DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0087404 by Jacobs (Here forth “Jacobs”) in view of US Publication 2012/0103481 by Nieves (Here forth “Nieves”).
Regarding claim 1, Nieves discloses a bag comprising: a bag-shaped main body portion; and a strap detachably connected to the main body portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 10A of Jacobs below), wherein the main body portion has a first [Not taught: hook] member attached to an upper side of the main body portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 10A of Jacobs below), and a first [Not taught: annular] portion provided at a position substantially opposite to the first [Not taught: hook] member on an upper side of the main body portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 10A of Jacobs below), and
the strap has a second [Not taught: annular] portion that is provided at one end portion and is engageable with at least the first [Not taught: hook] member, and a second [Not taught: hook] member that is attached to the other end portion and is engageable with at least the first [Not taught: annular] portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 10A of Jacobs below)
Examiner Annotated Fig 10 A of Jacobs
Jacobs does not expressly disclose that the first and second male and female members are annular and hook type members.
Nieves disclose a similar bag that teaches wherein the first and second male and female members are annular and hook type members (Examiner Annotated Fig 5 of Nieves below, when applied to the modified Jacobs, there is one hook and one annular member at opposite ends of the strap and also on opposite ends of the main bag).
Examiner Annotated Fig 5 of Nieves
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag of Jacobs by substituting the fasteners for hook and annular member fasteners. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04 III). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Regarding claim 2, Jacobs as modified discloses wherein the bag is configured to switch between a first connection state in which the first hook member of the main body portion and the second annular portion of the strap are engaged with each other and the first annular portion of the main body portion and the second hook member of the strap are engaged with each other (Examiner Annotated Fig 10A of Jacobs above, after fasteners are modified to be hooks and annular members), a second connection state in which the first hook member of the main body portion and the second annular portion of the strap are engaged with each other and the second hook member of the strap and the second annular portion of the strap are engaged with each other (Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Nieves below), and a third connection state in which the first hook member of the main body portion and the first annular portion of the main body portion are engaged with each other (Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Jacobs below, when fasteners are modified to be hooks and annular members).
Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Nieves
Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Jacobs
Regarding claim 3, Jacobs further discloses wherein the main body portion has a degree of flexibility that allows the third connection state to be maintained (Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Jacobs above).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobs as modified does not expressly disclose wherein the annular portions are made of metal.
Nieves further discloses a similar bag that teaches wherein the first annular portion of the main body portion and the second annular portion of the strap include annular members made of resin or metal (Para 22-23 of Nieves, the annular members can be made of metal).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Jacobs and Nieves before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the bag of the modified Jacobs to have the annular members be made of metal, as taught by Nieves, to advantageously provide a durable attachment for the hooks so that the is less chance of breakage.
Regarding claim 5, Nieves as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the main body portion has a substantially semicircular shape in a front view (Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Nieves above), the first hook member is attached to a vicinity of one end portion of an arc of the substantially semicircular shape, and the first annular portion is provided in a vicinity of the other end portion of the arc (first and second male and female members of Jacobs is located on the end portions of the arc and when modified with Nieves replaces the fasteners with the hook/annular members; Examiner Annotated Fig 10A of Jacobs and Examiner Annotated Fig 7 of Nieves).
Regarding claim 6, Jacobs discloses a manufacturing method for a bag including a bag-shaped main body portion and a strap connected to the main body portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 10 of Jacobs), the manufacturing method comprising:
disposing a first [Not taught: hook] member attached to an upper side of the main body portion, and a first [Not taught: annular] portion provided at a position substantially opposite to the first [Not taught: hook] member on an upper side of the main body portion on the main body portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 10 of Jacobs above); and
disposing a second [Not taught: annular] portion that is provided at one end portion and is engageable with at least the first [Not taught: hook] member, and a second [Not taught: hook] member that is attached to the other end portion and is engageable with at least the first [Not taught: annular] portion on the strap (Examiner Annotated Fig 10 of Jacobs above).
Jacobs does not expressly disclose that the first and second male and female members are annular and hook type members.
Nieves disclose a similar bag that teaches wherein the first and second male and female members are annular and hook type members (Examiner Annotated Fig 5 of Nieves below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag of Jacobs by substituting the fasteners for hook and annular member fasteners. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04 III). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733