DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 10, 11, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsui et al. (US 2026/0044670), hereinafter Itsui in view of Jiang et al. (US 2023/0316066), hereinafter Jiang.
As for claim 1, Itsui teaches a method, comprising:
making, by a device, a first prediction regarding data from an entity in a computer network using one or more N-gram models (paragraphs [0094]-[0108] describe an inference device and its units perform operations on a character string which includes a masked portion, the masked portion refers to a portion in a character string where a word to be placed there is missing a is replaced with a special word. A word which can replace the special word is the inference target of the inference device. A first inference unit infers the likely candidate word for the masked portion. The first inference unit infers the candidate words by using the trained model which receives the control word, the words included in the word sequence, and candidate words; paragraphs [0128]-[0129] describe the first inference unit calculates the N-gram likelihood and the pointwise mutual information for all words in the dictionary. The first inference unit outputs the candidate words whose first likelihoods are greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold from among those sorted by the first likelihood to the inference result integration unit as the first candidate word group);
making, by the device, a second prediction regarding the data using one or more large language models (paragraphs [0130]-[0132] describe the second inference unit infers candidate words for the masked portions by using a neural language model (i.e. large language model));
applying, by the device, a label to the data based on the first prediction and on the second prediction (paragraphs [0138]-[0139] describe the inference result integration unit determines the likely candidate word included in common in both the first candidate word group, which is a set of the candidate words inferred by the first inference unit, and the second candidate word group, which is a set of the candidate words inferred by the second inference unit, as the word to replace the masked portion).
Itsui fails to teach
wherein data includes telemetry data;
providing, by the device, the label to train a predictive maintenance model for the entity in the computer network.
Jiang discloses
wherein data includes telemetry data (paragraphs [0087]-[0088] describe connected equipment is outfitted with sensors to monitor particular conditions of the connected equipment);
providing, by the device, the label to train a predictive maintenance model for the entity in the computer network (paragraph [0106] describes a maintenance model trained using an actual and/or synthetic set of timeseries data showing results of different maintenance actions with respect to preventing or mitigating fault conditions; paragraph [0123] describes an inference architecture includes a generator which receives ideal fault labels, and random noise. The ideal fault labels correspond to faults which are desired to be represented in the synthetic training data used for training the fault detection model).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Jiang for training a fault prediction model using synthetic timeseries data. The teachings of Jiang, when implemented in the Itsui system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a fault for equipment by applying the fault prediction model to real timeseries data relating to the equipment. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Jiang in the Itsui system in order to determine the performance of a building management system and the various components and predict future events such as faults, errors, malfunctions, etc. of the building equipment (Jiang: paragraph [0002]).
As for claim 7, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang system teaches
applying, by the device, a data quality filter to the telemetry data, prior to making the first prediction and the second prediction (Itsui: paragraphs [0048] describe a type determination unit determines a sentence type indicated by a word sequence acquired by a word sequence acquisition unit. The type determination unit outputs the determined sentence type to a learning unit. The sentence type, which is used here to classify a sentence, is either an affirmative sentence, a negative sentence, or an interrogative sentence. These operations are performed prior to the predictions).
As for claim 9, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang teaches
training, by the device, the predictive maintenance model using the label and the telemetry data (Jiang: paragraphs [0101] and [0114]-[0115] describe the equipment operational change model receives the monitored variables and status information from the connected equipment and uses such information in combination with the predicted fault to determine the operational change. The equipment operational change model is trained using an actual and synthetic set of timeseries data showing results of different operational changes with respect to preventing or mitigating fault conditions); and
deploying, by the device, the predictive maintenance model to monitor the entity in the computer network (Jiang: paragraphs [0097]-[0098] describe a fault management system is implemented).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Jiang for training a fault prediction model using synthetic timeseries data. The teachings of Jiang, when implemented in the Itsui system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a fault for equipment by applying the fault prediction model to real timeseries data relating to the equipment. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Jiang in the Itsui system in order to determine the performance of a building management system and the various components and predict future events such as faults, errors, malfunctions, etc. of the building equipment (Jiang: paragraph [0002]).
