Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " display size of the first display device and display size of the second display device meet the same condition”. Claim 3 requires: “the first display device” and “the second display device”. Claim 7 has “the second display device” also without a disclosure of a first. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 also requires “meet the same condition” is also found indefinite as not specifying what the condition is. As best understood, it is the preceding limitation of “plate-shaped” and for purposes of this Office Action will be interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US Pat. 7308733) in view of Kim et al. (US App. 20150103014).
In regard to Claim 1, An teaches an electronic device (see at least Abstract) comprising: a first body, the first body having a first side and a second side opposite the first sides (see Figs. 1A-2A and 8 laptop with dual hinge); a second body, the second body being connected to the first body through a connecting device to change a relative position of the first body and the second body (see Figs. 1A-2A laptop with dual hinge); a first interactive device (see Fig. 1A, keyboard 3).
An is not relied upon to teach and a second interactive device at least partially unblocked by the first body and the second body, wherein when the first interactive device is blocked by the first body, the second interactive device is not blocked.
An as discussed above does disclose the concept of wherein when the first interactive device is blocked by the first body (See Figs. 1A-2A closed folded laptop mode).
However, Kim teaches and a second interactive device at least partially unblocked by the first body and the second body, wherein when the first interactive device is blocked by the first body, the second interactive device is not blocked (see Figs. 12 and 23 and Para. 120 where camera 511 is rotatably mounted to be unblocked by the folded mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the rotatable camera of Kim to photograph subject located at various positions (See Para. 340 and 343).
Regarding claim 2, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1. An further teaches wherein: the first body and the second body are both plate-shaped (see Figs. 1A-2A); the second body includes a third side and a fourth side, the first interactive device being disposed on the third side (see Figs. 1A-2A keyboard); the connecting device includes a first component and a second component, the first component connecting a first end of the first body and a second end of the second body for the first body to rotate around a first reference line, the second component connecting the first end of the first body and the second end of the second body for the first body to rotate around a second reference line, wherein: the first reference line and a third side of the second body satisfy are parallel, and the second reference line are perpendicular to the first reference line and are parallel with the first side of the first body (see Figs. 8, 10A-11B, 14A describing dual axis hinge).
An is not relied upon to teach display size of the first display device and display size of the second display device meet the same condition.
However, Kim teaches display size of the first display device and display size of the second display device meet the same condition (see Figs. 1 and 23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the multi displays of Kim for convenience and new experiences (See Para. 9-10).
Regarding claim 4, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1. An further teaches a first display device disposed on the first side, including a first display unit set (see Fig. 1A). An is not relied upon to teach the display device being configured to present an image, the first display unit set being configured to present three or more colors; and a second display device having a different display principle from the first display device, the second display device being disposed on the second side and including a light-emitting unit and a second display unit set.
However, Kim teaches the display device being configured to present an image, the first display unit set being configured to present three or more colors (Para. 225 -227 RGB OLEDs for image frame); and a second display device having a different display principle from the first display device (see Para. 235 LCD), the second display device being disposed on the second side and including a light-emitting unit and a second display unit set (see Fig. 1 and 23 two displays).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the multi displays of Kim for convenience and new experiences (See Para. 9-10).
Regarding claim 8, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kim further teaches a processing module (see Para. 5, CPU), the processing module being configured to obtain an input operation based on input from the second interactive device and perform a control operation corresponding to the input operation (see Para. 18 and Fig. 23 camera to display picture).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the camera of Kim to photograph subject located at various positions (See Para. 340 and 343).
Regarding claim 13, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 12.
An further teaches wherein: the first display device is disposed on the first side, includes a first display unit set (see Fig. 1A). An is not relied upon to teach. and is configured to present an image; and the second display device is disposed on the second side and includes a light-emitting unit and a second display unit set; wherein:the first display unit set is configured to present three or more colors; andthe second display device has a different display principle from the first display device.
