DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patel et al. (“Fixator-assisted nailing for revision ankle fusion with deformity, bone loss and or infection”, published 2015).
Regarding Claim 1, Patel discloses a method for applying compression in an ankle, comprising:
inserting a proximal portion of a nail through a calcaneus and a talus of a foot of a patient and into a tibia of the patient (retrograde nail, insertion shown in Fig. 1-3, Step 4 of surgical technique);
securing an external fixation frame to the tibia and the foot (Step 2 of surgical technique where TSF is applied);
applying compression to the ankle using the external fixation frame (steps 3 and 4 of surgical technique); and
retaining the compression in the ankle using the nail and one or more screws extending through the nail (step 6 of surgical technique, locking nail).
Regarding Claim 2, Patel discloses the one or more screws comprise one or more first screws and the method further comprises positioning the one or more first screws in the calcaneus and through one or more apertures in a distal portion of the nail (shown in Fig. 2e and 3f).
Regarding Claim 3, wherein positioning the one or more first screws in the calcaneus and through the one or more apertures in the distal portion of the nail comprises inserting a longitudinal screw into the calcaneus in a posterior-anterior direction (shown in Fig. 2e and 3f-g).
Regarding Claim 4, Patel discloses wherein positioning the one or more first screws in the calcaneus and through the one or more apertures in the distal portion of the nail comprises inserting a transverse screw into the calcaneus in a lateral-medial direction (shown in Fig. 3g).
Regarding Claim 6, Patel discloses the one or more screws comprise one or more second screws and the method further comprises positioning the one or more second screws in the tibia and through one or more apertures in the proximal portion of the nail (shown in Fig. 3g, step 6 of surgical technique, locking the nail).
Regarding Claim 8, Patel discloses applying the compression to the ankle comprises adjusting struts of the external fixation frame to draw a distal ring of the external fixation frame toward a proximal ring of the external fixation frame (this would happen in step 5 of surgical technique where the TSF (shown in Fig. 1 as having adjustable struts) would compress the fusion site).
Regarding Claim 9, securing the external fixation frame to the tibia and the foot comprises securing the proximal ring to the tibia and securing the distal ring to the foot (described in step 2 of surgical technique and shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (“Fixator-assisted nailing for revision ankle fusion with deformity, bone loss and or infection”, published 2015)
Regarding Claim 7, Patel discloses the method as described in the rejections of claim 1 and 6 above. Patel discloses that the method comprises removing the external fixation frame from the tibia and the foot (“removal of the external fixator” in step 6 title), wherein the one or more second screws are positioned in the tibia and through the one or more apertures in the proximal portion of the nail after applying the compression to the ankle using the external fixation frame (locking the nail happens in step 6 which comes after step 5 which is the compression with the ring fixator). Patel isn’t explicit in step 6 on whether the external fixation frame is removed before or after locking the nail, however, it would have been only one of two options for locking the nail- either before the removal of the TSF or after the removal of the TSF, both of which would result in the locking of the nail in the bone. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try locking the nail before removing the external fixator in order to fixate the nail to the bone.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (“Fixator-assisted nailing for revision ankle fusion with deformity, bone loss and or infection”, published 2015) in view of El-Mowafi et al. (“Hybrid Fixation for Ankle Fusion in Diabetic Charcot Arthropathy”, published 2018).
Patel describes the method as rejected in claim 9 above. Patel shows that the proximal ring is secured to the tibia and the distal ring is secured to the foot (Fig. 1) but is silent to which ring is secure first.
El-Mowafi discloses a hybrid ankle fusion method in the same field of endeavor wherein the external fixator (Ilizarov frame is placed with the tibial component first applied followed by the foot ring (see second paragraph in “Operative Technique”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to first apply the tibial ring followed by the foot ring as taught by El-Mowafi in order to use a known order of operation securing an external fixator to a patient for ankle fusion.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Mowafi et al. (“Hybrid Fixation for Ankle Fusion in Diabetic Charcot Arthropathy”, published 2018) in view of Patel et al. (“Fixator-assisted nailing for revision ankle fusion with deformity, bone loss and or infection”, published 2015).
