DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 02/26/2026.
Applicant amended claims 1-9 in the preliminary amendment. Claims 10-16 are newly added.
Claims 1-16 present for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 08/11/2025 and 04/01/2026 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, “A MAC migration” should be “A media access control (MAC) migration”;
Claims 15 and 16 use acronyms without stating what the acronyms stand for or represent. For example, claim 15 recites “UMR” in line 2. It should read “Unknown MAC Route (UMR)”. This needs to be done for each first occurrence of an acronym in the Claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, claim limitation recites “the advertisement” in claim 2, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the advertisement” is referring to “an advertisement” in claim 4, line 2, or to “an advertisement” in claim 5, line 2, or to a different/distinct advertisement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andhe (US 2022/0247679 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Andhe discloses
A MAC migration method, comprising:
when a conflict between a first media access control (MAC) route and a second MAC route is detected, selecting one of the first MAC route or the second MAC route as an optimal MAC route ([0034]: the ND 103C determines that there is already a route installed in the ND 103C for the ND 102 and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 102; for example, when the first route installed for ND 102 is the initial route learnt and installed for this ND (i.e., no other route was installed before the first route), there might not be any MAC mobility attribute associated with the first route, in that case the sequence number transmitted with the second route has a value of 1; alternatively, if the first route is not the initial route installed for ND 102, this route may already have an associated sequence number and the sequence number transmitted with the second route equals the previous sequence number increased by 1; further, ND 103C selects the local route as a best path for reaching ND 102 and installs the route);
generating a MAC migration attribute for the optimal MAC route, and increasing a sequence number in the MAC migration attribute by a value to obtain a first sequence number ([0034]: the ND 103C may also transmit a MAC mobility attribute associated with the second route; the MAC mobility attribute is indicative of the order of advertisement of the routes for the ND 102; the ND 103C determines that there is already a route installed in the ND 103C for the ND 102 and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 102; for example, when the first route installed for ND 102 is the initial route learnt and installed for this ND (i.e., no other route was installed before the first route), there might not be any MAC mobility attribute associated with the first route, in that case the sequence number transmitted with the second route has a value of 1);
advertising the optimal MAC route including the MAC migration attribute ([0034]: the ND 103C determines that there is already a route installed in the ND 103C for the ND 102 and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 102; for example, when the first route installed for ND 102 is the initial route learnt and installed for this ND (i.e., no other route was installed before the first route), there might not be any MAC mobility attribute associated with the first route, in that case the sequence number transmitted with the second route has a value of 1); and
receiving a withdrawal request of the first MAC route, and determining to use the optimal MAC route ([0038]: causing the first network device to request withdrawal of the first MAC/IP route).
Regarding claim 2, Andhe discloses the MAC migration method as described in claim 1. Andhe further discloses
when the conflict between the first MAC route and the second MAC route is detected, selecting the first MAC route as the optimal MAC route ([0034]: ND 103C selects the local route as a best path for reaching ND 102 and installs the route); and
after advertising the optimal MAC route including the MAC migration attribute, the method further comprises:
receiving a third MAC route, wherein a second sequence number in a MAC migration attribute of the third MAC route is obtained by increasing the first sequence number by a value ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112);
determining that the second sequence number is greater than the first sequence number of the optimal MAC route ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112; & [0062]: upon determining that the first MAC/IP route is associated with the first sequence number, the ND 113E determines whether the second sequence number is greater than the first sequence number; responsive to determining that the second sequence number is greater than the first sequence number, the ND 113E selects the second MAC/IP route as the best route for the customer network device);
advertising the third MAC route ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112); and
receiving the withdrawal request of the first MAC route, and determining to use the third MAC route ([0048]: upon receipt of the second MAC/IP route for ND 112, the ND 113A transmits a request to withdraw the first MAC/IP route for ND 11; the message causes ND 113E to remove the first MAC/IP route for ND 112).
Regarding claim 3, Andhe discloses the MAC migration method as described in claim 1. Andhe further discloses
receiving a fourth MAC route, wherein a third sequence number in a MAC migration attribute of the fourth MAC route is obtained by increasing the first sequence number by a value ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112); and
upon determining that the third sequence number is greater than the first sequence number of the optimal MAC route, withdrawing the optimal MAC route ([0048]: upon receipt of the second MAC/IP route for ND 112, the ND 113A transmits a request to withdraw the first MAC/IP route for ND 11; the message causes ND 113E to remove the first MAC/IP route for ND 112; & [0062]: upon determining that the first MAC/IP route is associated with the first sequence number, the ND 113E determines whether the second sequence number is greater than the first sequence number; responsive to determining that the second sequence number is greater than the first sequence number, the ND 113E selects the second MAC/IP route as the best route for the customer network device).