However, Kim teaches and is configured to present an image (Para. 225 -227 RGB OLEDs for image frame); and the second display device is disposed on the second side and includes a light-emitting unit and a second display unit set (see Fig. 1); wherein:the first display unit set is configured to present three or more colors (Para. 225 -227 RGB OLEDs for image frame); and the second display device has a different display principle from the first display device (see Para. 235 LCD).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the multi displays of Kim for convenience and new experiences (See Para. 9-10).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US Pat. 7308733) in view of Kim et al. (US App. 20150103014) in further view of Loxley et al. (US App. 20160246155 hereinafter “Lox”).
Regarding claim 5, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 4. An and Kim are not relied upon to teach wherein the first display unit set includes one of:a plurality of first display units, a first display unit including at least three types of charged particles, different charged particles having different color attributes, wherein distribution of the at least three types of charged particles in the first display unit is controlled by applying a voltage to the first display unit for the first display unit to exhibit at least three colors; or,a plurality of first display unit groups, a first display unit group including at least three first display units and filter films covering the first display units, the first display unit including two different colors of charged particles, the colors of the filter films covered on different first display units in the first display unit group being different, wherein light color mixed by the filterfilms on at least three first display units in the first display unit group changes after being illuminated by light from outside the electronic device by applying a voltage to each first display unit in the first display unit group and controlling the distribution of the two different colors of charged particles in each first display unit.
However, Lox teaches wherein the first display unit set includes one of:a plurality of first display units, a first display unit including at least three types of charged particles, different charged particles having different color attributes (see Figs. 1a-3d), wherein distribution of the at least three types of charged particles in the first display unit is controlled by applying a voltage to the first display unit for the first display unit to exhibit at least three colors (see Figs. 6a-6d and Fig. 9 and at least Para. 58 applied voltage bias);
or,a plurality of first display unit groups, a first display unit group including at least three first display units and filter films covering the first display units, the first display unit including two different colors of charged particles, the colors of the filter films covered on different first display units in the first display unit group being different, wherein light color mixed by the filterfilms on at least three first display units in the first display unit group changes after being illuminated by light from outside the electronic device by applying a voltage to each first display unit in the first display unit group and controlling the distribution of the two different colors of charged particles in each first display unit.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the multi displays of Kim with the colored particles of Lox for proper brightness (see Para. 13 and 14). Examiner also notes An as modified by Kim discloses the base product/process of a dual sided display while Lox teaches the known technique of colored particles in an electrophoretic display so as to yield predictable results of color/image generation in the electrophoretic portion of the dual display device of An as modified by Kim.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US Pat. 7308733) in view of Kim et al. (US App. 20150103014) in further view of Hung et al. (US App. 20220269311).
Regarding claim 6, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein: the second interactive device is disposed on the third side of the second body and is close to the first edge of the third side connected to the connecting device (see Fig. 23).
An and Kim are not relied upon to teach and an opening for accommodating the second interactive device is formed on the second side of the first body connected to the connecting device.
However, Hung teaches and an opening for accommodating the second interactive device is formed on the second side of the first body connected to the connecting device (see Figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the multi displays of Kim with interactive device location of Hung to reduce the bezel (see Para. 31).
Claim(s) 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US Pat. 7308733) in view of Kim et al. (US App. 20150103014) in further view of Kim et al. (US App. 20220113763 hereinafter referred to as “Kim2”).
Regarding claim 7, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
An and Kim are not relied upon to teach wherein: the second interactive device includes a third display device for displaying state information of the electronic device or at least one operation control.
However, Kim2 teaches wherein: the second interactive device includes a third display device for displaying state information of the electronic device or at least one operation control (see Figs. 4 and 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the multi displays of Kim with third display of Kim2 for convenient use (see Para. 5)
Regarding claim 9, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 8.
An and Kim are not relied upon to teach wherein the processing module is configured to: determine that the first display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output of the first display device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device; and/or determine that the second display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output parameters of the electronic device based onthe input operation input to the second interactive device, the output parameters including audio output parameters of the electronic device or display parameters of the second display device.
