Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/10/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/10/2026 has been entered. Currently, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Independent claim 11 was amended without the addition of new matter to include further narrowing limitations. Additionally, claim 16, 19, and the drawings have been amended to overcome previous claim objections, 35 USC 112(B) rejections, and drawing objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Accordingly the prior art from the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/06/2026 are maintained.
3. Applicant makes the argument that “Berke fails to teach an arm rest protruding from the front surface of the body. Cordova already has sling pockets to support the user’s arm. So POSITA would not have considered obvious to add another arm rest from a front surface to Cordova having the sling already protruding from the surface to support user’s arm. Also, Berke doesn’t have protrusion rather channels. Modification is hindsight reasoning. Applicant as roadmap to selectively cull components to fit parameters of claimed invention. Furthermore, as taught by Cordova the top and bottom sections have wider width than a width at the center giving hourglass shape, such that carving out additional portions of a channel is unstable and prone to torquing or separating about the center, and therefore unsatisfactory for its intended purpose (Remarks, Page 9, Paragraph 2 to Page 12, Paragraph 1).
In response to Applicant’s argument, Berke is interpreted as having a front surface 241 and protrusions 225L,225R extending therefrom, such that the front surface 241 of the support device is inward of the protrusions 225L,225R. Also, the upper protrusions 221L,221R are not included in part of the combination, such that the combination of Cordova in view of Berke provides a half L-shaped channel similar to applicant’s half L-shaped forming channel arm rest (see annotated Figure below). Also, in response to Applicant’s argument, that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2145.X(A). In this case, the primary reference, Cordova provides a front surface for a user’s arm, while Berke also provides the analogous structure of a front surface for a user’s arm such that adding the structure of Berke to Cordova is given by the advantageous motivation of guiding user’s arm into comfortable supported position (Berke, Paragraph 19), without teaching away from Cordova or major unclear construction since Berke has the analogous structural components and attachment positions. Furthermore, Berke doesn’t torque/separate, and in the combination of Cordova in view of Berke there is not a carving rather a protrusion such that there is no torque/separation in as much as that of Applicant’s narrow center. The protrusions 225L,225R of Berke protrude from the front surface 241 of Berke, such that when Applied to Cordova the protusions 225L,225R protrude from the front surface 1,2,3 not carved into it to cause torque and thereby does not destroy the operability or intended purpose of Cordova. Additionally, even though Cordova already has a handle 5 for the arm, including an additional arm rest of Berke would still be advantageous because Cordova individually supports a portion of the user’s arm within the handle but not the entire arm or lower portion of the arm through a protruding arm rest. Berke provides the advantage of each left and right arm getting its own protrusion surface instead of having to share space in one pocket, which doesn’t provide as good as arm support with one arm on top of the other. Thus Cordova provides some arm support and Burke enhances that arm support even more, ultimately improving Cordova.
4. Applicant makes the argument that “Cordova already has the pocket handle 5. So adding a second pocket of Nelson would require widening of the center portion, shifting of the disclosed first pocket 5 of Cordova, and adding an additional component that effectuates the same intended use Cordova already teaches. Therefore, the combination is improper hindsight bias” (Remarks, Page 12, Paragraph 2-3).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Page 12, Paragraph 2-3), that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2145.X(A). In this case, the primary reference, Cordova provides a front surface for a user’s arm, while Nelson also provides the analogous structure of a front surface for a user’s arm such that adding the structure of Nelson to Cordova is given by the advantageous motivation of guiding user’s arm into comfortable supported position (Nelson, Paragraphs 22, 30, 32), without teaching away from Cordova or major unclear construction since Nelson has the analogous structural components and attachment positions. Additionally, the single handle of Cordova is substituted for the two handles of Nelson, wherein Nelson’s handle are described (Paragraph 32) as being adjustably positioned along the front surface for desirable hand and arm positioning during different therapy scenarios. Accordingly, the handles of Nelson applied to the front surface of Cordova would not requiring any widening or shifting and the intended use is maintained with even better advantageous abilities provided by Nelson, such as adjustable positioning and a second handle for increased securement.
