Status Of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 03/15/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Objection to Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it appears to be the recitation of a claim, and contains legal phraseology often used in patent claims. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections – 35 § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “inputting, by the computing device, the corrected dataset, the baseline fetal heart rate, or both, into at least one machine learning model that is trained to output FHR session output data that comprises at least one of: a first classification of at least one event in the fetal heart rate data occurring during the time window”. Claim 10 recites “wherein the at least one machine learning model is trained to output the first classification in the FHR session output data based at least in part on a comparison of features in the fetal heart rate data with patterns in labeled training data”. Claims 11 and 20 recite similar limitations.
Machine learning is only mentioned once in the specification in Paragraph [0032], at a high level of generality (“In some embodiments, a first stage includes capturing fundamental clinical phenomena on the FHR trace utilizing analysis relating including digital signal processing ("DSP") and machine learning ("ML"), and presenting such clinical phenomena to a clinician“), the description provided does not give one of ordinary skill in the art any amount of direction regarding training the machine learning model output either FHR session output data or the first classification in the FHR session output data.
Furthermore, working examples of how to train the machine learning model to generate the various outputs in the claim language limitations, as recited, are non-existent in the disclosure. Finally, the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use this invention based on the content of the disclosure is incredibly large because the applicant has not provided a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which the experimentation should proceed. Therefore, this limitation is deemed to require undue experimentation because it is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art how by inputting, by the computing device, the corrected dataset, the baseline fetal heart rate, or both, into at least one machine learning model that is trained to output FHR session output data that comprises at least one of: a first classification of at least one event in the fetal heart rate data occurring during the time window, in addition to, at least one machine learning model is trained to output the first classification in the FHR session output data based at least in part on a comparison of features in the fetal heart rate data with patterns in labeled training data, as well as how to implement the limitation steps as recited.
As such, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections – 35 § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites in part, “inputting, by the computing device, the corrected dataset, the baseline fetal heart rate, or both, into at least one machine learning model that is trained to output FHR session output data”. It is unclear how the machine learning model is being trained to output FHR session output data. Is the machine learning model being trained using a specific algorithm or model to output FHR session output data? What are the steps performed during the training of the machine learning model? Claim 11 recites similar limitations. Claims 1 and 11 are therefore found to be indefinite, because the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. All dependent claims, namely claims 2-10 and 12-20, are rejected for at least the same reason.
Claim 4, recites in part, “the at least one machine learning model is further trained to output a confidence score for the first classification of the at least one event”. It is unclear how the machine learning model is being further trained to output a confidence score for the first classification of the at least one event. Is the machine learning model being trained using a specific algorithm or model to output a confidence score for the first classification of the at least one event? What are the steps performed during the training of the machine learning model for this output? Claim 14 recites similar limitations. Claims 4 and 14 are therefore found to be indefinite, because the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20: Step 1
Claims 1-10 are drawn to a method for providing clinical decision support based on data analysis of data from sensor-laden garments, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. process). Claims 11-20 are drawn to a system for providing clinical decision support based on data analysis of data from sensor-laden garments, which is within the four statutory categories, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. machine).
Claims 1-20: Step 2A Prong One
Claim 1 recites receiving, a raw bio-potential dataset from a plurality of bio-potential sensors disposed within a garment worn by an expectant mother during a fetal heart rate (FHR) session, the garment is configured to position and contact the plurality of bio-potential sensors on skin of an abdomen of the expectant mother, the plurality of bio-potential sensors detect cardiac electrical activity and output the raw bio-potential dataset, calculating, fetal heart rate data based at least on the raw bio-potential dataset, generating, an input dataset for the expectant mother during a time window, wherein the input dataset comprises at least the fetal heart rate data; completing, the input dataset with at least one missing data sample to provide a completed dataset; removing, at least one segment from the completed dataset based on at least one criterion to provide a corrected dataset; calculating, a baseline fetal heart rate based at least on the corrected dataset; inputting, the corrected dataset, the baseline fetal heart rate, or both, into at least one machine learning model that is trained to output FHR session output data that comprises at least one of: a first classification of at least one event in the fetal heart rate data occurring during the time window; wherein the first classification is a classification of the at least one event as either an acceleration, a deceleration, or a baseline change; or a second classification of the FHR session as reactive, based on a detection of at least two accelerations during the FHR session, or otherwise non-reactive; and transmitting, an instruction to display on a graphical user interface associated with a user, the FHR session output data and at least one action being taken with respect to the expectant mother. Claim 11 recites similar limitations.
