DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-14, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10, 12-14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,395,442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the limitations recited in each claims between the pending application and the issue patent are similar as shown in the table below.
Pending Application 19/281,290
US Patent 12,395,442
1. A method, comprising:
receiving, by a broadband network gateway (BNG) implementing a virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a local area network (LAN), a first human presence indicator from a customer premises equipment (CPE) of the LAN; and
in response to receiving the first human presence indicator, performing, by the BNG, a quality of service (QOS) action.
1. A method, comprising: receiving, by a broadband network gateway (BNG) implementing a plurality of virtual gateway routers, each virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a particular local area network (LAN) of a plurality of LANs, a first human presence indicator from a first customer premises equipment (CPE) of a first LAN of the plurality of LANs, the first human presence indicator indicating one of that a human has been detected by the first CPE of the first LAN or that no human has been detected by the first CPE of the first LAN for a predetermined period of time; and in response to receiving the first human presence indicator, performing, by the BNG on a first VGR of the plurality of VGRs that serves as the gateway router for the first LAN, a quality of service (QOS) action that one of: (a) enhances a current QOS associated with the first LAN; or (b) decreases a current QOS associated with the first LAN.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the CPE comprises an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first CPE comprises an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the CPE comprises a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the CPE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the first CPE comprises a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the first CPE.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the RF sensing device detects the presence of the human based on a difference between the reflected RF signal and the initial RF signal.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the difference is one of: a change in a signal strength of the reflected RF signal with respect to a signal strength of the initial RF signal; a change in a phase of the reflected RF signal with respect to a phase of the initial RF signal; or a Doppler shift in the reflected RF signal with respect to the initial RF signal.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the RF sensing device detects the presence of the human based on a difference between the reflected RF signal and the initial RF signal, the difference being at least one of: a change in a signal strength of the reflected RF signal with respect to a signal strength of the initial RF signal; a change in a phase of the reflected RF signal with respect to a phase of the initial RF signal; or a Doppler shift in the reflected RF signal with respect to the initial RF signal.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first human presence indicator indicates that the human is detected by the first CPE, and wherein performing the QOS action comprises enhancing, by the BNG, the current QOS associated with the first LAN.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein enhancing, by the BNG, the current QOS associated with the first LAN comprises at least one of: increasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the first LAN; or increasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the first VGR.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the first human presence indicator indicates that that no human has been detected by the first CPE, and wherein performing the QOS action comprises decreasing, by the BNG, the current QOS associated with the first LAN.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein decreasing the current QOS associated with the first LAN comprises at least one of: decreasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the first LAN; or decreasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the first VGR.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the BNG, a second human presence indicator from a second CPE of a second LAN of the plurality of LANs, the second human presence indicator indicating one of that a human has been detected by the second CPE or that no human has been detected by the second CPE for a predetermined period of time; and in response to receiving the second human presence indicator, performing, by the BNG on a second VGR of the plurality of VGRs that serves as the gateway router for the second LAN, a QOS action that one of: (a) enhances a current QOS associated with the second LAN; or (b) decreases a current QOS associated with the second LAN.
11. A computing system, comprising:
one or more computing devices comprising a broadband network gateway (BNG) implementing a virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a local area network (LAN), the one or more computing devices operable to: receive a first human presence indicator from a customer premises equipment (CPE) of the LAN; and based on the first human presence indicator, subsequently perform a quality of service (QOS) action.
10. A computing system, comprising: one or more computing devices comprising a broadband network gateway (BNG) implementing a plurality of virtual gateway routers, each virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a particular local area network (LAN) of a plurality of LANs, the one or more computing devices operable to: receive a first human presence indicator from a first customer premises equipment (CPE) of a first LAN of the plurality of LANs, the first human presence indicator indicating one of that a human has been detected by the first CPE of the first LAN or that no human has been detected by the first CPE of the first LAN for a predetermined period of time; and subsequently perform a quality of service (QOS) action that one of: (a) enhances a current QOS associated with the first LAN; or (b) decreases a current QOS associated with the first LAN.
