DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the following communication: Application filed on 26 July 2025.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and present for examination. Claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 is/are in independent form.
The instant application claims priority to 10 August 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 26 July 2025, 11 August 2025, 29 September 2025, 17 November 2025, 10 February 2026, 5 May 2026, 10 June 2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 26 July 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Laurence, U.S. Patent No. 10,310,765, filed on 31 August 2017, and issued on 4 June 2019.
As per independent claim 1, Laurence teaches:
A method comprising:
storing, at a first storage drive located at a storage node, a first portion of data comprising a first fragment of a record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”};
storing, at a second storage drive located at the storage node, a second portion of data comprising a second fragment of the record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at the storage node, the first and second fragments of the record to generate a reconstructed portion of the record {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per dependent claim 2, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the storage node is a first storage node, and the record is a first record, the method further comprising:
storing, at a third storage drive located at the first storage node, a third portion of data comprising a first fragment of a second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”};
storing, at a fourth storage drive located at a second storage node, a fourth portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at a storage server, the third portion of data and the fourth portion of data {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per dependent claim 3, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the second portion of data and the fourth portion of data are stored by a first write operation {See Laurence, column 4, lines 12-15, wherein this reads over “Each record is sequentially written to the shards until the predetermined size A of the shards is reached. For instance, Record 0 through Record 10 and a portion of (Broken) Record 11 are written to the first shard 108”}.
As per dependent claim 4, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the first portion of data and the third portion of data are stored by a second write operation {See Laurence, column 4, lines 12-15, wherein this reads over “Each record is sequentially written to the shards until the predetermined size A of the shards is reached. For instance, Record 0 through Record 10 and a portion of (Broken) Record 11 are written to the first shard 108”}.
As per dependent claim 5, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the storage node is a first storage node, and the record is a first record, the method further comprising:
storing, at the second storage drive, a third portion of data comprising a first fragment of a second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”};
storing, at a third storage drive located at a second storage node, a fourth portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at a storage server, the third portion of data and the fourth portion of data {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per dependent claim 6, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the second portion of data and the fourth portion of data are stored by a first write operation {See Laurence, column 4, lines 12-15, wherein this reads over “Each record is sequentially written to the shards until the predetermined size A of the shards is reached. For instance, Record 0 through Record 10 and a portion of (Broken) Record 11 are written to the first shard 108”}.
As per dependent claim 7, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 6, wherein the first portion of data and the third portion of data are stored by a second write operation {See Laurence, column 4, lines 12-15, wherein this reads over “Each record is sequentially written to the shards until the predetermined size A of the shards is reached. For instance, Record 0 through Record 10 and a portion of (Broken) Record 11 are written to the first shard 108”}.
As per dependent claim 8, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the record is a first record, and the first portion of data comprises a first fragment of a second record, the method further comprising:
storing, at the first storage drive, a third portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at the first storage drive, the first and second fragments of the second record to generate a reconstructed portion of the second record {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per dependent claim 9, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the second portion of data and the third portion of data are stored by a write operation {See Laurence, column 4, lines 12-15, wherein this reads over “Each record is sequentially written to the shards until the predetermined size A of the shards is reached. For instance, Record 0 through Record 10 and a portion of (Broken) Record 11 are written to the first shard 108”}.
As per dependent claim 10, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the record is a first record, the method further comprising:
storing, at the second storage drive, a third portion of data comprising a first fragment of a second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”};
storing, at a third storage drive located at the storage node, a fourth portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at the storage node, the first and second fragments of the second record to generate a reconstructed portion of the second record {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per independent claim 11, Laurence teaches:
A method comprising:
storing, at a first storage drive located at a first storage node, a first portion of data comprising a first fragment of a record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”};
storing, at a second storage drive located at a second storage node, a second portion of data comprising a second fragment of the record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at a storage server, the first portion of data and the second portion of data {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per dependent claim 12, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein the record is a first record, the method further comprising:
storing, at a third storage drive located at the first storage node, a third portion of data comprising a first fragment of a second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”};
storing, at a fourth storage drive located at the first storage node, a fourth portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at the first storage node, the first and second fragments of the second record to generate a reconstructed portion of the second record {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per dependent claim 13, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the second portion of data and the fourth portion of data are stored by a first write operation {See Laurence, column 4, lines 12-15, wherein this reads over “Each record is sequentially written to the shards until the predetermined size A of the shards is reached. For instance, Record 0 through Record 10 and a portion of (Broken) Record 11 are written to the first shard 108”}.
