DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Claims 1-2, filed July 28, 2025, which are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are indefinite as each recites, “A method of securing a wind resistant cap… providing a wind resistant cap”. It is unclear if the second instance of “a wind resistant cap” is referring to the same wind resistant cap previously recited or to a different wind resistant cap. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to recite, ““A method of securing a wind resistant cap… providing [[a]] the wind resistant cap”.
Claims 1 and 2 each recites, “a cap body having a brim extending outwardly from the cap body”. It is unclear how the brim is part of the cap body and yet extends outward from the cap body. For purposes of examination, Examiner has interpreted the limitation to mean the cap has a cap body and a brim, and the brim extends outwardly from the cap body.
Claim 1 is indefinite as it recites, “and wherein each of the ends of the strap body is attached to one of the opposing sides of the inner circumference of the cap body”. It is unclear if each of the ends is attached to the same one of the opposing sides of the inner circumference of the cap body or it one end is attached to one side and a second end is attached to a second side.
Claim 2 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein each a first one of the ends of the strap body is attached to a first one of the opposing sides of the inner circumference of the cap body”. As the limitation recites, “each”, it is unclear if there is more than one of a first one of the ends or if “each” is simply a grammatical error. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to recite, “wherein [[each]] a first one of the ends of the strap body is attached to a first one of the opposing sides of the inner circumference of the cap body”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 4993079).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a method of securing a wind resistant cap (22) on a head (30) across a forehead (26) of a user (as disclosed in col. 4, lines 62-68), the method comprising the steps of: providing a wind resistant cap (22) comprising: a cap body (crown, see annotated Fig. 2 plus inner band 24) having a brim extending outwardly from the cap body (see annotated Fig. 2), the cap body having an inner circumference (circumference around 24) that includes a front portion adjacent the brim, a rear portion, and opposing sides (see annotated Fig. 2); a securing strap (10) having a strap body (as 10 is the body) that extends to ends (32 on the first and second side); and wherein each of the ends of the strap body is attached to one of the opposing sides of the inner circumference of the cap body (via 14a/16a and 14C/16c), such that the strap body extends across the front portion of the inner circumference of the cap body (as understood from Fig. 2); positioning the cap body on the head of the user (see col. 6, lines 1-12), such that the strap body is positioned across the forehead of the user (as understood from Fig. 2); and subjecting the wind resistant cap to sufficient wind to blow the cap body off the user's head, wherein the securing strap remains secured across the forehead of the user to retain the cap body so that it is not blown off the user's head (see col. 2, lines 59-61, col. 3, lines 17-35, col. 6, lines 39-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Clingenpeel (US 5855023).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses a method of securing a wind resistant cap (22) on a head (30) across a forehead (26) of a user (as disclosed in col. 4, lines 62-68), the method comprising the steps of: providing a wind resistant cap (22) comprising: a cap body (crown, see annotated Fig. 2 plus inner band 24) having a brim extending outwardly from the cap body (see annotated Fig. 2), the cap body having an inner circumference (circumference around 24) that includes a front portion adjacent the brim, a rear portion, and opposing sides (see annotated Fig. 2); a securing strap (10) having a strap body (as 10 is the body) that extends to ends (32 on the first and second side);
wherein the securing strap is constructed of an inelastic material (see col. 5, lines 3-5 where the strap is stretchable and claim 1 where the strap is elastic); and wherein each a first one of the ends of the strap body is attached to a first one of the opposing sides of the inner circumference of the cap body (via 14a/16a), and a second one of the ends of the strap body is attached to a second one of the opposing sides of the inner circumference of the cap body (via 14b/16b), such that wherein the strap body extends entirely across the front portion of the inner circumference of the cap body (as understood from Fig. 2), and wherein the securing strap directly abuts the front portion of the inner circumference (as understood from Fig. 2); positioning the cap body on the head of the user (see col. 6, lines 1-12), such that the strap body is positioned across the forehead of the user (as understood from Fig. 2); and subjecting the wind resistant cap to sufficient wind to blow the cap body off the user's head, wherein the securing strap remains secured across the forehead of the user to retain the cap body so that it is not blown off the user's head (see col. 2, lines 59-61, col. 3, lines 17-35, col. 6, lines 39-51).
Johnson does not expressly disclose wherein the strap body extends entirely across an entirety of a width of the brim.
Clingenpeel teaches a cap created for windy conditions wherein the strap body (18) extends entirely across an entirety of a width of the brim (as seen in Figs. 2 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make modify the brim of the cap of Johnson such that the strap body extends entirely across an entirety of a width of the brim, as taught by Clingenpeel, in order to off the wearer are more modern and casual hat to wear to sporting events and fit in with others.
Annotated Fig. 2 (Johnson)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Dales (US 1354892) and Wolff (US 1685263) each teaches a hat with a strap device for retaining the hat in windy conditions, Fischer (US 2286202) teaches a hat with an inner securing strap.
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732