DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 07/20/2026.
Claims 15 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, from claim 15:
a lever member having an execution end
an elastic check claw elastically deflectably arranged on the operating mechanism at the execution end
a locking element arranged on the operating mechanism at the execution end
must be shown from the elected figures 15-18 or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0066], line 5 “the connecting plate 2101” should be - - the connecting plate 2021 - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "execution end" in line 11. It is not clearly understood if the execution end for the lever member is the same for the elastic check claw and the locking element. Appears to be different parts as depicted on figure 18.
Claims 16-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US Patent No. 6,648,301).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses an anti-jamming ratchet-type tensioning device, comprising:
a base (see annotated Fig. 2);
a winding and unwinding mechanism rotatably mounted on the base, the winding and unwinding mechanism comprising a ratchet wheel with gear teeth (see annotated Fig. 2); and
an operating mechanism comprising an operation part wherein the operating mechanism is operably connected to the ratchet wheel to control rotation and locking of the ratchet wheel (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein:
the operation part comprises:
a lever member having an execution end arranged toward the winding and unwinding mechanism (see annotated Fig. 2);
an elastic check claw elastically deflectably arranged on the operating mechanism at the execution end and at least partially located within a rotation radius of the ratchet wheel (see annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the elastic check claw is configured such that:
when the ratchet wheel tends to rotate counterclockwise, the gear teeth are blocked from passing, thereby locking the ratchet wheel (see annotated Fig. 2); and
when the ratchet wheel rotates clockwise, the gear teeth are capable of pushing the elastic check claw to elastically deflect and yield, allowing the gear teeth to slide past (see annotated Fig. 2);
further comprising an elastic reset element acting on the elastic check claw to provide a resetting elastic force to the elastic check claw to continuously keep the elastic check claw in a tendency to contact the gear teeth of the ratchet wheel (see annotated Fig. 2);
a locking element arranged on the operating mechanism at the execution end to selectively enter the rotation radius of the ratchet wheel to restrict a clockwise rotation of the ratchet wheel or exit the rotation radius of the ratchet wheel to allow a clockwise rotation of the ratchet wheel (see annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the locking element and the elastic check claw are separate and independent components having mutually independent movements (see annotated Fig. 2); and
the operating mechanism further comprises:
a handle having a pressing end and a press handle (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a sliding rod which is fixed on a side of the press handle away from the winding and unwinding mechanism (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein a connecting plate is fixed on an end of the handle facing the sliding rod (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the connecting plate comprises a center (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein a center hole is arranged at the center of the connecting plate and the sliding rod is slidably inserted into the center hole (see annotated Fig. 2); and
wherein a spring is fixed between the press handle and a surface of the connecting plate (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses, wherein the operating mechanism comprises a connecting part and the handle, and the connecting part is rotationally connected to the winding and unwinding mechanism (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses, wherein the connecting part has an extended end away from the winding and unwinding mechanism, the handle is mounted on the extended end, and both side surfaces of the extended end are provided a sliding chute and a movable slot in a penetrating manner, wherein the movable slot is located behind the sliding chute, and a boss is arranged on an inner wall of the movable slot (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses, wherein the locking element is provided with a positioning part slidably arranged inside the sliding chute; and when the locking element is pressed, the positioning part is capable of sliding laterally within the sliding chute, driving the locking element to move, enabling the locking element to selectively enter or exit the rotation radius of the ratchet wheel, thereby achieving locking or unlocking of the ratchet wheel (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses, wherein the elastic check claw has a root part rotationally arranged in the movable slot and abutting against the boss; and when the gear teeth exert a force on the elastic check claw, the elastic check claw elastically deflects around a fulcrum of the boss within the movable slot, allowing the elastic check claw to perform a slight offset or yielding motion (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses, wherein the elastic check claw is provided with a torsion spring, one end of which is connected to the operating mechanism away from the elastic check claw, and the torsion spring provides a continuous resetting elastic force to the elastic check claw, allowing the elastic check claw to always have a tendency to deflect toward the gear teeth of the ratchet wheel (see annotated Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleged that “Lee does not disclose that the locking element and the elastic check claw are both arranged at the execution end of the same lever member, and that the locking element and the elastic check claw work together as independent members separated from each other”, and “Lee does not disclose the structural relationship in which a locking element and an elastic check claw are both arranged at the execution end of a same lever member and the two remain separate and independent”.
Regarding claim 15, Lee broadly discloses the locking element, the elastic check claw and the lever member. Also, the locking element and the elastic check claw are separated from each other (see annotated Fig. 2). Claim 15 does not recite that the locking element and the elastic check claw are part of the lever member, and the locking element and the elastic check claw work together. Applicants’ arguments are more limiting than the claimed invention.
Examiner’s Comment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted in the reply filed on 07/20/2026, the claim objections indicated in the prior Office action have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677