Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Conflicting Patent PAT US 12,389,121 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is anticipated by the Conflicting Patent and is covered by the Patent since the Patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, below is a list of limitations that perform the same function, however, different terminology may be used in both sets to describe the limitations, as follows, Claim 1 is used as an example to analyze the common subject matter:
Conflicting Patent No. US 12,389,121 B2
Instant Application:- 19/280,539
1. An image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: deriving a prediction direction for a current block, the prediction direction being selected from among a plurality of linear prediction directions based on mode selection information; deriving partial variation of the prediction direction, the partial variation being determined based on an index indicating one among adjacent modes of the prediction direction; deriving an intra prediction direction for the current block based on the base prediction direction and the partial variation; and generating a prediction value for a sample included in a prediction block for the current block by performing intra prediction based on the intra prediction direction.
1. An image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: deriving a prediction direction for a current block, the prediction direction being selected from among a plurality of linear prediction directions based on mode selection information; deriving partial variation of the prediction direction, the partial variation being determined based on an index indicating one among adjacent modes of the prediction direction; deriving an intra prediction direction for the current block based on the prediction direction and the partial variation; generating a prediction value for a sample included in a prediction block for the current block by performing intra prediction based on the intra prediction direction; and reconstructing the current block based on a residual block corresponding to the prediction block.
As demonstrated, the claim of US patent US 12,389,121 B2 anticipate the features of the claim of instant application 19/280,539.
A nonstatutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope or filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim/claims is/are directed to “A method of transmitting a bitstream” but claim/claims does not have any steps related to “A method of transmitting a bitstream”, therefore, the scope of the claim/claims are/is vague and indefinite.
Examiner’s Note
Claim 1 refers to "An image decoding method”, Claim 2 refers to "An image encoding method”, Claim 3 refers to "A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium”, and Claim 4 refers to "A method of transmitting a bitstream”. Claims 2-4 are similarly rejected in light of rejection of claim 1, where the differences, if any, are obvious to the ordinary skill in the art. It is well known in the art that encoding and decoding are reverse processes of video coding method/system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 20140092980 A1), hereinafter Guo, in view of Lee et al. (US 20140334543 A1), hereinafter Lee, further in view of Jeong et al. (US 20180160113 A1) hereinafter Jeong.
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising (Abstract): deriving a prediction direction for a current block, the prediction direction being selected from among a plurality of linear prediction directions based on mode selection information ([0014]-[0029]); deriving variation of the prediction direction, the variation being determined based on an index indicating one among adjacent modes of the prediction direction ([0021]-[0024]); generating a prediction value for a sample included in a prediction block for the current block by performing intra prediction based on the intra prediction direction([0021]-[0024]); and reconstructing the current block based on a residual block corresponding to the prediction block ([0006]-[0007]).
Guo discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Guo does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section deriving an intra prediction direction for the current block based on the prediction direction and the partial variation.
However, Lee from the same or similar endeavor teaches deriving an intra prediction direction for the current block based on the prediction direction and the partial variation; (Fig. 5, [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guo to incorporate the teachings of Lee to enhance coding efficiency (Lee, [0007]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Guo in view of Lee discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section partial variation of the prediction direction.
However, Jeong from the same or similar endeavor teaches partial variation of the prediction direction ([0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guo in view of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Jeong to improve prediction mode (Jeong, [0004]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2-4, See Examiner’s Note.
Conclusion
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487