As for claim 10, the combined system of Itsu and Jiang teaches
providing, by the device, an indication of the label to a user interface (Jiang: paragraphs [0072] and [0078] describe the responses to detected or diagnosed faults can include providing an alert message to a user. A system manager can provide a user interface to client devices via data communications link. The user interface allows users to monitor and/or control BMS via the client devices).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Jiang for providing a user interface to client devices. The teachings of Jiang, when implemented in the Itsui system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a fault for equipment by applying the fault prediction model to real timeseries data relating to the equipment. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Jiang in the Itsui system in order to determine the performance of a building management system and the various components and predict future events such as faults, errors, malfunctions, etc. of the building equipment (Jiang: paragraph [0002]).
As for claim 11, Itsui teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1; paragraph [0029] describes ), comprising:
one or more network interfaces;
a processor configured to execute one or more processes (paragraphs [0143]-[0144] describes a central processing unit and a storage device storing program that is executed by the processing device to perform operations); and
a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor (paragraph [0144] describes the storage device stores program), the process when executed configured to (paragraph [0144] describes the program is executed to perform operations):
make a first prediction regarding data from an entity in a computer network using one or more N-gram models (paragraphs [0094]-[0108] describe an inference device and its units perform operations on a character string which includes a masked portion, the masked portion refers to a portion in a character string where a word to be placed there is missing a is replaced with a special word. A word which can replace the special word is the inference target of the inference device. A first inference unit infers the likely candidate word for the masked portion. The first inference unit infers the candidate words by using the trained model which receives the control word, the words included in the word sequence, and candidate words; paragraphs [0128]-[0129] describe the first inference unit calculates the N-gram likelihood and the pointwise mutual information for all words in the dictionary. The first inference unit outputs the candidate words whose first likelihoods are greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold from among those sorted by the first likelihood to the inference result integration unit as the first candidate word group);
make a second prediction regarding the data using one or more large language models (paragraphs [0130]-[0132] describe the second inference unit infers candidate words for the masked portions by using a neural language model (i.e. large language model));
apply a label to the data based on the first prediction and on the second prediction (paragraphs [0138]-[0139] describe the inference result integration unit determines the likely candidate word included in common in both the first candidate word group, which is a set of the candidate words inferred by the first inference unit, and the second candidate word group, which is a set of the candidate words inferred by the second inference unit, as the word to replace the masked portion).
Itsui fails to teach
a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces;
wherein data includes telemetry data;
provide the label to train a predictive maintenance model for the entity in the computer network.
Jiang discloses
a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces (Fig. 4; paragraph [0057] describes communications interface and building management system interface);
wherein data includes telemetry data (paragraphs [0087]-[0088] describe connected equipment is outfitted with sensors to monitor particular conditions of the connected equipment);
provide the label to train a predictive maintenance model for the entity in the computer network (paragraph [0106] describes a maintenance model trained using an actual and/or synthetic set of timeseries data showing results of different maintenance actions with respect to preventing or mitigating fault conditions; paragraph [0123] describes an inference architecture includes a generator which receives ideal fault labels, and random noise. The ideal fault labels correspond to faults which are desired to be represented in the synthetic training data used for training the fault detection model).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Jiang for training a fault prediction model using synthetic timeseries data. The teachings of Jiang, when implemented in the Itsui system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a fault for equipment by applying the fault prediction model to real timeseries data relating to the equipment. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Jiang in the Itsui system in order to determine the performance of a building management system and the various components and predict future events such as faults, errors, malfunctions, etc. of the building equipment (Jiang: paragraph [0002]).