5. Applicant makes the argument that “Scott is non-analogous as a rehabilitation arm elevation support following orthopedic procedure, such that Scott is not in the same field of endevour or problem faced by the inventor of patients remining still during spinal operations, whereas Scott’s problems are for abducting and reducing pressure. Also, Scott is only for single arm and is at the side or hip region of user’s torso instead of front” (Remarks, Page 13, Paragraph 2 to Page 14, Paragraph 3).
In response to applicant's argument (Remarks, Page 13, Paragraph 2 to Page 14, Paragraph 3), that Scott is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor' s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Scott may not be in the same field of endeavor of hugging pillows with two arms, but is still in the same field of endeavor and problem solved of structural support devices for a user’s arm; see MPEP 2141.01(a). Furthermore, Scott deals with the very specific structural problem faced by the inventor of a front surface of a body having a removably attachable arm rest. Therefore, analogousness is not only from a background problem, but also structural/feature problems as well. Lastly, Scott is on the side torso, but Cordova already discloses the support at the user’s anterior torso. Therefore, Scott is only applied for teaching an analogous front surface with the detachable arm rest, even though the front surface of Scott’s support body may not be facing the same anterior direction as Cordova’s anterior front surface, there is still an analogous front surface of Scott that supports the user’s arm so as to be applicable to Cordova.
6. Applicant makes the argument that “Sharp’s inflatable resting device; Siddle’s safety containment shield which is hard instead of soft; and Kummerfeld’s pillow which is not hugged are not analogous to Applicant’s invention or Cordova” (Remarks, Page 14, Paragraph 5 to Page 15, Paragraph 1).
In response to applicant's argument (Remarks, Page 14, Paragraph 5 to Page 15, Paragraph 1), that Scott is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor' s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Sharp’s inflatable resting two-arm hugging pillow is in the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s and Cordova two arm hugging pillow, even if the material may not be the same. Also, even though Sharp is not in the problem of spinal operation, Sharp solves a specific structural problem faced by the inventor of thickness of the body; see MPEP 2141.01(a).. Moreover, Siddle’s safety containment shield which is hard instead of soft may not be the same material as Applicant’s or Cordova’s material or in the same field of endeavor/problem of spinal operations two-arm hugging pillows, but nonetheless Siddle has analogous structure and solves the specific structural problem faced by the inventor of the width of the body; see MPEP 2141.01(a). Siddle is also analogously applied in the front of a user’s body and only the thickness of Siddle is applied in the combination, not any material of Siddle. Lastly, Kummerfeld’s pillow may not be in the same field of endevour/problem as Applicant’s or Cordova’s invention of spinal operations two-arm hugging pillows, but nonetheless solves the specific structural problem faced by the inventor of the material of an analogous arm rest; see MPEP 2141.01(a).
7. Overall, Examiner notes that Applicant may amend the claims to overcome the prior art of record such as by reciting positive limitation: i.e.–the two handles positioned above the arm rest on a left and right side near the narrow central part of the body—. Furthermore, modifying the preamble to include the problem of --two arm hugging during spinal operation-- or amending in a method claim for ---spinal operation step-- would help distinguish from Cordova. Furthermore, any negative limitation such as –not—or –without— to teach away from the prior art. Lastly, transitional phrases such as –consisting— or –consisting essentially of-- in the preamble or body of the claim would prevent prior art combinations.
Claim Interpretation
8. The limitation “about” in claim 9 and “substantially” in claim 11 is interpreted as “vary by up to 10%” (Specification, Page 4, line 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Berke (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240065460).
