15, Hugel (Figure 4) teaches that the waveguide antenna assembly further including a semiconductor component, the semiconductor component being mounted on the printed circuit board proximal side.
Hugel does not explicitly mention that the semiconductor component including a number of electromagnetic signal launchers, the number of electromagnetic signal launchers corresponding to the number of interface waveguide apertures, wherein the interface waveguide apertures are in each case aligned with a respective electromagnetic signal launcher in a one-to-one manner.
Baur (Figure 2) teaches a semiconductor component 101 with a signal launcher 104 mounted on a proximal side of the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the semiconductor component to include a number of electromagnetic signal launchers, the number of electromagnetic signal launchers corresponding to the number of interface waveguide apertures, wherein the interface waveguide apertures are in each case aligned with a respective electromagnetic signal launcher in a one-to-one manner, as taught by Baur, doing so would facilitate the exchange of electromagnetic signals therewith via respective through the respective PCB waveguide passage for enhanced integration.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16, Baur (Figure 2) teaches that the antenna interface structure 109 directly contacts the semiconductor component 101.
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 16, Baur (Figure 2) teaches that the antenna interface structure 109 and the semiconductor component 101.
Baur does not explicitly mention that the antenna interface structure and the semiconductor component are coupled via a layer of conductive adhesive, the layer of conductive adhesive being arranged between the antenna interface structure and the semiconductor component.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the antenna interface structure to the semiconductor component using conductive adhesive to effectively increase electromagnetic isolation for optimum antenna performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, neither Hugel nor Fleancu specifically teach that an orthomode transducer of the number of orthomode transducers is associated and electromagnetically coupled with an associated interface waveguide aperture in a one-to-one manner.
Conclusion
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845