Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 11, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US 10505935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Perez) in view of Jeong (US 20230141992 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jeong) in further view of Tsan (US 20100054463 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsan).
Regarding claim 1, Perez discloses: A system comprising: one or more processors in a first electronic device; and one or more processor-readable storage media storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause performance of: determining a first message format for a first message to be transmitted to a second electronic device over a communication channel between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Perez: Col 4 lines 38-42 states, "Once it is determined that a message or a portion of a message should be sent to the second user, a notification may be generated. The notification may be based on the message and in a format capable of being received by a user device of the second user." Col 5 lines 11-16 states, "The medical provider network 100 includes one or more components 106 and one or more user devices 108. The one or more components 106 are configured to share medical-related data with the transformative integration engine 102, the transaction management engine 104, and each other via one or more communication networks."), but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein: the first message is part of a sequence of messages communicated over the communication channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeong discloses: wherein: the first message is part of a sequence of messages communicated over the communication channel (Jeong: Jeong: Paragraph [0028] states, "The V2X device 100 may communicate with the base station 310, the RSU 320, a neighbor vehicle 350 and/or a neighbor V2X device using a wireless communication protocol. There is no limitation on the wireless communication protocol. The wireless communication protocol may include Dedicated Short Range Communications (DSRC), Cellular-V2X (C-V2X), WiFi, BLUETOOTH and/or cellular communication protocols based on 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) (e.g. Wideband Code Division Multiple Access (WCDMA), Long Term Evolution (LTE), New Radio (NR), etc.)." Paragraph [0030] states, "The V2X message may periodically or aperiodically be transmitted to the V2X server 200 by the V2X device 100 (or RSU 320), and is a message providing status information of the V2X device 100 (or device managed by the RSU 320). For example, the V2X device 100 may transmit 10 V2X messages per second.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Perez and include the above limitation with the teaching of Jeong in order to "prevent forgery/falsification of a message by using a secure certificate and to ensure anonymity of the user." (Jeong: Paragraph [0056]).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Perez further discloses: the first message format is one of a plurality of message formats available for messages communicated over the communication channel (Perez: Col 7 lines 43-49 states, "the one or more components 106 and the one or more user devices 108 may communicate with the transformative integration engine 102 and the transaction management engine 104 via different information formats, different proprietary protocols, different encryption techniques, different languages, different machine languages, and the like."), but fails to explicitly disclose: each message format in the plurality of message formats is associated with a corresponding level of security.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsan discloses: each message format in the plurality of message formats is associated with a corresponding level of security (Tsan: Paragraph [0024] states, "the message security level may be a first security level, a second security level, and a third security level. Each security level is used to identify an importance of a short message. In order to identify the importance of a short message, a corresponding security level may be included in the short message when the short message is sent to the first mobile phone 1.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Perez as modified by Jeong and include the above limitation with the teaching of Tsan in order for "protecting messages between two" electronic devices (Tsan: Paragraph [0002]).
Perez further discloses: at least one message format in the plurality of message formats requires a message to be encrypted (Perez: Col 38 lines 46-48 states, "the message vendor 1016 is configured to encrypt messages prior to sending them to the user devices 1012."), but fails to explicitly disclose: and the first message format allows the first message to be processed independently of other messages in the sequence of messages.
However, Jeong further discloses: and the first message format allows the first message to be processed independently of other messages in the sequence of messages (Jeong: Paragraph [0030] states, "The V2X message may periodically or aperiodically be transmitted to the V2X server 200 by the V2X device 100 (or RSU 320), and is a message providing status information of the V2X device 100 (or device managed by the RSU 320). For example, the V2X device 100 may transmit 10 V2X messages per second." Paragraph [0100] states, "The V2X device 940 may decrypt and verify the received encrypted signed V2X message." Examiner's note: since a single received encrypted message is being verified separately, it is interpreted that each message is being processed independently.).
Perez further discloses: generating the first message according to the first message format (Perez: Col 4 lines 38-42 states, "Once it is determined that a message or a portion of a message should be sent to the second user, a notification may be generated. The notification may be based on the message and in a format capable of being received by a user device of the second user."); and transmitting the first message to the second electronic device over the communication channel (Perez: Col 4 lines 42-45 states, "The notification (or the message or the portion of the message) is provided to a messaging vendor. The messaging vendor may adjust the message prior to sending to the user device of the second user.").
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan discloses: The system of claim 1.