Regarding claim 1, Cordova discloses A support device 1,2,3 (Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4, hugging pillow 1,2,3 with body 1,2,3 having upper concave upper crescent 4 for user’s chin as well as right/left side crescents at middle section 2 for ergonomical placement of user’s arm within a handle 5 at the anterior front of the body 1,2,3), comprising: a body 1,2,3 comprising: a front surface; a back surface spaced from the front surface in a lateral direction; a top 1; and a bottom 3 spaced from the top in a vertical direction; a chin rest 4cut into the top 1 of the body 1,2,3 along a longitudinal axis (Figure 1, superior to inferior axis); and a handle5.
However, Cordova fails to explicitly disclose an arm rest protruding from the front surface of the body along a longitudinal axis.
Berke teaches an analogous support device 100 (Paragraph 19 and Figures 1-2, hugging pillow support 100 with each arm supported by a respective carved protruding arm rest 225L and 225R at anterior/front surface of body 100 along vertical/superior-inferior longitudinal axis) comprising an arm rest 225L,225R protruding from the analogous front surface of the analogous body 100 along an analogous superior-inferior axis.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front surface along the superior to inferior longitudinal axis of the body of Cordova, so that there is an arm rest protruding from the front surface of the body along the superior-inferior axis, as taught by Berke, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced front surface having the arm rest for guiding the user’s arm through a carved protrusion for desirable support and comfortable arm positioning of both the left and right arm (Berke, Paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 16, Cordova discloses A support device 1,2,3 (Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4, hugging pillow 1,2,3 with body 1,2,3 having upper concave upper crescent 4 for user’s chin as well as right/left side crescents at middle section 2 for ergonomical placement of user’s arm within a handle 5 at the anterior front of the body 1,2,3), comprising: a body 1,2,3 comprising:a front surface;a back surface spaced from the front surface in a lateral direction;a first end; a second end spaced from a top 1 in a vertical direction; a first side; and a second side spaced form the first side in a longitudinal direction (Figure 1, superior to inferior axis); and a chin rest 4 cut into the top1 of the body 1,2,3.
However, Cordova fails to explicitly disclose at least one arm rest carved out from the first side or the second side of the body along the longitudinal axis
Berke teaches an analogous support device 100 (Paragraph 19 and Figures 1-2, hugging pillow support 100 with each arm supported by a respective carved protruding arm rest 225L and 225R at anterior/front surface of body 100 along vertical/superior-inferior longitudinal axis) comprising at least one arm rest 225L,225R carved out from the first side (Figures 1-2, left side) or the second side (Figures 1-2, right side) of the analogous body 100 along the analogous superior-inferior axis.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front surface along the superior to inferior longitudinal axis of the body of Cordova, so that there is at least one arm rest carved out from the first side or the second side of the body along the superior-inferior axis, as taught by Berke, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced front surface having the arm rest for guiding the user’s arm through a carved protrusion for desirable support and comfortable arm positioning of both the left and right arm (Berke, Paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the at least one arm rest 225L,225R (Berke, Paragraph 19 and Figures 1-2) comprises a first arm rest 225L (Berke, Paragraph 19 and Figures 1-2) carved out from the first side of the body 1,2,3 (Cordova, Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4) and a second arm rest 225R (Berke, Paragraph 19 and Figures 1-2) carved out from the second side of the body 1,2,3 (Cordova, Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4).
Claims 2-6 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Berke (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240065460), as applied to claim 1 and 16, respectively, and in further view of Klein (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180199738).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose an outer body cover;a body insert; and an inner body cover placed between the outer body cover and the body insert.