11. The computing system of claim 10, wherein the BNG is operable to receive the first human presence indicator from the first CPE and perform the QOS action on a first VGR of the plurality of VGRs in response to receiving the first human presence indicator from the first CPE.
12. The computing system of claim 11, wherein the QOS action enhances a current QOS associated with the LAN.
13. The computing system of claim 12, wherein the QOS action comprises one of: increasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the LAN; or increasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the VGR.
12. The computing system of claim 11, wherein the first human presence indicator indicates that the human is detected by the first CPE, and wherein performing the QOS action comprises enhancing, by the BNG, the current QOS associated with the first LAN by increasing one of: a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the first LAN; or an amount of memory allocated to the first VGR.
14. The computing system of claim 11, wherein the QOS action decreases a current QOS associated with the LAN.
15. The computing system of claim 14, wherein the QOS action comprises one of: decreasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the LAN; or decreasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the VGR.
13. The computing system of claim 11, wherein the first human presence indicator indicates that no human has been detected by the first CPE, and wherein performing the QOS action comprises decreasing, by the BNG, the current QOS associated with the first LAN by decreasing one of: a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the first LAN; or an amount of memory allocated to the first VGR.
16. The computing system of claim 11, wherein the CPE comprises an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human.
17. The computing system of claim 11, wherein the CPE comprises a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the CPE.
18. The computing system of claim 17, wherein the RF sensing device detects the presence of the human based on a difference between the reflected RF signal and the initial RF signal.
19. The computing system of claim 18, wherein the difference is one of: a change in a signal strength of the reflected RF signal with respect to a signal strength of the initial RF signal; a change in a phase of the reflected RF signal with respect to a phase of the initial RF signal; or a Doppler shift in the reflected RF signal with respect to the initial RF signal.
14. The computing system of claim 10, wherein the first CPE comprises at least one of: an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human; or a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the first CPE, the RF sensing device operable to detect the presence of the human based on at least one of: a change in signal strength of the reflected RF signal with respect to a signal strength of the initial RF signal; a change in a phase of the reflected RF signal with respect to a phase of the initial RF signal; or a Doppler shift in the reflected RF signal with respect to the initial RF signal.
15. The computing system of claim 10, wherein the one or more computing devices are further operable to: receive a second human presence indicator from a second CPE of a second LAN of the plurality of LANs, the second human presence indicator indicating one or that a human has been detected by the second CPE or that no human has been detected by the second CPE for a predetermined period of time; and subsequently perform a QOS action that one of: (a) enhances a current QOS associated with the second LAN; or (b) decreases a current QOS associated with the second LAN.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of a broadband network gateway (BNG) that includes executable instructions, the BNG implementing a virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a local area network (LAN), the executable instructions configured to cause one or more processor devices of the BNG to: receive a first human presence indicator from a first customer premises equipment (CPE) of the LAN; and based on the first human presence indicator, subsequently perform a quality of service (QOS) action.
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of a broadband network gateway (BNG) that includes executable instructions, the BNG implementing a plurality of virtual gateway routers, each virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a particular local area network (LAN) of a plurality of LANs, the executable instructions configured to cause one or more processor devices of the BNG to: receive a first human presence indicator from a first customer premises equipment (CPE) of a first LAN of the plurality of LANs, the first human presence indicator indicating one of that a human has been detected by the first CPE of the first LAN or that no human has been detected by the first CPE of the first LAN for a predetermined period of time; and subsequently perform a quality of service (QOS) action that one of: (a) enhances a current QOS associated with the first LAN; or (b) decreases a current QOS associated with the first LAN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6, 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pocha et al. (US 2022/0117040), hereinafter Pocha in view of Nijim et al. (US 11,863,465), hereinafter Nijim.