These limitations, as drafted, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, but for the recitation of generic computer components, encompass managing personal behavior by manually following rules or instructions, which is a subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. But for the recitation of generic computer components, these limitations encompass a user receiving, a raw bio-potential dataset from a plurality of bio-potential sensors disposed within a garment worn by an expectant mother during a fetal heart rate (FHR) session, the garment is configured to position and contact the plurality of bio-potential sensors on skin of an abdomen of the expectant mother, the plurality of bio-potential sensors detect cardiac electrical activity and output the raw bio-potential dataset, calculating, fetal heart rate data based at least on the raw bio-potential dataset, generating, an input dataset for the expectant mother during a time window, wherein the input dataset comprises at least the fetal heart rate data; completing, the input dataset with at least one missing data sample to provide a completed dataset; removing, at least one segment from the completed dataset based on at least one criterion to provide a corrected dataset; calculating, a baseline fetal heart rate based at least on the corrected dataset; inputting, the corrected dataset, the baseline fetal heart rate, or both, into at least one model that is trained to output FHR session output data that comprises at least one of: a first classification of at least one event in the fetal heart rate data occurring during the time window; wherein the first classification is a classification of the at least one event as either an acceleration, a deceleration, or a baseline change; or a second classification of the FHR session as reactive, based on a detection of at least two accelerations during the FHR session, or otherwise non-reactive; and transmitting, the FHR session output data and at least one action being taken with respect to the expectant mother. These steps could be carried out manually by a user following rules or instructions, which is a subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Claim 11 recites similar limitations.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 incorporate the abstract idea identified above and recite additional limitations that expand on the abstract idea, but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the recitation of generic computer components, Claims 2-4, 10, 12-14 and 20 further define at least one machine learning model. Claims 5-6 and 15-16 further define processing the input dataset. Claims 7 and 17 further define calculating baseline fetal heart rate. Claims 8 and 18 further define virtual baseline fetal heart rate. Claims 9 and 19 further define calculating virtual baseline fetal heart rate. Therefore, these claims are similarly drawn to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Claims 1-20: Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining elements amount to no more than general purpose computer components programmed to perform the abstract ideas along with insignificant, extra-solution data gathering activity, and adding limitations similar to adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea. Claim 1 recites additional elements of “computing device” performing various method steps of processing data and sensors (in garment) for providing data. Claim 11 recites additional elements of a system that includes computing device (non-transitory memory storing computer code and processor) for processing data and sensors (in garment) for providing data.
Claims 1-20, directly or indirectly, recite the following generic computer components: “computing device”, “processor” and “non-transitory memory storing computer code” which are similar to adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea. The written description discloses that the recited computer components encompass generic components including “an applicable computing system may include hardware components such as a processor, which may include local or remote processing components. In some embodiments, the processor may include any type of data processing capacity” (see at least Paragraph [0069]) and “a system includes a non-transient computer memory storing software instructions; and at least one computer processor configured, when executing the software instructions“ (see at least Paragraph [0075]). Although the additional element “machine learning model” limits the identified judicial exceptions, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learning), and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05 (h). As set forth in the 2019 Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55 “merely include[ing] instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Claims 1-20: Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality, and the written description indicates that these elements are generic computer components. Using generic computer components to perform abstract ideas does not provide a necessary inventive concept. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). As explained above, the generic computer components are at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception.
Receiving and transmitting data over a network (i.e. receiving and communicating data or signals) has been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of a general-purpose computer (see MPEP 2106.05(d) and buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result has also been found to be insufficient to show an improvement to technology, (see MPEP 2106.05(a) and TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48).
