DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant’s amendment filed 8/4/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 2022/0170606 A1) in view of Watanabe (US 2017/0267163 A1).
In regard to claim 14, Potter discloses a lighting module, comprising:
a housing;
a plurality of flood light elements mounted in the housing, each flood light element of the plurality of flood light elements comprising:
at least one flood light source (140a); and
a plurality of light channel elements mounted in the housing, each light channel element of the plurality of light channel elements comprising:
at least one channel light source (140b);
an emitting surface positioned at an opening in the housing (emitting 145b); and
a light transmissive material (150) configured to transmit light from the at least one channel light source to the emitting surface using total internal reflection. (Figure 3C; see at least [0030] onward)
Potter fails to disclose that the emitting surface being textured to provide an even light output.
Watanabe teaches a light channel wherein the emitting surface is textured to provide an even light output. (Figure 3A; see at least [0043])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the textured surface of Watanabe onto the emission surface of Potter in order to improve the evenness of the resulting light distribution.
Moreover, the Examiner further takes notice that textured surfaces are notoriously old and well-known in the art for improving light distribution.
In regard to claim 15, Potter fails to disclose that the light transmissive material comprises a transparent material comprises at least one of acrylic, silicone, clear plastic, polycarbonate, glass, or fiber optic material.
However, this is a broad and nearly an exhaustive list of known materials for optics. The Examiner cannot think of anything other material that is not at least one of acrylic, silicone, clear plastic, polycarbonate, glass, or fiber optic material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use at least one of these materials to make the light pipe as these are the most common materials for making optics.
In regard to claim 16, Potter discloses each flood light element further comprises a reflective enclosure (110) positioned to direct light emitted from the at least one flood light source.
In regard to claim 17, Potter fails to disclose the plurality of light channel elements are configured to maintain illumination during periods when the plurality of flood light elements are turned off or operating at reduced intensity. However, controllers that individually control LED light sources independently are notoriously old and well-known, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a controller to independently control the light sources in order to provide for a multitude of lighting effects.
In regard to claim 18, Potter discloses each flood light element further comprises a lens or optical element (120). (See Figure 2)
In regard to claim 20, Potter discloses the opening in the housing corresponds to dimensions of the emitting surface of each light channel element. (This is broad. How does it “correspond”?)
In regard to claim 21, Potter discloses the at least one flood light source and the at least one channel light source each comprise one or more LEDs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant is arguing that Potter fails to teach a plurality of light channels. The Examiner disagrees. The applicant has failed to limit the scope of what is considered a light channel. See Figure 3B of Potter. The light is going down a path and under BRI that is a channel. The applicant should amend to fully clarify the scope of what a “channel” is considered.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875