DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the circuit" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-13 are rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 1. Claims 2-13 are also indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second temperature measure" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 is rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 4. Claim 5 is also indefinite.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the user" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first temperature sensor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the corrected temperature measurement" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the base station" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 is rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 11. Claim 13 is also indefinite
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the beam steering operation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the circuit" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15-20 are rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 14. Claims 15-20 are also indefinite.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the second temperature measure" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 is rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 16. Claim 17 is also indefinite
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the base station" in lines 1-3. It is unclear and indefinite to which “base station” is referring to? Is it the base station that is associated with the temperature data that is communicated wirelessly from the temperature sensors assemblies? Or is it the base station of claim 14?.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the corrected temperature measurement" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harish et al. (US2008/0190210A1) hereafter Harish in view of Ellis et al. (US2018/0049646A1) hereafter Ellis.
Regarding claim 1, Harish discloses a temperature sensor assembly, comprising:
a top plate (fig 2:202; par[0028]: As illustrated in FIG. 2, the capacitive force-measuring device 100 (e.g., and/or the capacitive force-measuring device 150) includes a top plate 202) to encompass the sensor capacitor);
a bottom plate (fig 2:204; par[0034]: As illustrated in FIG. 2, the capacitive force-measuring device 100 (e.g., and/or the capacitive force-measuring device 150) includes a top plate 202, a bottom plate 204);
a circuit board disposed between the top plate and the bottom plate (fig 2:206&210; par[0034]: As illustrated in FIG. 2, the capacitive force-measuring device 100 (e.g., and/or the capacitive force-measuring device 150) includes a top plate 202, a bottom plate 204, an upper printed circuit board (PCB) 206, a sensor module 208, a lower printed circuit board (PCB) 210, and/or a contact zone 214. The top plate 202 and/or the bottom plate 204 may be made of a conductive material (e.g., a stainless steel) and/or a nonconductive material to isolate any electronic module (e.g., PCBs) in the housing from an external electromagnetic noise), the circuit board comprises one or more temperature sensors (fig 2:208; par[0035]: The sensor module 208 may measure one or more environmental conditions (e.g., a temperature, a pressure, a radiation, a humidity, a vibration, and a motion, etc.) of the capacitive force-measuring device 100);
a bottom pad (fig 10:1020/1002B, par[0061]: FIG. 10, the mounting screws 1016 may be used to fasten the lower sensor surface 1006, the upper reference surface 1010, the lower reference surface 1012, and the housing 1002B. The lower mounting structure 1020 (e.g., in another threaded stud) may be used to fasten the capacitive force-measuring device having the mounting structure 1000 to an external structure (e.g., a mounting rail).) coupled to the bottom plate and the circuit board (par[0036]: In one example embodiment, the lower printed circuit board (PCB) 210 may be bonded to the bottom plate 204 using a thermal bonding adhesive fill such that a distortion of the printed circuit board (PCB) due to the one or more environmental conditions is minimized.); and
a top pad coupled to the circuit board (fig 10:1018; par[0061]:The capacitive force-measuring device 100 having the mounting structure includes a housing 1002, an upper sensor surface 1004, a lower sensor surface 1006, a sensor capacitor 1008, an upper reference surface 1010, a lower reference surface 1012, a reference capacitor 1014, mounting screws 1016, an upper mounting structure 1018, and a lower mounting structure 1020. ).
Harish does not explicitly disclose the temperature assembly comprising: the bottom pad comprises a first section and a second section, the first section extended through the bottom plate and coupled to the circuit.
Ellis discloses the temperature assembly comprising: the bottom pad (fig 1:140, par[0015]: the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140 ) comprises a first section (fig 1B: 175′, 175″, 175′″, par[0015]: heat collectors 175′, 175″, 175′″ (e.g., arranged between a user-facing region of the housing and respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.)) and a second section (fig 1B: 175′, 175″, 175′″, par[0015]: heat collectors 175′, 175″, 175′″ (e.g., arranged between a user-facing region of the housing and respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.), the first section extended through the bottom plate and coupled to the circuit (fig 1B:175, par[0015]: heat collectors 175′, 175″, 175′″ (e.g., arranged between a user-facing region of the housing and respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.) and thermal gap fillers 155′, 155″, 155′″ can be associated with each heat flux channel (e.g., arranged between respective heat collectors respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.). However, the system 100 can include any suitable number of heat flux channels 110 associated with (e.g., thermally coupled to) any suitable number of temperature sensors 115 and thermal cages 120, across any suitable number of temperature monitoring devices 105 and users).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Harish and the Ellis references since both pertain to the field of monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the temperature sensor assembly of Harish with the bottom pad feature as disclosed by Ellis to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing an improved system and method for non-invasively monitoring core body temperature and related body status parameters, and generating one or more health status parameters (e.g., fever condition parameter, physiological status parameter, psychological status parameter, diagnostic analyses, treatment monitoring parameters, treatment response parameters, health recommendations, etc.) associated with user conditions based on user temperature measurements, determined core body temperatures and/or supplemental sensor data.
