DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1,
“computing unit adapted to store pre-operative images”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (Pub. No.: US 2008/0013809).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu et al disclose an imaging and display system for guiding medical interventions comprising:
a display adapted to be worn by a user [see 0039] by disclosing the system includes a stereo LCD head mounted display (HMD) (201) that can be worn by a user [see 0039];
a detector (video camera) coupled to said display, said detector configured to capture intra- operative images from a target [see 0024, 0038] by disclosing video camera can be mounted on a head mounted display device to capture the images as seen by the eyes through the head mounted display device [see 0038];
a computing unit (computer 211) coupled to said display and to said detector, said computing unit adapted to store pre-operative images [see 0036, 0041, 0044, 0026-0027 and fig 2].
Regarding claim 2, Zhu et al disclose wherein said display presents said pre-operative image and said intra-operative (live video image) image simultaneously [see 0026-0027, 0040-0041] by disclosing a video image of the scene is captured and overlaid with graphics and/or images that are generated based on the pre-operative images [see 0040] and the images obtained from the video camera can be spatially correlated with the pre-operative images for the overlay of the video image with the pre-operative images [see 0027].
Regarding claim 3, Zhu et al disclose wherein said display presents said pre-operative image and said intra-operative image simultaneously as a composite, co-registered image on said display (HMD 1) [see 0026-0027, 0040-0041] by disclosing a video image of the scene is captured and overlaid with graphics and/or images that are generated based on the pre-operative images [see 0040] and the images obtained from the video camera can be spatially correlated with the pre-operative images for the overlay of the video image with the pre-operative images. [see 0027].
Regarding claim 4, Zhu et al disclose a communication interface (serial port) coupled to said computing unit (computer) to enable communication with at least one other display [see 0044, 0061-0062, fig 2].
Regarding claim 5, Zhu et al disclose a peripheral interface coupled to said computing unit (11), said peripheral interface (cable 119) adapted to communicate with one or more peripherals (microscope/tracking unit) [see figs 2-3, 0038-0039, 0044] by disclosing the tracking unit (207) and the microscope (203) communicate with the computer (211) via its serial port [see 0044].
Regarding claim 7, Zhu et al disclose a peripheral interface coupled to said computing device, said peripheral interface (cable 119) adapted to communicate with one or more peripherals (microscope/tracking unit) [see 0044, fig 2];
wherein said one or more peripherals comprises an imaging system selected from the group consisting of:
an ultrasound imager [see 0026].
Regarding claim 9, Zhu et al disclose a peripheral interface coupled to said computing device, said peripheral interface (cable 119) adapted to communicate with one or more peripherals (microscope/tracking unit) [see 0044, fig 2];
wherein said peripheral comprises a tracking system selected from the group consisting of:
an optical tracking system [see 0029, 0042], an electromagnetic tracking system, a radio frequency tracking system, a gyroscope tracking system, a video tracking system [see fig 2, 0029-0030], an acoustic tracking system, and a mechanical tracking system.
Regarding claim 10, Zhu et al disclose wherein the movement of said detector (video camera) is configured to be tracked by said tracking system [see 0024, 0041];
, such that the position of said intra-operative image captured by said detector is adjusted to maintain registration with said pre-operative image.
Regarding claim 11, Zhu et al disclose wherein said one or more peripherals comprises a tracking system and an imaging or sensing probe [see 0025-0027, 0042];
said probe capturing imaging or sensing data for composite presentation with said intra-operative image and said pre-operative image on said display [see 0026-0027]
Regarding claim 12, Zhu et al disclose wherein said probe comprises an in-vivo microscopy probe [see 0026, fig 1]
Regarding claim 13, Zhu et al disclose wherein the movement of said in-vivo microscopy probe is configured to be tracked by said tracking system, such that the position of said probe is presented on said display [see 0025-0026, 0041-0042] by disclosing representation of the probe is overlaid on the scanned image of the patient based on the current spatial relation between the patient and the probe [see 0025].
Regarding claim 14, Zhu et al disclose wherein said display comprises a stereoscopic display [see 0039, 0046] by disclosing the system includes a stereo LCD head mounted display (HMD) (201) [see 0039].
