DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 18/069,687, filed December 21st, 2022, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. This application, while filed as a divisional of prior application no. 18/069,687, appears to actually be a continuation of the prior application. In this instance, this application does not claim only subject matter directed to an invention that is independent and distinct from that claimed in the prior application, but instead recites common subject matter already recited and examined in the prior application. Accordingly, this application appears to constitute a continuation application. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, subspecies of Figs. 1-3, in the reply filed on July 1st, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-21 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 1st, 2026.
Claims 1-6 will be examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 & 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2 should read “face of the lobe and is tangent”
Claim 6, line 2 should read “pairs of lobes
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by any one of Guibert US 2,845,031 to Guibert or JP 59-176487A to Obata (attached herein).
In regards to Claim 1, Guibert (as shown in Figs. 1-5) or Obata (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3-8) discloses:
A rotor pack (13/14 in Guibert; 1/2 in Obata) for a supercharger (this is an intended use limitation that does not limit the apparatus claim in any patentable sense; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim), the rotor pack comprising: a first rotor (13 in Guibert; 1 in Obata) and a second rotor (14 in Guibert; 2 in Obata) that include meshed lobes (15-19 & 20-24; col. 2, lines 10-18 & Fig. 1 in Guibert; A-D & E-G; Fig. 3 in Obata); a shaft (6, 7 in Guibert; not numbered in Obata, but clearly seen in Figs. 1-3) supporting each of the first rotor and the second rotor within an enclosing case; and a relief zone (31, 33 - see col. 2, lines 71- 72 to col. 3, lines 1-3 in Guibert; 4, 5 - see abstract and pages 1-2, para. [0001] in Obata) disposed at an intake airflow side (i.e. the flat end faces seen in Fig. 1 of Guibert; the flat end faces seen in Figs. 3-5 of Obata) of each lobe.
In regards to claim 2, Guibert or Obata discloses wherein the relief zone (31, 33 in Guibert; 4, 5 in Obata) is configured to allow additional airflow to enter the rotor pack. Note that the limitation "is configured to allow additional airflow to enter the rotor pack" is considered functional language. The use of the functional language only requires that the apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Guibert or Obata is capable of having the additional fluid/air flow into the first and second rotors, the prior art meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP §2114)).
In regards to claim 3, Guibert or Obata discloses wherein the relief zone (31, 33 in Guibert; 4, 5 in Obata) comprises a curved surface that includes a line of curvature (not numbered; however, clearly seen in Figs. 1 and 3 in Guibert and Figs. 3-5 in Obata).
In regards to claim 4, Guibert or Obata discloses wherein the line of curvature is tangent to a flat end face (i.e. the faces seen in Fig. 1 of Guibert; the faces seen in Figs. 3-5 of Obata) of the lobes and is tangent to a trailing surface of the lobe (15-19; 20-24 and Figs. 1 and 3 in Guibert; A-D; E-G and Figs. 3-5 in Obata).
In regards to claim 5, Guibert or Obata discloses wherein the relief zone (31, 33 in Guibert; 4, 5 in Obata) extends from a termination of a radial blend prior to a compression zone (34, 35 in Figs. 1 and 3 in Guibert; not numbered; however, the screw compressor obviously has a compression zone; Fig. 3 in Obata) to a termination of a radial seal of the lobe (15-19; 20- 24 in Guibert; A-D; E-G in Obata).
In regards to claim 6, Guibert or Obata discloses wherein the compression zone comprises a valley that is disposed between adjacent pairs of lobes (15-19; 20-24 in Guibert; A-D; E-G in Obata) comprising each of the first rotor (13 in Guibert; 1 in Obata) and the second rotor (14 in Guibert; 2 in Obata).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,350,286 to Kisi et al (Kisi hereinafter).
In regards to Claim 1, Kisi (as shown in Figs. 1-10) discloses:
A rotor pack (Fig. 1) for a supercharger (this is an intended use limitation that does not limit the apparatus claim in any patentable sense; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim), the rotor pack comprising: a first rotor (2) and a second rotor (3) that include meshed lobes (“helical convex teeth”; Abstract; also apparent in Fig. 1); a shaft supporting each of the first rotor and the second rotor within an enclosing case (1) (“rotatably mounted upon bearings in the casing” at col. 3, lines 47-49 clearly discloses bearings supporting shafts of the rotors); and a relief zone (6) disposed at an intake airflow side (8) of each lobe (Fig. 1; “Pressure exerted upon the liquid during the above stages is relieved via a passage between rotor tooth space 7 and a rotor tooth space 8 created by chamfer 6 and casing 1. During these stages, rotor tooth space 8 is in the intake process. The liquid is forced into rotor tooth space 8 eliminating the drastic rise of pressure due to the liquid compression phenomenon”; col. 6, lines 60-66).
In regards to claim 2, Kisi discloses wherein the relief zone (6) is configured to allow additional airflow to enter the rotor pack. Note that the limitation "is configured to allow additional airflow to enter the rotor pack" is considered functional language. The use of the functional language only requires that the apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Kisi is capable of having the additional fluid/air flow into the first and second rotors, the prior art meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP §2114)).
In regards to claim 3, Kisi discloses wherein the relief zone (6) comprises a curved surface that includes a line of curvature (20, 21; Fig. 3; see also curvatures in Figs. 7-8).
In regards to claim 4, Kisi discloses wherein the line of curvature is tangent to a flat end face (5; Fig. 1; see also Figs. 5-7; “the discharge end”; col. 7, lines 41-43) of the lobes and is tangent to a trailing surface of the lobe (best seen in Figs. 1-2).
In regards to claim 5, Kisi discloses wherein the relief zone (6) extends from a termination of a radial blend (20; Fig. 3) prior to a compression zone (“before the initiation of closing”) to a termination of a radial seal of the lobe (col. 7, lines 29-40).
In regards to claim 6, Kisi discloses wherein the compression zone comprises a valley that is disposed between adjacent pairs of lobes (valleys are clearly shown in Figs. 2-3 & 5) comprising each of the first rotor and the second rotor (Figs. 1-3).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,372,087. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent. In other words, the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the issued patent. Specifically, the patent and the instant application claim common subject matter as follows: a rotor pack, first and second rotors with meshed lobes, shafts, an enclosing case, relief zones disposed at air intake sides of each lobe, and all functional limitations associated with these common elements. Finally, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the previous application which matured into a patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See also US 2015/0118086 to Swartzlander, US 5,335,640 to Feuling, US 5,180,299 to Feuling, and US 4,390,331 to Nachtrieb, each of which discloses a rotor packs having similar structures to those recited by Applicant.
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC