DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph 0047, lines 1-2, it appears that the phrase “heel locking assembly 116” should read --heel locking assembly 115- to maintain consistent reference characters.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the free end” in line 7, which lacks antecedent basis. It appears that the limitation should read --a free end--.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “said first end or portion” in line 2, which lacks antecedent basis. It appears that claim 10 should depend from claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: manually-operated closing means in claim 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “it additionally comprises” in line 1. This limitation is vague and indefinite because it is not clear which element the term ‘it’ is referring to.
Claims 9-10 depend from rejected claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frappier (US 2021/0154563).
Regarding claim 1, Frappier discloses a tightening strap (112) for ski boots adapted to be wound in a loop around the cuff of a ski boot to tighten said cuff on the user's leg (wherein the strap is capable of being wound around a cuff); the tightening strap comprising an oblong flexible element, which is adapted to be wound around the cuff and includes at least one elastic member with auxetic behaviour (interior region with auxetic pattern) able to stretch and, at the same time, also to widen in elastic manner when the tightening strap is subjected to traction; the tightening strap wherein said elastic member with auxetic behaviour comprises an oblong plate-like body, which has a monolithic structure and is divided into a plurality of contiguous flat sectors (connecting portions between apertures 146; Fig. 1), each of which has a macroscopic reticular structure with auxetic behaviour, which is capable of stretching and, at the same time, also of widening in elastic manner when the oblong plate-like body is subjected to traction, and also differs from that of the adjacent flat sectors (wherein the size of the apertures, and therefore the size of the connecting portions varies across the interior region: paragraphs 0035, 0039; Fig. 1). (paragraphs 0026, 0029-0031, 0034-0035, 0039-0040; Fig. 1-4)
Regarding claim 2, Frappier discloses that the macroscopic reticular structure with auxetic behaviour of said flat sectors is a two-dimensional reticular structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Frappier discloses that the macroscopic reticular structure with auxetic behaviour of each flat sector differs from that of the adjacent flat sectors in shape and/or dimensions (paragraphs 0035, 0039; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Frappier discloses that said oblong flexible element is longitudinally divided into at least a first segment (perimeter end portions) with substantially inextensible structure, and into at least a second segment (interior region) incorporating said oblong plate-like body (paragraph 0040; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Frappier discloses that the second segment of said oblong flexible element comprises an oblong and flexible plate-like element, which is made of plastic material (paragraph 0030) and is longitudinally divided into a central section (central portion of interior region) incorporating said oblong plate-like body, and into two opposite lateral sections (side portions of interior region) that seamlessly join to said central section, on opposite sides thereof (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Frappier discloses that one or both of the opposite lateral sections of the oblong plate-like element are structured so as to channel the tensile stresses in a series of prefixed and limited points of the central section of the same oblong plate-like element (paragraph 0035, 0039).
Regarding claim 7, Frappier discloses that one or both of the opposite lateral sections of the oblong plate-like element have a sunburst-like structure (apertures 146 at side portions) converging towards the free end of the oblong plate-like element (Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fougere (US 6,026,594) in view of Frappier (US 2021/0154563).
Regarding claim 1, Fougere teaches a tightening strap (28) for ski boots adapted to be wound in a loop around the cuff of a ski boot to tighten the cuff on the user's leg; the tightening strap comprising an oblong flexible element, which is adapted to be wound around the cuff and includes at least one elastic member (2) (column 4, line 48-column 5, line 30; Fig. 1-8).
