DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on August 14, 2026 was received. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 6-13 were canceled. No claim was added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued on June 24, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6 “Chemical Formulas 2 to 39” should be corrected to “Chemical Formulas 2 to 36”.
Claim 1, line 6 “molybdenum-based thin films” should be corrected to “the molybdenum-based thin film”.
Claim 1, each one of the chemical formulas 2 to 36, should be clearly labeled by number, for example
.
Claim 3, “a molybdenum precursor” and “the molybdenum precursor” should be corrected to be consistent with claim 1 limitation “one or more selected from Chemical Formulas 2 to 36 as a precursor compound for the molybdenum-based thin film”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, while the claim defines the film quality improver being a saturated compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, it also defines that the film quality improver being one or more selected from the group consisting of 2-chloro-2-methylpropane, 2-chloro-2-methylbutane etc, however, Chemical Formula 1 as defined in the claim includes a much broader group of chemical compounds than the list “2-chloro-2-methylpropane, 2-chloro-2-methylbutane etc”, for example, Chemical Formula 1 includes A as silicon, but none of the chemical compound on the list comprises silicon. Thus, it is unclear if the claim is intended to include all the possible compounds as defined by Chemical Formula 1, or just the compounds on the list as the quality improver. In addition, the claim defines the film quality improver being “a saturated compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1” but also “one or more selected from the group consisting of...”, thus, it is unclear if the film quality improver is limited to just one compound or “one or more”. For purpose of examination, the film quality improver is interpreted as the saturated compound represented by Chemical Formula 1. However, Applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter. Specifically, remove one of the definitions for the film quality improver from the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeon (KR102138149), or in in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yeon (KR102138149) in view of Dezelah (US20190003050).
Regarding claim 1, instant claim is not limited by the claim language of “for a molybdenum-based thin film, wherein the molybdenum-based thin film comprises molybdenum metal, molybdenum oxide or molybdenum nitride on a substrate" and “for one or more selected from Chemical Formulas 2 to 36 as a precursor compound for molybdenum-based thin films”. The limitations are intended use of the “film quality improver” with the chemical formula. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). Yeon teaches a method of forming a metal containing thin film (paragraph 0001), wherein the metal is molybdenum and can be nitride or oxide (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053). Yeon teaches to inject an inhibitor to the deposition chamber to be adsorbed on the surface of the substate (paragraphs 0017, 0046 and 0090), wherein the inhibitor facilitates to improve step coverage and thickness uniformity of the thin film being formed on a substate having complex structure (paragraph 0001), which reads on the limitation of film quality improver for the molybdenum based thin film (for a molybdenum-based thin film, wherein the molybdenum-based thin film comprises molybdenum oxide or molybdenum nitride on a substrate). Yeon teaches the inhibitor comprises the structure of AnBmXo, wherein A is carbon or silicon, X is halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, n is an integer of 1, o is an integer 1, and m is 2n+1 (paragraphs 0015-0016), which reads on the claimed limitation of Chemical Formula 1 (A is carbon or silicon, B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, C is halogen, n is 1, o is 1 and m is 3). Yeon further teaches the specific example of the inhibitor is 2-chloro-2-methylbutane (paragraph 0034). In this case, there is no structural difference between the claimed film quality improver and the prior art as they are the same compounds in the instant claims, so the claimed intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Yeon teaches the claimed film quality improver.
Yeon does not explicitly discloses the “for one of more selected from chemical formulas 2 to 36 as a precursor compound for the molybdenum-based thin films”. The limitation is intended use of the “film quality improver”. As discussed above, there is no structural difference between the claimed film quality improver and the prior art as they are the same compounds, so the claimed intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Assuming arguendo, Yeon teaches the molybdenum-based thin film is deposited by atomic vapor deposition (ALD) and the metal precursor can be metal carbonyl compound (paragraph 0051-0052), but does not explicitly teaches the claimed molybdenum precursor (Chemical Formula 2 to 36). However, Dezelah teaches a method of preparing molybdenum thin film by ALD (paragraph 0001), wherein the molybdenum film includes molybdenum nitride or molybdenum oxide (paragraph 0059). Dezelah teaches the molybdenum precursor is carbonyl compound with formula
with R1 and R2 and R3 being Cl or methyl and M being Mo (paragraph 0011), which reads on the claimed molybdenum precursor
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum carbonyl compound precursor for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of Yeon so that the film quality improver is for the molybdenum carbonyl compound as a precursor compound being used to form the molybdenum-based thin film because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 4, instant claim is not limited by the claim language of “the film quality improver does not remain in the molybdenum based thin film". The limitation is intended use of the “film quality improver” in the making of the molybdenum based thin film. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). In this case, there is no structural difference between the claimed film quality improver and the prior art as they are the same compounds in the instant claims, so the claimed intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Nevertheless, Yeon teaches the film quality improver is removed during the deposition process (paragraphs 0103-0104, figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, instant claim is not limited by the claim language of “the molybdenum based thin film is used as a diffusion barrier or an electrode". The limitation is intended use of the “film quality improver” in the making of the molybdenum based thin film. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). In this case, there is no structural difference between the claimed film quality improver and the prior art as they are the same compounds in the instant claims, so the claimed intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Nevertheless, Yeon teaches the metal nitride deposition is intended to be used as a diffusion barrier (paragraphs 0004 and 0051-0053). Dezelah also teaches the molybdenum based film formed by the ALD method using the claimed molybdenum precursor is used as a diffusion battier (pargraph 0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeon (KR102138149), or in alternative, further in view of Dezelah (US20190003050) as applied to claims 1 and 4-5 above.