As for claim 17, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang system teaches wherein the process when executed is further configured to:
apply a data quality filter to the telemetry data, prior to making the first prediction and the second prediction (Itsui: paragraphs [0048] describe a type determination unit determines a sentence type indicated by a word sequence acquired by a word sequence acquisition unit. The type determination unit outputs the determined sentence type to a learning unit. The sentence type, which is used here to classify a sentence, is either an affirmative sentence, a negative sentence, or an interrogative sentence. These operations are performed prior to the predictions).
As for claim 19, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang teaches wherein the process when executed is further configured to:
train the predictive maintenance model using the label and the telemetry data (Jiang: paragraphs [0101] and [0114]-[0115] describe the equipment operational change model receives the monitored variables and status information from the connected equipment and uses such information in combination with the predicted fault to determine the operational change. The equipment operational change model is trained using an actual and synthetic set of timeseries data showing results of different operational changes with respect to preventing or mitigating fault conditions); and
deploy the predictive maintenance model to monitor the entity in the computer network (Jiang: paragraphs [0097]-[0098] describe a fault management system is implemented).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Jiang for training a fault prediction model using synthetic timeseries data. The teachings of Jiang, when implemented in the Itsui system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a fault for equipment by applying the fault prediction model to real timeseries data relating to the equipment. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Jiang in the Itsui system in order to determine the performance of a building management system and the various components and predict future events such as faults, errors, malfunctions, etc. of the building equipment (Jiang: paragraph [0002]).
As for claim 20, the claim lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions (Itsui: paragraph [0143] describes a storage device such as a read only memory and a hard disk store program) that cause a device to execute a process (Itsui: paragraph [0144] describes the CPU executes program stored at the storage device to perform operations), Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 20.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsui (US 2026/0044670) in view of Jiang (US 2023/0316066) further in view of Leng et al. (US 2024/0280982), hereinafter Leng.
As for claim 2, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein an entity is a router, switch, or firewall.
Leng discloses
wherein an entity is a router, switch, or firewall (paragraph [0051] describes routers receive traffic-based probing message which specifies any or all of the following attributes: the set of tunnels, the types of metrics to be collected (e.g. loss, delay, jitter, etc.)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Leng for collecting metrics from routers. The teachings of Leng, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to infer traffic status. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Leng in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to implement a feedback mechanism to control the traffic-based probing of a tunnel (Leng: paragraph [0056]).
As for claim 12, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein the entity is a router, switch, or firewall.
Leng discloses
wherein an entity is a router, switch, or firewall (paragraph [0051] describes routers receive traffic-based probing message which specifies any or all of the following attributes: the set of tunnels, the types of metrics to be collected (e.g. loss, delay, jitter, etc.)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Leng for collecting metrics from routers. The teachings of Leng, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to infer traffic status. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Leng in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to implement a feedback mechanism to control the traffic-based probing of a tunnel (Leng: paragraph [0056]).
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsui (US 2026/0044670) in view of Jiang (US 2023/0316066) further in view of Harsola et al. (US 11,646,014), hereinafter Harsola.
As for claim 3, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein one or more N-gram models comprise an ensemble of voting N-gram models.
Harsola discloses
wherein one or more N-gram models comprise an ensemble of voting N-gram models (col. 8, lines 26-55 describe n-gram machine learning models, an n-gram machine learning model predicts a word based on previous word. The prediction can be probabilistically represented).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Harsola for implementing n-gram machine learning models. The teachings of Harsola, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a word. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to implement models that can be fine tune predictions based on real-time dynamic texts to generate more accurate and natural predictions of the texts.
As for claim 4, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein the one or more large language models comprises an ensemble of large language models.
Harsola discloses
wherein the one or more large language models comprises an ensemble of large language models (col. 8, lines 20-22 describe GPT2 machine learning models, construed as large language models).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Harsola for implementing n-gram machine learning models. The teachings of Harsola, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a word. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to implement models that can be fine tune predictions based on real-time dynamic texts to generate more accurate and natural predictions of the texts.
