DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claims filed on July 28, 2025 for the application filed July 28, 2025 which claims priority to a foreign application filed on July 26, 2024. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recited “processing at last one” in line 3 which should recite “processing at least one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “optionally generating narrative descriptions of pathologies using a vision language model”. It is unclear whether this limitation is required by the claim due to the term “optionally” rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is construed as not being required by the claim.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the action preferably includes pointing, zooming, measurements and windowlvl”. It is unclear whether this limitation is required by the claim due to the term “preferably” rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is construed as not being required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Madan (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0069744).
Regarding claim 1, Madan computer-implemented method for assisting a user in preparing a radiology report from at least one input radiology image, the method comprising:
processing the at last one input radiology image with at least one artificial intelligence module to detect anatomies and pathologies and to generate positional data and descriptive data related to the detected anatomies and pathologies (Paragraph [0066], The diagnostic reporting system 700 includes a data receiving module 720 that receives data from the medical image and medical non-image data 32 and medical training data 34, i.e., data from EHR, EMR, HIS, RIS, PACS, etc. The data is incorporated into the diagnostic report model training module 740 to generate one or more fine-tuned diagnostic models 54 to develop a model specific to the patient under evaluation by the clinician. Based on one or more fine-tuned diagnostic models 54, the clinician is displayed a medical imaging visualization on the GUI 90, as shown in FIGS. 6B-6D. Figs. 6B-6D shows that the model detects anatomies (e.g. kidney), pathologies (e.g. calculi) and generate positional data (e.g. P1 and P2 positions) and descriptive data (e.g. A single calculus measuring 2.3mm in diameter is noted within the left calyx). Also see paragraphs [0074]-[0078].);
generating, automatically and prior to user review, an initial radiology report comprising, for every detected pathology and for at least one detected anatomy, collective positional data and descriptive data related to the detected anatomies and pathologies (Paragraph [0066], Based on one or more fine-tuned diagnostic models 54, the clinician is displayed a medical imaging visualization on the GUI 90, as shown in FIGS. 6B-6D. Claim 17, the clinical diagnostic report includes one or more medical images, medical non-image data, patient information, AI generated medical findings, and patient medical history. Figs. 6B-6D shows that the report includes collective positional data (e.g. P1 position/left kidney) and descriptive data (e.g. a single calculus measuring 2.3 mm in diameter is noted within the left calyx) related to the detected anatomies (e.g. kidney) and pathologies (e.g. calculi). Also see paragraphs [0074]-[0078].);
displaying the initial radiology report via a user interface comprising at least one image panel displaying the at least one input radiology image with the detected pathologies and the at least one detected anatomy marked thereon and a text panel with a descriptive data related to the detected pathologies and the at least one detected anatomy (See figs 6B-6D and paragraphs [0074]-[0078].);
allowing user review of the initial radiology report, by receiving from the user a feature pointer input marking a feature at the image panel or at the text panel, wherein the panel via which the feature pointer input is provided is selectable by the user (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. In this instance, the clinician or senior clinician can label the image, add notes, and conduct measurements that will adjust the diagnosis results. Paragraph [0078], the clinician or senior clinician can decide that edits to the suggested report is necessary. In this case, the edit command 1238 provides the ability to edit any of the information. In this instance, any information shown in the suggested report display 1236 can be updated, changed, or edited by the clinician or senior clinician. Also see figs. 6B-6D and paragraphs [0082] and [0097].);
receiving an action identifier to be performed on the feature defined by the feature pointer input, wherein the action identifier is selected from a group comprising: addition of a feature, modification of a feature and deletion of a feature (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. In this instance, the clinician or senior clinician can label the image, add notes, and conduct measurements that will adjust the diagnosis results. Paragraph [0078], the clinician or senior clinician can decide that edits to the suggested report is necessary. In this case, the edit command 1238 provides the ability to edit any of the information. In this instance, any information shown in the suggested report display 1236 can be updated, changed, or edited by the clinician or senior clinician. For example, the clinician or senior clinician can update the suggested report to provide more details on the diameter size of the single calculus in the right kidney and remove the description indicating that the size and exact location are not mentioned. Also see figs. 6B-6D and paragraphs [0082] and [0097].); and
updating the initial radiology report by performing the action corresponding to the received action identifier with respect to the feature defined by the feature pointer input and presenting an updated radiology report via the user interface (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. Paragraph [0077], Based on the AI findings within the AI findings option 1222 and the diagnosis within the diagnosis option 1226, the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700 presents via the GUI 90 a suggest report display 1236. Paragraph [0078], In this case, the edit command 1238 provides the ability to edit any of the information. In this instance, any information shown in the suggested report display 1236 can be updated, changed, or edited by the clinician or senior clinician. Also see figs. 6B-6D.).