Regarding claim 2, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the top plate and the bottom plate are coupled to one another (Harish fig 2:202&204; par[0036]: In another example embodiment, the upper PCB 206 and/or the lower PCB 210 may be fastened to an inner surface of the housing (e.g., the top plate 202 and/or the bottom plate 204) with a connector (e.g., a screw, a bolt, a threaded stud, etc.) made of a same material as the housing (e.g., a stainless steel) such that a change in a displacement of a distance between two parallel conductive surfaces of a sensor capacitor.).
Regarding claim 3, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the bottom pad uses thermally conductive material to transfer heat to a first temperature sensor of the one or more temperature sensors on the circuit board (par[0036]: In one example embodiment, the lower printed circuit board (PCB) 210 may be bonded to the bottom plate 204 using a thermal bonding adhesive fill such that a distortion of the printed circuit board (PCB) due to the one or more environmental conditions is minimized), wherein the first temperature sensor is configured to generate a first temperature measurement (Harish par[0035]: The sensor module 208 may measure one or more environmental conditions (e.g., a temperature, a pressure, a radiation, a humidity, a vibration, and a motion, etc.) of the capacitive force-measuring device 100.), the first temperature measurement comprises a body temperature measurement of a user (Ellis fig 1:115’, 115”; par[0015]: In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140; a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period).
Regarding claim 4, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 3, wherein the top pad uses thermally conductive material to transfer heat to a second temperature sensor of the one or more temperature sensors on the circuit board, the second temperature sensor configured to generate a second temperature measurement (Harish par[0035]: The sensor module 208 may measure one or more environmental conditions (e.g., a temperature, a pressure, a radiation, a humidity, a vibration, and a motion, etc.) of the capacitive force-measuring device 100.), the first temperature measurement comprises a body temperature measurement of a user (Ellis fig 1:115’, 115”; par[0015]: In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140; a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period), the second temperature measure comprises an ambient temperature measurement of the user (Ellis fig 1:115’, 115”; par[0015], [0029], [0043]: In a variation, two or more heat flux channels no of a temperature monitoring device 105 can be associated with the same or substantially similar channel thermal resistances, and/or the same or substantially similar couplings to the processing system (e.g., to the backend of the temperature monitoring device; to an ambient environment; to a processing and control subsystem; to other components of the temperature monitoring device; etc.) and/or to other suitable components. The thermal cage 120 thermally connect the heat flux channel no to a thermal endpoint (e.g., ambient environment, housing 140, heat source, etc.), and/or be otherwise connected to the heat flux channel no. In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140; a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period).
Regarding claim 5, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 4, wherein the circuit board comprises one or more processors configured to determine a corrected temperature measurement based at least in part, on the first temperature measurement and the second temperature measurement (Ellis par[0015], [0020]: a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period; a second set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a third and a fourth temperature sensor, 115′″, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the second heat flux channel 110″ and operable to measure second temperature data indicative of second temperature change through the second heat flux channel 110″ during the time period; and a first and a second thermal cage 120′, 120″ respectfully thermally coupled to and respectfully arranged around the first and the second heat flux channels 110′, 110″ along the lengths of the first and the second heat flux channels 110′, 110″. In a specific example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can further include a third heat flux channel 100′″ associated with a third measurement site; a third set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a fifth and sixth temperature sensor, 115′″″, 115″″″, etc.) thermally coupled to the third heat flux channel 110′″; and/or a third thermal cage 120′ thermally coupled to the third heat flux channel 110′″ (e.g., where a processing system can be operable to determine core body temperature measurements based on temperature data from the sets of temperature sensors 115; etc.)).
