DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to U.S. Patent Application No.: 19/282,103 filed on 7/28/2025 with effective filing date 3/24/2016. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Auwera et al. US 2013/0114708 A1 (hereinafter Van) in view of Ameres et al. US 2013/0016778 A1.
Per claims 1, 5, 9 & 12, Van et al. discloses a method of video decoding comprising: partitioning a block of pixels into two partitions (para: 39 & fig.3, e.g. a video block may correspond to a block or a partition of a block. The video blocks may have fixed or varying sizes, and may differ in size according to a specified coding standard. Each video frame may include a plurality of slices. Each slice may include a plurality of blocks, which may be arranged into partitions, also referred to as sub-blocks); predicting values of lumas of the block of pixels in the two partitions (para: 40, e.g. such as 16 by 16, 8 by 8, or 4 by 4 for luma components, and 8.times.8 for chroma components, as well as inter prediction in various block sizes, such as 16.times.16, 16.times.8, 8.times.16, 8.times.8, 8.times.4, 4.times.8 and 4.times.4 for luma components and corresponding scaled sizes for chroma component).
Van et al. fails to explicitly disclose the remaining claim limitation.
Ameres et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches filtering around a boundary of the partitions, wherein the filtering happens along a direction which is neither horizontal nor vertical yielding filtered pixels (para: 37 & 86-87, e.g. when implemented as a separable 2-dimensional filter such that the prediction block is first filtered in one dimension (horizontal or vertical) and the resulting filtered data block is then filtered in the other dimension; the filter is implemented using floating point or fixed point arithmetic, or the filter may not be implemented as a separable 2 dimensional filter… ); obtaining residual information; and adding the residual information to the filtered pixels (para: 239-240, e.g. a decoded prediction error signal is subsequently added to the prediction block to create the final reconstructed block).
Therefore, in view of disclosures by Ameres et al., it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Van et al. and Ameres et al. in order to generate a predicted value for a pixel located in a row and a column of a current block using a processor, for a selected pixel in the current block.
Per claims 2, 6, 10 & 13, Van et al. further teaches the method of video decoding as claimed in claim 1, wherein the partitions are non-rectangular (para: 22, e.g. boundary when the predicted block is generated using a relatively horizontal intra-prediction mode… when the predicted block is generated using a relatively vertical intra-prediction mode).
Per claims 3, 11 & 14, Van et al. further teaches the method of video decoding as claimed in claim 1, wherein the method of prediction is an inter-prediction, wherein the inter-prediction is based on selecting pixel lumas from a previously decoded image at positions which are spatially offset from a pixel position in the block of pixels by a motion vector (para: 40 & 62, e.g. the ITU-T H.264 standard supports intra prediction in various block sizes, such as 16 by 16, 8 by 8, or 4 by 4 for luma components, and 8.times.8 for chroma components, as well as inter prediction in various block sizes, such as 16.times.16, 16.times.8, 8.times.16, 8.times.8, 8.times.4, 4.times.8 and 4.times.4 for luma components and corresponding scaled sizes for chroma component).
Per claims 4 & 8, Van et al. further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 1 (para: 159, e.g. the functions described may be implemented in hardware, software, firmware, or any combination thereof).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen, et. al. US 9,609,343 B1, e.g. a second combined prediction block is formed by selecting a second intra prediction block using a first partitioned area of the first block, selecting a second inter prediction block using a second partitioned area of the second block, the first and second partitioned areas separated by a border at an angle to an orientation of a row or column of pixels, and combining pixel values of the second inter and intra prediction blocks that are weighted by a weighting function based on a distance of a pixel from the border.
Jeon et al. US 2015/0036749 A1, e.g. an apparatus for processing a video signal and method thereof are disclosed. The present invention includes receiving prediction mode information, interpolating information and a residual of a current block, reconstructing an interpolating pixel using the interpolating information and a neighbor block, and reconstructing the current block using the interpolating pixel, the prediction mode information and the residual, wherein the interpolating information is generated based on a location of the current block.
/Irfan Habib/Examiner, Art Unit 2485