However Jeong further discloses: wherein the first message is formatted as a digitally signed message or an unsigned message (Jeong: Paragraph [0075] states, "The subscription request message is encrypted based on the X.509 certificate and digitally signed based on the pseudonym certificate. Since a message is encrypted based on the X.509 certificate of the established secure session, only the V2X device and the V2X server can decrypt the message, but other devices cannot decrypt the message.").
The same motivation to modify with Jeong, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 10, Perez further discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the first electronic device, the second electronic device, or both the first electronic device and the second electronic device are medical devices (Perez: Col 5 lines 62-67 and col 6 lines 1-15 states, "The one or more components 106, irrespective of which medical provider organization each belongs to, may be capable of receiving, generating, processing and/or transmitting medical-related data. Examples of the one or more components 106 include…medical equipment (e.g., surgery tools, imaging machines, and other similar medical devices)…and other similar devices capable of generating medical-related data.").
Claims 11 and 20 recite features similar to those in claim 1, therefore, they are rejected in a similar manner
Claim 14, recites features similar to those in claim 4, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US 10505935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Perez) in view of Jeong (US 20230141992 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jeong) in further view of Tsan (US 20100054463 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsan) in further view of Dekel (US 8428065 B2, hereinafter referred to as Dekel).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan discloses: The system of claim 1.
Tsan further discloses: wherein each message format in the plurality of message formats is configured to carry a set of information that allows a message to be communicated at the corresponding level of security (Tsan: Paragraph [0024] states, "the message security level may be a first security level, a second security level, and a third security level. Each security level is used to identify an importance of a short message. In order to identify the importance of a short message, a corresponding security level may be included in the short message when the short message is sent to the first mobile phone 1.").
The same motivation to modify with Tsan, as in claim 1, applies.
Tsan fails to explicitly disclose: information that allows a message…to be processed independently irrespective of an order in which the message is received relative to an order in which the message is transmitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dekel discloses: information that allows a message…to be processed independently irrespective of an order in which the message is received relative to an order in which the message is transmitted (Dekel: Claim 11 states, "the control message is transmitted with a quality of service (QoS) that is selected so as to ensure consistent delivery of the multicast messages over all the servers in the group, and wherein the instructions cause the servers to process, responsively to the control message, all the incoming messages at all the servers according to the common message order irrespective of the different orders in which the incoming messages are received." Col 12 lines 2-4 states, "all processing servers independently start to process the client messages based on the predetermined order." Examiner's note: even though there is a specific order of messages that do get processed, the order in which the messages are received do not dictate when they get processed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan and include the above limitation with the teaching of Dekel in order for "improvements in synchronization" (Dekel: Col 1 line 19).
Claim 12, recites features similar to those in claim 2, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US 10505935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Perez) in view of Jeong (US 20230141992 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jeong) in further view of Tsan (US 20100054463 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsan) in further view of Chellappa (US 20200059469 A1, hereinafter referred to as Chellappa).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan discloses: The system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein when executed by the one or more processors, the instructions further cause performance of: establishing the communication channel through mutual authentication with the second electronic device, using a public key infrastructure of the system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chellappa discloses: wherein when executed by the one or more processors, the instructions further cause performance of: establishing the communication channel through mutual authentication with the second electronic device, using a public key infrastructure of the system (Chellappa: Paragraph [0055] states, "Due to this digital certificate exchange, the end client 414 and the key sharing switch 410 mutually authenticate first authentication factors for each other, and due to this mutual authentication, communicate with each other to establish a secure communication channel, using, for example, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based key exchange, as depicted at reference numeral 465.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan and include the above limitation with the teaching of Chellappa in order to prevent "a rogue electronic device…from accessing unauthorized data and/or introducing unauthorized data…into the computer system" (Chellappa: Paragraph [0001]).
Claim 13, recites features similar to those in claim 3, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US 10505935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Perez) in view of Jeong (US 20230141992 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jeong) in further view of Tsan (US 20100054463 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsan) in further view of Estes (US 20170012711 A1, hereinafter referred to as Estes).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Perez as modified Jeong and Tsan disclose: The system of claim 4.
Jeong further discloses: wherein the first message is formatted as a digitally signed and encrypted message (Jeong: Paragraph [0030] states, "The V2X message may periodically or aperiodically be transmitted to the V2X server 200 by the V2X device 100 (or RSU 320), and is a message providing status information of the V2X device 100 (or device managed by the RSU 320). For example, the V2X device 100 may transmit 10 V2X messages per second." Paragraph [0078] states, "messages exchanged between the V2X device and the V2X server are encrypted based on the X.509 certificate and digitally signed based on the pseudonym certificate.").
The same motivation to modify with Jeong, as in claim 1, applies.
