Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arve (U.S. 2018/0246950)
With respect to claims 1, 13 and 14, Arye discloses a method for querying a data table, comprising:
acquiring a data table query request, the data table query request requesting to query a second data table on a server for attribute values of a second attribute matching attribute values of a first attribute, and the first attribute being an attribute in a first data table on the server (i.e., “One of the dimension attributes is a time attribute that stores time-related values. The time attribute can be any data that can be comparable (i.e., has a > and ≥ operator), such that data can be ordered according to this comparison function. ”(0042) and “ the database system node 310a sends a query for processing to 310b but not to 310c. In other embodiments of the system, the queries 325a and 325b sent to the other nodes 310b and 310c are the same as the first query 320, and the queries or requests sent to the other nodes can be in a different query language, format, or communication protocol as the first query.”(0051) and same query is matching attribute values as claimed invention between data node 310a, b, and c), fig. 3 shows 310b is second data table on a server for attribute values 210a.etc matching attribute value of first data table 310a);
converting the data table query request into a first group of data sub-table query requests, the first group of data sub-table query requests requesting to query a second group of data sub- tables for attribute values of the second attribute matching attribute values of the first attribute in a first group of data sub-tables, the first group of data sub-tables being data sub-tables being obtained by splitting the first data table based on the plurality of attribute values of the first attribute, and the second group of data sub-tables being data sub-tables obtained by splitting the second data table based on the plurality of attribute values of the second attribute (i.e., “FIG. 2 shows a hypertable 160 split into a plurality of chunks 210 along two dimension attributes, a time attribute and another dimension attribute referred to as the space attribute. In this example, each chunk is associated with a time range comprising a start time and an end time, and a space range comprising a contiguous range of alphabetical characters..”(0047) and “The database system spits the hypertable into chunks. Each chunk stores a subset of records of the hypertable. A chunk may also be referred to herein as a data chunk or a partition. The database system 110 may distribute chunks of a hypertable across a set of one or more locations”(0033) and “Operations are performed against any of these tables, including multiple tables in a single query. For example, this can involve a SELECT that JOINS data between a hypertable and a standard non-partitioned table, or between two hypertables, or any more complex combination thereof. ”(0034) and “The metadata for a chunk includes information associating the chunk with the hypertable. Other type of metadata describing the chunk includes a name of the chunk, the various sets of values of the dimension attributes (for example, time ranges for the time attribute, and so on), information describing constraints and indexes for the chunk, and so on. The database system 110 may store other metadata associated with the chunk, e.g., access statistics and data distribution statistics to aid query planning”(0059) AND Examiner asserts convert for claim limitation is convert from one table to other table as reference);
generating a second group of data sub-table query requests, the second group of data sub- table query requests being different from the first group of data sub-table query requests (i.e., “In an embodiment, chunk management module 170 keeps statistics describing chunks processed by each distinct query, for example, the number of chunks processed by each query. The chunk management module 170 uses this statistical information to determine sets of values for dimension attributes of new chunks being created so as to improve performance. In an embodiment, the chunk management module 170 monitors the dimension attribute boundaries specified in queries’(0063) and chunks processed by each distinct query so generating a second group of data sub-table (chunks) query request being different from the first group of data sub table (chunk) or “the chunk management module 170 determines the sets of values of the dimension attributes of chunks being created based on ranges of dimension attributes specifies in queries received by the database system.’(0064)); and
transmitting the first group of data sub-table query requests and the second group of data sub-table query requests to the server, and acquiring a first group of query results corresponding to the first group of data sub-table query requests and a second group of query results corresponding to the second group of data sub-table query requests from the server (i.e., “The query planner 425 processes the query, and determines if the query specifies a hypertable, chunk, or a standard non-partitioned database table. If the insert query specifies a standard database table or a chunk, the query planner 425 executes the insert on the specified chunk or the standard database table in conjunction with the execution engine 435 and returns the result(s).’(0073) and “f a chunk is replicated between multiple nodes, or the record-to-chunk determination process results in more than one chunk…The query planner 425 collects any result(s) or status information from the insert queries, and returns some result(s) or status information to the requester.”(0081)).