As for 1, Pocha teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a broadband network gateway (BNG) implementing a virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a local area network (LAN), a first human action indicator from a customer premises equipment (CPE) of the LAN (paragraphs [0016], [0020], [0032]-[0033] and [0038] describe a system that implements a BNG and CPEs that are connected via a LAN, a WLAN. The CPEs are terminals and associated equipment located at a subscriber’s premises. The CPEs allow users to access provider’s communication services and distribute them in a residence or enterprise with a LAN. A BNG router communicates with the CPEs. The system integrates BNG router into a 5G network to expose end-user L2 connectivity from the CPE to the BNG router; paragraph [0058] describes the BNG router receives end-user parameters (e.g. username, a MAC address, etc.) from the CPEs) ; and
in response to receiving the first human action indicator, performing, by the BNG, an action (paragraph [0033] describes the BNG router is configured to act as a BNG that includes establishing subscriber sessions, deploying QoS; paragraphs [0058]- [0060] describe the BNG receives the end-user parameters associated with the CPE and the BNG router provides CPE access to the one or more 5G NFs).
Pocha fails to teach
a human indicator includes a human presence;
wherein an action is a quality of service (QoS) action.
Nijim discloses
a human indicator includes a human presence (col. 13, lines 58-67 describe three devices care connected to a LAN provided by the router that includes or is connected to an IBP manager; col. 14, lines 22-32 and lines 45-50 describe a detection of human presence);
wherein an action is a quality of service (QoS) action (col. 6, lines 58-65 describe a route includes an optimizer; col. 8, lines 58-61 describe the optimizer performs QoS action).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 3, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches wherein the QOS enhances a current QOS associated with the LAN (Nijim: col. 6, lines 58-63 and col. 8, lines 58-61 describe the router is configured to provide signals to select communication components to implement intelligent bandwidth allocation on a LAN. The optimizer is configured to access and analyze the rules/policies used by the priority scheduler to prioritize traffic and control how QoS is handled on the LAN).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 4, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches wherein performing the QOS action comprises one of:
increasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the LAN (Pocha: paragraph [0002] describes a BNG is a gateway that serves as an access point for subscribers; Nijim: col. 10, lines 34-41 describe a traffic flow is classified with a higher-rank traffic classification); or
increasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the VGR.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 5, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches wherein the QOS decreases a current QOS associated with the LAN (Nijim: col. 10, lines 34-45 describes a traffic flow with a lower-ranked traffic classification is assigned less bandwidth).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 6, the combined system of Pocha and Clancy teaches wherein performing the QOS action comprises one of:
decreasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the LAN (Pocha: paragraph [0002] describes a BNG is a gateway that serves as an access point for subscribers; Nijim: col. 5, lines 9-29 describe the operation involves prioritizing of traffic flow; col. 11, lines 16-27 describe an unattended device is classified in a queue with lower priority than an attended device); or
decreasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the VGR.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 11, Pocha teaches a computing system, comprising:
one or more computing devices comprising a broadband network gateway (BNG) implementing a virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a local area network (LAN), the one or more computing devices operable to: receive a first human action indicator from a customer premises equipment (CPE) of the LAN (paragraphs [0016], [0020], [0032]-[0033] and [0038] describe a system that implements a BNG and CPEs that are connected via a LAN, a WLAN. The CPEs are terminals and associated equipment located at a subscriber’s premises. The CPEs allow users to access provider’s communication services and distribute them in a residence or enterprise with a LAN. A BNG router communicates with the CPEs. The system integrates BNG router into a 5G network to expose end-user L2 connectivity from the CPE to the BNG router; paragraph [0058] describes the BNG router receives end-user parameters (e.g. username, a MAC address, etc.) from the CPEs); and
based on the first human action indicator, subsequently perform an action (paragraph [0033] describes the BNG router is configured to act as a BNG that includes establishing subscriber sessions, deploying QoS; paragraphs [0058]- [0060] describe the BNG receives the end-user parameters associated with the CPE and the BNG router provides CPE access to the one or more 5G NFs).
Pocha fails to teach
a human indicator includes human presence;
wherein an action is a quality of service (QoS) action.