Regarding Claim 1, El-Mowafi discloses a method for applying compression in an ankle, comprising:
inserting a proximal portion of a nail through a calcaneus and a talus of a foot of a patient and into a tibia of the patient (“operative technique”: “a retrograde nail was inserted through the calcaneus into the tibia… end of the nail was impacted flush with the plantar surface of the calcaneus”);
securing an external fixation frame to the tibia and the foot (“operative technique”: “The Ilizarov frame was then placed. The tibial component was first applied in the form of 2 rings followed by applying a 5/8 ring to the calcaneus by 2 tensioned wires”);
applying compression to the ankle using the external fixation frame (“The tibial construct and calcaneal 5/8 ring were connected by threaded rods placed in anteromedial, anterolateral, and posterior positions for posterior compression”).
El-Mowafi is silent to retaining the compression in the ankle using the nail and one or more screws extending through the nail, but does show in Fig. 3 that the nail remains in the patient after the ring fixator is removed.
Patel discloses a hybrid ankle fusion method in the same field of endeavor wherein the nail is locked (screws inserted in proximal openings and distal openings) after compression with the external fixator (step 6 of surgical technique and shown in Fig. 3g) for the purpose of allowing the nail to act as an internal split after the external fixator is removed thereby protecting the fusion (paragraph 11 of introduction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to lock the nail of El-Mowafi by inserting screws in the distal end and proximal end of the nail as taught by Patel in order to secure the nail in the patient enabling the nail to act as an internal splint and protect the fusion. Locking the nail as taught by El-Mowafi retains the compression in the ankle.
Regarding Claim 2, El-Mowafi discloses the one or more screws comprise one or more first screws and the method further comprises positioning the one or more first screws in the calcaneus and through one or more apertures in a distal portion of the nail (first paragraph of “Operative Technique” of El-Mowafi describes the nail is locked in calcaneus) and, as modified by Patel in claim 1 rejection above, it would have been obvious to lock the distal nail portion to retain compression.
Regarding Claim 5, Patel discloses that the securement of the nail happens before the external fixator component is attached in paragraphs 1-2 of the “Operative Technique”.
Regarding Claim 11, El-Mowafi discloses a method for applying compression in an ankle, comprising:
inserting a proximal portion of a nail through the ankle of a patient and into a tibia of the patient (“operative technique”: “a retrograde nail was inserted through the calcaneus into the tibia… end of the nail was impacted flush with the plantar surface of the calcaneus”);
after inserting the nail, securing an external fixation frame across the ankle (“operative technique”: “The Ilizarov frame was then placed. The tibial component was first applied in the form of 2 rings followed by applying a 5/8 ring to the calcaneus by 2 tensioned wires”);
applying compression to the ankle using the external fixation frame (“The tibial construct and calcaneal 5/8 ring were connected by threaded rods placed in anteromedial, anterolateral, and posterior positions for posterior compression”).
El-Mowafi is silent to after applying the compression to the ankle using the external fixation frame, retaining the compression in the ankle by inserting a screw through the proximal portion of the nail and the tibia, but does show in Fig. 3 that the nail remains in the patient after the ring fixator (which applies the compression) is removed.
Patel discloses a hybrid ankle fusion method in the same field of endeavor wherein the nail is locked (screws inserted in proximal openings and distal openings) after compression with the external fixator (step 6 of surgical technique and shown in Fig. 3g) for the purpose of allowing the nail to act as an internal split after the external fixator and compression source is removed thereby protecting the fusion (paragraph 11 of introduction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to lock the nail of El-Mowafi by inserting screws in the distal end and proximal end of the nail after the compression is applied as taught by Patel in order to secure the nail in the patient enabling the nail to act as an internal splint and protect the fusion. Locking the nail as taught by El-Mowafi retains the compression in the ankle.