As per dependent claim 14, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the first portion of data and the third portion of data are stored by a second write operation {See Laurence, column 4, lines 12-15, wherein this reads over “Each record is sequentially written to the shards until the predetermined size A of the shards is reached. For instance, Record 0 through Record 10 and a portion of (Broken) Record 11 are written to the first shard 108”}.
As per dependent claim 15, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the record is a first record, and the first portion of data comprises a first fragment of a second record, the method further comprising:
storing, at the first storage drive, a third portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
combining, at the first storage drive, the first and second fragments of the second record to generate a reconstructed portion of the second record {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
As per dependent claim 16, Laurence teaches:
A method comprising: performing a write operation comprising:
storing, at a first storage drive, a first portion of data comprising a first fragment of a first record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
storing, at a second storage drive, a second portion of data comprising a first fragment of a second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}.
As per dependent claim 17, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein the write operation is a first write operation, the method further comprising: performing a second write operation comprising:
storing, at the first storage drive, a third portion of data comprising a second fragment of the first record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
storing, at the second storage drive, a fourth portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}.
As per dependent claim 18, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein:
the first storage drive and the second storage drive are located at a first storage node {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”}; and
the write operation further comprises storing, at a third storage drive at a second node, a third portion of data comprising a first fragment of a third record.
As per dependent claim 19, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 18, wherein the write operation is a first write operation, the method further comprising:
performing a second write operation comprising:
storing, at the first storage drive, a third portion of data comprising a second fragment of the first record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”; and column 12, lines 25-34, wherein this reads over “After the second shard 608 is generated, the processing service may generate subsequent data shards in the same manner as the first augmented shard 604A and the second shard 608 described above. Specifically, a third shard 614 corresponding to the third portion 616 of the data 602 is generated from a third portion 616 of the data 602. An initial portion 618 of the third shard 614, having the same size as the initial portion 612 of the second shard 608, is duplicated and appended to the end of the second shard 608 to generate an augmented second shard 608A.”};
storing, at the second storage drive, a fourth portion of data comprising a second fragment of the second record; {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”} and
storing, at the third storage drive at a second node, a third portion of data comprising a first fragment of the third record {See Laurence, column 6, lines 37-65, wherein this reads over “The term “data shard”, as used herein, refers to data shards or blocks from which the originally received data 304 may be read or obtained without logical operations involving parity shards, as described below. Each data shard 306 may contain at least some data that is mutually exclusive to the data contained in the other data shards 306. However, some of the data shards 306 may each contain some data that is also contained in at least one other data shard 306. For example, sequential data shards 306A and 306B may have some data that is common to both shards. Further, data shard 306A may contain some data not contained in data shard 306B, and conversely data shard 306B may contain some data not contained in data shard 306A.” and “The processing service 302 may cause the data shards 306 to be stored in one or more of a plurality of data storage nodes or devices 308.”; and column 12, lines 25-34, wherein this reads over “After the second shard 608 is generated, the processing service may generate subsequent data shards in the same manner as the first augmented shard 604A and the second shard 608 described above. Specifically, a third shard 614 corresponding to the third portion 616 of the data 602 is generated from a third portion 616 of the data 602. An initial portion 618 of the third shard 614, having the same size as the initial portion 612 of the second shard 608, is duplicated and appended to the end of the second shard 608 to generate an augmented second shard 608A.}.
As per dependent claim 20, Laurence teaches:
The method of claim 18, further comprising combining, at the first storage drive, the first fragment of the first record and the second fragment of the first record {See Laurence, column 10, lines 1-9, wherein this reads over “In a more complex example, four data shards may be combined with two corresponding derived shards (for a total of six shards in the collection of shards) to allow the reconstruction of up to two lost shards (also referred to herein as “damaged shards”) where the lost shards may be data shards, they may be derived shards, or they may be one of each”}.
Conclusion
/Paul Kim/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2166
/PK/