Regarding claim 2, Madan further discloses prior to generating the initial radiology report, performing at last one of:
extracting information on diagnostic technique of the at least one radiology image, using an artificial intelligence module and/or statistical algorithm ;
determining at least one anatomy imaged on the at least one input radiology image, using an artificial intelligence module and/or statistical algorithm; and
extracting information on at least one pathology imaged on the at least one input radiology image, using an artificial intelligence module and/or statistical algorithm trained to detect pathologies (Figs. 6B-6D show that the models extract information on diagnostic technique (e.g. CT scan), determines an anatomy imaged (e.g. abdomen/kidney) and extracts information on the pathology imaged (e.g. calculi position and size.). Also see paragraph [0066]. Using models to create the report as shown in figs. 6B-6D is construed performing the extraction and determining prior to generating/displaying the report as shown in figs. 6B-6D.).
Regarding claim 3, Madan further discloses prior to generating the initial radiology report, generating narrative descriptions of pathologies using a large language model or natural language processing module (Figs. 6B-6D show that the models generate narrative descriptions of the pathologies (e.g. a single calculus measuring 2.3 mm in diameter is noted within the left calyx). Also see paragraphs [0065]-[0066]. Using models to create the report as shown in figs. 6B-6D is construed performing generating of narrative descriptions prior to generating/displaying the report as shown in figs. 6B-6D.).
Regarding claim 4, Madan further discloses prior to generating the initial radiology report, determining anatomy imaged on the at least one input radiology image and extracting information on pathologies imaged on the at least one input radiology image, and optionally generating narrative descriptions of pathologies using a vision language model (See claims 2-3 above).
Regarding claim 5, Madan further discloses wherein the step of receiving the feature pointer input comprises receiving an input via a image panel by taking an action on image panel, wherein the action preferably includes pointing, zooming, measurements and windowlvl (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. In this instance, the clinician or senior clinician can label the image, add notes, and conduct measurements that will adjust the diagnosis results. Also see paragraph [0079]. The limitation “wherein the action preferably includes pointing, zooming, measurements and windowlvl” is not further limiting and not given patentable weight.).
Regarding claim 6, Madan further discloses receiving the action identifier indicating addition of a feature from an artificial intelligence module and/or statistical algorithm trained to detect pathologies (See figs. 6B-6D and paragraphs [0074]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 7, Madan further discloses wherein the step of receiving the action identifier includes receiving a text description or voice description from the user through a speech recognition system (Paragraph [0097], Based on the clinical diagnostic report not being sufficient, the clinician annotates the clinical diagnostic report step 1322. During this process, the clinician conducts labeling, measuring, and adding textural data to the report, including any medical images within the report. Also see paragraph [0078].).
Regarding claim 8, Madan further discloses wherein the step of updating the radiology report includes using an artificial intelligence large language model and/or natural language processing module to automatically generate descriptive text based on the received feature pointer input (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. In this instance, the clinician or senior clinician can label the image, add notes, and conduct measurements that will adjust the diagnosis results. Paragraph [0077], Based on the AI findings within the AI findings option 1222 and the diagnosis within the diagnosis option 1226, the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700 presents via the GUI 90 a suggest report display 1236. Also see figs. 6B-6D.).
Regarding claim 9, Madan further discloses presenting, via the user interface, a first text panel with a short descriptive data related to the detected anatomies and pathologies (See fig. 6B, 1232) and a second text panel with a narrative descriptive data related to the detected anatomies and pathologies (See fig. 6C, 1234 or fig. 6D, 1236).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madan (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0069744) in view of Reicher et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0335261).
Regarding claim 10, Madan does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein a unique color is algorithmically assigned to each detected pathology and to each clinically relevant detected anatomy, and the same color is used concurrently to highlight the corresponding short descriptor in the first text panel, the corresponding narrative fragment in the second text panel, and at least one marker or region overlay in the image panel or panels.
