Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on July 25, 2025.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
The instant application’s claim for priority to PCT/JP2024/002786, filed January 30, 2024, and to application JP2023-015627, filed February 3, 2023, is received and acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed July 25, 2025, has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9: Claim 1 recites “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program configured to be executed by a server”. Claim 1 is thus directed to the non-transitory computer readable storage medium. However, claim 1 then recites limitations directed to the server such as “the server being configured to store label data” and “the server being configured to access a purchase information database.” Claim 1 then recies a limitation directed to the purchase information database and what it stores. Thus, it is unclear whether claim 1 is intended to be directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and the program stored thereon or if claim 1 is intended to be directed to a system comprising the non-transitory storage medium, the server, and the purchase information database.
If Applicant intends claim 1 to recite a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, the Examiner recommends, for example, “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform steps comprising” and then recite the steps. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting claim 1 as being directed to a system comprising a system comprising the non-transitory storage medium, the server, and the purchase information database.
Further, claim 1 recites “each user ID.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term.
Further, claim 1 recites “of accepting a user ID.” It is unclear if this user ID is intended to be the same as the “each user ID recited above.” For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting them as being the same.
Claims 2-9 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim 10: Claim 10 recites “A server for connecting to an information processing device via a network.” However, the claim does not recite any components of a server. Instead, the claim recites a series of steps performed by a server and thus appears to recite a method instead. If the Applicant intends claim 10 to recite a server/system, the Examiner recommends for example, “A server comprising a controller and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to perform steps comprising” and then recite the steps. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting claim 10 as being directed to a method performed by a server.
Further, claim 10 recites “each user ID.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term.
Further, claim 10 recites “of accepting a user ID.” It is unclear if this user ID is intended to be the same as the “each user ID recited above.” For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting them as being the same.
Claim 11: Claim 11 recites “each user ID.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term, as only “a user ID” has been previously recited.
Further, claim 11 recites “accept a user ID.” It is unclear if this is intended to refer to the same user ID that was previously recited or if this is a new user ID. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting them as being the same.
Further, claim 11 recites “a download instruction form.” It is unclear if this is intended to be “form” or “from”, as both make sense. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting this as “from.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims 1 and 10-11 recite a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, a server, and a system for purchasing and printing a label. With respect to claim 1, claim elements access a purchase information database, downloading information, accessing the purchase information database, determining whether the label data includes various information, and proposing purchase of content, as drafted, illustrate steps that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a mental process. That is, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind.
Claim 10 recites similar limitations.
Claim 11 recites similar limitations and also recites upload data and download data, i.e., accessing data, that, as drafted, illustrate steps that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a mental process. That is, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1 and 10-11 recite storing and transmitting data. These limitations are considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, claim 1 recites a server, a computer, a database, and an information processing device, claim 10 recites a server, a database, and an information processing device, and claim 11 recites information processing devices, a server, and a printer. These elements are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claims 1 and 10-11 recite storing and transmitting data. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), elements such as receiving or transmitting data over a network, using the Internet to gather data, and storing and retrieving information in memory are considered to be computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions. See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPG2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)).
Further, as discussed above, claim 1 recites a server, a computer, a database, and an information processing device, claim 10 recites a server, a database, and an information processing device, and claim 11 recites information processing devices, a server, and a printer. These elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions). Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, claims 1 and 10-11 are directed to the abstract idea.
Claims 2-9 depend from claim 1. Claim 2 is directed to accepting a purchase instruction and executing purchasing and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 3 is directed to the type of data, acquiring information, determining whether a specific tape is used, and proposing purchasing the specific tape and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 4 is directed to accessing a database, updating the database, and reading and acquiring information and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 5 is directed to storing, printing and receiving information, which as discussed above, are functions which are considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. Claim 6 is directed to executing processing and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 7 is directed to accepting instructions, selecting data, determining whether the data includes unpurchased content, and proposing purchase of the unpurchased content and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 7 is further directed to receiving, transmitting, and storing data, which as discussed above, are functions which are considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. Claim 8 is directed to access a database, accepting instructions, executing a purchase, and execute addition processing and is further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 8 is further directed to storing and receiving data, which as discussed above, are functions which are considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. Claim 9 is directed to notifying of an update and uploading data and is further directed to the abstract idea.
Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0036046 A1 to Anderson et al. (hereinafter “Anderson”).
Claims 1 and 10: Anderson discloses a “system for decorating edible media with licensed and non-licensed digital images” that includes a “printer, a user interface element, a central control device hosting a number of licensed digital images of decorating edible media by authorized users.” (See Anderson, at least Abstract). Anderson further discloses a server (See Anderson, at least para. [0038], central control device includes web server; para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules). Anderson further discloses:
the server being configured to store label data (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0063], image library module includes a plurality of digital images that can be printed onto an edible medium),
the label data being configured to be printed by a label printer (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0063], image library module includes a plurality of digital images that can be printed onto an edible medium; para. [0069], image library module interacts with print module to ensure that the version of the image that is compatible with the user’s printer is sent to the user’s printer),
the label data being configured to include a setting of a paid content or paid function (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0066], image library module interacts with license module; license module restricts access to a user based on whether user is allowed to purchase images in a particular geographic region),
the server being configured to access a purchase information database (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0075], user account module is a software module that maintains profiles of individual users in user accounts; includes user names; user account module processes financial transactions; para. [0076], user account module stores purchase and order histories for users),
the purchase information database storing purchase information indicating whether a paid content and function have been purchased for each user ID (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0075], user account module is a software module that maintains profiles of individual users in user accounts; includes user names; user account module processes financial transactions; para. [0076], user account module stores purchase and order histories for users),
the program comprising instructions which, when executed by the server, cause a computer of the server to execute:
download acceptance processing of accepting a user ID, selection of the label data to be downloaded, and a download instruction, from an information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0113], user enters username and password to user account module; para. [0140], user selects an image and instructs the system that the user wishes to purchase the image);
in a case where the download instruction from the information processing device is accepted in the download acceptance processing:
transmission processing of transmitting the label data selected in the download acceptance processing to the information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image);
acquisition processing of accessing the purchase information database to acquire the purchase information corresponding to the user ID accepted in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image); and
determination processing of determining whether the label data selected in the download acceptance processing includes a setting of an unpurchased content or function (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image),
based on the purchase information acquired in the acquisition processing, and in a case where it is determined in the determination that the setting of unpurchased content or function is included:
proposal processing of proposing purchase of the unpurchased content or function included in the label data selected in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module prompts the user to enter financial information, such as a credit card to be charged or a bank account for direct debit).
Claim 10 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 2: Anderson further discloses:
wherein, in the proposal processing, the computer is configured to accept a purchase instruction for the unpurchased content or function included in the label data selected in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user is asked to confirm the purchase; user confirms the purchase), and
in a case where the purchase instruction is accepted, the instructions cause the computer to execute purchase processing of purchasing the unpurchased content or function (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user is asked to confirm the purchase; upon confirmation by the user, the purchase is completed and the credit is deducted from the user’s account).
Claim 3: Anderson further discloses:
wherein the label data is configured to include a setting of a type of a tape (See Anderson, at least para. [0072], image library module contains information about which images are compatible with particular types of edible media), and
in a case where the computer accepts the download instruction from the information processing device in the download acceptance processing, the instructions further cause the computer of the server to execute:
usage information acquisition processing of acquiring usage information indicating whether each type of tape is used, the usage information corresponding to the user ID accepted in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0073], edible media module tracks whether a code that is associated with particular edible media has been used to verify that the user is using only authorized edible media to print the image on the edible media);
tape determination processing of determining whether a specific tape set as the type of the tape included in the label data selected in the download acceptance processing is used, based on the usage information acquired in the usage information acquisition processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0073], edible media module tracks whether a code that is associated with particular edible media has been used to verify that the user is using only authorized edible media to print the image on the edible media); and
in a case where it is determined in the tape determination processing that the specific tape is not used, tape proposal processing of proposing purchase of the specific tape (See Anderson, at least para. [0071], edible media module interacts with the user account module to allow the user to purchase edible media; once user selects an edible media for purchase, user account module processes the financial transaction).