Regarding claim 6, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the first section of the bottom pad comprises a flat, disk-shaped portion configured to be adhered to a skin surface of the user (Ellis par[0073], [0074]: Geometrically, the housing 140 preferably defines a disc-shaped form factor, but can additionally or alternatively define any suitable geometric shape. Additionally, the housing 140 preferably defines a thin side profile (e.g., configured to minimize lateral heat flow and/or shorten heat flux channel paths) and substantially circular broad faces. The housing 140 preferably defines a user-facing region 144 (e.g., a region proximal the user's target skin surface location when the device is coupled to the user) and an environment-facing region (e.g., a region proximal the environment when the device is coupled to the user).).
Regarding claim 7, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the second section of the bottom pad extends through the bottom plate and is thermally coupled to the first temperature sensor of the one or more temperature sensors on the circuit board (Ellis fig 4B:175; par[0064]: The heat collector 175 is preferably constructed with thermally conductive materials (e.g., to facilitate heat routing), but can otherwise include any suitable materials. The heat collector 175 is preferably positioned between a heat source and a heat flux channel no. For example, the heat collector 175 can be positioned between an interior surface of the housing 140 and a temperature sensor 115 positioned at a beginning region 112 of a heat flux channel 110 (e.g., at a substrate inner layer), but the heat collector 175 can be otherwise located. In an example, the system 100 can include a thermally conductive heat collector 175 (e.g., a magnet and an electromagnetic coil operable to facilitate charging of a power module encapsulated by the housing 140, etc.) arranged between a user-facing region 144 of the housing 140 and a first temperature sensor 115′ (e.g., arranged at a beginning region 112 of a heat flux channel no), where the thermally conductive heat collector 175 is operable to route heat from the measurement site to the heat flux channel no).
Regarding claim 9, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the circuit board is configured to generate intermittent or continuous temperature measurements (Ellis par[0020]: The temperature monitoring device 105 can be used in embodiments of a system 100 and/or method 200 that functions to process collected temperature data to monitor user's core body temperature and/or related parameters over time (e.g., a series of temperature-associated parameters including a series of core body temperature measurements over time, normalized core body temperature measurements, core body temperature patterns, trends).
Regarding claim 10, Harish in view of Ellis discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the circuit board is configured to communicate temperature data wirelessly with a base station communication antenna system (Ellis fig 3:130; par[0019]: In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 samples data (e.g., temperature data, etc.) indicative of a user's core body temperature while the temperature monitoring device 105 is connected to the user body and transmits the collected temperature data to a processing system (e.g., remote server, user device, etc.), where the processing system can process the temperature data into: representative core body temperature value(s) (e.g., for a monitoring session, for multiple time points within a single monitoring session); changes in the representative core body temperature value(s) over time (e.g., for intra- or inter-monitoring session values); and/or any other suitable derivatory data.).
2. Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harish in view of Ellis, and further in view of Han et al. (US2017/0187412A1) hereafter Han.
Regarding claim 11, Harish in view of Ellis does not explicitly disclose the temperature sensor assembly wherein the base station communication antenna system comprising a modal antenna configured to communicate the corrected temperature measurement with the base station based at least in part on a beam steering operation.
Han discloses the temperature sensor assembly wherein the base station communication antenna system comprising a modal antenna configured to communicate the corrected temperature measurement with the base station based at least in part on a beam steering operation (par[0024], [0047]: The wireless circuitry may include one or more antennas. Sensors may be incorporated into the electronic device. The sensors may be radio-frequency signal sensors that measure radio-frequency antenna signals. Information from the sensors may be correlated with near-field and far-field radiation patterns and wireless power levels and may be used in monitoring the operating environment of a wireless device. Information from the sensors may be used in adjusting tunable circuits for antennas, may be used in determining which antennas to switch in and out of use, may be used in performing beam steering operations and other operations with phased antenna arrays, may be used in adjusting a maximum transmit power for a wireless transmitter, and may otherwise be used in operating the wireless circuitry of electronic device 10. Transmission line paths 92 may couple radio-frequency transceiver circuitry 90 to the antennas of the phased antenna array. Each path 92 may contain adjustable circuitry 126 such as an adjustable phase shifter and an adjustable amplifier or other circuitry to adjust signal amplitude. Using adjustable circuits 126 to adjust the phase and magnitude of the signals conveyed on paths 92, antennas 40 may form a phased antenna array that is used for beam steering).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Harish, Ellis and Han references since all pertain to the field of monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the temperature sensor assembly of Harish with the beam steering feature as disclosed by Han to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing maximized signal strength & efficiency by electrically focusing the radiation pattern directly at the base station, enhanced environmental resilience, and energy savings by achieving a stronger received signal through beam steering, wherein the sensor requires less power for transmission and extending battery life in remote applications.