Klein teaches an analogous support device 10 (Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66 and Figures 4 and 6, support pillow 10) comprising an outer body cover 1 (Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1);a body insert 12 (Paragraph 66 and Figure 4, latex flakes body insert 12); and an inner body cover 13 (Paragraph 64, cotton inner body cover 13) placed between the outer body cover 1 and the body insert 12.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a layering and material of the body of Cordova in view of Berke, so that there is an outer body cover;a body insert; and an inner body cover placed between the outer body cover and the body insert, as taught by Klein, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced body formed by a multilayered arrangement of various material for desirable sterility, structural support, as well as comfortability (Klein, Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke in view of Klein discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the outer body cover 1 (Klein, Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1 comprising air-liquid impermeable barrier polyurethane) is constructed of (this part of Markush group not being examined).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke in view of Klein discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the body insert 12 (Klein, Paragraph 66 and Figure 4, latex stuffing flakes body insert 12)is constructed of (this part of Markush group is not being examined).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke in view of Klein discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the inner body cover 13 (Klein, Paragraph 64, cotton inner body cover 13) is constructed of cotton (this part of “or” statement is not being examined).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke in view of Klein discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the outer body cover 1 (Klein, Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1 comprising polyester. A polyester removable outer cover 1 layer of Klein is the same as Applicant’s structure and material, such that the outer cover 1 is capable of being disposed in as much as that of Applicant’s outer body cover “disposable” intended use) is disposable and constructed of (this part of Markush group is not being examined).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose a cover, wherein the cover is disposable and is constructed of any one or more materials selected from the group consisting of polyester knitted jersey, vinyl, PVC mackintosh, microfiber, cotton with waterproof barrier, waterproof polyurethane membrane, PU rayon, and any combination of the abovementioned materials.
Klein teaches an analogous support device 10 (Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66 and Figures 4 and 6, support pillow 10) further comprises a cover 1 (Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1), wherein the cover 1 is disposable (Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1 comprising air-liquid impermeable barrier polyurethane. A polyurethane removable outer cover 1 layer of Klein is the same as Applicant’s structure and material, such that the outer cover 1 is capable of being disposed in as much as that of Applicant’s outer body cover “disposable” intended use) and is constructed
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a layering and material of the support device of Cordova in view of Berke, so that there is a cover of disposable waterproof polyurethane membrane , as taught by Klein, in order to provide an improved support device formed by a multilayered arrangement of various material for desirable sterility, structural support, as well as comfortability (Klein, Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose an inner cover placed between the cover and the body, wherein the inner cover is constructed from cotton, microfiber, or a combination thereof.
Klein further teaches the analogous support device 10 (Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66 and Figures 4 and 6, support pillow 10) comprising an inner cover 13 (Paragraph 64, cotton inner cover 13) placed between the cover 1 (Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1) and the analogous body 12 (Paragraph 66 and Figure 4, latex body 12), wherein the inner cover 13 is constructed from cotton(this part of “or” statement is not being examined)
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a layering and material of the support device of Cordova in view of Berke in view of Klein, so that there is an inner cover placed between the cover and the body, wherein the inner cover is constructed from cotton, as taught by Klein, in order to provide an improved support device formed by a multilayered arrangement of various material for desirable structural support as well as comfortability (Klein, Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Berke (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240065460), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Nelson et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20230338182).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above. Cordova further discloses wherein the handle 5 (Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4, handle 5 allowing hand to pass therethrough. Thereby, this a hand strap for receiving the hand therethrough in as much as that of Applicant’s 1 and 7a-7b)comprises at least one hand strap 5 attached to the front surface of the support device 1,2,3 (Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4).
However, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke fails to explicitly disclose wherein the handle comprises at least two hand straps attached to the front surface of the support device.
Nelson teaches an analogous support device 1 (Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1, handle 3,4 comprising hand straps 3,4 with hook and loop ends 2 adjustable attachment on the front surface 30 of the hugging pillow 1) wherein the analogous handle comprises at least two hand straps 3,4 (Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1, hand straps 3,4. Thereby, this a hand strap for receiving the hand therethrough, in as much as that of Applicant’s 1 and 7a-7b) comprising an analogous first hand strap 3 and a second hand strap 4 attached to the analogous front surface 20 of the analogous support device 1.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first hand strap handle at the front of the body of Cordova in view of Berke, for the two handle hand straps attached to the front surface of the support device, as taught by Nelson, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced handle formed by a plurality of adjustable hand receiving straps at the front portion for guiding the users arm and hand and providing desired securement during the pillow hug (Nelson, Paragraphs 22, 30, 32).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Berke (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240065460), as applied to claims 1 and 16, respectively, and in further view of Sharp (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20040064893).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the body gradually increases from the top to the bottom.
