DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I and Species I in the reply filed on August 17, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the different inventions overlap in scope and that species do not contain the mutually exclusive characteristics as explained on pages 3-4 of the reply. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive in light of the amendment to the claim, and as such, the requirement is WITHDRAWN as to Inventions I and II and among Species I, III, and V. Claims 4-6, 14-20, 23, 31-32, and 34-35 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 2 and 3 be found allowable, claims 8 and 9 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 33, “the first longitudinal engagement protrusion” and “the second longitudinal engagement protrusion” lack antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, claim 33 is assumed to depend from claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 24, 25, 28, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 8,668,692 (Lindvall).
Regarding claim 1, Lindvall discloses an orthopedic taper-lock assembly comprising: a first orthopedic component (68) comprising a male coupling portion (220) having a tapered outer surface (see Fig. 7A and col. 7, lines 7-15); a second orthopedic component (210) comprising a female coupling portion (204) defining a receiver (240a/240b) having a tapered inner surface complementary to the tapered outer surface (see Figs. 5B and 7A and col. 7, lines 7-15); and wherein the male coupling portion is seated within the receiver with the tapered outer surface engaging the tapered inner surface (see figs. 5B and 7A and col. 7, lines 7-15; friction fit).
Regarding claim 24, Lindvall discloses an orthopedic implant comprising: an implant body (68 or 140) oblong in shape (see Figs. 6 and 7A) and defining a longitudinal axis (along the length of body 68 or 140), a proximal end (end near component 66 or end near knee 62), a distal end (220 or 504), and a male coupling portion (222 or 504) extending from either end of the implant body along the longitudinal axis, the male coupling portion having a tapered outer surface (see Fig. 7A and col. 7, lines 7-15; see also Figs. 9 and 13, col. 9, line 38-41, and col. 10, line 54 – col. 11, line 16).
Regarding claim 25, Lindvall discloses wherein the male coupling portion extends from a base (220) adjacent the implant body to a convexly rounded terminal end (222, see Fig. 7A), and the tapered outer surface extends throughout an axial length of the male coupling portion from the base to a junction with the convexly rounded terminal end (see Fig. 7A and col. 7, lines 7-15).
Regarding claim 36, Lindvall discloses wherein the orthopedic implant is an intramedullary nail (140, see col. 5, lines 15-16 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 28, Lindvall discloses an orthopedic implant comprising: an implant body (210) oblong in shape defining a longitudinal axis (see Figs. 5A, 5B, and 7A), a proximal end (204), a distal end (242), and a female coupling portion (portions 204 and 242 have recesses, see Figs. 5A, 5B, 7A, and 9) within either end of the implant body along the longitudinal axis, the female coupling portion having a recess (240a/240b and 234/232) for a tapered inner surface (see col. 7, lines 7-15 and col. 9, lines 38-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindvall in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0094292 (Parrott).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein the first orthopedic component is an arthroplasty stem and the second orthopedic component is an intramedullary nail (claim 2), and vice versa (claim 3). However, Parrott discloses a modular assembly (10) that includes an arthroplasty stem (80) and an intramedullary nail (14), wherein the components are coupled via a male coupling portion (82) and a female coupling portion (50) (see paragraph [0045] and Fig. 5A). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Parrott to have the male and female coupling portions define mating, tapered complementary surfaces as disclosed by Lindvall in order to more securely couple the components of the assembly of Parrott as Lindvall discloses two orthopedic components can be securely coupled together via tapered, complementary surfaces that form a friction frit (see Lindvall, Figs. 5B and 7A and col. 7, lines 7-15). Additionally, it would have been obvious to switch which component has the male coupling portion and which component has the female coupling portion as it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art unless an unexpected result is achieved. See In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein an arthroplasty stem comprises the male coupling portion and an intramedullary nail comprises the female coupling portion (claim 9), and vice versa (claim 8). However, Parrott discloses a modular assembly (10) that includes an arthroplasty stem (80) and an intramedullary nail (14), wherein the components are coupled via a male coupling portion (82) and a female coupling portion (50) (see paragraph [0045] and Fig. 5A). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Parrott to have an arthroplasty stem and intramedullary nail comprises male and female coupling portions define mating, tapered complementary surfaces as disclosed by Lindvall in order to more securely couple the components of the assembly of Parrott as Lindvall discloses two orthopedic components can be securely coupled together via tapered, complementary surfaces that form a friction frit (see Lindvall, Figs. 5B and 7A and col. 7, lines 7-15). Additionally, it would have been obvious to switch which component has the male coupling portion and which component has the female coupling portion as it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art unless an unexpected result is achieved. See In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindvall in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0038261 (Early).
