DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO (US Pub. 2016/0297397) in view of GOLSCH (US Pub. 2023/0234538).
Regarding claim 1,
KO teaches a mobile device comprising:
a memory configured to store identification information of a vehicle and a digital key ([0014] teaches a smart key 100 can include a first storage unit 110; [0016] teaches first storage unit 110 can store a secret key for decoding a received low-frequency signal and/or a received high-frequency signal);
a communicator configured to communicate with the vehicle ([0014] teaches a first wireless receiving unit 130 and a first wireless transmitting unit 140); and
a processor (see first processing unit 120; [0052] and [0053] teach receipt by the key of a communication identification code of the vehicle, corresponding to an advertising signal, under broadest reasonable interpretation) configured to:
confirm channel hopping information and identification information of the vehicle of a data area of the packet ([0034] teaches that the second verifying module 14 can be further used to obtain the predefined communication identification code from the first storage unit 110, and compare the predefined communication identification code with the communication identification code of the vehicle 200; [0054] teaches at block 330, a second verifying module obtains a secret key from the first storage unit and obtaining the predefined communication identification code of the vehicle from the first storage unit, and compares the predefined communication identification code with the communication identification code, and determines whether the communication identification code matches with the predefined communication identification code), and
in response to the confirmed identification information of the vehicle being identical to the identification information of the vehicle stored in the memory, transmit information of a response signal through the any one channel (Fig. 3 and [0054] teaches comparing the predefined communication identification code with the communication identification code, determining whether the codes match, and if yes, the process goes to block 340 wherein the key transmits as response).
Ko fails to expressly teach that the mobile device includes a display device; that the vehicle and mobile device communicate via a plurality of preset channels and that the information received from the vehicle includes channel hopping data used to identify a channel for communication; and in response to receiving a communication connection signal form the vehicle, control the display device to display communication connection information.
GOLSCH teaches a mobile device comprising a display device(10 in fig. 1);
a communicator configured to communicate with the vehicle ([0063] teaches the portable device 10 can also include a computer-readable storage module or device);
a processor configured to: in response to receiving information of an advertising signal through any one of a plurality of preset channels([0114] teaches a communication gateway 29 and portable device 10 establish connections as governed by the Bluetooth core specification by way of one the devices advertising and the other device scanning, thus the vehicle may send the advertising signal via channel as recited), confirm a packet in the received information of the advertising signal ([0115] teaches that the link can be secured by checking against previously stored security information that was exchanged between the vehicle 30 and portable device 10. In [0114], [0115] GOLSCH teaches that the vehicle and portable device establish a connection wherein both devices follow a channel map and hopping scheme wherein the hopping map contains information needed to communicate on the correct frequency channel and time. Golsch further teaches identifying information such as the channel map, channel-hopping information, current/next channel and time information used for communicating ([0122][0123])); and
in response to receiving a communication connection signal form the vehicle, control the display device to display communication connection information ([0154] teaches that the system may operate in a manner wherein, following confirmation of channel hopping information, a scenario may arise wherein there is enough evidence to determine that some authorized device is nearby the door, but not enough evidence has been collected to reduce the false positives to a suitably low rate, an alert can be triggered to the user to confirm whether the doors should be unlocked. - said alert is interpreted as corresponding to the display of communication connection information as recited.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the system of KO so as to employ the channel-hopping communication technique taught by GOLSCH including providing channel-hopping information for determining a channel to be used for communication, for the purpose of enabling the vehicle and mobile device to communicate on the appropriate frequency channel at the appropriate time.
Regarding claim 2,
Golsch teaches an input device, wherein the processor is configured to transmit, to the vehicle, a control command corresponding to a user input received through the input device upon communication connection with the vehicle ([0157] teaches an alert button on a graphical user interface (GUI) can confirm a proposed action, such unlock a door, unlock a trunk, or start the vehicle. For example, when the user presses the unlock button on the door handle, an alert can be sent to the smartphone asking the user if they wish to unlock the door.)
Regarding claim 3,
Golsch teaches that the communicator is configured to perform Bluetooth communication, and wherein the plurality of preset channels includes a channel 37, a channel 38, and a channel 39 ([0065] teaches that the BLE chipset 41 is configured to take the channel map information and the timing signals and to tune the PHY controller 600 to a specific channel at a specific time; [0069] teaches that the BLE specification specifies the usage of forty communication channels, with three of the channels being known as “advertising” channels.)
Regarding claim 4,
Golsch teaches that the in response to receiving a relay attack detection event from the vehicle, the processor is configured to control the display device to display the received relay attack detection event ([0164] teaches that the user interface can graphically provide a visual indication of where the false positives are likely to be and practically what the false positive may cause e.g., by allowing a weaker RSSI to unlock a driver door, there is a risk that the user may be standing more than three meters from the passenger door and an attacker can sneak behind the user to gain access to the vehicle.)
Regarding claim 5,
Golsch teaches an input device, wherein the processor is configured to control execution of an application in response to receiving an execution command of the application through the input device ([0103] teaches detecting a user action such as the grabbing of a door handle or the pressing of a button as typically found in modern vehicles), and wherein the processor is configured to, in response to receiving an anti-theft release command through the input device during execution of the application, transmit the received anti-theft release command to the vehicle ([0007] teaches that actions comprise performing a vehicle function including at least one of unlocking a door of the vehicle, unlocking a trunk of the vehicle, and allowing the vehicle to be started based on the location of the portable device.)
Conclusion
/DIONNE PENDLETON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689