With respect to claims 2 and 15, Arye discloses wherein the generating a second group of data sub- table query requests comprises: generating the second group of data sub-table query requests, the second group of data sub- table query requests requesting to query the second group of data sub-tables for the attribute values of the second attribute matching the attribute values of a third attribute in a third group of data sub-tables, and the third group of data sub-tables being data sub-tables obtained by splitting a third data table on the server based on the plurality of attribute values of the third attribute ((i.e., “FIG. 2 shows a hypertable 160 split into a plurality of chunks 210 along two dimension attributes, a time attribute and another dimension attribute referred to as the space attribute. In this example, each chunk is associated with a time range comprising a start time and an end time, and a space range comprising a contiguous range of alphabetical characters..”(0047) and “The database system spits the hypertable into chunks. Each chunk stores a subset of records of the hypertable. A chunk may also be referred to herein as a data chunk or a partition. The database system 110 may distribute chunks of a hypertable across a set of one or more locations”(0033) and “Operations are performed against any of these tables, including multiple tables in a single query. For example, this can involve a SELECT that JOINS data between a hypertable and a standard non-partitioned table, or between two hypertables, or any more complex combination thereof. ”(0034) and “The metadata for a chunk includes information associating the chunk with the hypertable. Other type of metadata describing the chunk includes a name of the chunk, the various sets of values of the dimension attributes (for example, time ranges for the time attribute, and so on), information describing constraints and indexes for the chunk, and so on. The database system 110 may store other metadata associated with the chunk, e.g., access statistics and data distribution statistics to aid query planning”(0059)); or
generating the second group of data sub-table query requests, the second group of data sub- table query requests requesting to query a fourth group of data sub-tables for the attribute values of a fourth attribute matching the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables, and the fourth group of data sub-tables being data sub-tables obtained by splitting a fourth data table on the server based on the plurality of attribute values of the fourth attribute; or generating the second group of data sub-table query requests, the second group of data sub- table query requests requesting to query the fourth group of data sub-tables for the attribute values of the fourth attribute matching the attribute values of the third attribute in the third group of data sub-tables.
With respect to claim 10, Arye discloses wherein the transmitting the first group of data sub- table query requests and the second group of data sub-table query requests to the server comprises: repeatedly performing the following operations, until both the first group of data sub-table query requests and the second group of data sub-table query requests are transmitted to the server (i.e., “The query planner 425 then repeats this process: selecting a record in the (now smaller) batch, scanning the rest of the batch to find records with a similar chunk association, sending that set of one or more records to the second chunk, and then repeating this process until the batch is empty.”(0086)): randomly selecting one or more data sub-table query requests from the data sub-table query requests that are still not transmitted to the server, in the first group of data sub-table query requests and the second group of data sub-table query requests, and transmitting the one or more randomly selected data sub-table query requests to the server (i.e., “Alternatively, a record could map to multiple chunks. For example, the chunking process might create more than one chunk during a particular interval (e.g., if the size of inserted data exceeds some threshold), as described herein, in which case the selection function chooses one, e.g., randomly, round robin, or based on their sizes. ”(0087)).
With respect to claim 11, Arye discloses wherein the first group of data sub-tables are data sub-tables obtained by splitting the first data table based on a value range of the attribute values of the first attribute, the value range of the attribute values of the first attribute in each data sub-table of the first group of data sub-tables being different (i.e., “a chunk that stores records having time attribute within a range [t1, t2] may be determined to be older than a chunk that stores records having time attribute within a range [t3, t4] if the time range [t1, t2] is older than the time range [t3, t4], for example, t2<t3. Alternatively, the age of the chunk may be determined based on the time of creation of the chunk. For example, a chunk created a week ago has an age value that is greater than a chunk created today.”(0088)); and the second group of data sub-tables are data sub-tables obtained by splitting the second data table based on a value range of the attribute values of the second attribute, the value range of the attribute values of the second attribute in each data sub-table of the second group of data sub- tables being different (i.e., “The database system then determines to which range (or partition) a particular value is associated by performing a lookup or comparison process. In one embodiment, the field is a string or binary value, and the database system splits the keyspace by prefix of the values of the field, then maps a value to one of these partitions based on the partition that shares the longest common prefix.”