Insignificant, extra solution, data gathering activity has been found to not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g) and Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Therefore, the high-level recitation of an output of results also fails to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, whether considered alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,972,868.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant pending application omit certain steps of claims 1-8 and 16-17 in the 11,972,868 patent. Therefore, claims 1-20 are prima facie obvious of claims 1-8 and 16-17 in the 11,972,868 patent, because it would have been obvious to omit certain steps with the motivation of providing systems and methods for providing clinical decision support based on the results of remote non-stress testing performed through the use of sensor-laden garments.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,387,846.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant pending application omit certain steps of claims 1-8 and 16-17 in the 12,387,846 patent. Therefore, claims 1-20 are prima facie obvious of claims 1-8 and 16-17 in the 12,387,846 patent, because it would have been obvious to omit certain steps with the motivation of providing systems and methods for providing clinical decision support based on the results of remote non-stress testing performed through the use of sensor-laden garments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-3, 5-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Oz et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2016/0270670 A1 in view of Kerman et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2021/0106240 A1 and further in view of Penders et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0196958 A1.
Claim 1:
Oz discloses the following limitations as shown below:
receiving, by a computing device comprising a communication circuitry, a raw bio- potential dataset from a plurality of bio-potential sensors disposed within a garment worn by an expectant mother during a fetal heart rate (FHR) session, wherein the garment is configured to position and contact the plurality of bio- potential sensors on skin of an abdomen of the expectant mother, and wherein the plurality of bio-potential sensors is configured to detect cardiac electrical activity and to output the raw bio-potential dataset (see at least Paragraph 149, apparatuses, systems and methods for continuous, non-invasive monitoring of a fetus and/or mother using from multiple electrocardiogram sensors that collect maternal and fetal electrical cardiac signals data and/or acoustic sensors that collect maternal and fetal acoustic cardiac signals data; Paragraphs 178-180; Paragraph 181, extracting raw fetal ECG signals data from the filtered N-ECG signals data based on the corrected ECG signals data, wherein the raw fetal ECG signals data comprises a N number of fetal ECG signals (raw N-ECG fetal signals data); processing the raw N-ECG fetal signals data to improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the N-ECG fetal signals to form filtered N-ECG fetal signals data; Paragraph 182),
calculating, by the computing device, fetal heart rate data based at least on the raw bio- potential dataset, generating, by the computing device, an input dataset for the expectant mother during a time window, wherein the input dataset comprises at least the fetal heart rate data (see at least Paragraphs 178-180; Paragraph 181, extracting raw fetal ECG signals data from the filtered N-ECG signals data based on the corrected ECG signals data, wherein the raw fetal ECG signals data comprises a N number of fetal ECG signals (raw N-ECG fetal signals data); processing the raw N-ECG fetal signals data to improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the N-ECG fetal signals to form filtered N-ECG fetal signals data; receiving a calculated fetal heart rate for a plurality of time points over a particular time interval from filtered PCG outputs; Paragraph 182);
completing, by the computing device, the input dataset with at least one missing data sample to provide a completed dataset (see at least 181, digital signal filtering the raw ECG signals data to form filtered N-ECG signals data having filtered N-ECG signals; Paragraph 456, In some embodiments, increasing the sample rate is done using interpolation; Paragraph 484, Levenberg-Marquardt algorithm is a method, which interpolates between the Gradient-Descent and Gauss-Newton algorithm taking advantage of both methods to increase the convergence accuracy and decrease the convergence time; Paragraph 594, interpolation is a typical digital signal filter method used to complete a data set with missing values);
removing, by the computing device, at least one segment from the completed dataset based on at least one criterion to provide a corrected dataset (see at least Paragraph 181, utilizing at least one non-linear subtraction procedure to obtain corrected ECG signals data which comprise data representative of a N number of corrected ECG signals (corrected N-ECG signals data) … eliminating the modified segments from each of the filtered N-ECG signal … a calculated fetal heart rate for a plurality of time points over a particular time interval from filtered ECG outputs);
calculating, by the computing device, a baseline fetal heart rate based at least on the corrected dataset (see at least Paragraphs 178-182, calculating, based on detected fetal heart peaks, at least one of: i) fetal heart rate, ii) fetal heart curve, iii) beat-2-beat fetal heart rate, or iv) fetal heart rate variability; the medical definition for ‘baseline’ is information or data gathered at the beginning of a period from which variations that subsequently develop are compared, i.e., the calculations above are baseline data);