Regarding claim 7, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein a transverse cross-sectional outer boundary of the male coupling portion and a transverse cross-sectional inner boundary of the receiver have complementary elliptical profiles. However, Early discloses an internal fixation system (see Abstract) wherein two components (110/112) of the system are coupled via Morse-tapering mating surfaces that have cross-sectional outer boundaries having complementary shapes that are oval, polygonal, or any other known shape that provides a keying effect (see paragraph [0054]). It would have been prima facie obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling portions to have elliptical profiles as an elliptical profile, similar to an oval profile, would provide a keying effect between the two taper locked components, thus preventing unwanted rotation between the two components (see Early, paragraph [0054]).
Claims 11, 12, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindvall in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0161058 (Goldstein).
Regarding claim 11, Lindvall discloses wherein one of the orthopedic components comprises an adapter body (210), but fails to disclose the first orthopedic component comprising the adapter body that extends between first and second adapter ends, the male coupling portion extends from the first adapter end, and a second female coupling portion at the second adapter end defines a second receiver having a tapered inner surface. However, Goldstein discloses an adapter body (30b, see paragraphs [0014] and [0066]) that extends between adapter ends, a male coupling portion (see paragraphs [0014] and [0066] and Fig. 12) extends from a first adapter end, and a second female coupling portion defines a second receiver having a tapered inner surface at a second adapter end (see paragraphs [0014] and [0066] and Fig. 12). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lindvall to have the first orthopedic component be an adapter body with opposite male and female coupling portions, the male end of the adapter body coupling to a female end of a second orthopedic component as suggested by Goldstein as Goldstein suggests adapter bodies can be designed to have any combination of male and female endings in order to facilitate attachment of the adapter body to a corresponding orthopedic component (see Goldstein, paragraphs [0014] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, Lindvall discloses wherein one of the orthopedic components comprises an adapter body (210), but fails to disclose the male coupling portion extends from the first adapter end, and a second male coupling portion extends from the second adapter end and has a tapered outer surface. However, Goldstein discloses an adapter body (30c, see paragraphs [0014] and [0066]) that extends between adapter ends, a male coupling portion (see paragraphs [0014] and [0066] and Fig. 12) extends from a first adapter end, and a second male coupling portion extends from a second adapter end (see paragraphs [0014] and [0066] and Fig. 12). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lindvall to have the first orthopedic component be an adapter body with opposite male coupling portions, one of the male ends of the adapter body coupling to a female end of a second orthopedic component as suggested by Goldstein as Goldstein suggests adapter bodies can be designed to have any combination of male and female endings in order to facilitate attachment of the adapter body to a corresponding orthopedic component (see Goldstein, paragraphs [0014] and [0066]).
Regarding claims 37 and 38, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein the orthopedic implant is an intramedullary nail (claim 37) or an arthroplasty stem (claim 38). However, Goldstein discloses an intramedullary nail (10) and arthroplasty stem (102 or 102 in combination with 10, see Figs. 1 and 15A), wherein the nail and arthroplasty stem can each have a tapered female coupling portion for interacting with an adaptor body (30d) that has tapered male coupling portions on both ends (see paragraphs [0014] and [0066] and Figs. 12 and 15A). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lindvall to have the orthopedic implants with a female coupling portion be the intramedullary nail and arthroplasty stem while the adapter body includes male coupling portions on both ends as Goldstein suggests adapter bodies and corresponding orthopedic implants (such as intramedullary nails and arthroplasty stems) can be designed to have any combination of male and female endings in order to facilitate attachment of the adapter body to a corresponding orthopedic implant (see Goldstein, paragraphs [0014] and [0066]).
Claims 13, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindvall in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0010319 (McTighe).