Regarding claim 12, Harish in view of Ellis does not explicitly disclose the temperature sensor assembly wherein the base station communication antenna system is configured to shift a radiation pattern associated with a modal antenna to perform the beam steering operation, and wherein the beam steering operation reduces signal interference associated with a signal communicated by the modal antenna, increases signal strength of the signal, or improves capacity of a network.
Han discloses the temperature sensor assembly wherein the base station communication antenna system is configured to shift a radiation pattern associated with a modal antenna to perform the beam steering operation (Han par[0033]: Circuitry 30 may control a phased antenna array formed from multiple antennas in device 10 (e.g., to implement beam steering functions). If desired, circuitry 30 may be used in tuning antennas, adjusting wireless transmit powers for transceivers in device 10 (e.g., transmit powers may be adjusted up and down in response to transmit power commands from wireless base stations while observing an established overall maximum allowed transmit power), and/or in otherwise controlling the wireless operation of device 10), and wherein the beam steering operation reduces signal interference associated with a signal communicated by the modal antenna, increases signal strength of the signal, or improves capacity of a network (Han par[0024]: The sensors may be radio-frequency signal sensors that measure radio-frequency antenna signals. Information from the sensors may be correlated with near-field and far-field radiation patterns and wireless power levels and may be used in monitoring the operating environment of a wireless device. Information from the sensors may be used in adjusting tunable circuits for antennas, may be used in determining which antennas to switch in and out of use, may be used in performing beam steering operations and other operations with phased antenna arrays, may be used in adjusting a maximum transmit power for a wireless transmitter, and may otherwise be used in operating the wireless circuitry of electronic device 10.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Harish, Ellis and Han references since all pertain to the field of monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the temperature sensor assembly of Harish with the beam steering feature as disclosed by Han to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing maximized signal strength & efficiency by electrically focusing the radiation pattern directly at the base station, enhanced environmental resilience, and energy savings by achieving a stronger received signal through beam steering, wherein the sensor requires less power for transmission and extending battery life in remote applications.
Regarding claim 13, Harish in view of Ellis and Han discloses the temperature sensor assembly of claim 11, wherein at least one of the base station communication antenna system or the modal antenna is configured to shift a frequency of the modal antenna (Han par[0047]: Transmission line paths 92 may couple radio-frequency transceiver circuitry 90 to the antennas of the phased antenna array. Each path 92 may contain adjustable circuitry 126 such as an adjustable phase shifter and an adjustable amplifier or other circuitry to adjust signal amplitude. Using adjustable circuits 126 to adjust the phase and magnitude of the signals conveyed on paths 92, antennas 40 may form a phased antenna array that is used for beam steering)).
Regarding claim 14, Harish discloses a base station comprising, wherein the one or more temperatures sensors assemblies (fig 2:208; par[0035]: The sensor module 208 may measure one or more environmental conditions (e.g., a temperature, a pressure, a radiation, a humidity, a vibration, and a motion) comprise:
a top plate (fig 2:202; par[0028]: As illustrated in FIG. 2, the capacitive force-measuring device 100 (e.g., and/or the capacitive force-measuring device 150) includes a top plate 202) to encompass the sensor capacitor);
a bottom plate (fig 2:204; par[0034]: As illustrated in FIG. 2, the capacitive force-measuring device 100 (e.g., and/or the capacitive force-measuring device 150) includes a top plate 202, a bottom plate 204);
a circuit board disposed between the top plate and the bottom plate (fig 2:206&210; par[0034]: As illustrated in FIG. 2, the capacitive force-measuring device 100 (e.g., and/or the capacitive force-measuring device 150) includes a top plate 202, a bottom plate 204, an upper printed circuit board (PCB) 206, a sensor module 208, a lower printed circuit board (PCB) 210, and/or a contact zone 214. The top plate 202 and/or the bottom plate 204 may be made of a conductive material (e.g., a stainless steel) and/or a nonconductive material to isolate any electronic module (e.g., PCBs) in the housing from an external electromagnetic noise), the circuit board comprises one or more temperature sensors (fig 2:208; par[0035]: The sensor module 208 may measure one or more environmental conditions (e.g., a temperature, a pressure, a radiation, a humidity, a vibration, and a motion, etc.) of the capacitive force-measuring device 100);
a bottom pad (fig 10:1020/1002B, par[0061]: FIG. 10, the mounting screws 1016 may be used to fasten the lower sensor surface 1006, the upper reference surface 1010, the lower reference surface 1012, and the housing 1002B. The lower mounting structure 1020 (e.g., in another threaded stud) may be used to fasten the capacitive force-measuring device having the mounting structure 1000 to an external structure (e.g., a mounting rail).) coupled to the bottom plate and the circuit board (par[0036]: In one example embodiment, the lower printed circuit board (PCB) 210 may be bonded to the bottom plate 204 using a thermal bonding adhesive fill such that a distortion of the printed circuit board (PCB) due to the one or more environmental conditions is minimized.); and
a top pad coupled to the circuit board (fig 10:1018; par[0061]:The capacitive force-measuring device 100 having the mounting structure includes a housing 1002, an upper sensor surface 1004, a lower sensor surface 1006, a sensor capacitor 1008, an upper reference surface 1010, a lower reference surface 1012, a reference capacitor 1014, mounting screws 1016, an upper mounting structure 1018, and a lower mounting structure 1020. ).