wherein the first classification is a classification of the at least one event as either an acceleration, a deceleration, or a baseline change; or a second classification of the FHR session as reactive, based on a detection of at least two accelerations during the FHR session, or otherwise non-reactive (see at least Paragraph 374, The detected fetal activity data is then subsequently analyzed to calculate at least one of the parameters selected from the group consisting of: beat-to-beat fetal heart rate, fetal ECG, average fetal heart rate, and the variability of fetal heart rate); and
Oz may or may not disclose the following limitations, but Kerman as shown does:
inputting, by the computing device, the corrected dataset, the baseline fetal heart rate, or both, into at least one machine learning model that is trained to output FHR session output data that comprises at least one of: a first classification of at least one event in the fetal heart rate data occurring during the time window (see at least Paragraph 21, an artificial neural network model (reads on “machine learning model”) can be trained to predict a fetal heart rate using a training dataset containing ECG data; Paragraph 25; Paragraph 28, allows resulting fetal ECG frequencies to be quantized into values that can be classified into heart rate values; Paragraph 34, The ECG data can then be divided into a training dataset and a test dataset. In one example, the neural network model 102 can be trained using categorical cross entropy to label ECG data in the training dataset to a heart rate category (e.g., number of fetal heart beats per minute categories … In another example, the neural network model 102 can be trained using binary cross entropy, mean squared error, least absolute deviation, or another appropriate loss function. Once the peak probabilities have been generated, they can be decoded into peak locations and fetal heart rate using a variety of known peak detection methods. As will be appreciated, techniques other than those described above can be used to train the neural network model 102));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of system for monitoring the wellbeing of a fetus by non-invasive detection and analysis of Oz with the processing of Kerman with the motivation of providing the benefit that “…. Abdominal electrodes for fetal monitoring are non-invasive and can potentially allow for in-home and ambulatory use” (Kerman, see at least Paragraph 2).
Oz may or may not disclose the following limitations, but Penders as shown does:
transmitting, by the computing device, via the communication circuitry, an instruction to display on a graphical user interface associated with a user, the FHR session output data and at least one action being taken with respect to the expectant mother (see at least Paragraph 179, a “physiological parameter” may include: a contraction wave amplitude, a contraction wave frequency over time, a directionality of a contraction wave, a velocity of contraction wave propagation, a contraction wave duration over time, a resting heart rate, a resting heart rate variability, a blood pressure level, a blood glucose level, an oxygen saturation level, a weight, a heart beat of a fetus, a heart rate of a fetus, a heart rate variability of a fetus, a position of a fetus, and a weight of a fetus; Paragraph 229, to visually, audibly, or haptically represent the analyzed data to a user, to store the analyzed data, and/or to provide one or more recommendations or alerts to the user based on the analyzed data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of system for monitoring the wellbeing of a fetus by non-invasive detection and analysis of Oz and the processing of Kerman with the output generation of Penders with the motivation of providing actionable recommendations to a pregnant patient and “to improve her pre-term birth risk or provide feedback to the pregnant female or healthcare provider to adapt therapy and/or consultation” (Penders, see at least Paragraph 8 and Paragraph 255).
Claim 11 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 1 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 2:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz may or may not specifically disclose the following limitations, but Kerman as shown does:
wherein the at least one machine learning model comprises at least one neural network model (see at least Paragraph 21, an artificial neural network model (can be trained to predict a fetal heart rate using a training dataset containing ECG data; Paragraph 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of system for monitoring the wellbeing of a fetus by non-invasive detection and analysis of Oz and the output generation of Penders with the processing of Kerman for at least the same reasons given for claim 1 above.
Claim 12 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 2 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 3:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz may or may not specifically disclose the following limitations, but Kerman as shown does:
wherein the at least one machine learning model is trained using labeled fetal heart rate data (see at least Paragraph 8, FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating an example artificial neural network model trained using prior fetal heart rate predictions; Paragraph 34, In one example, the neural network model 102 can be trained using categorical cross entropy to label ECG data in the training dataset to a heart rate category (e.g., number of fetal heart beats per minute categories)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of system for monitoring the wellbeing of a fetus by non-invasive detection and analysis of Oz and the output generation of Penders with the processing of Kerman for at least the same reasons given for claim 1 above.