Regarding claim 2, Yeon, or in alternative, further in view of Dezelah teaches all limitations of this claim but does not explicitly disclose the claimed refractive index of the film quality improver. However, Yeon teaches the same film quality improver with the chemical formula 1 as claimed which reads on the specific quality improver in the instant claimed invention example, such as 2-chloro-2-methylbutane etc (see Yeon pargraph 0034) (see paragraph 0061 and table 1 of the instant application publication), which has the claimed refractive index. Thus, Yeon’s chemical formula 1 includes some of the compounds with the same refractive index and considered to have overlapping range with the claimed range of refractive index. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeon (KR102138149) in view of Dezelah (US20190003050) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-5 above.
Regarding claim 3, Yeon in view of Dezelah teaches all limitations of this claim but does not explicitly disclose the claimed H-NMR spectrum. Yeon teach the same film quality improver with the chemical formula 1 as claimed which reads on the specific quality improver in the instant claimed invention example, such as 2-chloro-2-methylbutane (see Yeon pargraph 0034) (paragraph 0061 and table 1 of the instant application publication), which has the claimed integral value of newly created peak when comparing H-NMR spectrum for the film quality improver and H-NMR spectrum measured after mixing the film quality improver and a molybdenum precursor in a molar ration of 1:1 and pressing, especially Dezelah teaches the claimed molybdenum precursor. Thus, Yeon’s chemical formula 1 includes some of the compounds with the same integral value of newly created peak and considered to have overlapping range with the claimed range of integral value of newly created peak. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Yeon teaches the metal precursor is in liquid form in the ambient atmosphere (paragraphs 0058-0064). Dezelah teaches the molybdenum precursor is in liquid or solid form at ambient (paragraphs 0056-0057).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18014452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula 1 of claim 1 of Application No. 18014452 completely overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 1-5 overlaps with claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411, including the chemical formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411 completely overlap in scope. Thus, the two sets of claims completely overlap except the film is Ti based film. However, titanium and molybdenum in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor are considered as functionally equivalent as evidenced thin film material by Yeon (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in claims 1-5.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12252788. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 and claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12252788 completely overlap in scope; the chemical formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12252788 completely overlap in scope.
Claims 1-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other completely overlap in scope; the chemical formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 completely overlap in scope (tert-butyl bromide/iodide/chloride in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 reads on instant claim chemical formula 1).
Claims 1-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12448685. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other completely overlap in scope; the chemical formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula of U.S. Patent No. 12448685 (the listed growth inhibitor such as tert-butyl chloride etc in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12448685 reads on instant claim chemical formula 1).
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18691435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula 1 of claim 1 of Application No. 18691435 completely overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over c claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18910856. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula 1 of claim 7 of Application No. 18910856 completely overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed formula 1 of the instant claims and the chemical formula 1 or some of the listed compound of claim 7 of Application No. 18950715 completely overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
Yeon manufactured a TiN thin film or SiN thin film as shown in Table 2 of Examples 1 to 7, with titanium tetrahalides as preferred thin film precursor compounds.
Yeon provides the thin film with reduced by-products and impurities while reducing the deposition rate, while the claimed molybdenum containing thin film with an increased deposition rate. Thus, Yeon thin film is different from the claimed invention.
Yeon does not teach the new limitations.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
Instant claim is limited by the claim language of “for a molybdenum-based thin film, wherein the molybdenum-based thin film comprises molybdenum metal, molybdenum oxide or molybdenum nitride on a substrate". The limitations are intended use of the “film quality improver” with the chemical formula. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). In this case, there is no structural difference between the claimed film quality improver and the prior art as they are the same compounds in the instant claims, so the claimed intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Yeon teaches the claimed film quality improver. Nevertheless, Yeon clearly teaches the method is applicable to other metal, such as molybdenum, using metal precursor such as metal carbonyl compound (paragraph 0052). It is well settled that nonpreferred and alternative embodiments constitute prior art and disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123 II). Thus, the examples of forming TiN does not renders the claimed invention distinct from Yeon. New reference Dezelah teaches the claimed molybdenum precursor.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., reducing/increasing by products and impurities, increasing/decreasing deposition rate) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Instant claim is limited by the claim language of “for one or more selected from Chemical Formulas 2 to 36 as a precursor compound for molybdenum-based thin films". The limitations are intended use of the “film quality improver” with the chemical formula. The recitation of purpose or intended use must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. (see MPEP 2111.02, II). In this case, there is no structural difference between the claimed film quality improver and the prior art as they are the same compounds in the instant claims, so the claimed intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Yeon teaches the claimed film quality improver. Nevertheless, new reference Dezelah teaches the new limitations, molybdenum precursor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717