Jeong fails to explicitly disclose: wherein a second message in the sequence of messages is formatted as an unencrypted message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Estes discloses: wherein a second message in the sequence of messages is formatted as an unencrypted message (Estes: Paragraph [0115] states, " In some embodiments, the sequence of data symbols may represent a security authentication code that may be used to establish a secure data transfer connection between the first device and a second device. In other embodiments, the sequence of data symbols may represent an encrypted or unencrypted message.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan and include the above limitation with the teaching of Estes in order to establish "a secure data transfer connection between the first device and a second device" (Estes: Paragraph [0011]).
Claim 15, recites features similar to those in claim 5, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US 10505935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Perez) in view of Jeong (US 20230141992 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jeong) in further view of Tsan (US 20100054463 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsan) in further view of Erickson (EP 3905600 A1, hereinafter referred to as Erickson).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan discloses: The system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein generating the first message according to the first message format comprises: configuring a header of the first message to include an indication of the first message format.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Erickson discloses: wherein generating the first message according to the first message format comprises: configuring a header of the first message to include an indication of the first message format (Erickson: Paragraph [0032] states, "The format and the contents of the payload may vary according to a header within the payload that indicates a profile (including one or more protocols) and/or a type of message that is being sent according to the profile.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan and include the above limitation with the teaching of Erickson in order for "efficient communication to enable various devices, including low-power or sleepy devices, to communicate in a home network or similar environment" (Erickson: Paragraph [0001]).
Claim 16, recites features similar to those in claim 6, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US 10505935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Perez) in view of Jeong (US 20230141992 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jeong) in further view of Tsan (US 20100054463 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tsan) in further view of Xu (US 20230188364 A1, hereinafter referred to as Xu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan discloses: The system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein generating the first message according to the first message format comprises: generating an ephemeral key pair including an ephemeral public key and an ephemeral private key.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses: wherein generating the first message according to the first message format comprises: generating an ephemeral key pair including an ephemeral public key and an ephemeral private key (Xu: Paragraph [0073] states, "the back-end server 406 may generate the ephemeral ECC X25519 key pair, KEPHSERV and perform ECDH with KEPHSERVpriv and KDECpub and derives the AES GCM symmetric key."); and encrypting a payload section of the first message, wherein the first message contains the ephemeral public key and is configured to be decrypted based on the ephemeral public key (Xu: Paragraph [0026] states, "The secure shared key exchange between the back-end server of the one or more servers 130 and the one or more client devices 110 may be used to generate an ephemeral shared key to enable the back-end server to decrypt the encrypted JSON reference IDs and those values in the original request payload with the actual decrypted values." Paragraph [0073] states, "the shared secret between the client device 402 and back-end server 406 as described herein can include deriving the symmetric key for encryption and decryption of message JSON payloads.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Perez as modified by Jeong and Tsan and include the above limitation with the teaching of Xu in order for "improved encryption architecture that addresses layers having different data usage and/or visibility requirements" (Xu: Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Perez as modified by Jeong, Tsan and Xu disclose: The system of claim 7.
Xu further discloses: wherein: the payload section of the first message is encrypted using a symmetric key (Xu: Paragraph [0073] states, "the shared secret between the client device 402 and back-end server 406 as described herein can include deriving the symmetric key for encryption and decryption of message JSON payloads."); the symmetric key is derivable using the ephemeral private key without the ephemeral public key (Xu: Paragraph [0042] states, "the computing platform(s) 302 (e.g., payment processing back-end server) can derive an encryption key for encrypting a particular response payload based on the server's public key and a private ephemeral key such as KEPHservpriv of the ephemeral key pair."); and the symmetric key is also derivable using the ephemeral public key without the ephemeral private key (Xu: Paragraph [0024] states, "the ephemeral public key (e.g., for one time use for a particular action) can be used by the payment processing server along with the private authentication key of the payment processing server to derive the common secret.").
The same motivation to modify with Xu, as in claim 7, applies.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Perez as modified by Jeong, Tsan, and Xu disclose: The system of claim 8.
Xu further discloses: wherein when executed by the one or more processors, the instructions further cause performance of: deriving the symmetric key using the ephemeral private key in combination with a public key associated with the second electronic device (Xu: Paragraph [0073] states, "the back-end server 406 may generate the ephemeral ECC X25519 key pair, KEPHSERV and perform ECDH with KEPHSERVpriv and KDECpub and derives the AES GCM symmetric key.").
The same motivation to modify with Xu, as in claim 7, applies.
Claims 17-19, recite features similar to those in claims 7-9, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Abuelsaad (US 20150324593 A1) describes an approach for managing a message in a transfer from a computer.
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434