Reicher teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing wherein a unique color is algorithmically assigned to each detected pathology and to each clinically relevant detected anatomy, and the same color is used concurrently to highlight the corresponding short descriptor, the corresponding narrative fragment, and at least one marker or region overlay in the image (Reicher, paragraph [0069], In some embodiments, when an annotation is made by a user (e.g., the initial physician) and a correlating description is made in the report, a hyperlink is automatically added to the report so that subsequent report viewers can link from the text description to display the correlating image and annotation. In some embodiments, when there are multiple such annotations on the same image, a system such as color-coding may help the user distinguish which annotation correlates with which description. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing to modify the computer implemented method of Madan such that a unique color is algorithmically assigned to each detected pathology and to each clinically relevant detected anatomy, and the same color is used concurrently to highlight the corresponding short descriptor in the first text panel, the corresponding narrative fragment in the second text panel, and at least one marker or region overlay in the image panel or panels, as taught by Reicher, in order to help the user distinguish which annotation correlates with which description.
Claims 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madan (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0069744) in view of Paik et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0177836).
Regarding claim 11, Madan does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Paik teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing to perform comparing current radiology findings with previous studies and assembling these data when generating a final radiology report (Paik, paragraph [0273], After reporting is completed, but before report finalization (sign-out), the full set of represented findings can compared to a checklist of required findings, which is itself selected, based on the study metadata (type of study) from a pool of such checklists. Paragraph [0274], represented findings are compared to represented findings from prior studies of the same patient. When a previous finding “matches”—that is, is found upon comparison to share suitable characteristics suggesting that the current report is describing an observed abnormality that was also described (even if via different language or with different details, e.g. different size or severity) in a previous report, suitable action can be taken. For example, the user can be alerted that a “relevant prior” study has been found, and they will have the option to include that prior study in a comparison to the current study. Also see paragraph [0137].) to allow a user to make comparisons of the specific anatomy being queried between the current imaging study and any available prior studies automatically (Paik, paragraph [0135]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing to modify the computer implemented method of Madan to include comparing current radiology findings with previous studies and assembling these data when generating a final radiology report, as taught by Paik, in order to allow a user to make comparisons of the specific anatomy being queried between the current imaging study and any available prior studies automatically.
Regarding claim 12, Madan does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Paik teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing wherein the contents of the image panel are correlated with the contents of the text panel such that when a feature is selected on the image panel, a corresponding text related to that feature, if present, is highlighted on the text panel and if a feature is selected on the text panel, a corresponding image fragment is highlighted on the image panel (Paik, paragraph [0145], This subsystem makes this linking evident to the user, which may be the user during interpretation, a subsequent user during a future follow-up exam, the referring physician, or even the patient. When the user selects an image region of interest (e.g., by mousing over or moving a mouse to a region or selecting from a list), the corresponding AI-generated text in the report can be illuminated or highlighted in a distinctive manner (e.g., text highlighted with a distinct or contrasting background color). Similarly, when the user selects a finding text in the report (e.g., by mousing over the sentence in the report or selecting from a list), the corresponding image region of interest is highlighted in a distinctive manner (e.g., the region boundary is drawn and/or the region interior is given a distinct hue).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing to modify the computer implemented method of Madan such that the contents of the image panel are correlated with the contents of the text panel such that when a feature is selected on the image panel, a corresponding text related to that feature, if present, is highlighted on the text panel and if a feature is selected on the text panel, a corresponding image fragment is highlighted on the image panel, as taught by Paik, in order to make this linking evident to the user.
Regarding claim 14, Madan does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Paik teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing wherein the at least one image panel displays the at least one input radiology image, and wherein each detected pathology or anatomy is rendered as a graphic overlay whose geometry is stored in image-space coordinates and is re-mapped in real time to displayed screen space whenever the user performs an image manipulation operation, so that the overlay of the pathology or anatomy remains spatially registered with the underlying input radiology image throughout such manipulations (Paik, paragraph [0164], In one mode of navigation, the system renders geometric representations of the image finding on top of tomographic images or embedding within a volumetric rendering allows the navigation of the images in usual manner (e.g., scrolling through slices in cine mode) while presenting the findings. Further information about a finding may be brought forth by hovering the mouse pointer over the region which brings up a card overlay as shown below. Paragraph [0155], The workspace image viewer can display medical images, including multiple image viewports for 2D multiplanar reconstructions or 3D volume rendering, image scrolling/panning/zooming, window/level, user-generated image annotations, or any combination thereof. Paragraph [0161], In run-time, mouse clicks in an image viewport can be sent as 3D coordinates to the anatomic navigator, which may then look up the corresponding anatomic descriptor and send the descriptor to the reporter. When a report template field is selected, that anatomic descriptor can be sent to the anatomic navigator which determines a padded bounding box for that corresponding image region, which can be used to scroll, pan, and zoom the image viewports.) to efficiently generate findings for insertion into a medical report (Paik, paragraph [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing to modify the computer implemented method of Madan to include the limitations above, as taught by Paik, in order to efficiently generate findings for insertion into a medical report.