Sharp teaches an analogous support device 14 (Paragraphs 50-51 and Figures 1-3E, hugging pillow support 14 with wider width and thickness at bottom 76 than narrower tapered top 18) wherein an analogous thickness of the analogous body 14 gradually increases from the analogous top 18 to the analogous bottom 76.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a thickness dimension of the body of Cordova in view of Berke, so that a thickness of the body gradually increases from the top to the bottom, as taught by Sharp, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced thickness size that is larger at the base and narrower/tapered at the top for desirable wider arm support and smaller head support, thereby minimizing bulkiness near a user’s face (Sharp, Paragraphs 50-51).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above. Cordova further discloses wherein a width (Paragraph 46 and claims 2, varying width is along superior-inferior direction with left/right side concavities to accommodate user’s arm) of the body 1,2,3 varies along the vertical direction.
However, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke fails to explicitly disclose wherein the width reaches a maximum at a point between the first end of the body and an upper end of the arm rest.
Sharp teaches an analogous support device 14 (Paragraphs 50-51 and Figures 1-3E, hugging pillow support 14 with wider width and thickness at bottom 76 than narrower tapered top 18, such that maximum width at lower bottom portion between bottom end and upper end of arm rest 22,24) wherein the analogous width reaches a maximum at a point between the analogous first end (Figures 1-3E, bottom end) of the analogous body 14 and an analogous upper end of the analogous arm rest 22,24.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify width dimension of the body of Cordova in view of Berke, so that the width reaches a maximum at a point between the first end of the body and an upper end of the arm rest, as taught by Sharp, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced width size that is larger at the base and narrower/tapered at the top for desirable wider arm and lower torso support and smaller head support, thereby minimizing bulkiness near a user’s face (Sharp, Paragraphs 50-51).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Berke (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240065460), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Siddle (U.S. Patent No. 5329636).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above. Cordova further discloses wherein a width of the body is between 8 inches and 14 inches (Paragraph 46 and claims 2, width is 8 to 14 inches; see MPEP 2144.05(I) overlapping and similar ranges), and a height of the body is between about 18 inches and about 30 inches (Paragraph 46, height is 20 inches for medium size; see MPEP 2144.05(I) prima facie obviousness as prior art value is narrower and falls within claimed range).
However, Cordova in view of Berke fails to explicitly disclose the width is between about 14 inches and about 18 inches.
Siddle teaches an analogous support device 1 (Col. 4, lines 30-35 and 59-62 and Figures 1-2, anterior cushioning shield 1 having height of 29.5 inches and width of 17 inches; see MPEP 2144.05(I) prima facie obviousness as prior art value is narrower and falls within claimed range) wherein the analogous width is between about 14 inches and about 18 inches.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a width of 8 to 14 inches of Cordova in view of Burke, to be 14 to 18 inches, as taught by Siddle, in order to provide an improved support device with desirable coverage at the anterior side of a user’s torso for increased comfort and protection (Siddle, Col. 4, lines 30-35 and 59-62). This is especially convenient for medium and larger/wider sized individuals.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Berke (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240065460), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kummefeld (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130145556).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the arm rest further comprises an arm rest insert constructed of any one or more materials selected from the group consisting of LUX foam, polystyrene foam, high density foam, memory foam, cotton batting, and any combination of the abovementioned materials.