Regarding claim 4, Andhe discloses
A media access control (MAC) migration method, comprising:
learning of an advertisement, wherein the advertisement indicates an optimal media access control (MAC) route, and a MAC migration attribute of the optimal MAC route includes a first sequence number determined by increasing a sequence number by a value ([0034]: the ND 103C determines that there is already a route installed in the ND 103C for the ND 102 and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 102; for example, when the first route installed for ND 102 is the initial route learnt and installed for this ND (i.e., no other route was installed before the first route), there might not be any MAC mobility attribute associated with the first route, in that case the sequence number transmitted with the second route has a value of 1); and
upon determining that the first sequence number is greater than a sequence number corresponding to a locally stored first MAC route, sending a withdrawal request, wherein the withdrawal request is used to withdraw the first MAC route ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112; & [0062]: upon determining that the first MAC/IP route is associated with the first sequence number, the ND 113E determines whether the second sequence number is greater than the first sequence number; responsive to determining that the second sequence number is greater than the first sequence number, the ND 113E selects the second MAC/IP route as the best route for the customer network device; & [0048]: upon receipt of the second MAC/IP route for ND 112, the ND 113A transmits a request to withdraw the first MAC/IP route for ND 11; the message causes ND 113E to remove the first MAC/IP route for ND 112).
Regarding claim 5, Andhe discloses the media access control (MAC) migration method as described in claim 4. Andhe further discloses
learning of an advertisement, wherein the advertisement indicates a third MAC route, and a second sequence number in a MAC migration attribute of the third MAC route is obtained by increasing the first sequence number by a value ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112); and
upon determining that the second sequence number is greater than the sequence number corresponding to the locally stored first MAC route, sending the withdrawal request, wherein the withdrawal request is used to withdraw the first MAC route ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112; & [0048]: the subset of network devices, ND 113A, ND 113B, and ND 113D, includes the first network device ND 113A from which the first MAC/IP route originated causing the first network device 113A to request withdrawal of the first MAC/IP route upon receipt of the second MAC/IP route).
Regarding claim 6, Andhe discloses the media access control (MAC) migration method as described in claim 4. Andhe further discloses
obtaining, through re-learning, a fourth MAC route and generating a MAC migration attribute for the fourth MAC route, wherein a third sequence number in the MAC migration attribute is obtained by increasing the first sequence number by a value ([0045]: the ND 113C determines that there is already a route installed for the ND 102, the first MAC/IP route, and transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attributes that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112); and
sending the fourth MAC route ([0045]: transmits the second route with a MAC mobility attribute that includes a sequence number that is greater than the sequence number associated with the route previously installed for the ND 112).
Regarding claims 7-9, the limitations of claims 7-9 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-3 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 10, Andhe discloses the MAC migration method as described in claim 1. Andhe further discloses
when the conflict between the first MAC route and the second MAC route is detected, selecting the second MAC route as the optimal MAC route ([0062]: the ND 113E selects the second MAC/IP route as the best route for the customer network device).
Regarding claim 11, Andhe discloses the MAC migration method as described in claim 1. Andhe further discloses
an initial value of the sequence number in the MAC migration attribute is 0 ([0045]: when the first route installed for ND 112 is the initial route learnt and installed for this ND, there might not be any MAC mobility attribute associated with the first route).
Regarding claim 12, Andhe discloses the MAC migration method as described in claim 1. Andhe further discloses
increasing the sequence number in the MAC migration attribute by a value comprises increasing the sequence number by 1 ([0045]: if the first route is not the initial route installed for ND 112, this route may already have an associated MAC mobility attribute including a respective sequence number and the sequence number transmitted with the second route equals the previous sequence number increased by 1).
Regarding claim 13, Andhe discloses the MAC migration method as described in claim 1. Andhe further discloses
advertising the optimal MAC route comprises advertising the optimal MAC route to all edge devices in a campus network ([0059]: the ND 113E installs the second MAC/IP route as the best route for the customer network device 112, and transmits the second MAC/IP route to a second subset of the network devices including a first network device from which the first MAC/IP route originated, causing the first network device to request withdrawal of the first MAC/IP route).
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 10 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 15, Andhe discloses the first device as described in claim 7. Andhe further discloses
the first device is a border device in a campus network in which a UMR is used (FIG. 2A: ND 112; & [0039]: the network 110 includes a set of access NDs 113A-E and ND 112).
Regarding claim 16, Andhe discloses the first device as described in claim 7. Andhe further discloses
the first device is an access leaf node in a metropolitan area network in which a UMR is used (FIG. 2A: ND 112 is leaf node of ND 113C; & [0039]: the network 110 includes a set of access NDs 113A-E and ND 112).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2022/0078046 A1). The first route is a UMR, and forward the UMR to the first customer edge network device, to finally send, by using the third network device, the packet from the first user-side device to the second user-side device connected to the second network device ([0013]).
Kumura et al. (US 2008/0069043 A1). Determine the most optimal transmission path/paths; the transmission sequence number is incremented up one number at a time for each time slot.
Nanivadekar et al. (US 2022/0021649 A1). The stream identifier may be generated by incrementing a value for each new connection, or may be created based on attributes of the given connection, such as by combining the source IP address, destination IP address, source port, destination port, and protocol ([0045]).
Kaylee Huang
09/01/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447