Claim 13 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 3 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 5:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz further discloses the following limitations:
determining, by the computing device, whether the input dataset is valid or is not valid (see at least Paragraph 189, and if the scores of the calculated fetal heart rate for the individual time point for both the filtered N-ECG fetal signals data and the filtered PCG outputs are valid);
if the input dataset is determined to be not valid, receiving a further input dataset prior to the completing of the input dataset, and wherein the completing of the input dataset is performed on the further input dataset (see at least Paragraph 639, fetal hear rate is calculated filtered N-ECG signals data and the filtered PCG outputs using the RR interval of the fetal cardiac activity cycle; Paragraph 640; TABLE-10, 5.2.3.4.1. For segments with very low number of peaks, (apparently there is a noise spike) perform AGC on the data and redetect the peaks. If the new number of peaks belongs to one of the good clusters, add these peaks; notice that further inputs to the data set are added prior to its completion and filtering process).
Claim 15 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 5 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 6:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the determining of whether the input dataset is valid or not valid comprises (see at least Paragraph 189, and if the scores of the calculated fetal heart rate for the individual time point for both the filtered N-ECG fetal signals data and the filtered PCG outputs are valid):
identifying a plurality of stable segments of the corrected dataset, wherein each stable segment comprises a sequence of a predetermined quantity of consecutive samples having a fetal heart rate variability that is less than a predetermined threshold variability (see at least perform kmedoids clustering on the amplitudes of the peaks, very low peaks and very high peaks are filtered using this step, 5.2.3.5 on Table 10; Check that the number of peaks falls into an expected interval (based on the maximum and minimum possible heart rates, 5.2.3.6.1. on Table 10; amplitudes of a signal are consecutive);
determining a total duration of the plurality of stable segments (see at least 5.2.5.2. A global peak array is constructed based on the best lead with corrections made using the peaks from the other leads; Table 10; 5.5.5.3. The global peaks array is examined using physiological measures (RR intervals, HR, HRV), table 11; RR intervals are total durations)); and
determining whether the input dataset is valid or not valid based at least in part on a comparison of the total duration of the plurality of stable segments to a predetermined threshold duration (see at least Paragraphs 465, the M beats fulfill the condition that the correlation coefficient between each of the beats should be higher than a threshold. In certain embodiments, the threshold is set to be 0.98. In some embodiments, before the averaging, the beats are shifted and fine aligned using the exact position of the R-wave, the QRS onset and the QRS offset. In some embodiments, the alignment procedure is done using the cross correlation function; 5.3.3.1. Define a beat interval: the beat interval is defined as, except for the first and last peaks, (1) beat onset: half the distance between the current peak and the previous peak and (2) beat offset: half the distance between the current peak and the next peak. Due to the beat-2-beat changing heart rate, the beat interval should change for each beat … Search for at least 10 beats that have a correlation coefficient (obtained from cross correlation) … Search for the beats that are very similar to the current beat (have higher correlation than the threshold), Table 11; Cross correlation is a measurement that tracks the movements of two or more sets of time series data relative to one another. It is used to compare multiple time series and objectively determine how well they match up with each other and, in particular, at what point the best match occurs).
Claim 16 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 6 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 7:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the calculating of the baseline fetal heart rate comprises: calculating a virtual baseline fetal heart rate (see at least Paragraph 602, Typically, a beat-by-beat heart rate is a physiological signal which cannot change too fast and usually follows a baseline that defines an average heart rate. In some embodiments, the exemplary inventive system of the present invention utilizes the average heart rate as the base for calculating the confidence score);
calculating a virtual high fetal heart rate limit (see at least Paragraph 406, In some embodiments, the signal data in each segment is normalized by the absolute maximum value of the signal data. In some embodiments, the signal data in each segment is normalized by the absolute non-zero minimum value of the signal data);
calculating a virtual low fetal heart rate limit (see at least Paragraph 531, In some embodiments, the clustering is used to exclude outliers. In some embodiments, outliers are peaks that have anomalous characteristics; Table 10 5.2.3.6.1. Check that the number of peaks falls into an expected interval (based on the maximum and minimum possible heart rates));
removing outlier data points from the corrected dataset, wherein the outlier data points are data points having a fetal heart rate higher than the virtual high fetal heart rate limit or having the fetal heart rate lower than the virtual low fetal heart rate limit (see at least Paragraph 415, In some embodiments, the clustering is used to exclude outliers. In some embodiments, outliers are peaks that have anomalous characteristics); and calculating the baseline fetal heart rate based at least on applying rounding to the corrected dataset following removing the outlier data points.