Kummefeld teaches an analogous support device 10 (Col. 11, lines 40-67 and Col. 13, lines 22-34 and Figure 9 anterior support cushion 100 with arm rest 115,118,120 having insert 148 of high density foam inserted therein via zipper 152) wherein the analogous arm rest 115,118,120 further comprises an arm rest insert 148 constructed of (this part of Markush group is not being examined)
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arm rest of Cordova in view of Berke, so that the arm rest further comprises an arm rest insert constructed of high density foam, as taught by Kummefeld, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced arm rest that has an removable insert for providing desirable stiffening, stability, and support to the arm rest (Kummefeld, Col. 11, lines 40-67 and Col. 13, lines 22-34).
Claim 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Scott (U.S. Patent No. 4896660) and in further view of Nelson et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20230338182).
Regarding claim 11, Cordova discloses A support device 1,2,3 (Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4, hugging pillow 1,2,3 with body 1,2,3 having upper concave upper crescent 4 for user’s chin as well as right/left side crescents at middle section 2 for ergonomical placement of user’s arm within a handle 5 at the anterior front of the body 1,2,3), comprising: a body 1,2,3 comprising:a front surface;a back surface spaced from the front surface in a horizontal direction;a top 1; and a bottom 3 spaced from the top in a longitudinal vertical direction (Figure 1, superior to inferior longitudinal axis direction); a chin rest cut 4 into the top of the body along a longitudinal axis (Figure 1, superior to inferior longitudinal axis direction); and a handle 5 , comprising one hand strap 5 placed on the front surface of the body 1,2,3; wherein at least one of the front surface and the back surface is oriented substantially parallel to a chest of a user.
However, Cordova fails to explicitly disclose (1) an arm rest protruding from the front surface of the body along a longitudinal axis, wherein the arm rest is removable from the body; (2) the handle comprising two hand straps placed on the front surface of the body.
Scott teaches an analogous support device 14,18 (Col. 4, lines 50-67 and Figures 1-2, comfort body 14 being hugged by user with front surface 24 that has corresponding loop fasteners to hook 56,58 of radius/ulna arm rest 18 such that the arm rest 18 protrudes from the front surface 24 ) comprising an arm rest 18 protruding from the analogous front surface 24 of the analogous body 14 along an analogous superior-inferior axis, wherein the arm rest 18 is removable 56,58 from the analogous body 14.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front surface along a superior-inferior longitudinal axis of the body of Cordova, so that there is an arm rest protruding from the front surface of the body along the superior-inferior axis, wherein the arm rest is removable from the body, as taught by Scott, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced front surface body having a protruding arm support that modularly fasteners onto the front surface for desirable user adjustability as well as support thereby providing therapeutic comforting effects (Scott, Col. 4, lines 50-67).
However, the combination of Cordova in view of Scott fails to explicitly disclose (2) the handle comprising two hand straps placed on the front surface of the body.
Nelson teaches an analogous support device 1 (Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1, handle 3,4 comprising hand straps 3,4 with hook and loop ends 2 adjustable attachment on the front surface 30 of the hugging pillow 1) wherein the analogous handle comprises two hand straps 3,4 (Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1, hand straps 3,4. Thereby, this a hand strap for receiving the hand therethrough, in as much as that of Applicant’s 1 and 7a-7b) comprising an analogous first hand strap 3 and a second hand strap 4 placed on the analogous front surface 20 of the analogous body 1.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first hand strap handle at the front of the body of Cordova in view of Berke, for the two handle hand straps attached to the front surface of the support device, as taught by Nelson, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced handle formed by a plurality of adjustable hand receiving straps at the front portion for guiding the users arm and hand and providing desired securement during the pillow hug (Nelson, Paragraphs 22, 30, 32).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cordova in view of Scott in view of Nelson discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the arm rest 18 (Scott, Col. 4, lines 50-67 and Figures 1-2, comfort body 14 being hugged by user with front surface 24 that has corresponding loop fasteners to hook 56,58 of radius/ulna arm rest 18) is attached to the body 1,2,3 (Cordova, Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4) by an arm rest attaching mechanism (Col. 4, lines 50-67 and Figures 1-2,).