DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, each drawing should have the appropriate reference numerals for each reference element of the disclosure and the quality of shading and lines is of poor quality and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cubbertson (US Patent 9,433,188).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Cubbertson teaches a housing 10, a first tether 30 including a first end (unnumbered) coupled to the housing 10, a securing mechanism 36 configured to removably coupled to a second end of the first tether 30 to the housing 30, a second tether 12 including a first end or proximate end 14 retractably coupled to the housing 30, a first connector 19 coupled to a second end 16 of the second tether 12 and a second connector 34 coupled to the housing 30. However, Cubbertson does not discuss the second connector configured to removably couple to the first connector 19. Regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to clip the d-type connector or first connector 19 onto the first tether 30 while the securing mechanism 36 is coupled to the second connector 34, and thus is deemed to be obviously configured to removably couple the second connector to the first connector.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, a retraction mechanism 50 is positioned inside of the housing 10. See figure 3.
Regarding claim 3, an input 26 is positioned on the housing 10 and configured to activate the retraction mechanism 50.
Regarding claim 4, 13 and 14 the input or button 26 allows the second tether to be extended.
As for claims 5 and 15, the securing mechanism 36 is configured to secure the first tether to the housing at different lengths. See figure 1.
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 17, Cubbertson does not teach the use of an i-bolt, however, the connector of Cubbertson is structurally equivalent and thus are deemed to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cubbertson (US Patent 9,433,188) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Peck (2015/0208616). Cubbertson does not teach an accessory or GPS tracker. Peck teaches an accessory attached to the leash system that includes an accessory for attaching a phone which includes a GPS tracker. Regarding claims 8, 9, 18 and 19, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide the leash sysem of Cubbertson with an accessory to hold a phone, in view of the teachings of Peck, in order to maintain communication while using the device.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cubbertson (US Patent 9,433,188) in view of Peck (2015/0208616) as applied to claims 8 and 18 above, and further in view of Galdo (US Patent 2006/0231043). Cubbertson as modified by Peck does not teach an accessory which is a storage compartment. Galdo teaches an accessory that is a storage compartment. Regarding claims 10 and 20, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the combination of Cubbertson as modified by Peck with a storage compartment accessory, in view of Galdo, in order to hold items while walking your pet.
Contact Information
/RICHARD T PRICE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643