Harish does not explicitly disclose the temperature assembly comprising: the bottom pad comprises a first section and a second section, the first section extended through the bottom plate and coupled to the circuit.
Ellis discloses the temperature assembly comprising: the bottom pad (fig 1:140, par[0015]: the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140 ) comprises a first section (fig 1B: 175′, 175″, 175′″, par[0015]: heat collectors 175′, 175″, 175′″ (e.g., arranged between a user-facing region of the housing and respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.)) and a second section (fig 1B: 175′, 175″, 175′″, par[0015]: heat collectors 175′, 175″, 175′″ (e.g., arranged between a user-facing region of the housing and respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.), the first section extended through the bottom plate and coupled to the circuit (fig 1B:175, par[0015]: heat collectors 175′, 175″, 175′″ (e.g., arranged between a user-facing region of the housing and respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.) and thermal gap fillers 155′, 155″, 155′″ can be associated with each heat flux channel (e.g., arranged between respective heat collectors respective temperature sensors of the heat flux channels; etc.). However, the system 100 can include any suitable number of heat flux channels 110 associated with (e.g., thermally coupled to) any suitable number of temperature sensors 115 and thermal cages 120, across any suitable number of temperature monitoring devices 105 and users).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Harish and the Ellis references since both pertain to the field of monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the temperature sensor assembly of Harish with the bottom pad feature as disclosed by Ellis to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing an improved system and method for non-invasively monitoring core body temperature and related body status parameters, and generating one or more health status parameters (e.g., fever condition parameter, physiological status parameter, psychological status parameter, diagnostic analyses, treatment monitoring parameters, treatment response parameters, health recommendations, etc.) associated with user conditions based on user temperature measurements, determined core body temperatures and/or supplemental sensor data.
Harish in view of Ellis does not explicitly disclose the base station comprising: a modal antenna configured to communicate with one or more temperatures sensors assemblies.
Han discloses the base station comprising: a modal antenna configured to communicate with one or more temperatures sensors assemblies (fig 2:40; par[0037], [0049]: control circuitry 30 of device 10 may use information from sensors in device 10 in controlling the operation of wireless circuitry 34. This information may include information from audio sensors, accelerometers (which may supply motion data and/or orientation data), temperature sensors, magnetic sensors, force sensors, etc. Device 10 may also include radio-frequency sensors. Radio-frequency sensors in device 10 may be used to measure radio-frequency signals associated with the operation of antenna structures 40 in device 10. The radio-frequency sensors may include sensors that measure signals flowing in antennas and associated circuits in device 10 (e.g., matching circuit signals, transmission line signals, etc.) and/or may include sensors that measure radio-frequency radiation (e.g., emitted wireless signals from antennas in device 10). Radio-frequency sensors may make radio-frequency signal measurements during the transmission of radio-frequency signals with antenna(s) 40 and, if desired, during the reception of radio-frequency signals with antenna(s) 40. Dedicated antennas may be used for transmitting and/or receiving signals in a particular band or, if desired, antennas 40 can be configured to receive signals for multiple communications band).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Harish, Ellis and Han references since all pertain to the field of monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the base station of Harish with the modal antenna feature as disclosed by Han to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of resonating at multiple distinct frequencies or creating wideband operation, minimizing mutual interference and cross-talk between co-located antennas, and significantly boosting data throughput and signal reliability.