(0112)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-4 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed further comprising: searching a client for an identifier of a data table meeting a first matching condition with the first data table, to obtain the identifier of the third data table, and acquiring, from the client, the identifiers of the third group of data sub-tables having a mapping relationship with the third data table, the first matching condition comprising that a third value range is at least partially the same as a first value range, the first value range being a value range of the attribute values of the first attribute in the first data table, and the third value range being a value range of the attribute values of the third attribute in the third data table; or searching the client for identifiers of data sub-tables meeting a second matching condition with the data sub-tables of the first group of data sub-tables, to obtain the identifiers of the third group of data sub-tables, the second matching condition comprising that a third value subrange is at least partially the same as a first value subrange, the first value subrange being a value range of the attribute values of the first attribute in the data sub-tables of the first group of data sub- tables, and the third value subrange being a value range of the attribute values of the third attribute in the data sub-tables of the third group of data sub-tables, wherein the first matching condition further comprises: a first number of times is different from a third number of times, the first number of times being the number of times that a first value appears in the first attribute in the first data table, the third number of times being the number of times that the first value appears in the third attribute in the third data table, and the first value being a value same in the third value range and the first value range; or a first proportion is different from a third proportion, the first proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the first number of times by a first total number of times, the first total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the first value range appear in the first attribute in the first data table, the third proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the third number of times by a third total number of times, and the third total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the third value range appear in the third attribute in the third data table; or the second matching condition further comprises: a first sub-number of times is different from a third sub-number of times, the first sub-number of times being the number of times that a third value appears in the first attribute in one data sub-table of the first group of data sub-tables, the third sub-number of times being the number of times that the third value appears in the third attribute in another data sub-table of the third group of data sub-tables, and the third value being a value same in the third value subrange and the first value subrange; or a first sub-proportion is different from a third sub-proportion, the first sub-proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the first sub-number of times by a first sub-table total number of times, the first sub- table total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the first value sub-range appear in the first attribute in the one data sub-table, the third sub-proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the third sub-number of times by a third sub-table total number of times, and the third sub-table total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the third value range appear in the third attribute in the other data sub-table.
Claim 5-6 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed further comprising: searching a client for an identifier of a data table meeting a third matching condition with the second data table, to obtain the identifier of the fourth data table, and acquiring, from the client, the identifiers of the fourth group of data sub-tables having a mapping relationship with the fourth data table, the third matching condition comprising that a fourth value range is at least partially the same as a second value range, the second value range being a value range of the attribute values of the second attribute in the second data table, and the fourth value range being a value range of the attribute values of the fourth attribute in the fourth data table; or searching the client for identifiers of data sub-tables meeting a fourth matching condition with the data sub-tables of the second group of data sub-tables, to obtain the identifiers of the fourth group of data sub-tables, the fourth matching condition comprising that a fourth value subrange is at least partially the same as a second value subrange, the second value subrange comprising a value range of the attribute values of the second attribute in the data sub-tables of the second group of data sub-tables, and the fourth value subrange comprising a value range of the attribute values of the fourth attribute in the data sub-tables of the fourth group of data sub- tables, wherein the third matching condition further comprises: a second number of times is different from a fourth number of times, the second number of times being the number of times that a second value appears in the second attribute in the second data table, the fourth number of times being the number of times that the second value appears in the fourth attribute in the fourth data table, and the second value being a value same in the fourth value range and the second value range; or a second proportion is different from a fourth proportion, the second proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the second number of times by a second total number of times, the second total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the second value range appear in the second attribute in the second data table, the fourth proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the fourth number of times by a fourth total number of times, and the fourth total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the fourth value range appear in the fourth attribute in the fourth data table; or the fourth matching condition further comprises: a second sub-number of times is different from a fourth sub-number of times, the second sub-number of times being the number of times that a fourth value appears in the second attribute in one data sub-table of the second group of data sub-tables, the fourth sub-number of times being the number of times that the fourth value appears in the fourth attribute in another data sub-table of the fourth group of data sub-tables, and the fourth value being a value same in the fourth value subrange and the second value subrange; or a second sub-proportion is different from a fourth sub-proportion, the second sub-proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the second sub-number of times by a second sub-table total number of times, the second sub- table total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the second value sub-range appear in the second attribute in the one data sub-table, the fourth sub- proportion being a proportion obtained by dividing the fourth sub-number of times by a fourth sub-table total number of times, and the fourth sub-table total number of times being a sum of the numbers of times that the values in the fourth value range appear in the fourth attribute in the other data sub-table.