Claim 4: Anderson further discloses:
wherein the server is configured to access a usage information database, the usage information database storing the usage information for each user ID (See Anderson, at least para. [0073], edible media module tracks whether a code that is associated with particular edible media has been used to verify that the user is using only authorized edible media to print the image on the edible media),
in a case where printing is performed in a label printer based on an instruction from the information processing device, the usage information is updated in the usage information database for the tape used in the printing (See Anderson, at least para. [0076], user account module can store purchase and order histories including selected images, designs, text content printed, notifications configured, edible media purchased, etc.), and
in the usage information acquisition processing, the computer is configured to access the usage information database to read and acquire the usage information corresponding to the user ID accepted in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0073], edible media module tracks whether a code that is associated with particular edible media has been used to verify that the user is using only authorized edible media to print the image on the edible media).
Claim 5: Anderson further discloses:
wherein the information processing device is configured to store the usage information (See Anderson, at least para. [0076], user account module can store purchase and order histories including selected images, designs, text content printed, notifications configured, edible media purchased, etc.),
in a case where the information processing device causes the label printer to perform the printing, the information processing device is configured to update the usage information for the tape used in the printing (See Anderson, at least para. [0076], user account module can store purchase and order histories including selected images, designs, text content printed, notifications configured, edible media purchased, etc.), and
in the usage information acquisition processing, the computer is configured to receive the usage information from the information processing device to acquire the usage information corresponding to the user ID accepted in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0073], edible media module tracks whether a code that is associated with particular edible media has been used to verify that the user is using only authorized edible media to print the image on the edible media).
Claim 6: Anderson further discloses:
in a case where it is determined in the determination processing that the setting of unpurchased content or function is not included, execute the transmission processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image); and
in a case where it is determined in the determination processing that the setting of unpurchased content or function is included, execute the proposal processing without executing the transmission processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0134], system can provide free images too).
Claim 7: Anderson further discloses:
upload acceptance processing of accepting upload instruction of the label data from the first information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0031], scanned images retrieved from a scanner uploaded into system, stored on system, and provided for use in the system; stored images can be retrieved by users for editing, printing, and so on),
in a case where the upload instruction of the label data is accepted in the upload acceptance processing:
reception processing of receiving posted label data that is the label data uploaded, from the first information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0031], scanned images retrieved from a scanner uploaded into system, stored on system, and provided for use in the system; stored images can be retrieved by users for editing, printing, and so on); and
storage processing of storing the posted label data received in the reception processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0031], scanned images retrieved from a scanner uploaded into system, stored on system, and provided for use in the system; stored images can be retrieved by users for editing, printing, and so on), and
the instructions further cause the computer of the server to:
in a case where the user ID, the selection of the posted label data as a download target and the download instruction are accepted from a second information processing device in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0113], user enters username and password to user account module; para. [0140], user selects an image and instructs the system that the user wishes to purchase the image):
in the transmission processing, transmit the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing to the second information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0144], print module provides the user the option of viewing a preview of the image printed onto the selected edible media; image is displayed to the user);
in the determination processing, determine whether the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing includes a setting of unpurchased content or function, based on the purchase information acquired in the acquisition processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image); and
in the proposal processing, in a case where it is determined in the determination processing that the posted label data includes a setting of unpurchased content or function, propose purchase of the unpurchased content or function included in the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module prompts the user to enter financial information, such as a credit card to be charged or a bank account for direct debit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 2014/0089067 A1 to Filev et al. (hereinafter “Filev”).
Claim 8: Anderson discloses all the limitations of claim 7 discussed above.
Anderson further discloses:
wherein the server is configured to access a points database storing held points for each user ID, the held points being points held by a user (See Anderson, at least para. [0084], user account module 208 can verify whether the user has any available credits),
in the proposal processing:
the computer is configured to receive a purchase instruction for the unpurchased content or function included in the label data selected in the download acceptance processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user is asked to confirm the purchase; upon confirmation by the user, the purchase is completed and the credit is deducted from the user’s account),
in a case where the purchase instruction is accepted, the instructions cause the computer to execute purchase processing of purchasing the unpurchased content or function (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user is asked to confirm the purchase; upon confirmation by the user, the purchase is completed and the credit is deducted from the user’s account).
