Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordbruch (US2017/0320529A1) in view of Park et al. (US2019/0054966A1), hereinafter Nordbruch and Park respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Nordbruch teaches a system, comprising: an inspection facility that inspects a vehicle that is travelable by unmanned driving (see at least [0025] “In one specific embodiment, it is provided that during its driving operation, the vehicle drives to one or multiple test facility(ies) for the purpose of one or multiple vehicle test(s) being carried out. This yields the technical advantage in particular that the vehicle may be efficiently tested since there is no need to provide a human driver for a driving operation to the test facilities in this case either. The vehicle drives autonomously or remotely controlled to the one test facility or to the multiple test facilities.”).
Examiner interprets that inspection facility is encompassed at least by one test facility or to the multiple test facilities.
Nordbruch does not explicitly teach a control device that controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that a direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in a direction that is set in advance.
However, Park more explicitly teaches a control device that controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that a direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in a direction that is set in advance (see at least [0023] “The controller may be configured to determine a first steering direction and a first steering angle such that the central coordinate of the vehicle matches the reference driving line at the first steering direction and the first steering angle; and to generate the drive control information when the distance of the central coordinate of the vehicle from the reference driving line exceeds a predetermined distance.”).
Examiner interprets that control device is encompassed at least by controller, and in a direction that is set in advance is encompassed at least by such that the central coordinate of the vehicle matches the reference driving line.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nordbruch of a system, comprising: an inspection facility that inspects a vehicle that is travelable by unmanned driving with the teaching of a control device that controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that a direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in a direction that is set in advance found in Park. One could combine the teachings in order to have a system, comprising: an inspection facility that inspects a vehicle that is travelable by unmanned driving; and a control device that controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that a direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in a direction that is set in advance with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve navigation of a vehicle within a manufacturing system (see at least Nordbruch, [0045]) and reduce system costs (see at least Nordbruch, [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of hereinafter Nordbruch and Park teaches the system according to claim 1 as detailed above.
Nordbruch suggests wherein the control device acquires imaging data that is output from an imaging unit that is provided outside of the vehicle, and that performs imaging of the vehicle and outputs the imaging data (see at least [0027] “According to another specific embodiment, it is provided that the driving operation of the vehicle is monitored and/or documented at least partially, in particular completely, with the aid of a vehicle-external monitoring system.”) and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance (see at least [0027] “The monitoring yields the technical advantage in particular that in the case of an error or a malfunction of the vehicle, it is possible to intervene directly and immediately before any damage may occur. Documenting the driving operation includes in particular a visual recording, a recording in general, of the driving operation.”).
Nordbruch does not explicitly teach performs imaging of the inspection facility.
However, Park more explicitly teaches wherein the control device acquires imaging data that is output from an imaging unit that is provided outside of the vehicle (see at least [0081] “The position checker 43 may include a vision system that is operatively associated with the camera 30 and may analyze the collected image information to detect the vehicle positional information on the inspection as a reference of vehicle moving control of the controller 45.” also see at least Fig.1), and that performs imaging of the inspection facility and the vehicle and outputs the imaging data (see at least [0072] “The camera 30 may be fixedly arranged above the inspection line to form a coordinates system and may function as an image sensor for detecting a position and coordinates of a vehicle moved along the inspection line.”), and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance (see at least [0076] “The server 40 may set a coordinates system and a driving line on the inspection line, may generate drive control information for moving the vehicle along the reference driving line on the coordinates system based on the collected image information and vehicle state information, and may transmit the drive control information to the wireless terminal 10 through the antenna 20.”).
Examiner interprets that imaging data is encompassed at least by collected image information, imaging unit is encompassed at least by camera 30, and in the direction that is set in advance is encompassed at least by along the reference driving line on the coordinates system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Nordbruch of wherein the control device acquires imaging data that is output from an imaging unit that is provided outside of the vehicle, and that performs imaging of the vehicle and outputs the imaging data and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with the teaching of wherein the control device acquires imaging data that is output from an imaging unit that is provided outside of the vehicle, and that performs imaging of the inspection facility and the vehicle and outputs the imaging data, and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance found in Park. One could combine the teachings in order to have a system wherein the control device acquires imaging data that is output from an imaging unit that is provided outside of the vehicle, and that performs imaging of the inspection facility and the vehicle and outputs the imaging data, and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve navigation of a vehicle within a manufacturing system(see at least Nordbruch, [0045]) and reduce system costs (see at least Nordbruch, [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of hereinafter Nordbruch and Park teaches the system according to claim 2 as detailed above.
Nordbruch suggests wherein the control device acquires master data from a storage device that stores the master data that is imaging data of the vehicle in a state of being oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility, and further uses the master data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility (see at least [0039]-[0040] “it is provided that the vehicle receives data which are relevant for the autonomous driving operation and based on which the vehicle drives autonomously within the manufacturing system...data which are relevant for the autonomous driving operation are, for example...target position data for one or multiple target(s) which the vehicle is supposed to drive to autonomously.” and [0027] “it is provided that the driving operation of the vehicle is monitored and/or documented at least partially, in particular completely, with the aid of a vehicle-external monitoring system. This yields the technical advantage in particular that even after a driving operation is completed the driving operation may be retraced.”).