Claim 17 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 7 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 8:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the virtual baseline fetal heart rate is a mean average of fetal heart rates in the corrected dataset (see at least Paragraph 602, Typically, a beat-by-beat heart rate is a physiological signal which cannot change too fast and usually follows a baseline that defines an average heart rate. In some embodiments, the exemplary inventive system of the present invention utilizes the average heart rate as the base for calculating the confidence score).
Claim 18 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 8 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 9:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz further discloses the following limitations:
calculating a standard deviation for the virtual baseline fetal heart rate (see at least Paragraph 601, In some embodiments, the exemplary inventive system of the present invention performs Step 2 to the extent necessary to minimize the beat to beat variance);
calculating the virtual high fetal heart rate limit as the virtual baseline fetal heart rate plus two times the standard deviation; and calculating the virtual low fetal heart rate limit as the virtual baseline fetal heart rate minus two times the standard deviation (see at least Paragraph 619, selecting a group of peaks from the subset of peaks, where the group of peaks has the smallest variance measure; calculating, by the at least one computer processor, initial locations of the beats; Check that the number of peaks falls into an expected interval (based on the maximum and minimum possible heart rates), 5.2.3.6.1. on Table 10; According to basic statistics, ‘being within two standard deviations from the mean’ means to be within the 95% of the entire data set. By trying to select with the smallest variance measure, one would probably be within 2 standard deviations).
Claim 19 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 9 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 10:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz may or may not specifically disclose the following limitations, but Kerman as shown does:
wherein the at least one machine learning model is trained to output the first classification in the FHR session output data based at least in part on a comparison of features in the fetal heart rate data with patterns in labeled training data (see at least Paragraph 35, Fetal heart rate probabilities 112 (also referred to as fetal heart rate predictions) output by the neural network model 102 can be stored to a storage medium (e.g., RAM, hard-drive, and the like) included in a computing device (e.g., a wearable device) in order to make the fetal heart rate probabilities 112 available in response to requests for the fetal heart rate probabilities 112 (e.g., a request from an application or cloud service). In one example, a computing device that hosts the neural network model 102 can send fetal heart rate probabilities 112 over a network (e.g., Internet, intranet, WAN, etc.) to another device (e.g., a mobile device, a server, etc.) in response to a request for the fetal heart rate probabilities 112. Also, it is contemplated that a fetal heart rate probability 112 can be displayed on a display of a wearable device; Paragraph 44, a prior heart rate prediction can be compared to a current heart rate prediction to determine whether a change in heart rate from the prior prediction to the current prediction is a data anomaly or is reasonable; Paragraph 47, The network architecture of the artificial neural network model 400 incorporates prior heart rate information into the neural network model 400 to allow training of the neural network model 400 to include the prior heart rate information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of system for monitoring the wellbeing of a fetus by non-invasive detection and analysis of Oz and feature of Penders with the processing of Kerman for at least the same reasons given for claim 1 above.
Claim 20 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 10 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Oz et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2016/0270670 A1 in view of Kerman et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2021/0106240 A1 in view of Penders et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0196958 A1 and further in view of Vullings, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0214618 A1.
Claim 4:
The combination of Oz/Kerman/Penders discloses the limitations as shown in the rejections above. Oz may or may not specifically disclose the following limitations, but Vullings as shown does:
wherein the at least one machine learning model is further trained to output a confidence score for the first classification of the at least one event (see at least Paragraph 106, For example, classification 429 may be a binary classification in normal/abnormal, etc., but may also be non-binary classification. For example, classification 429 may comprise a CHD type, e.g., fetal arrhythmia, coarctation of the aorta, etc. For example, a deep neural network may be trained with multiple neural network heads, each combination of a different head and the same neural network is trained for a particular CHD type; Paragraph 110, Alternatively or in addition, one may provide the neural network with more than one fetal vector cardiogram for the same patient and assess the consistence in the CHD detection as a confidence estimator. … A low variance corresponds to a high consistency, and thus to a high confidence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of system for monitoring the wellbeing of a fetus by non-invasive detection and analysis of Oz, the processing of Kerman and the output generation of Penders with the confidence of Vullings with the motivation of providing the benefit to “… “assist fetal electrocardiogram classification” (Vullings, see at least Paragraph 41).
Claim 14 recites substantially similar system limitations to those of method claim 4 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Conclusion
/Joy Chng/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686