Nijim discloses
a human indicator includes human presence (col. 13, lines 58-67 describe three devices care connected to a LAN provided by the router that includes or is connected to an IBP manager; col. 14, lines 22-32 and lines 45-50 describe a detection of a human presence);
wherein an action is a quality of service (QoS) action (col. 6, lines 58-65 describe a route includes an optimizer; col. 8, lines 58-61 describe the optimizer performs QoS action).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 12, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches wherein the QOS action enhances a current QOS associated with the LAN (Nijim: col. 6, lines 58-63 and col. 8, lines 58-61 describe the router is configured to provide signals to select communication components to implement intelligent bandwidth allocation on a LAN. The optimizer is configured to access and analyze the rules/policies used by the priority scheduler to prioritize traffic and control how QoS is handled on the LAN).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 13, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches wherein the QOS action comprises one of:
increasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the LAN (Pocha: paragraph [0002] describes a BNG is a gateway that serves as an access point for subscribers; Nijim: col. 10, lines 34-41 describe a traffic flow is classified with a higher-rank traffic classification); or
increasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the VGR.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 14. The computing system of claim 11, wherein the QOS action decreases a current QOS associated with the LAN (Nijim: col. 10, lines 34-45 describes a traffic flow with a lower-ranked traffic classification is assigned less bandwidth).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 15, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches wherein the QOS action comprises one of:
decreasing, by the BNG, a flow priority of a packet flow associated with a device connected to the LAN (Pocha: paragraph [0002] describes a BNG is a gateway that serves as an access point for subscribers; ; Nijim: col. 5, lines 9-29 describe the operation involves prioritizing of traffic flow; col. 11, lines 16-27 describe an unattended device is classified in a queue with lower priority than an attended device); or
decreasing, by the BNG, an amount of memory allocated to the VGR.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Niji, for implementing a router that provides different levels of QoS to a device. The teachings of Nijim, when implemented in the Pocha system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to give priority level for traffic associated with certain types of applications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nijim in the Pocha system in order to improve user experiences by providing traffic associated with a resource an optimized service flow.
As for claim 20, the claim list all the same elements of claim 1, but in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of a broadband network gateway (BNG) that includes executable instructions (Pocha: paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a computer system includes a processor and a memory, the processor executes instructions to perform functions), the BNG implementing a virtual gateway router (VGR) operable to serve as a gateway router for a local area network (LAN) (Pocha: paragraphs [0016], [0020], [0032]-[0033] and [0038] describe a system that implements a BNG and CPEs that are connected via a LAN, a WLAN. The CPEs are terminals and associated equipment located at a subscriber’s premises. The CPEs allow users to access provider’s communication services and distribute them in a residence or enterprise with a LAN. A BNG router communicates with the CPEs. The system integrates BNG router into a 5G network to expose end-user L2 connectivity from the CPE to the BNG router; paragraph [0058] describes the BNG router receives end-user parameters (e.g. username, a MAC address, etc.) from the CPEs; Nijim: col. 14, lines 22-32 and lines 45-50 describe a detection of a human presence), the executable instructions configured to cause one or more processor devices of the BNG to perform operations to carry out the steps of rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 20.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pocha (US 2022/0117040) in view of Nijim (US 11,863,465) further in view of Cardoso (US 2017/0176192).
As for claim 7, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim fails to teach wherein the CPE comprises an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human.
Cardoso discloses
where the CPE comprises an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human (paragraphs [0167]-[0168] describe a user device enters a coverage area of an access point of a network and a communication session between the user device and the AP begins. The entry within the coverage area of the AP of the end-user with the operating user device causes the user device to engage in radio frequency communication with the AP (e.g., a Wi-Fi or Bluetooth BLE interface of the user device “associating” or “receiving” and/or sending signals from/to the communication circuitry of the AP).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Cardoso for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Cardoso, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to discover information about users. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Cardoso in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to initiate a communication session between user devices and an access point.
As for claim 16, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim fails to teach wherein the CPE comprises an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human.
Cardoso discloses
where the CPE comprises an infrared (IR) sensing device operable to detect a presence of the human (paragraphs [0167]-[0168] describe a user device enters a coverage area of an access point of a network and a communication session between the user device and the AP begins. The entry within the coverage area of the AP of the end-user with the operating user device causes the user device to engage in radio frequency communication with the AP (e.g., a Wi-Fi or Bluetooth BLE interface of the user device “associating” or “receiving” and/or sending signals from/to the communication circuitry of the AP).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Cardoso for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Cardoso, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to discover information about users. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Cardoso in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to initiate a communication session between user devices and an access point.