Fougere does not disclose that the elastic member has auxetic behavior. Frappier teaches a tightening strap (112) for ski boots which includes at least one elastic member with auxetic behaviour (interior region with auxetic pattern) able to stretch and, at the same time, also to widen in elastic manner when the tightening strap is subjected to traction; the tightening strap wherein the elastic member with auxetic behaviour comprises an oblong plate-like body, which has a monolithic structure and is divided into a plurality of contiguous flat sectors (connecting portions between apertures 146; Fig. 1), each of which has a macroscopic reticular structure with auxetic behaviour, which is capable of stretching and, at the same time, also of widening in elastic manner when the oblong plate-like body is subjected to traction, and also differs from that of the adjacent flat sectors (wherein the size of the apertures, and therefore the size of the connecting portions varies across the interior region: paragraphs 0035, 0039; Fig. 1) (paragraphs 0026, 0029-0031, 0034-0035, 0039-0040; Fig. 1-4). The auxetic structure allows the strap to flex while supplying enough structural support to secure a boot, and to form to the shape of the boot, providing a better connection (paragraphs 0030, 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an elastic member with auxetic behavior, as taught by Frappier, to the elastic member of the strap of Fougere, in order to allow the strap to flex while supplying enough structural support to secure a boot, and to form to the shape of the boot, providing a better connection.
Regarding claim 2, Frappier teaches that the macroscopic reticular structure with auxetic behaviour of the flat sectors is a two-dimensional reticular structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Frappier teaches that the macroscopic reticular structure with auxetic behaviour of each flat sector differs from that of the adjacent flat sectors in shape and/or dimensions (paragraphs 0035, 0039; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Fougere discloses that the oblong flexible element is longitudinally divided into at least a first segment (1, 1A) with substantially inextensible structure, and into at least a second segment (2) incorporating the oblong plate-like body.
Regarding claim 5, Frappier teaches that the second segment of the oblong flexible element comprises an oblong and flexible plate-like element, which is made of plastic material (paragraph 0030) and is longitudinally divided into a central section (central portion of interior region) incorporating the oblong plate-like body, and into two opposite lateral sections (side portions of interior region) that seamlessly join to the central section, on opposite sides thereof (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Frappier teaches that one or both of the opposite lateral sections of the oblong plate-like element are structured so as to channel the tensile stresses in a series of prefixed and limited points of the central section of the same oblong plate-like element (paragraph 0035, 0039).
Regarding claim 7, Frappier teaches that one or both of the opposite lateral sections of the oblong plate-like element have a sunburst-like structure (apertures 146 at side portions) converging towards the free end of the oblong plate-like element (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Fougere discloses that the tightening strap additionally comprises a manually-operated fastening device (4), which is adapted to connect the opposite ends or end portions of the oblong flexible element one to the other in a stable, though releasable manner (column 5, lines 20-30, 54-60; Fig. 2, 6).
Regarding claim 9, Fougere discloses that the fastening device is stably placed at a first end or end portion of the oblong flexible element, and is structured so as to connect in a stable, though releasable manner, to a second end or end portion of the same oblong flexible element, opposite to the first end (column 5, lines 20-30, 54-60; Fig. 2, 6).
Regarding claim 10, Fougere discloses that the fastening device is fixed to the first end or end portion of the oblong flexible element in a manually adjustable manner (column 5, lines 20-30, 54-60; Fig. 2, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Fougere discloses a ski boot comprising: a substantially rigid foot-case (21), which is adapted to accommodate the user's foot; a substantially rigid cuff (22), which is adapted to surround the lower part of the user's leg, and is hinged on the foot-case so as to swing about a first rotation axis (A) substantially perpendicular to the ski-boot midplane; a protective inner-boot (23), which is placed inside the foot-case and is shaped/structured so as to accommodate and protect at least the user's foot; and manually-operated closing means that are structured so as to selectively tighten the foot-case and/or cuff, respectively, on the user's foot and leg; the closing means comprising a tightening strap (28), that surrounds the cuff so as to selectively close/tighten the cuff on the user's leg (column 4, lines 48-64; Fig. 1-4).
Fougere and Frappier discloses that the tightening strap is realized according to Claim 1 (see above).
Regarding claim 12, Fougere discloses that the tightening strap is fitted/fixed on the cuff in a removable manner (column 5, lines 20-30, 54-60; Fig. 2, 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHARON M PRANGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732