Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2 (Figures 6-12B) in the reply filed on 8/24/2026 is acknowledged. In the reply, Applicant indicated that claims 1-9 correspond to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burns et al. (US 7,866,480).
Regarding claim 1, Burns discloses a substrate container (See Figs. 1-6), comprising: a casing (at 20 in Fig. 1); and a tray (at 26 in Figs. 2, 4 and 6) detachably connected to a bottom of the casing (as shown in Figs. 1-3), such that the casing is capable of being placed on a loading interface of a loading apparatus through the tray; wherein the tray has a top (top surface of 26 in Fig. 4), a bottom (bottom surface of 26 in Fig. 4) and a guide hole (See Fig. 6 labeled below), the top of the tray has a guide surface (inward facing surface of the guide hole - See Fig. 6 labeled below) defined proximate to the guide hole and is capable of receiving a restriction mechanism from a loading interface; and wherein the guide surface has a texture (i.e. smooth texture of the tray material) formed thereon and capable of reducing friction between the guide surface and a restriction mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Burns discloses the guide hole is a rectangular guide hole penetrating the top and the bottom of the tray, with the top having a flange (See Fig. 6 labeled below), the flange extending along four sides of the guide hole and having the guide surface.
Regarding claim 3, Burns discloses the guide surface has a slope (corner between the guide surface and the rim) adjoining a rim (See Fig. 6 labeled below) of the guide hole.
Regarding claim 4, Burns discloses the tray further has three positioning slots (slots at “A” or “B” in Fig. 6 labeled below) symmetrically disposed on the bottom of the tray, and the guide hole is disposed between symmetric two of the three positioning slots.
Regarding claim 8, Burns discloses the texture is capable of reducing a contact area between the restriction mechanism and the guide surface, so as to reducing friction between the guide surface and the restriction mechanism.
Regarding claim 9, Burns discloses the guide surface is inherently formed by mechanical process. Furthermore, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
Claims 1, 3-4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bores et al. (US 6,520,338).
Regarding claim 1, Bores discloses a substrate container (See Figs. 1 and 3), comprising: a casing (at 14 in Figs. 1-2); and a tray (at 120 in Fig. 3 and at 122 in Fig. 1) detachably connected to a bottom of the casing, such that the casing is capable of being placed on a loading interface of a loading apparatus through the tray; wherein the tray has a top (top surface of 122 in Fig. 1), a bottom (bottom surface of 122 in Fig. 1) and a guide hole (See Fig. 3 labeled below), the top of the tray has a guide surface (inward facing surface of the guide hole - See Fig. 3 labeled below) defined proximate to the guide hole and is capable of receiving a restriction mechanism from a loading interface; and wherein the guide surface has a texture (i.e. smooth texture of the tray material) formed thereon and capable of reducing friction between the guide surface and a restriction mechanism.
Regarding claim 3, Bores discloses the guide surface has a slope (corner between the guide surface and the rim) adjoining a rim (See Fig. 3 labeled below) of the guide hole.
Regarding claim 4, Bores discloses the tray further has three positioning slots (at 122/122/122 in Fig. 3) symmetrically disposed on the bottom of the tray, and the guide hole is disposed between symmetric two of the three positioning slots.
Regarding claim 8, Bores discloses the texture is capable of reducing a contact area between the restriction mechanism and the guide surface, so as to reducing friction between the guide surface and the restriction mechanism.
Regarding claim 9, Bores discloses the guide surface is inherently formed by mechanical process. Furthermore, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns et al. (US 7,866,480) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Burns et al. (US 7,422,107). As described above, Burns ‘480 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics of the texture of the guide surface. However, Burns ‘107 teaches a connecting plate (at 50) comprising a hole (at 60) having a guide surface (at 40), wherein the guide surface has a texture defined by a plurality of protrusions (at 100 in Fig. 4c), a plurality of streaks (at 110 in Fig. 7) or a plurality of dots (at 110 in Fig. 9) for the purpose of reducing frictional forces generated between the connecting plate and automated processing equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the guide surface of Burns ‘480 with a texture as taught by Burns ‘107 in order to reduce frictional forces between the guide hole and an external structure.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bores et al. (US 6,520,338) as applied to claim 1 above. Bores discloses the guide hole is a generally rectangular guide hole penetrating the top and the bottom of the tray, with the top having a flange (labeled at the “Rim” in Fig. 3 above), the flange extending along four sides of the guide hole and having the guide surface. Bores discloses the claimed invention except for the specific shape of the guide hole. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guide hole of Bores to be rectangular in order to engage a structural element of a desired shape. Furthermore, to modify the guide hole to be rectangular would entail a mere change in shape of the hole and yield only predictable results. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bores et al. (US 6,520,338) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Burns et al. (US 7,422,107). As described above, Bores discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics of the texture of the guide surface. However, Burns ‘107 teaches a connecting plate (at 50) comprising a hole (at 60) having a guide surface (at 40), wherein the guide surface has a texture defined by a plurality of protrusions (at 100 in Fig. 4c), a plurality of streaks (at 110 in Fig. 7) or a plurality of dots (at 110 in Fig. 9) for the purpose of reducing frictional forces generated between the connecting plate and automated processing equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the guide surface of Bores with a texture as taught by Burns ‘107 in order to reduce frictional forces between the guide hole and an external structure.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735