Regarding claim 15, Harish in view of Ellis and Han discloses the base station of claim 14, wherein the bottom pad of the one or more temperatures sensors assemblies use thermally conductive material to transfer heat to a first temperature sensor of the one or more temperature sensors on the circuit board (Harish par[0036]: In one example embodiment, the lower printed circuit board (PCB) 210 may be bonded to the bottom plate 204 using a thermal bonding adhesive fill such that a distortion of the printed circuit board (PCB) due to the one or more environmental conditions is minimized), wherein the first temperature sensor is configured to generate a first temperature measurement (Harish par[0035]: The sensor module 208 may measure one or more environmental conditions (e.g., a temperature, a pressure, a radiation, a humidity, a vibration, and a motion, etc.) of the capacitive force-measuring device 100.), the first temperature measurement comprises a body temperature measurement of a user (Ellis fig 1:115’, 115”; par[0015]: In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140; a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period).
Regarding claim 16, Harish in view of Ellis and Han discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the top pad of the one or more temperatures sensors assemblies use thermally conductive material to transfer heat to a second temperature sensor of the one or more temperature sensors on the circuit board (Harish par[0035]: The sensor module 208 may measure one or more environmental conditions (e.g., a temperature, a pressure, a radiation, a humidity, a vibration, and a motion, etc.) of the capacitive force-measuring device 100.), the first temperature measurement comprises a body temperature measurement of a user (Ellis fig 1:115’, 115”; par[0015]: In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140; a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period), the second temperature measure comprises an ambient temperature measurement of the user (Ellis fig 1:115’, 115”; par[0015], [0029], [0043]: In a variation, two or more heat flux channels no of a temperature monitoring device 105 can be associated with the same or substantially similar channel thermal resistances, and/or the same or substantially similar couplings to the processing system (e.g., to the backend of the temperature monitoring device; to an ambient environment; to a processing and control subsystem; to other components of the temperature monitoring device; etc.) and/or to other suitable components. The thermal cage 120 thermally connect the heat flux channel no to a thermal endpoint (e.g., ambient environment, housing 140, heat source, etc.), and/or be otherwise connected to the heat flux channel no. In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can include: a first and a second heat flux channel 110′, 110″, encapsulated by a housing 140 and each defining a length extending along an axis substantially perpendicular to the face of the housing 140, where the first heat flux channel 110′ is associated with a first measurement site proximal a first region of the user-facing face of the housing 140, and where the second heat flux channel 110″ is associated with a second measurement site proximal a second region of the user-facing face of the housing 140; a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period).
Regarding claim 17, Harish in view of Ellis and Han discloses the base station of claim 16, wherein the circuit board of the one or more temperatures sensors assemblies comprise one or more processors configured to determine a corrected temperature measurement based at least in part, on the first temperature measurement and the second temperature measurement (Ellis par[0015], [0020]: a first set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a first and a second temperature sensor, 115′, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the first heat flux channel 110′ and operable to measure first temperature data indicative of first temperature change through the first heat flux channel 110′ during a time period; a second set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a third and a fourth temperature sensor, 115′″, 115″, etc.) thermally coupled to the second heat flux channel 110″ and operable to measure second temperature data indicative of second temperature change through the second heat flux channel 110″ during the time period; and a first and a second thermal cage 120′, 120″ respectfully thermally coupled to and respectfully arranged around the first and the second heat flux channels 110′, 110″ along the lengths of the first and the second heat flux channels 110′, 110″. In a specific example, the temperature monitoring device 105 can further include a third heat flux channel 100′″ associated with a third measurement site; a third set of temperature sensors 115 (e.g., including a fifth and sixth temperature sensor, 115′″″, 115″″″, etc.) thermally coupled to the third heat flux channel 110′″; and/or a third thermal cage 120′ thermally coupled to the third heat flux channel 110′″ (e.g., where a processing system can be operable to determine core body temperature measurements based on temperature data from the sets of temperature sensors 115; etc.)).