Regarding claim 18, Zhu et al disclose wherein said pre-operative images comprise tomographic images (because tomographic imaging refers to a technique used to create detailed images of specific sections of an object, often utilizing penetrating waves such as X-rays to produce cross-sectional images a method that provides high-resolution images of biological tissues, emphasis added) [see 0026].
Regarding claim 19, Zhu et al disclose wherein said pre-operative images comprise 3D models processed from pre-operative tomographic data (because tomographic imaging refers to a technique used to create detailed images of specific sections of an object, often utilizing penetrating waves such as X-rays to produce cross-sectional images a method that provides high-resolution images of biological tissues, emphasis added) [see 0023, 0026, 0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Pub. No.: US 2008/0013809) in view of Boppart et al (US Pat: 6, 485, 413)
Regarding claim 6, Zhu et al disclose a peripheral interface coupled to said computing device, said peripheral interface (cable 119) adapted to communicate with one or more peripherals (microscope/tracking unit) [see 0044, fig 2];
Zhu et al don’t disclose wherein said peripheral comprises a microscope (in vivo, hand-held or conventional) selected from the group consisting of: a fiber microscope, a handheld microscope, a color microscope, a reflectance microscope, a fluorescence microscope, an oxygen-saturation microscope, a polarization microscope, an infrared microscope, an interference microscope, a phase contrast microscope, a differential interference contrast microscope, a hyperspectral microscope, a total internal reflection fluorescence microscope, a confocal microscope, a non-linear microscope, a 2-photon microscope, a second-harmonic generation microscope, a super-resolution microscope, a photoacoustic microscope, a structured light microscope, a 4Pi microscope, a stimulated emission depletion microscope, a stochastic optical reconstruction microscope, an ultrasound microscope, and combinations thereof.
Nonetheless, Boppart et al disclose a confocal microscope [see column 8 lines 43-49] by disclosing two-photon, multi-photon, confocal microscopes [see column 8 lines 43-49].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Zhu et al and Boppart et al by using confocal microscope; because Confocal microscopes provide higher resolution images compared to conventional wide-field microscopes. They achieve this by using a focused laser beam to illuminate a specific point in the sample, which minimizes out-of-focus light and enhances image clarity; confocal microscopy has the ability to perform optical sectioning. This allows researchers to capture thin slices of a specimen at various depths, enabling the reconstruction of three-dimensional images. This is particularly useful for studying complex biological structures and cellular interactions.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Pub. No.: US 2008/0013809) in view of Mahadevan-Jansen et al (Pub. No.: US 2012/0010483).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu et al disclose a peripheral interface coupled to said computing device, said peripheral interface (cable 119) adapted to communicate with one or more peripherals (microscope/tracking unit) [see 0044, fig 2];
Zhu et al don’t disclose wherein said peripheral comprises a spectrometer selected from the group consisting of: an optical spectrometer, an absorption spectrometer, a fluorescence spectrometer, a Raman spectrometer, a coherent anti-stokes Raman spectrometer, a surface-enhanced Raman spectrometer, a Fourier transform spectrometer, a Fourier transform infrared spectrometer (FTIR), a diffuse reflectance spectrometer, a multiplex or frequency-modulated spectrometer, an X-ray spectrometer, an attenuated total reflectance spectrometer, an electron paramagnetic spectrometer, an electron spectrometer, a gamma-ray spectrometer, an acoustic resonance spectrometer, an auger spectrometer, a cavity ring down auger spectrometer, a circular dichroism auger spectrometer, a cold vapour atomic fluorescence auger spectrometer, a correlation spectrometer, a deep-level transient spectrometer, a dual polarization interferometry, an EPR spectrometer, a force spectrometer, a Hadron spectrometer, a Baryon spectrometer, a meson spectrometer, an inelastic electron tunneling spectrometer (IETS), a laser-induced breakdown 5 spectrometer (LIBS), a mass spectrometer, a Méssbauer spectrometer, a neutron spin echo spectrometer, a photoacoustic spectrometer, a photoemission spectrometer, a photothermal spectrometer, a pump-probe spectrometer, a Raman optical activity spectrometer, a saturated spectrometer, a scanning tunneling spectrometer, a spectrophotometry spectrometer, time- resolved spectrometer, a time-stretch spectrometer, a thermal infrared spectrometer, an ultraviolet photoelectron spectrometer (UPS), a video spectrometer, a vibrational circular dichroism spectrometer, and an X-ray photoelectron spectrometer (XPS).