Regarding claim 15, Madan discloses a computer-implemented radiology reporting system, comprising:
at least one display device configured to concurrently render (Figs. 6B-6D):
an image panel displaying at least one input radiology image (Figs. 6B-6D); and
a text panel displaying descriptive data related to features detected in the at least one input radiology image (Figs. 6B-6D);
an input interface configured to receive user input from a user (Figs. 6B-6D);
a data storage that stores the at least one input radiology image and radiology reports (Paragraph [0042]) and
a controller comprising at least one processor and a memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the controller to (Paragraph [0044]):
process the at least one input radiology image with at least one artificial-intelligence or statistical-algorithm module to detect anatomies and pathologies and to generate, for each detected anatomy or pathology, corresponding positional data and descriptive data (Paragraph [0066], The diagnostic reporting system 700 includes a data receiving module 720 that receives data from the medical image and medical non-image data 32 and medical training data 34, i.e., data from EHR, EMR, HIS, RIS, PACS, etc. The data is incorporated into the diagnostic report model training module 740 to generate one or more fine-tuned diagnostic models 54 to develop a model specific to the patient under evaluation by the clinician. Based on one or more fine-tuned diagnostic models 54, the clinician is displayed a medical imaging visualization on the GUI 90, as shown in FIGS. 6B-6D. Figs. 6B-6D shows that the model detects anatomies (e.g. kidney), pathologies (e.g. calculi) and generate positional data (e.g. P1 and P2 positions) and descriptive data (e.g. A single calculus measuring 2.3mm in diameter is noted within the left calyx). Also see paragraphs [0074]-[0078].);
automatically generate, prior to user review, an initial radiology report that aggregates, for every detected pathology and for at least one detected anatomy, the respective positional data and descriptive data (Paragraph [0066], Based on one or more fine-tuned diagnostic models 54, the clinician is displayed a medical imaging visualization on the GUI 90, as shown in FIGS. 6B-6D. Claim 17, the clinical diagnostic report includes one or more medical images, medical non-image data, patient information, AI generated medical findings, and patient medical history. Figs. 6B-6D shows that the report includes collective positional data (e.g. P1 position/left kidney) and descriptive data (e.g. a single calculus measuring 2.3 mm in diameter is noted within the left calyx) related to the detected anatomies (e.g. kidney) and pathologies (e.g. calculi). Also see paragraphs [0074]-[0078].);
present the initial radiology report on the display device by (See figs 6B-6D and paragraphs [0074]-[0078].):
overlaying graphical markers derived from the positional data onto the image panel (See figs 6B-6D and paragraphs [0074]-[0078].), and
displaying the descriptive data in the text panel (See figs 6B-6D and paragraphs [0074]-[0078].),
wherein the image and text panels are dynamically linked so that selection of a feature in one panel highlights the corresponding feature in the other panel;
receive, via the input interface and through a panel selected by a user, a feature-pointer input that designates a feature appearing in the image panel or the text panel (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. In this instance, the clinician or senior clinician can label the image, add notes, and conduct measurements that will adjust the diagnosis results. Paragraph [0078], the clinician or senior clinician can decide that edits to the suggested report is necessary. In this case, the edit command 1238 provides the ability to edit any of the information. In this instance, any information shown in the suggested report display 1236 can be updated, changed, or edited by the clinician or senior clinician. Also see figs. 6B-6D and paragraphs [0082] and [0097].);
receive, in association with the feature-pointer input, an action identifier that indicates one of: addition of a feature, modification of a feature, or deletion of a feature (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. In this instance, the clinician or senior clinician can label the image, add notes, and conduct measurements that will adjust the diagnosis results. Paragraph [0078], the clinician or senior clinician can decide that edits to the suggested report is necessary. In this case, the edit command 1238 provides the ability to edit any of the information. In this instance, any information shown in the suggested report display 1236 can be updated, changed, or edited by the clinician or senior clinician. For example, the clinician or senior clinician can update the suggested report to provide more details on the diameter size of the single calculus in the right kidney and remove the description indicating that the size and exact location are not mentioned. Also see figs. 6B-6D and paragraphs [0082] and [0097].; and
update the radiology report by performing the action indicated by the action identifier with respect to the designated feature and refreshing the image and text panels so that they remain synchronized (Paragraph [0075], Based on the AI findings, the clinician or senior clinician can make any corrections by annotating the image by selecting annotation tools 1230 in response to the diagnostic report labeling data module 730 of the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700. Paragraph [0077], Based on the AI findings within the AI findings option 1222 and the diagnosis within the diagnosis option 1226, the diagnostic reporting subsystem 700 presents via the GUI 90 a suggest report display 1236. Paragraph [0078], In this case, the edit command 1238 provides the ability to edit any of the information. In this instance, any information shown in the suggested report display 1236 can be updated, changed, or edited by the clinician or senior clinician. Also see figs. 6B-6D.).