As for claim 5, the combined system of Jiang system teaches the telemetry data (Jiang: paragraphs [0087]-[0088] describe connected equipment is outfitted with sensors to monitor particular conditions of the connected equipment).
The combined system of Itsui and Jiang system fails to teach wherein applying the label to the data based on the first prediction and on the second prediction comprises:
prompting, by the device and via a user interface, a user to label data, when the first prediction and the second prediction do not agree.
Harsola discloses
wherein applying the label to data based on the first prediction and on the second prediction comprises (col. 9, lines 38-67 an input text is fed into a GPT2 machine learning model and an n-gram machine learning model. The GPT2 machine learning model outputs a dictionary of words with corresponding probabilities. The n-gram machine learning model also generates an output dictionary of words with corresponding probabilities. The words and corresponding probabilities are combined with a predefined weightage. After that, a threshold check is performed to determine whether the combined scores exceed a predetermined threshold, the corresponding word is added in the final prediction and the word is sent to the user):
prompting, by the device and via a user interface, a user to label the data, when the first prediction and the second prediction do not agree (col. 10, lines 1-13 describe if there are no words that exceed the threshold. And, if the final prediction is determined to be empty, the word completion machine learning model is invoked to predict a word with a probability after three characters are typed by the expert user).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Harsola for obtaining an expert user’s input. The teachings of Harsola, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a word with a probability. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to obtain an accurate result (e.g. a predicted word) and provide a predicted word to a user, furthermore, the predicted word is used to fine tune machine learning models.
As for claim 13, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein one or more N-gram models comprise an ensemble of voting N-gram models.
Harsola discloses
wherein one or more N-gram models comprise an ensemble of voting N-gram models (col. 8, lines 26-55 describe n-gram machine learning models, an n-gram machine learning model predicts a word based on previous word. The prediction can be probabilistically represented).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Harsola for implementing n-gram machine learning models. The teachings of Harsola, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a word. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to implement models that can be fine tune predictions based on real-time dynamic texts to generate more accurate and natural predictions of the texts.
As for claim 14, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein the one or more large language models comprises an ensemble of large language models.
Harsola discloses
wherein the one or more large language models comprises an ensemble of large language models (col. 8, lines 20-22 describe GPT2 machine learning models, construed as large language models).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Harsola for implementing n-gram machine learning models. The teachings of Harsola, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a word. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to implement models that can be fine tune predictions based on real-time dynamic texts to generate more accurate and natural predictions of the texts.
As for claim 15, the combined system of Jiang system teaches the telemetry data (Jiang: paragraphs [0087]-[0088] describe connected equipment is outfitted with sensors to monitor particular conditions of the connected equipment).
The combined system of Itsui and Jiang system fails to teach wherein applying the label to the data based on the first prediction and on the second prediction comprises:
prompting, by the device and via a user interface, a user to label data, when the first prediction and the second prediction do not agree.
Harsola discloses
wherein applying the label to data based on the first prediction and on the second prediction comprises (col. 9, lines 38-67 an input text is fed into a GPT2 machine learning model and an n-gram machine learning model. The GPT2 machine learning model outputs a dictionary of words with corresponding probabilities. The n-gram machine learning model also generates an output dictionary of words with corresponding probabilities. The words and corresponding probabilities are combined with a predefined weightage. After that, a threshold check is performed to determine whether the combined scores exceed a predetermined threshold, the corresponding word is added in the final prediction and the word is sent to the user):
prompting, by the device and via a user interface, a user to label the data, when the first prediction and the second prediction do not agree (col. 10, lines 1-13 describe if there are no words that exceed the threshold. And, if the final prediction is determined to be empty, the word completion machine learning model is invoked to predict a word with a probability after three characters are typed by the expert user).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Harsola for obtaining an expert user’s input. The teachings of Harsola, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict a word with a probability. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to obtain an accurate result (e.g. a predicted word) and provide a predicted word to a user, furthermore, the predicted word is used to fine tune machine learning models.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsui (US 2026/0044670) in view of Jiang (US 2023/0316066) further in view of Chertov et al. (US 2020/0151043), hereinafter Chertov.