Claims 8-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pocha (US 2022/0117040) in view of Nijim (US 11,863,465) further in view of Krajnc et al. (US 2024/0259810), hereinafter Krajnc.
As for claim 8, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches the CPE device (Pocha: paragraph [0018] describes CPEs).
The combined system of Pocha and Nijim fails to teach wherein a device comprises a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of a human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the device.
Krajnc discloses
wherein a device comprises a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of a human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the device (paragraph [0111] and [0128] describe wireless radiofrequency communication signals are used to communicate payload information between devices located in a premises. In order to perform a subject-activity function suitable for determining whether there is a person in a given sensing volume performing a given activity, which includes a mere presence, absence, a movement, a gesture, or vital signs, the receiving device determines certain signal-quality parameters from the received RF communication signals, such as received signal strength indication (RSSI) or a channel state indicator (CSI) that is correlatable to the activity of a subject in the sensing volume).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Krajnc for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Krajnc, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect presence or absence of a human in a given sensing volume. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Krajnc in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to determine simple activities like motion/occupancy and even more advanced activities like gesture, gait, heartbeat and falls in a less privacy invasive way.
As for claim 9, the combined system of Pocha, Nijim and Krajnc teaches wherein the RF sensing device detects the presence of the human based on a difference between the reflected RF signal and the initial RF signal (Krajnc: paragraphs [0111] describes in order to determine whether there is a presence/absence of a person who performs a given activity, the receiving device determines signal-quality parameters from the received RF communication signals, such as received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or a CSI or any other suitable signal-quality parameter that is correlatable to the activity of a subject in the sensing volume, i.e., that gets affected in a predetermined way by the activity. For instance, the RSSI determined by the transceiver device, varies in dependence on the presence or not of the subject in the room; paragraph [0030] and [0128] describe the signal-emission control device can determine the threshold (e.g. RSSI>= sensitivity level required for successful RF sensing by the receiver device. The receiver device comprises a subject-activity determination unit connected to the radio frequency communication signal receiving unit. The subject-activity determination unit is configured to determine a reception-signal value of the signal parameters, e.g. the RSSI to determine a presence or movement of a subject within a presence-sensing volume based on the determined reception-signal value).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Krajnc for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Krajnc, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect presence or absence of a human in a given sensing volume. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Krajnc in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to determine simple activities like motion/occupancy and even more advanced activities like gesture, gait, heartbeat and falls in a less privacy invasive way.
As for claim 10, the combined system of Pocha, Nijim and Krajnc teaches wherein the difference is one of:
a change in a signal strength of the reflected RF signal with respect to a signal strength of the initial RF signal (Krajnc: paragraph [0030] and [0128] describe the signal-emission control device can determine the threshold (e.g. RSSI>= sensitivity level required for successful RF sensing by the receiver device. The receiver device comprises a subject-activity determination unit connected to the radio frequency communication signal receiving unit. The subject-activity determination unit is configured to determine a reception-signal value of the signal parameters, e.g. the RSSI to determine a presence or movement of a subject within a presence-sensing volume based on the determined reception-signal value);
a change in a phase of the reflected RF signal with respect to a phase of the initial RF signal; or a Doppler shift in the reflected RF signal with respect to the initial RF signal.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Krajnc for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Krajnc, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect presence or absence of a human in a given sensing volume. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Krajnc in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to determine simple activities like motion/occupancy and even more advanced activities like gesture, gait, heartbeat and falls in a less privacy invasive way.
As for claim 17, the combined system of Pocha and Nijim teaches the CPE device (Pocha: paragraph [0018] describes CPEs).
The combined system of Pocha and Nijim fails to teach wherein a device comprises a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of a human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the device.
