Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
---Claims 33 and 38 recite the following:
33. The fluid coupling device of claim 21, wherein the first position of the valve member allows fluid flow through the fluid coupling device, and wherein the second position of the valve member blocks fluid flow through the coupling device.
38. The fluid coupling of claim 35, wherein the first position of the valve member allows fluid flow through the fluid coupling device, and wherein the second position of the valve member blocks fluid flow through the coupling device.
As best understood by the Office (see Fig. A above showing Figs. 4 and 8 of the application), applicant’s invention is directed to a fluid coupling wherein a removable member 130 that includes projections 132 engages with a spring biased valve 120 to retain the valve in a first position where fluid flow is blocked (Fig. 4 or left side of FIG. A above). When the removable member 130 is removed and the projections 132 disengage from the valve 120, the biasing spring 140 moves the valve 120 to the second position where fluid flow is allowed (Fig. 8 or the right side of FIG. A above). Notice that the intervening claims require that the first position is the “engagement position” and the second position is the “disengagement position”. As illustrated in at least Figs. 4, 8 and FIG. A above, the drawings only show the embodiment where the valve is biased open by the spring 140 as claimed in claims 32 and 37. It is further noted that the illustrated embodiments cannot achieve the claimed function as it is currently being illustrated. As such, the drawings fail to show the embodiment as claimed in claims 33 and 38 wherein the valve 120 is somehow biased closed in the first/engaged position such in the first position, fluid is allowed to flow and when the projections are disengaged in the second position the valve moves to the second position where fluid is blocked. The Office suggests that such a critical feature should be shown or the claims are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 33, 35-36 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Luehrs DE-3918437.
Regarding claims 21-23, 33, 35-36 and 38-40, Luehrs DE-3918437 teaches in Figs. 1-2 (see at least Fig. 2) the limitations of:
---Claims 21. A fluid coupling device comprising: a housing (8 and 9) defining an internal space (see the interior of the housing) and a longitudinal central axis (see the longitudinal/horizontal axis of the coupling); a valve member (12) disposed within the internal space; and one or more projections (see the projection in bracket 18 engaging valve 12) engaging the valve member to thereby retain the valve member in a first position (see Fig. 2) within the internal space, wherein the valve member is configured to, in response to disengagement of the one or more projections from the valve member, move to a second position (see Fig. 1) within the internal space (similar to applicant’s invention, the valve is biased via a spring such that when the projection is disengaged, the valve automatically moves to a second position).
---Claim 22. The fluid coupling device of claim 21, wherein the one or more projections extend from a tamper-evident member (bracket 18, disconnection of the bracket 18 indicates that the coupling has been tampered with) that is configured to be uncoupled from the housing to disengage the one or more projections from the valve member (see Figs. 1-2).
---Claim 23. The fluid coupling device of claim 21, further comprising a spring (11) disposed within the internal space, and wherein the valve member is configured to move from the first position to the second position in response to: (i) the disengagement of the one or more projections from the valve member and (ii) force from the spring exerted on the valve member (see Figs. 1-2).
---Claim 33. The fluid coupling device of claim 21, wherein the first position of the valve member allows fluid flow through the fluid coupling device, and wherein the second position of the valve member blocks fluid flow through the coupling device (see Figs. 1-2).
---Claim 35. A fluid coupling comprising: a housing (8 and 9) defining an internal space (see the interior of the housing) and a longitudinal central axis (see the longitudinal/horizontal axis of the coupling); a valve member (12) disposed within the internal space; and one or more projections (see the projection in bracket 18 engaging valve 12) engaging the valve member, wherein the valve member is configured to, in response to disengagement of the one or more projections from the valve member, move from a first position (Fig. 2) to a second position (Fig. 1, similar to applicant’s invention, the valve is biased via a spring such that when the projection is disengaged, the valve automatically moves to a second position).
---Claim 36. The fluid coupling of claim 35, wherein the one or more projections pass through one or more openings (see openings 19 where the bracket 18 can be inserted into the housing) in the housing (see Fig. 2).
---Claim 38. The fluid coupling of claim 35, wherein the first position of the valve member allows fluid flow through the fluid coupling device, and wherein the second position of the valve member blocks fluid flow through the coupling device (see Figs. 1-2).
---Claim 39. The fluid coupling of claim 35, wherein the one or more projections extend from a member that comprises a sleeve (bracket 18).
---Claim 40. The fluid coupling of claim 35, wherein the one or more projections extend from a member (bracket 18) that is configured to be uncoupled from the housing to disengage the one or more projections from the valve member, and wherein the member is configured to flex to allow removal of the member from engagement with the housing (see Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luehrs DE-3918437 in view of Costa US-20070016161.