Madan does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the image and text panels are dynamically linked so that selection of a feature in one panel highlights the corresponding feature in the other panel
Paik teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing wherein the image and text panels are dynamically linked so that selection of a feature in one panel highlights the corresponding feature in the other panel (Paik, paragraph [0145], This subsystem makes this linking evident to the user, which may be the user during interpretation, a subsequent user during a future follow-up exam, the referring physician, or even the patient. When the user selects an image region of interest (e.g., by mousing over or moving a mouse to a region or selecting from a list), the corresponding AI-generated text in the report can be illuminated or highlighted in a distinctive manner (e.g., text highlighted with a distinct or contrasting background color). Similarly, when the user selects a finding text in the report (e.g., by mousing over the sentence in the report or selecting from a list), the corresponding image region of interest is highlighted in a distinctive manner (e.g., the region boundary is drawn and/or the region interior is given a distinct hue).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing to modify the system of Madan such that the image and text panels are dynamically linked so that selection of a feature in one panel highlights the corresponding feature in the other panel, as taught by Paik, in order to make this linking evident to the user.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madan (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0069744) in view of Longo et al. (WO 2025/101978).
Regarding claim 13, Madan does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Longo teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical image reporting at the time for the filing, for each detected anatomy, calculating a relevance score that is a weighted combination of at least one of: spatial proximity of the anatomy to at least one of the detected pathologies; inclusion of the anatomy in a modality- or protocol-specific description of the examination; presence of the anatomy in a guideline-based lookup table of structures critical for the scanned region; and a user-defined preference value; and wherein the step of generating the initial radiology report comprises inserting only those anatomies whose relevance score exceeds a predefined threshold (Longo, paragraph [0137], (1) receiving the medical record and a summary template selection, (2) extracting a plurality of findings from the medical record, (3) determining a finding class and a relevancy category for at least a portion of the plurality of findings, and (4) generating the summary of the medical record based at least in part on the selected summary template selection, one or more of the plurality of findings, and the finding class and relevancy category of the one or more findings. Paragraph [0152], In some cases, the summary is further generated based on Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) data, Health Level Seven (HL7) data, or both. In some cases, the computer program further causes the processor to receive a medical image and determine an anatomy shown in the medical image, wherein the relevancy category is further determined based the determined anatomy. . For example, a rib bone may be assigned a lower relevancy or to a different relevancy category in a chest x-ray than an unusual mass detected in a region associated with a lung. As such, relevancy may be determined in part by a reason or motivation for a study. In some cases, the relevancy may be calculated during analysis of the image based a computer vision algorithm. In some cases, the relevancy category may be augmented by a relevancy score. For example, a plurality of findings may receive a relevancy score and be ordered in part by or filtered in part by a relevancy score. Paragraph [0153], FIG. 7 shows one illustrative embodiment of a specific summary of a medical report having findings labeled with a relevancy category comprises the specific relevancy. For example, a first permanent finding may have a high relevancy score and therefore be a key finding to be highlighted in a contemporary summary. In another example, in a different circumstance, the first chronic may receive a low relevancy score and be excluded from a contemporary study. Filtering findings and associated anatomies from reports based on the relevancy category/score (e.g. filtering a rib bone assigned a low relevancy from a report and including a lung mass assigned a high relevancy in the report) is construed as reading on inserting only those anatomies whose relevance score exceeds a predefined threshold. Also see paragraphs [0096], [0150], [0164] and [0192].) to determine which findings in the plurality of findings in a medical record are key (Longo, paragraph [0096]) and help ensure that the practitioner does not forego relevant patient data that may otherwise be simply overlooked for time purpose (Longo, paragraph [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical image reporting at the time of the filing to modify the computer implemented method of Madan to include the limitations above, as taught by Longo, in order to determine which findings in the plurality of findings in a medical record are key and help ensure that the practitioner does not forego relevant patient data that may otherwise be simply overlooked for time purpose.
Conclusion
/DEVIN C HEIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3686