Regarding claim 13, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein the female coupling portion further comprises a longitudinal spline projecting inwardly from the tapered inner surface into the receiver. However, McTighe discloses a prosthetic device (10) for placement within a bone canal, wherein a body (11) of the prosthetic device includes a female coupling portion receiver (120) that comprises a longitudinal spline (splines 122 in tapered portion 141, see paragraphs [0072] and [0079]-[0081) projecting inwardly from a tapered inner surface (141) into the receiver (see Fig. 1D). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the female coupling portion of Lindvall to comprise longitudinal splines as suggested by McTighe in order to permit a surgeon to provide an additional locking mechanism between the orthopedic components (see McTighe, paragraph [0074]) and to fine tune and adjust attachment of the orthopedic components such that stress points may altered or shifted (see McTighe, paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 29, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein the tapered inner surface comprises a first longitudinal engagement protrusion projecting inwardly from a first side of the tapered inner surface, and a second longitudinal engagement protrusion projecting inwardly from a second side of the tapered inner surface opposite the first side. However, McTighe discloses a prosthetic device (10) for placement within a bone canal, wherein a body (11) of the prosthetic device includes a female coupling portion receiver (120) that comprises a first longitudinal engagement protrusion (one of splines 122 in tapered portion 141, see paragraphs [0072] and [0079]-[0081) projecting inwardly from a first side of a tapered inner surface (141) (see Fig. 1D), and a second longitudinal engagement protrusion (another one of splines 122) projecting inwardly from a second side of the tapered inner surface opposite the first side (see Fig. 1D, splines 122 shown on opposite sides of inner surface 141). Regarding claim 33, McTighe discloses wherein the first longitudinal engagement protrusion is one of a first set of two to four longitudinal engagement protrusions projecting inwardly from the first side (see Fig. 1D, a set of two to four longitudinal engagement protrusions 122 project inwardly from each side), and the second longitudinal engagement protrusion is one of a second set of two to four longitudinal engagement protrusions projecting inwardly from the second side (see Fig. 1D, a set of two to four longitudinal engagement protrusions 122 project inwardly from each side). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tapered inner surface of Lindvall to comprise opposite longitudinal engagement protrusions as suggested by McTighe in order to permit a surgeon to provide an additional locking mechanism between the implant and another orthopedic component (see McTighe, paragraph [0074]) and to fine tune and adjust attachment of the implant to another orthopedic component such that stress points may altered or shifted (see McTighe, paragraph [0069]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindvall in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0288017 (Kaup).
Regarding claim 26, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein the male coupling portion further comprises first and second concave side recesses formed in the tapered outer surface on opposing lateral sides of the male coupling portion. However, Kaup discloses an orthopedic device (1) with a male coupling end (16) with concave side recesses (13) formed in an outer surface on opposing lateral sides of the male coupling end (see Figs. 4a-6b). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the male coupling portion of Lindvall to include concave side recesses as suggested by Kaup in order to prevent subsequent, arbitrary or involuntary rotation of the device (see Kaup, paragraphs [0018] and [0035]-[0038]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindvall in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0004465 (Bergin).
Regarding claim 27, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein the male coupling portion further comprises a central longitudinal flute recessed into the tapered outer surface. However, Bergin discloses an orthopedic device (10) wherein a tapered male end (12/18) of the device comprises a central longitudinal flute (one of valleys 30) recessed into a tapered outer surface of the end (see Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs [0025] and [0037]), and it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the male coupling portion to have a central, longitudinal flute recessed into the tapered outer surface in order to help provide rotational and axial stability and provide support against stem subsidence (see Bergin, paragraph [0025]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindvall in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0142124 (Link).
Regarding claim 30, Lindvall is silent regarding wherein the implant body has a transfixion aperture extending through the implant body intersecting the longitudinal axis. However, Link discloses an orthopedic implant body (1/2/3) wherein the implant body has a transfixion aperture (25/26 and/or 15/16) extending through the implant body intersecting the longitudinal axis (see Figs. 1-2b). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the implant body of Lindvall to include a transfixion aperture as suggested by Link in order to allow for firm clamping of an orthopedic device received in the implant body via fastening screws (see Link, paragraph [0011]).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J PLIONIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773