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cordova in view of Scott in view of Nelson discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the arm rest attaching mechanism (Scott, Col. 4, lines 50-67 and Figures 1-2, comfort body 14 being hugged by user with front surface 24 that has corresponding loop fasteners to hook 56,58 of radius/ulna arm rest 18) comprises a first arm rest attaching component 56,58 (Scott, Col. 4, lines 50-67 and Figures 1-2, hooks 56,58) placed on the arm rest 18 (Scott, Col. 4, lines 50-67 and Figures 1-2, and a second arm rest attaching component (Scott, Scott, Col. 4, lines 50-67 and Figures 1-2, loop on front surface 24 of comfort body 14 ) placed on the body 1,2,3 (Cordova, Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4), and wherein the arm rest attaching mechanism is (this part of Markush group is not being examined)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cordova in view of Scott in view of Nelson discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein each of the hand straps 3,4 (Nelson, Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1, handle 3,4 comprising hand straps 3,4 with hook and loop ends 2 adjustable attachment on the corresponding fastener front surface 30 of the hugging pillow 1 ) is attached to the body 1,2,3 (Cordova, Paragraph 40 and Figures 1-4) by a handle attaching mechanism (Neslon, Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1), wherein the handle attaching mechanism comprises a first handle attaching component 2 (Neslon, Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1, hook and loop 2 on straps 3,4) and a second handle attaching component (Neslon, Paragraphs 22, 30, 32, and Figure 1, corresponding hook and loop fastener on front surface 30 of hugging pillow body 1), and wherein the handle rest attaching mechanism is (this part of Markush group is not being examined).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordova et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20050273935) in view of Berke (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240065460) in view of Kummefeld (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130145556), as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Klein (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180199738).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cordova in view of Berke in view of Kummefeld discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the body further comprises: an outer body cover, wherein the outer body cover is disposable and is constructed of any one or more materials selected from the group consisting of polyester knitted jersey, vinyl, PVC mackintosh, microfiber, cotton with waterproof barrier, waterproof polyurethane membrane, PU rayon, and any combination of the abovementioned materials;a body insert, wherein the body insert is constructed of any one or more materials selected from the group consisting of memory foam, micro bead, polyester fiber refill stuffing, buckwheat hull stuffing, kapok stuffing, latex stuffing, and any combination of the abovementioned materials;and an inner body cover placed between the outer body cover and the body insert, wherein the inner body cover is constructed from cotton, microfiber, or a combination thereof.
Klein teaches an analogous support device 10 (Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66 and Figures 4 and 6, support pillow 10) wherein an analogous body 10 further comprises an outer body cover 1 (Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1) wherein the outer body cover 1 is disposable (Paragraph 57 and Figure 6, outer cover 1 comprising air-liquid impermeable barrier polyurethane. A polyurethane removable outer cover 1 layer of Klein is the same as Applicant’s structure and material, such that the outer cover 1 is capable of being disposed in as much as that of Applicant’s outer body cover “disposable” intended use) and is constructed (this part of Markush group is not being examined); a body insert 12 (Paragraph 66 and Figure 4, latex flakes body insert 12) wherein the body insert 12 is constructed of (this part of Markush group is not being examined); and an inner body cover 13 (Paragraph 64, cotton inner body cover 13) placed between the outer body 1 cover and the body insert 12, wherein the inner body cover 13 is constructed from cotton(this part “or” statement is not being examined)
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a layering and material of the body of Cordova in view of Berke in view of Kummefeld, so that there is an outer body cover of disposable waterproof polyurethane membrane ;a body insert of latex stuffing; and an inner body cover placed between the outer body cover and the body insert of cotton, as taught by Klein, in order to provide an improved support device with an enhanced body formed by a multilayered arrangement of various material for desirable sterility, structural support, as well as comfortability (Klein, Paragraphs 57,61, 64, and 66).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
19. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lagin (US 4683601 A) teaches a support device.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786