Krajnc discloses
wherein a device comprises a radio frequency (RF) sensing device operable to detect a presence of a human based on a reflected RF signal corresponding to an initial RF signal emitted by the device (paragraph [0111] and [0128] describe wireless radiofrequency communication signals are used to communicate payload information between devices located in a premises. In order to perform a subject-activity function suitable for determining whether there is a person in a given sensing volume performing a given activity, which includes a mere presence, absence, a movement, a gesture, or vital signs, the receiving device determines certain signal-quality parameters from the received RF communication signals, such as received signal strength indication (RSSI) or a channel state indicator (CSI) that is correlatable to the activity of a subject in the sensing volume).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Krajnc for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Krajnc, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect presence or absence of a human in a given sensing volume. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Krajnc in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to determine simple activities like motion/occupancy and even more advanced activities like gesture, gait, heartbeat and falls in a less privacy invasive way.
As for claim 18, the combined system of Pocha, Nijim and Krajnc teaches wherein the difference is one of:
a change in a signal strength of the reflected RF signal with respect to a signal strength of the initial RF signal (Krajnc: paragraph [0030] and [0128] describe the signal-emission control device can determine the threshold (e.g. RSSI>= sensitivity level required for successful RF sensing by the receiver device. The receiver device comprises a subject-activity determination unit connected to the radio frequency communication signal receiving unit. The subject-activity determination unit is configured to determine a reception-signal value of the signal parameters, e.g. the RSSI to determine a presence or movement of a subject within a presence-sensing volume based on the determined reception-signal value);
a change in a phase of the reflected RF signal with respect to a phase of the initial RF signal; or a Doppler shift in the reflected RF signal with respect to the initial RF signal.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Krajnc for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Krajnc, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect presence or absence of a human in a given sensing volume. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Krajnc in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to determine simple activities like motion/occupancy and even more advanced activities like gesture, gait, heartbeat and falls in a less privacy invasive way.
As for claim 19, the combined system of Pocha, Nijim and Krajnc teaches wherein the difference is one of:
a change in a signal strength of the reflected RF signal with respect to a signal strength of the initial RF signal (Krajnc: paragraph [0030] and [0128] describe the signal-emission control device can determine the threshold (e.g. RSSI>= sensitivity level required for successful RF sensing by the receiver device. The receiver device comprises a subject-activity determination unit connected to the radio frequency communication signal receiving unit. The subject-activity determination unit is configured to determine a reception-signal value of the signal parameters, e.g. the RSSI to determine a presence or movement of a subject within a presence-sensing volume based on the determined reception-signal value);
a change in a phase of the reflected RF signal with respect to a phase of the initial RF signal; or a Doppler shift in the reflected RF signal with respect to the initial RF signal.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Krajnc for utilizing radio frequency of a user device. The teachings of Krajnc, when implemented in the Pocha and Nijim system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect presence or absence of a human in a given sensing volume. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Krajnc in the Pocha and Nijim system in order to determine simple activities like motion/occupancy and even more advanced activities like gesture, gait, heartbeat and falls in a less privacy invasive way.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 2, the claim recites the limitations “The method of claim 1, wherein the QOS action is a first QOS action, the method further comprising:
subsequent to performing the first QOS action, receiving, by the BNG, a second human presence indicator from the CPE of the LAN; and
in response to receiving the second human presence indicator, performing, by the BNG, a second QOS action that is different from the first QOS action.”
Nijim discloses the router’s optimizer is configured to prioritize traffic and control how QoS is handled on a LAN (see col. 8, lines 58-67). Nijim further discloses the detection of the presence of a user via user interaction with a device (see col. 14, lines 22-51). A prioritization policy includes, as a criterion, to evaluate the attendance state of the devices as part of classifying the traffic flows. Based on an evaluation of the attended/unattended states of the devices and other criteria, a determination is made to classify a third traffic flow associated with a third device (see col. 15, lines 3-21). Nijim fails to teach/suggest the limitations recited in claim 2.
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusions
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Van De Velde. (US 2018/0254919) teach methods for native bridged communication in cellular access network
Maria (US 2018/0027444) teach device for increasing priority of traffic associated with endpoint device
Hamlin et al. (US 2024/0171460) teach firmware-based network management in heterogeneous computing platform
Uhlemann (US 11,288,497 B2) teaches wireless network with awareness of human presence.
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459