However, Kim2 teaches wherein the processing module is configured to: determine that the first display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output of the first display device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device; and/or determine that the second display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output parameters of the electronic device based onthe input operation input to the second interactive device, the output parameters including audio output parameters of the electronic device or display parameters of the second display device (see Figs. 4 and 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the modes of Kim with third display of Kim2 for convenient use (see Para. 5)
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US Pat. 7308733) in view of Kim et al. (US App. 20150103014) in further view of Kilpatrick II et al. (US Pat. 8803816 hereinafter referred to as “Kilp”).
Regarding claim 10, An and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 8.
An and Kim are not relied upon to teach a first processing module and a second processing module, the first processing module being configured to run a first operating system and execute display control of the first display device or the second display device based on the first operating system, the second processing module being configured to run a second operating system and execute display control of the first display device or the second display device based on the second operating system, wherein: the processing module is a third processing module, the third processing module being configured to run a third operating system and execute control operations corresponding to the input operation based on the third operating system, the third operating system being the first operating system, or the third operating system being an operating system other than the first operating system and the second operating system.
However, Kilp teaches a first processing module and a second processing module, the first processing module being configured to run a first operating system and execute display control of the first display device or the second display device based on the first operating system, the second processing module being configured to run a second operating system and execute display control of the first display device or the second display device based on the second operating system, wherein: the processing module is a third processing module, the third processing module being configured to run a third operating system and execute control operations corresponding to the input operation based on the third operating system, the third operating system being the first operating system, or the third operating system being an operating system other than the first operating system and the second operating system (see Fig. 24 3 discrete devices with processors, memory, and operating systems).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the modes of Kim and separately connectable displays of Kilp for portability and convenience (see Col. 1, Ln 35-45).
In regard to Claim 12, An teaches an electronic device (see at least Abstract) comprising: a first body, the first body having a first side and a second side opposite the first sides (see Figs. 1A-2A and 8 laptop with dual hinge);; a second body, the second body being connected to the first body through a connecting device to change a relative position of the first body and the second body (see Figs. 1A-2A and 8 laptop with dual hinge); a first interactive device (see Fig. 1A, keyboard 3).
An is not relied upon to teach a second interactive device at least partially unblocked by the first body and the second body, wherein when the first interactive device is blocked by the first body, the second interactive device is not blocked; a first display device; a second display device; and a processing module configured to: obtain an input operation based on input from the second interactive device; determine that the first display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output of the first display device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device; and/or determine that the second display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output parameters of the electronic device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device, the output parameters including audio output parameters of the electronic device or display parameters of the second display device.
As discussed above, An does disclose the concept of wherein when the first interactive device is blocked by the first body (See Figs. 1A-2A closed folded laptop mode blocks keyboard).
However, Kim teaches a second interactive device at least partially unblocked by the first body and the second body, the second interactive device is not blocked; a first display device; a second display device; and a processing module configured to:obtain an input operation based on input from the second interactive device (see Figs. 12 and 23 and Para. 120 where camera 511 is rotatably mounted to be unblocked by the folded mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the rotatable camera of Kim to photograph subject located at various positions (See Para. 340 and 343).
An and Kim are not relied upon to teach determine that the first display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output of the first display device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device; and/ordetermine that the second display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output parameters of the electronic device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device, the output parameters including audio output parameters of the electronic device or display parameters of the second display device.
However, Kilp teaches determine that the first display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output of the first display device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device (see Col. 13, Ln 30-65 position of hinges in multi-fold determines orientation and operation); and/ordetermine that the second display device is in the working state based on the mode in which the electronic device is in, and adjust output parameters of the electronic device based on the input operation input to the second interactive device, the output parameters including audio output parameters of the electronic device or display parameters of the second display device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of An with the rotatable camera of Kim with different orientation configurations of Kilp to enable varying user interfaces (See Col. 13, Ln 30-65). Examiner also notes An and Kim discloses the base product/process of dual axis hinged displays while Kilp teaches the known technique of tracking hinge orientation to change the display so as to yield predictable results of changing display images in the display device of An as modified by Kim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are allowed.
Claims 3, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming any rejections under 35 USC 112.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Chang et al. (US App. 20120243165) and Anlauff (US App. 20040114315).
/MATTHEW YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625