Examiner interprets that master data is suggested at least by data which are relevant for the autonomous driving operation are, for example target position data for one or multiple target(s) which the vehicle is supposed to drive to autonomously and further uses the master data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle is suggested at least by data which are relevant for the autonomous driving operation and based on which the vehicle drives autonomously within the manufacturing system.
Park more explicitly teaches wherein the control device acquires master data from a storage device that stores the master data that is imaging data of the vehicle in a state of being oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility (see at least [0092] “For example, the storage 44 may store the coordinates system formed on the inspection line and may store installation positional information on the coordinates system.” and [0083] “the present disclosure may store a coordinates system of an inspection line that is set based on image information of a fixed camera.”), and further uses the master data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility (see at least [0097] “For example, as shown in FIG. 6, the controller 45 may determine a steering direction and a steering angle for correcting the central coordinate P of the vehicle to be matched with the reference driving line and may generate the drive control information when the distance X of the central coordinate P of the vehicle from the reference driving line on the coordinates system exceeds a predetermined distance (e.g., 100 mm).” and [0083] “The coordinates system may include a process boundary line for defining each process region in the inspection line and a reference driving line for guiding moving of the vehicle to a center of the process boundary line based on absolute coordinates on the inspection line.” also see at least [0098]).
Examiner interprets that master data is encompassed at least by the coordinates system, process boundary line, and/or a reference driving line, storage device is encompassed at least by storage 44, uses the master data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle is encompassed at least by a reference driving line for guiding moving of the vehicle, and such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility is encompassed at least by correcting the central coordinate P of the vehicle to be matched with the reference driving line.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Nordbruch of wherein the control device acquires master data from a storage device that stores the master data that is imaging data of the vehicle in a state of being oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility, and further uses the master data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility with the more explicit teaching of the same found in Park. One could combine the teachings in order to have a system wherein the control device acquires master data from a storage device that stores the master data that is imaging data of the vehicle in a state of being oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility, and further uses the master data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with respect to the inspection facility with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve navigation of a vehicle within a manufacturing system (see at least Nordbruch, [0045]) and reduce system costs (see at least Nordbruch, [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of hereinafter Nordbruch and Park teaches the system according to claim 1 as detailed above.
Nordbruch teaches wherein the control device acquires imaging data from an imaging unit that is provided to the vehicle (see at least [0027] “it is provided that the driving operation of the vehicle is monitored and/or documented at least partially, in particular completely, with the aid of a vehicle-external monitoring system. This yields the technical advantage in particular that even after a driving operation is completed the driving operation may be retraced. In particular, it is, for example, possible to retrace errors or malfunctions which occurred during the driving operation. The monitoring yields the technical advantage in particular that in the case of an error or a malfunction of the vehicle, it is possible to intervene directly and immediately before any damage may occur. Documenting the driving operation includes in particular a visual recording, a recording in general, of the driving operation.” and [0034] “According to one specific embodiment, the monitoring system includes one or multiple video camera(s)” also see at least [0071]-[0072]).
Examiner interprets that imaging unit is encompassed at least by monitoring system.
Nordbruch does not explicitly teach that performs imaging of the inspection facility and outputs the imaging data including the inspection facility, and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance.
Park teaches wherein the control device acquires imaging data from an imaging unit that is provided to the vehicle (see at least [0081] “The position checker 43 may include a vision system that is operatively associated with the camera 30 and may analyze the collected image information to detect the vehicle positional information on the inspection as a reference of vehicle moving control of the controller 45.” also see at least Fig.1), and that performs imaging of the inspection facility and outputs the imaging data including the inspection facility (see at least [0072] “The camera 30 may be fixedly arranged above the inspection line to form a coordinates system and may function as an image sensor for detecting a position and coordinates of a vehicle moved along the inspection line.” also see at least [0083]), and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance (see at least [0076] “The server 40 may set a coordinates system and a driving line on the inspection line, may generate drive control information for moving the vehicle along the reference driving line on the coordinates system based on the collected image information and vehicle state information, and may transmit the drive control information to the wireless terminal 10 through the antenna 20.”).
Examiner interprets that imaging data is encompassed at least by collected image information, imaging unit is encompassed at least by camera 30, and in the direction that is set in advance is encompassed at least by along the reference driving line on the coordinates system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nordbruch of wherein the control device acquires imaging data from an imaging unit that is provided to the vehicle with the teaching of wherein the control device acquires imaging data from an imaging unit that is provided to the vehicle, and that performs imaging of the inspection facility and outputs the imaging data including the inspection facility, and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance found in Park. One could combine the teachings in order to have a system wherein the control device acquires imaging data from an imaging unit that is provided to the vehicle, and that performs imaging of the inspection facility and outputs the imaging data including the inspection facility, and controls the unmanned driving of the vehicle using the imaging data, such that the direction of the vehicle with respect to the inspection facility is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve navigation of a vehicle within a manufacturing system (see at least Nordbruch, [0045]) and reduce system costs (see at least Nordbruch, [0024]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordbruch (US2017/0320529A1) in view of Park et al. (US2019/0054966A1) in further view of Salasoo (US2016/0318415A1), hereinafter Nordbruch, Park, and Salasoo respectively.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of hereinafter Nordbruch and Park teaches the system according to claim 2 as detailed above.