Nonetheless, Mahadevan-Jansen et al disclose a fluorescence spectrometer [see claims 10, 40] and head mountable detector [see 0088].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Zhu et al and Mahadevan-Jansen et al by using fluorescence spectrometer; the method is non-destructive and selective, providing a reliable way to analyze complex mixtures without altering the sample.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Pub. No.: US 2008/0013809) in view of Mihailescu et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0237811).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu et al don’t disclose a stereoscopic detector.
Nonetheless, Mihailescu et al disclose a stereoscopic detector [see 0226] by disclosing the user wear a head mounted tracking and visualization system (HMTV) 1603, which comprises a camera system and this camera system can comprise a stereoscopic structured light system [see 0226, 0228, 0181].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Zhu et al and Mihailescu et al by using a stereoscopic detector; because stereotactic imaging refers to the capability of an imaging system to identify, label and register anatomical features of interest in 3-D so that follow up medical interventions and investigations can use those same 3-D coordinates to precisely guide medical instruments, or for re-evaluations. A stereotactic ultrasound instrument in accordance with an embodiment can be able to label features of interest in 3-D and register them in respect to anatomical landmarks so that follow-up investigations can easily use those coordinates to re-evaluate various medical conditions [see 0069, Mihailescu et al].
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Pub. No.: US 2008/0013809) in view of Balicki et al (Pub. No.: US 2012/0226150)
Regarding claim 16, Zhu et al don’t disclose wherein said display presents a plurality of different imaging or sensing data in a picture-in-picture format.
Nonetheless, Balicki et al disclose wherein said display presents a plurality of different imaging or sensing data in a picture-in-picture format [see 0022] by disclosing the information can be displayed as a picture-in-picture in the same screen as the real time surgical video feed or on a separate screen [see 0022] and he display could be, or include, head mounted displays [see 0038].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Zhu et al and Balicki et al by having the display presents a plurality of different imaging or sensing data in a picture-in-picture format; because the Picture-in-Picture (PiP) format offers several advantages for users, especially in a multitasking environment; PiP allows users to watch videos while performing other tasks, such as browsing or working on documents, without sacrificing screen real estate; PiP helps users maintain focus on the content they are watching, reducing distractions and improving productivity and the PiP window can be resized and repositioned, allowing users to customize their viewing experience based on their needs.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Pub. No.: US 2008/0013809) in view of Martin et al (Pub. No.: US 2009/0234225)
Regarding claim 17, Zhu et al don’t disclose wherein said detector is configured to detect one or more types of said intra-operative images selected from the group consisting of: a fluorescence image, a reflectance image, a color image, a light absorption image, a light scattering image, an oxygenation saturation image, a polarization image, a thermal image, an infrared image, a hyperspectral image, a light field image, a fluorescence lifetime image, a bioluminescence image, a Cerenkov image, a phosphorescence hyperspectral image, a spectroscopic image, a chemilluminescence image and a scintillation image.
Nonetheless, Martin et al disclose fluorescence image [see 0046-0047, 0114 and fig 12].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Zhu et al and Martin et al by using fluorescence image; it allows for the observation of live cells without the need for toxic staining processes, preserving cellular dynamics; Fluorescence imaging can produce multicolor images, allowing for the simultaneous identification of multiple overlapping structures within the same sample and unlike traditional microscopy, fluorescence imaging does not damage the sample, allowing for repeated imaging and analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kritt et al (Pub. No.: US 2010/0079676)..
Regarding claim 20, a plurality of goggles (shutter glasses/ scanner devices 1010) [see fig 10, 0077], each including:
a stereoscopic display for viewing by the eyes of one wearing the goggle [see fig 10],
a stereoscopic detector (gateway 1046)) coupled to said stereoscopic display [see fig 10],
said detector having a field of view and projecting an image within that field of view onto said display [see fig 10],
a communication interface (wireless network) linking each of said plurality of goggles to communicate with each other [see fig 10].
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798