Anderson does not expressly disclose in the upload acceptance processing, the computer is configured to accept a user ID and the upload instruction from the first information processing device, in the storage processing, the computer is configured to store the posted label data received in the reception processing in association with the user ID accepted in the upload acceptance processing, in a case where the posted label data is selected in the download acceptance processing and the unpurchased content or function is purchased in the purchase processing, the instructions further causes the computer of the server to execute addition processing of accessing the points database to add the held points corresponding to the user ID associated with the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing.
However, Filev discloses a method that “enables rewards from advertisers to users in a social networking service for content provided by the users.” (See Filev, at least Abstract). Filev further discloses:
in the upload acceptance processing, the computer is configured to accept a user ID and the upload instruction from the first information processing device (See Filev, at least para. [0038], providing user uploads content to the system from any client device or other system; content can be text, image, video, audio, combination, etc.; content is associated with the providing user that provided the content),
in the storage processing, the computer is configured to store the posted label data received in the reception processing in association with the user ID accepted in the upload acceptance processing (See Filev, at least para. [0038], content is associated with the providing user that provided the content; content is stored on one or more storage devices; providing user may upload the content to a user profile or account associated with the providing user in a social networking service),
in a case where the posted label data is selected in the download acceptance processing and the unpurchased content or function is purchased in the purchase processing, the instructions further causes the computer of the server to execute addition processing of accessing the points database to add the held points corresponding to the user ID associated with the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing (See Filev, at least para. [0059], system tracks user access activity to content such as views or plays of the content, each time that users share access to the content, comments/ratings of the content, user purchases of a product or service associated with the content; these activities indicate advertising effectiveness of the content; para. [0064], advertising effectiveness of user content is evaluated and rewards are determined for the users providing the content; para. [0069], system determines a reward owed to the providing user based on the advertising effectiveness; para. [0072], reward may be money, tokens, credits, etc.; para. [0074], reward is paid to account of the providing user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the edible printing system and method of Anderson the ability of in the upload acceptance processing, the computer is configured to accept a user ID and the upload instruction from the first information processing device, in the storage processing, the computer is configured to store the posted label data received in the reception processing in association with the user ID accepted in the upload acceptance processing, in a case where the posted label data is selected in the download acceptance processing and the unpurchased content or function is purchased in the purchase processing, the instructions further causes the computer of the server to execute addition processing of accessing the points database to add the held points corresponding to the user ID associated with the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing as disclosed by Filev since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow users to “earn revenue or other rewards from many types of content they are already uploading to a social networking service and with no additional effort on their part” and to allow advertisers to “promote their products and services in a very organic way that makes use of naturalistic and everyday depictions of their products and services, and can reach large audiences through a new advertising format on social networking services.” (See Filev, at least para. [0018]).
Claim 9: The combination of Anderson and Filev discloses all the limitations of claim 8 discussed above.
Anderson does not expressly disclose wherein in a case where the held points are added in the addition processing, the instructions cause the computer of the server to execute notification processing of notifying the first information processing device of an update of the held points, the first information processing device uploading the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing.
However, Filev discloses wherein in a case where the held points are added in the addition processing, the instructions cause the computer of the server to execute notification processing of notifying the first information processing device of an update of the held points, the first information processing device uploading the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing (See Filev, at least para. [0059], system tracks user access activity to content such as views or plays of the content, each time that users share access to the content, comments/ratings of the content, user purchases of a product or service associated with the content; these activities indicate advertising effectiveness of the content; para. [0064], advertising effectiveness of user content is evaluated and rewards are determined for the users providing the content; para. [0069], system determines a reward owed to the providing user based on the advertising effectiveness; para. [0072], reward may be money, tokens, credits, etc.; para. para. [0074], system can notify advertiser of the reward to be paid; reward is paid to account of the providing user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the edible printing system and method of Anderson the ability wherein in a case where the held points are added in the addition processing, the instructions cause the computer of the server to execute notification processing of notifying the first information processing device of an update of the held points, the first information processing device uploading the posted label data selected in the download acceptance processing as disclosed by Filev since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow users to “earn revenue or other rewards from many types of content they are already uploading to a social networking service and with no additional effort on their part” and to allow advertisers to “promote their products and services in a very organic way that makes use of naturalistic and everyday depictions of their products and services, and can reach large audiences through a new advertising format on social networking services.” (See Filev, at least para. [0018]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Filev.