Nordbruch teaches the imaging unit performs imaging of the vehicle, and outputs the imaging data including the vehicle (see at least [0027] “According to another specific embodiment, it is provided that the driving operation of the vehicle is monitored and/or documented at least partially, in particular completely, with the aid of a vehicle-external monitoring system.”).
Examiner interprets that imaging unit is encompassed at least by monitoring system.
Nordbruch does not explicitly teach wherein the inspection facility includes a marker that serves as a reference for the direction that is set in advance for the vehicle, the imaging unit performs imaging of the vehicle and the marker, and outputs the imaging data including the vehicle and the marker, and the control device uses the marker in the imaging data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance.
However, Salasoo more explicitly teaches wherein the inspection facility includes a marker that serves as a reference for the direction that is set in advance for the vehicle (see at least [0020] In order to properly position the vehicle 10 relative to the location 100...the one or more controllers 13 of the vehicle alignment system 12 are configured to implement a vehicle alignment method 200 as shown in FIG. 2. In order to support the vehicle alignment method 200, the fiducial surface 104 includes at least two (or more) of the markers 102.”), the imaging unit performs imaging and the marker (see at least [0023] “The alignment sensor 14 may detect the markers 102 using, for example, optical, infrared, radar, or ultrasound, detecting beacons disposed on or attached to the location 100”), and outputs the imaging data including the marker (see at least [0019] “The alignment sensor 14 has a field of view 20. For example, the alignment sensor can include a camera with a lens and sensor for converting light received by the lens into electrical signals...allowing the alignment sensor to capture the appearance of the fiducial surface 104...the fiducial surface 104 is outfitted with a set of fiduciary markers 102.”), and the control device uses the marker in the imaging data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance (see at least [0009] “To control vehicle positioning, the at least one controller is configured to receive the visual data that includes the appearance of the fiducial surface to the alignment sensor, compare the appearance of the fiducial surface to a predetermined set of benchmark appearances, determine whether the appearance of the fiducial surface satisfies, approaches, or diverges from a pre-determined target appearance that corresponds to a designated location and position of the vehicle relative to the fixed location, and operate the at least one positioning system until either the appearance of the fiducial surface satisfies the pre-determined target appearance” also see at least [0018]).
Examiner interprets that marker is encompassed at least by fiducial surface 104, markers 102 and/or fiduciary markers 102 and imaging unit is encompassed at least by alignment sensor 14.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nordbruch of the imaging unit performs imaging of the vehicle, and outputs the imaging data including the vehicle with the teaching of wherein the inspection facility includes a marker that serves as a reference for the direction that is set in advance for the vehicle, the imaging unit performs imaging and the marker, and outputs the imaging data including the marker, and the control device uses the marker in the imaging data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance found in Salasoo. One could combine the teachings in order to have a system wherein the inspection facility includes a marker that serves as a reference for the direction that is set in advance for the vehicle, the imaging unit performs imaging of the vehicle and the marker, and outputs the imaging data including the vehicle and the marker, and the control device uses the marker in the imaging data to control the unmanned driving of the vehicle such that the direction of the vehicle is oriented in the direction that is set in advance with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve navigation of a vehicle within a manufacturing system (see at least Nordbruch, [0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hasegawa et al. (US2021/0173400A1) Discloses a first image-data acquisition unit that acquires a plurality of pieces of image data in which different areas in a facility in which an autonomous driving vehicle conducts autonomous traveling are shown. A priority setting unit analyzes a status shown in each of the plurality of pieces of image data and sets a priority to each image data. A first image-data display unit decides a display mode at a time of displaying the plurality of pieces of image data according to the priority set by the priority setting unit.
Mishra et al. (US2024/0037772A1) Discloses a robot that can be moved in a structure that includes a plurality of downward-facing cameras, and, as the robot moves, upward images can be captured with an upward-facing camera mounted to the robot. Downward images can be captured with the respective downward-facing cameras. Upward-facing camera poses can be determined at respective times based on the upward images. Further, respective poses of the downward-facing cameras can be determined based on describing motion of the robot from the downward images, and the upward-facing camera poses determined from the upward images.
Tazume (US2023/0305571A1) Discloses an unmanned vehicle configured to execute: a capturing device detection process that detects an external capturing device located at or around a delivery location where a package is to be received; a range identifying process that identifies a capture range of the external capturing device; a stop position determining process that determines, within the capture range of the external capturing device, a stop position of the unmanned vehicle at which the package is to be received; and a movement control process that stops the unmanned vehicle at the stop position.
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662