Regarding Claim 12, El-Mowafi describes that prior to securing the external fixation frame across the ankle, the nail is locked proximally (first paragraph of operative technique, El-Mowafi, here ‘proximally’ refers to the ankle end of the nail rather than the tibial end). Patel describes that proximal locking (ankle side locking) of the nail comprises inserting at least one screw through a portion of the nail and a calcaneus of the ankle in Fig. 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to lock the proximal nail portion through the calcaneus of the ankle with screws as taught by Patel in order to use a known technique to lock the nail.
Regarding Claim 13, as described in the rejections of claims 11 and 12 above, El-Mowafi discloses removing the external fixation frame (operative technique paragraph 4, “the Ilizarov frame was removed”) and Patel teaches inserting the screw through the proximal portion of the nail and the tibia(Step 6 of Surgical technique, “locking the nail” and removing the fixator). Patel discloses that the method comprises removing the external fixation frame from the tibia and the foot (“removal of the external fixator” in step 6 title), wherein the one or more second screws are positioned in the tibia and through the one or more apertures in the proximal portion of the nail after applying the compression to the ankle using the external fixation frame (locking the nail happens in step 6 which comes after step 5 which is the compression with the ring fixator). Patel isn’t explicit in step 6 on whether the external fixation frame is removed before or after locking the nail, however, it would have been only one of two options for locking the nail- either before the removal of the TSF or after the removal of the TSF, both of which would result in the locking of the nail in the bone. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try locking the nail before removing the external fixator in order to fixate the nail to the bone.
Regarding Claim 14, El-Mowafi discloses the proximal portion of the nail is free of screws until the compression has been applied to the ankle (Discussion paragraph 6, El-Mowafi).
Regarding Claim 15, the compression is applied to the ankle using the external fixation frame over a period of time (operative technique paragraph 4, El-Mowafi).
Regarding Claim 16, the compression is applied to the ankle using the external fixation frame by adjusting struts connecting a proximal portion of the external fixation frame to a distal portion of the external fixation frame (this is an inherent step of applying compression and further compression with an Ilizarov frame wherein the struts are the threaded rods described in operative technique paragraph 2, El-Mowafi)
Regarding Claim 17, the struts are adjusted periodically over the period of time (operative technique paragraph 4, El-Mowafi).
Regarding Claim 18, the period of time comprises at least one month (3 months described by operative technique paragraph 4, El-Mowafi).
Regarding Claim 19, inserting the proximal portion of the nail through the ankle of the patient and into the tibia of the patient comprises inserting the proximal portion of the nail through a calcaneus and a talus (“operative technique”: “a retrograde nail was inserted through the calcaneus into the tibia”, this would require insertion through the talus as well since that bone is between the calcaneus and tibia).
Regarding Claim 20, the method of El-Mowafi in view of Patel is described above in the rejection of claim 11. Both El-Mowafi and Patel perform complex ankle fusions, with Patel reporting that results included a limb shortening, although the patients opted for a minor or no shoe raise (Results, paragraph 8, Patel). Patel mentions that “no case required tibia lengthening”, acknowledging that tibia lengthening is a potential procedure when severe limb shortening occurs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further lengthen the tibia after the procedure in cases where limb shortening is severe since Patel suggests that tibia extending is a known technique to remedy limb shortening.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form PTO-892, in particular:
J. George DeVries, et al. A Retrospective Comparative Analysis of Charcot Ankle Stabilization Using an Intramedullary Rod with or without Application of Circular External Fixator, teaches 3 planes of IM proximal fixation in a hybrid fixation system.
Eugene Zarutsky, et al., The use of circular wire external fixation in the treatment of salvage ankle arthrodesis, teaches there are occasions where internal fixation is appropriate when used in conjunction with an external frame because it can continue to provide resistance to shear force once the frame is removed.
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773