As for claim 6, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein a label indicates whether a reset event encountered by the entity was a crash.
Chertov discloses
wherein a label indicates whether a reset event encountered by the entity was a crash (paragraphs [0025]-[0028] and [0032] describe a reboot component determines a set of causes for the reboot of a network device, for example, the network device was rebooted due to a crashed process/agent. The reboot component updates a reboot log to include an entry that is associated with the reboot of the network device, each entry in the reboot log includes text, strings, alphanumeric values, numbers etc. that indicates a set of causes for the reboot associated with the entry. The cause includes information indicates that a process that is important to the operation of the network device has crashed).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Chertov for providing log entries that indicate status of a network device. The teachings of Chertov, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to determine status of a network device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to determine a set of causes for a reboot of a network device.
As for claim 16, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein a label indicates whether a reset event encountered by the entity was a crash.
Chertov discloses
wherein a label indicates whether a reset event encountered by the entity was a crash (paragraphs [0025]-[0028] and [0032] describe a reboot component determines a set of causes for the reboot of a network device, for example, the network device was rebooted due to a crashed process/agent. The reboot component updates a reboot log to include an entry that is associated with the reboot of the network device, each entry in the reboot log includes text, strings, alphanumeric values, numbers etc. that indicates a set of causes for the reboot associated with the entry. The cause includes information indicates that a process that is important to the operation of the network device has crashed).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Chertov for providing log entries that indicate status of a network device. The teachings of Chertov, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to determine status of a network device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Harsola in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to determine a set of causes for a reboot of a network device.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsui (US 2026/0044670) in view of Jiang (US 2023/0316066) further in view of Wetherbee et al. (US 2024/0303754), hereinafter Wetherbee.
As for claim 8, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein a data quality filter removes event information from the telemetry data that lacks a corresponding reason.
Wetherbee discloses
wherein a data quality filter removes event information from the telemetry data that lacks a corresponding reason (paragraphs [0073] and [0077] describe an irrelevance filter is applied to a set of anomaly alarms to produce filtered anomaly alarms that do not include suspected false alarms, the irrelevance filter removes anomaly alarms associated with one or more anomalous signal patterns that are not correlated with previous failures of similar electronic devices that are similar to the electronic device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Wetherbee for removing alarms for signals that are not correlated with previous failures. The teachings of Wetherbee, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Wetherbee in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to facilitate efficient remaining useful life analyses to improve the reliability of electrical devices (Wetherbee: paragraph [0002]).
As for claim 18, the combined system of Itsui and Jiang fails to teach wherein a data quality filter removes event information from the telemetry data that lacks a corresponding reason.
Wetherbee discloses
wherein a data quality filter removes event information from the telemetry data that lacks a corresponding reason (paragraphs [0073] and [0077] describe an irrelevance filter is applied to a set of anomaly alarms to produce filtered anomaly alarms that do not include suspected false alarms, the irrelevance filter removes anomaly alarms associated with one or more anomalous signal patterns that are not correlated with previous failures of similar electronic devices that are similar to the electronic device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Wetherbee for removing alarms for signals that are not correlated with previous failures. The teachings of Wetherbee, when implemented in the Itsui and Jiang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Wetherbee in the Itsui and Jiang system in order to facilitate efficient remaining useful life analyses to improve the reliability of electrical devices (Wetherbee: paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2017/0372696) teach language processing method
Rahman et al. (US 11,443,232) teach active learning-based data labeling service using an augmented manifest
Cameron et al. (US 2026/0075073) teach automated network infrastructure diagnostic operations using generative artificial intelligence.
/SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459