Claim 7. and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed
wherein in a case that the second group of data sub-table query requests are requesting to query the second group of data sub-tables for the attribute values of the second attribute matching the attribute values of the third attribute in the third group of data sub-tables, the first group of query results comprise encrypted data of the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables and encrypted data, queried from the second group of data sub-tables, of the attribute values of the second attribute matching the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables, and the second group of query results comprise encrypted data of the attribute values of the third attribute in the third group of data sub-tables and encrypted data, queried from the second group of data sub-tables, of the attribute values of the second attribute matching the attribute values of the third attribute in the third group of data sub-tables; or in a case that the second group of data sub-table query requests are requesting to query the fourth group of data sub-tables for the attribute values of the fourth attribute matching the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables, the first group of query results comprise encrypted data of the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables and encrypted data, queried from the second group of data sub-tables, of the attribute values of the second attribute matching the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables, and the second group of query results comprise encrypted data of the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables and encrypted data, queried from the fourth group of data sub-tables, of the attribute values of the fourth attribute matching the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables; or in a case that the second group of data sub-table query requests are requesting to query the fourth group of data sub-tables for the attribute values of the fourth attribute matching the attribute values of the third attribute in the third group of data sub-tables, the first group of query results comprise encrypted data of the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables and encrypted data, queried from the second group of data sub-tables, of the attribute values of the second attribute matching the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables, and the second group of query results comprise encrypted data of the attribute values of the third attribute in the third group of data sub-tables and encrypted data, queried from the fourth group of data sub-tables, of the attribute values of the fourth attribute matching the attribute values of the third attribute in the third group of data sub-tables.
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed further
comprising: updating the first data table to a fifth data table based on a first difference between a first real data table and a second real data table, in a case that the first data table is a data table obtained by performing first smoothing process on the attribute values of the first attribute in the first real data table and the first real data table is updated to the second real data table, the first smoothing process making the attribute values of the first attribute in the first real data table appear in the first data table for the same number of times, and a second difference between the first data table and the fifth data table being the same as the first difference; determining whether to perform second smoothing process on the second real data table based on the second real data table and the fifth data table; performing the second smoothing process on the second real data table, to obtain a sixth data table, and replacing the first data table on the server with the sixth data table, in a case of determining to perform the second smoothing process on the second real data table, the second smoothing process making the attribute values of the first attribute in the second real data table appear in the sixth data table for the same number of times; and replacing the first data table on the server with the fifth data table in a case of determining to skip the second smoothing process on the second real data table, wherein the determining whether to perform second smoothing process on the second real data table based on the second real data table and the fifth data table comprises: determining a distribution difference between the attribute values of the first attribute in the second real data table and the attribute values of the first attribute in the fifth data table; determining to perform the second smoothing process on the second real data table in a case that the distribution difference is less than or equal to a preset threshold; and determining to skip the second smoothing process on the second real data table in a case that the distribution difference is greater than the preset threshold.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed wherein the data table query request is requesting to query the second data table for the attribute values of a second attribute having a first matching relationship with the attribute values of a first attribute, the first matching relationship referring to that the hash values of the attribute values of the first attribute are the same as the hash values of the attribute values of the second attribute, or the hash values of the attribute values of the first attribute are the same as the hash value of a value in a first target value range, and the first target value range being a value range represented by one attribute value of one attribute corresponding to the second attribute in the second data table; and the first group of data sub-table query requests are requesting to query the second group of data sub-tables for the attribute values of the second attribute having a second matching relationship with the attribute values of the first attribute in the first group of data sub-tables, the second matching relationship referring to that the hash values of the attribute values of the first attribute are the same as the hash values of the attribute values of the second attribute, or the hash values of the attribute values of the first attribute are the same as the hash value of a value in a second target value range, and the second target value range being a value range represented by one attribute value of one attribute corresponding to the second attribute in the second group of data sub-tables.
Citation of Pertinent References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The patent to ‘Abadi et al.disclose Method and Apparatus for Query execution system and method, U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0310916 A1..
The patent to ‘Narasaya et al. discloses Automated logical database design tunnin, U.S. Pat.. No. 7,580,941 B2..
Conclusion
/HUNG T VY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163 May 30, 2026