Claim 11: Anderson discloses:
a second information processing device (See Anderson, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, local control device); and
a server (See Anderson, at least para. [0038], central control device includes web server; para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules),
the server is configured to store label data in association with a user ID (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0063], image library module includes a plurality of digital images that can be printed onto an edible medium), the label data being data configured to be printed by a label printer (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0063], image library module includes a plurality of digital images that can be printed onto an edible medium; para. [0069], image library module interacts with print module to ensure that the version of the image that is compatible with the user’s printer is sent to the user’s printer), the label data being configured to include a setting of a paid content or paid function (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0066], image library module interacts with license module; license module restricts access to a user based on whether user is allowed to purchase images in a particular geographic region),
the second information processing device is configured to download the posted label data stored in the server from the server (See Anderson, at least para. [0078], user chooses to download and print a digital image),
the server is further configured to:
access a purchase information database storing purchase information indicating whether a paid content and function have been purchased for each user ID (See Anderson, at least para. [0061], central control device is used to access various software modules; para. [0075], user account module is a software module that maintains profiles of individual users in user accounts; includes user names; user account module processes financial transactions; para. [0076], user account module stores purchase and order histories for users); and
accept a user ID and a download instruction form the second information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0113], user enters username and password to user account module; para. [0140], user selects an image and instructs the system that the user wishes to purchase the image);
in a case where the server accepts the download instruction of the posted label data from the second information processing device, the server executes:
transmission processing of transmitting the posted label data to the second information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image);
acquisition processing of accessing the purchase information database and acquiring the purchase information corresponding to the user ID accepted from the second information processing device (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image); and
determination processing of determining whether the posted label data to download includes a setting of an unpurchased content or function, based on the purchase information acquired in the acquisition processing (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module checks to see whether the user has sufficient credit to purchase the image), and
in a case where it is determined in the determination processing that the setting of unpurchased content or function is included, the server further executes:
proposal processing of proposing purchase of the unpurchased content or function included in the posted label data to download (See Anderson, at least para. [0140], user account module prompts the user to enter financial information, such as a credit card to be charged or a bank account for direct debit).
Anderson does not expressly disclose a first information processing device; wherein the first information processing device and the second information processing device are configured to connect to the server via a network, the first information processing device is configured to upload posted label data to the server in association with the user ID input to the first information processing device, the posted label data being label data that the first information processing device has, the server is configured to store the posted label data uploaded from the first information processing device in association with the user ID associated with the uploaded posted label data.
However, Filev discloses:
a first information processing device (See Filev, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, client devices);
wherein the first information processing device and the second information processing device are configured to connect to the server via a network (See Filev, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, client devices and server system are connected via a network),
the first information processing device is configured to upload posted label data to the server in association with the user ID input to the first information processing device, the posted label data being label data that the first information processing device has (See Filev, at least para. [0038], content is associated with the providing user that provided the content; content is stored on one or more storage devices; providing user may upload the content to a user profile or account associated with the providing user in a social networking service),
the server is configured to store the posted label data uploaded from the first information processing device in association with the user ID associated with the uploaded posted label data (See Filev, at least para. [0038], content is associated with the providing user that provided the content; content is stored on one or more storage devices; providing user may upload the content to a user profile or account associated with the providing user in a social networking service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the edible printing system and method of Anderson the ability of a first information processing device; wherein the first information processing device and the second information processing device are configured to connect to the server via a network, the first information processing device is configured to upload posted label data to the server in association with the user ID input to the first information processing device, the posted label data being label data that the first information processing device has, the server is configured to store the posted label data uploaded from the first information processing device in association with the user ID associated with the uploaded posted label data as disclosed by Filev since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow users to “earn revenue or other rewards from many types of content they are already uploading to a social networking service and with no additional effort on their part” and to allow advertisers to “promote their products and services in a very organic way that makes use of naturalistic and everyday depictions of their products and services, and can reach large audiences through a new advertising format on social networking services.” (See Filev, at least para. [0018]).
Conclusion
/Anne M Georgalas/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689