Regarding claim 31, the device of Luehrs DE-3918437 teaches of a valve seat 15, but fails to explicitly disclose that the valve seat is an elastomer. However, valve seat/seals made of elastomers are well-known in the art.
Costa US-20070016161 teaches in Figs. 1-3 (see at least Fig. 3) of a valved coupling comprising a spring biased valve 30 that engages valve seat 34 when the valve is in the closed position. Para. [0017] teaches that the valve seat 34 can be made of elastomeric materials but can also be made of any suitable material known. As it is known in the art, elastomers are among the most well-known suitable materials for providing a seal due to their elasticity and resiliency which compensates for manufacturing imperfections as compared to other harder/rigid materials which requires precise tolerances to produce the same sealing effect.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was effectively filed to modify the material of the valve seat 15 of the device of Luehrs to be any suitable material such as being made of an elastomeric material in a similar manner as taught by Costa since elastomeric materials are a well-known suitable material for valve seat/seals that provides and effective fluid tight seal with the added advantage that due to their elasticity and resiliency, it allows the seal to compensate for manufacturing imperfections as compared to other harder/rigid materials which requires precise tolerances to produce the same sealing effect.
As such, the device of the combination of Luehrs DE-3918437 in view of Costa US-20070016161 teaches the limitations of:
---Claim 31. The fluid coupling device of claim 21, further comprising a valve seat (15 of Luehrs) within the internal space and in contact with the valve member, wherein the valve seat is an elastomer (as taught by the elastomeric valve seat 34 of Costa, see Para. [0017] of Costa).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent Benson US-11614192; alternatively or additionally, Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Benson US-12372183.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because notice that claims 21-40 of the application mirrors the claims of the patents with the difference being that the claims of the current application are of broader scope as compared to the claims of the patents which are more specific. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where the applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, the applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Note that since the claims of the application are anticipated by the claims of the patent and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then the claims of the application are obvious over the claims of the patent. Additionally, any missing structures or details would have been obvious over the claims of the patent themselves and/or the cited prior art with at least Luehrs DE-3918437 teaches of a biased closed valved coupling arrangement that when the one or more projections of the bracket member that retain the valve in a first position are removed the valve is biased to the closed position via a spring which allows the valve to achieve a dry-disconnect; Costa US-20070016161 teaches of a valve seat for a valved coupling made of elastomeric materials which is a known suitable material for valve seat/seals that allow the seal to compensate for manufacturing imperfections as compared to other suitable harder/rigid seal materials and Werth US-20200146934 comprising a single-use valved coupling comprising a single-use retention for locking the valve that once used it prevents the further movement of valve in a particular configuration which is a helpful feature when it is desired for the valve assembly to be a one-time use to prevent repeated usage and/or tampering of the valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are as follows:
---References A (Relevant but not “prior” art under US Patent Laws):
Benson US-12372183, Benson US-12049975, Benson US-11614192 and Benson US-11480281.
---References B (Aseptic/Sterile couplings):
Gerst US-9770581, Williams US-9726308, Williams US-9364653 and
Dodd US-20180056310.
---References C (Valved couplings):
Von Keitz US-9416902, Haunhorst US-8967177, Wong US-8814137, Chang US-8807525, Cooley US-8720487, Hillier US-8544497, Jordan US-3856262, Butler US-3731705, Stern US-3367626, Michaels US-2758611,
Werth US-20200146934 and
Whall EP-1616938.
---References D (Elastomeric seats):
Bogdonoff US-6298876, Wu US-10801655, Chang US-8807525, Braun US-6161578, Palau US-4483510, Jordan US-3856262,
Costa US-20070016161 and Trinchera US-20060211996.
---References E (Valved couplings with “couple first, actuate valve after”):
Vigna US-9901729, Mack US-10864364 and Haunhorst US-8662108.
---References F (Valved couplings with one or more projections):
Ma US-11326728, Tandberg US-11168824, Zhang US-9279529, Adams US-7762278, Savage US-5884648, Torres US-3613726, Torres US-3380476, Courtot US-2678834, Strandberg US-RE23365, Hansen US-2548528,
Diodati US-20080185056 and
Luehrs DE-3918437.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID COLON-MORALES, whose telephone number is 571-270-1741 and fax number is 571-270-2741. If the applicant has authorized internet communications via the filling of form PTO/SB/439, the examiner can be reached via email at david.colon-morales@uspto.gov , email communication is not permitted if the applicant has not filed an authorization for internet communication (see MPEP 502.03 for more details on internet communications). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (7:30AM-3:30PM EST).
/DAVID COLON-MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753