Regarding claim 18, Harish in view of Ellis and Han discloses the base station of claim 14, wherein the circuit board of the one or more temperatures sensors assemblies is configured to communicate temperature data wirelessly with a base station (Ellis fig 3:130; par[0019]: In an example, the temperature monitoring device 105 samples data (e.g., temperature data, etc.) indicative of a user's core body temperature while the temperature monitoring device 105 is connected to the user body and transmits the collected temperature data to a processing system (e.g., remote server, user device, etc.), where the processing system can process the temperature data into: representative core body temperature value(s) (e.g., for a monitoring session, for multiple time points within a single monitoring session); changes in the representative core body temperature value(s) over time (e.g., for intra- or inter-monitoring session values); and/or any other suitable derivatory data.).
Regarding claim 19, Harish in view of Ellis and Han discloses the base station of claim 18, wherein the circuit board of the one or more temperatures sensors assemblies configured to communicate the corrected temperature measurement with the base station based at least in part on a beam steering operation (par[0024], [0047]: The wireless circuitry may include one or more antennas. Sensors may be incorporated into the electronic device. The sensors may be radio-frequency signal sensors that measure radio-frequency antenna signals. Information from the sensors may be correlated with near-field and far-field radiation patterns and wireless power levels and may be used in monitoring the operating environment of a wireless device. Information from the sensors may be used in adjusting tunable circuits for antennas, may be used in determining which antennas to switch in and out of use, may be used in performing beam steering operations and other operations with phased antenna arrays, may be used in adjusting a maximum transmit power for a wireless transmitter, and may otherwise be used in operating the wireless circuitry of electronic device 10. Transmission line paths 92 may couple radio-frequency transceiver circuitry 90 to the antennas of the phased antenna array. Each path 92 may contain adjustable circuitry 126 such as an adjustable phase shifter and an adjustable amplifier or other circuitry to adjust signal amplitude. Using adjustable circuits 126 to adjust the phase and magnitude of the signals conveyed on paths 92, antennas 40 may form a phased antenna array that is used for beam steering).
Regarding claim 20, Harish in view of Ellis and Han discloses the base station of claim 14, wherein the modal antenna is configured to shift a frequency of the modal antenna (Han par[0047]: Transmission line paths 92 may couple radio-frequency transceiver circuitry 90 to the antennas of the phased antenna array. Each path 92 may contain adjustable circuitry 126 such as an adjustable phase shifter and an adjustable amplifier or other circuitry to adjust signal amplitude. Using adjustable circuits 126 to adjust the phase and magnitude of the signals conveyed on paths 92, antennas 40 may form a phased antenna array that is used for beam steering)).
3. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harish in view of Ellis, and further in view of Siann et al. (US11596263B1) hereafter Siann.
Regarding claim 8, Harish in view of Ellis does not explicitly disclose the temperature sensor assembly wherein the circuit board comprises a near- field communication (NFC) power receiver configured to power the one or more temperature sensors.
Siann discloses the temperature sensor assembly wherein the circuit board comprises a near- field communication (NFC) power receiver configured to power the one or more temperature sensors (col 7 ln 2-4; col 8 ln 5-9: The sensors may be battery powered, remotely powered (e.g. NFC), or powered from the main enclosure supply. The thermal transfer cup, or liner, may include one or more NFC coils to gather energy sent to it via the ECU, shown in FIG. 4. The energy may be collected by the NFC electronics and used to power one or more sensors and report back the readings of the sensors to the enclosure controller.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Harish, Ellis and Siann references since all pertain to the field of monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the sensor assembly of Harish with the NFC feature as disclosed by Siann to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing battery-free operation, maintenance-free longevity, and instant wireless data logging.
Conclusion
US2023/0266153A1 to Staiger discloses a measuring device is provided for fill level measurement, for limit level determination, for pressure measurement, and/or for temperature measurement, the measuring device including: an energy source; at least one controllable switch; an activation device, which is directly connected to the energy source, including a programmable finite state machine, and which is configured to control the at least one controllable switch by the programmable finite state machine; and at least one load connected to the energy source via the at least one controllable switch.
US2022/0354704A1 to Locke discloses a dressing for treating a tissue site with negative pressure, having an integrated sensor comprising a force or load measurement sensor. The sensor may telemeter to a therapy system the deformation of the dressing as the dressing is pushed into the tissue site during the application of negative pressure to the tissue site. The sensor may measure the force that is applied to the dressing. Measurements of the force applied to the dressing may be taken using the sensor on a periodic basis during negative-pressure therapy to enable monitoring of the fill level of the tissue site as granulation tissue fills the tissue site.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688