DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments and remarks filed 12/05/2025.
Claims 1-13 and 15 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Longhouse in US Patent 3937192 (hereinafter “Longhouse”).
Regarding claim 1, Longhouse discloses an axial fan with a nozzle 54 and with a rotatable impeller which has freely ending blades 24 forming blade tips, wherein the nozzle forms a main flow duct which connects an inflow side of the fan (left side of Fig. 4) to an outflow side of the fan (right side of Fig. 4) and defines a main flow direction as a result, wherein the nozzle 54 surrounds the impeller, wherein the nozzle 54 does not corotate with the impeller, wherein there is a bypass duct 64 present which forms a flow connection from an outflow-side surrounding area of the nozzle into an inflow-side region of the main flow duct for the purpose of returning outflow-side air into the main flow duct of the nozzle, wherein the bypass duct opens in the main flow direction in a region of free ends of the blades of the impeller into the main flow duct (the bypass duct may be said to “open” to the main flow after the axial end of the nozzle 52, which is a “region” of the blade tips), and wherein the bypass duct opens in the main flow direction adjacently downstream of the blade tips of the impeller into the main flow duct (the bypass duct may be said to “open” to the main flow at the axial end of the nozzle 54, which is just downstream of the blades).
Regarding claim 2, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein the bypass duct has the same inflow direction as the main flow duct when opening into the main flow duct (Fig. 4; left to right).
Regarding claim 5, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein the axial fan has a carrier part, on which the impeller is arranged rotatably and on which the nozzle is arranged in a stationary manner, and wherein the bypass duct is formed between a wall of the carrier part and a wall of the nozzle (as Longhouse is directed to an automotive fan, the implied vehicle chassis could be considered a “carrier part” such that claim 5 is anticipated because the bypass duct 64 is between the vehicle chassis and nozzle 54).
Regarding claim 9, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein the bypass duct is of all-round formation (its an annular body of revolution).
Regarding claim 10, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein the bypass duct is formed to be multiple times smaller in terms of a flow length and a cross section of the bypass duct than the main flow duct (here, if the flow length of the bypass duct is considered to be only the space between member 64 and 54, then it is much smaller than the cross section of the main flow duct and has an axial length much shorter than that of the main flow duct).
Regarding claim 11, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein the bypass duct 64 has an inlet opening which has a greater cross section than an outlet opening of the bypass duct (Fig. 4; see the bell mouth shape).
Regarding claim 12, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein the bypass duct forms an arc before opening into the main flow duct (Fig. 4; see the bell mouth shape).
Regarding claim 13, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein the nozzle 54 tapers at least in its inlet-side region towards the outflow side (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Longhouse discloses the axial fan according to Claim 13, wherein the nozzle tapers over an entire length of the nozzle towards the outflow side (as the inlet has a larger cross section than the outlet, the nozzle may be considered to “taper over an entire length”; Applicant might consider refining this language to overcome a rejection based on Longhouse alone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longhouse alone.
Regarding claim 4, Longhouse cannot be considered to disclose a motor upstream of the equivalent nozzle. At best Longhouse can be said to disclose a motor downstream of the nozzle. However, simply reversing the mounting of a fan so it blows one way and not the other would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Particularly in automotives, it is known to employ accessory fans for cooling various components. Positioning a fan driven by a motor so that the direction of air flow either blows towards the motor (fan and nozzle upstream of the motor) or away from the motor (fan and nozzle downstream of the motor) would have been an obvious consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art with the motivation to direct airflow to different components to achieve a particularly desired cooling effect and arrive at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Claims 3 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the art of record is silent to the axial fan according to Claim 1, wherein, when opening into the main flow duct, the bypass duct forms a step-free extension of an inner wall, following in the main flow direction, of the nozzle. Longhouse, applied above and considered the closest art of record, comprises a bypass duct that is separate from and not an extension of the nozzle.
Regarding claims 6-8, Longhouse, applied above and considered the closest art of record, is silent to the axial fan according to Claim 5, wherein the wall of the carrier part and the wall of the nozzle have the same orientation and inclination when opening into the bypass duct. While Longhouse may be broadly considered to disclose a carrier, or just a vehicle chassis, that structure fails to meet the carrier part structure required of claim 6. Claims 7-8 depend on claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELDON T BROCKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799