DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 2-30 are pending. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendments to claims 2, 8, 10 and 11 and new claims 19-30.
Terminal Disclaimer
The Terminal Disclaimer filed on 5/15/26 has been approved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 – replace “the” with --The--.
Correction is required.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 – replace “the” with --The--.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 16, 20-24 and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ligh U.S. Patent No. 5,671,952.
With regard to claim 2, Ligh discloses an adaptor device, comprising:
a conduit structure (as shown below) defining an adaptor conduit extending between an adaptor inlet and an adaptor outlet, the adaptor conduit including an elbow conduit extending to the adaptor outlet, the conduit structure configured to at least partially extend in a first direction through an access point opening into a conduit section interior of a conduit section of a conduit such that the adaptor outlet is within the conduit section interior and a central axis of the adaptor outlet extends in a second direction that is different from the first direction and is at least partially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the conduit section within the conduit section interior, the access point opening extending through a sidewall thickness of a conduit section sidewall of the conduit section (wherein the conduit structure can be configured to extend into a given conduit in a first direction from the adaptor inlet into an access point opening of the conduit and extend thru the conduit in a second direction different from the first direction to the adaptor outlet where the given conduit is longer in the second direction than the adaptor outlet); and
a conduit connector (at 8), the conduit connector configured to engage at least a portion of the conduit section to couple the adaptor device to the conduit section,
wherein,
the elbow conduit (as shown below) includes
a proximate conduit section configured to extend in the first direction,
a distal conduit section configured to extend in the second direction to the adaptor outlet at a distal end of the elbow conduit, and
an elbow joint conduit section extending between the proximate conduit section and the distal conduit section such that the proximate conduit section, the elbow joint conduit section, and the distal conduit section collectively define the elbow conduit, and
the conduit structure is configured to at least partially extend through the access point opening in the first direction into the conduit section interior and to further extend to the adaptor outlet within the conduit section interior in the second direction, such that the adaptor outlet directly exposes the distal conduit section to the conduit section interior through the adaptor outlet (wherein the adaptor outlet is configured to be directly exposed where the given conduit is longer in the second direction than the adaptor outlet).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 3, Ligh discloses wherein
the adaptor device (as shown above) is configured to direct a fluid to flow through the adaptor conduit and through the adaptor outlet as a fluid stream directed through an upper portion of the conduit section in a particular flow direction at least partially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section, such that the fluid stream is at least partially vertically spaced apart in a vertical direction from a lower portion of the conduit section, the vertical direction opposite to a direction of gravity (wherein the adaptor device is capable of being configured to have a fluid flow from the adaptor inlet thru the adaptor outlet and wherein a fluid stream can be directed through the given conduit), wherein
the upper portion of the conduit section includes a portion of the conduit section interior above the longitudinal axis of the conduit section interior in relation to the direction of gravity (wherein the given conduit can be configured to include the upper portion), and
the lower portion of the conduit section interior is a portion of the conduit section interior that is below the longitudinal axis in relation to the direction of gravity (wherein the given conduit can be configured to include the lower portion).
Note: the conduit and the fluid are not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 4, Ligh discloses wherein
the particular flow direction is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section (wherein the given conduit can be configured to have the particular flow direction be parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 5, Ligh discloses wherein
the conduit (wherein the given conduit can be configured to include a condensate drain line) includes a condensate drain line of an air conditioning system, the conduit extending from a condensate drain inlet to a condensate drain outlet, the condensate drain line configured to receive condensate from an air handler of the air conditioning system at the condensate drain inlet, the conduit configured to direct the condensate from the condensate drain inlet to the condensate drain outlet through at least the conduit section interior; and
the adaptor device (as shown above) is configured to
receive a fluid at the adaptor inlet, and
direct the fluid through the adaptor conduit and into the conduit section interior via the access point opening and through the adaptor outlet in the conduit section interior in a particular flow direction at least partially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section, such that the adaptor device directs the fluid to flow through an interior of the condensate drain line at least partially in an upstream direction from the conduit section toward the condensate drain inlet (wherein the adaptor device is capable of being configured to have a fluid be received in the adaptor inlet and directed thru the adaptor outlet).
Note: the conduit and the condensate drain line are not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 7, Ligh discloses further comprising:
an inlet connector (as shown above) configured to couple with a fluid supply conduit external to the conduit to cause the adaptor inlet to be in fluid communication with the fluid supply conduit.
Note: the fluid supply conduit and the conduit are not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 8, Ligh discloses wherein the conduit connector (at 8) includes a clamp (at 7) that is configured to directly engage and clamp an outer sidewall surface of the conduit section sidewall of the conduit section to couple the adaptor device to the conduit section (wherein the clamp can be configured to directly engage an outer sidewall surface of a given conduit).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 11, Ligh discloses a method to provide a fluid connection into a conduit section interior of a conduit section of a conduit through a sidewall thickness of a conduit section sidewall of the conduit section, the method comprising:
inserting a conduit structure (as shown below) of an adaptor device in a first direction at least partially through an access point opening through the sidewall thickness and into the conduit section interior, the conduit structure defining an adaptor conduit extending between an adaptor inlet and an adaptor outlet, the adaptor conduit including an elbow conduit extending to the adaptor outlet, wherein the inserting causes the adaptor outlet to be within the conduit section interior and a central axis of the adaptor outlet to extend in a second direction that is different from the first direction and is at least partially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the conduit section within the conduit section interior, the access point opening extending through the sidewall thickness of the conduit section sidewall of the conduit section; and
coupling the adaptor device to the conduit section, based on engaging a conduit connector (as shown below) with at least a portion of the conduit section,
wherein,
the elbow conduit (as shown below) includes
a proximate conduit section configured to extend in the first direction,
a distal conduit section configured to extend in the second direction to the adaptor outlet at a distal end of the elbow conduit, and
an elbow joint conduit section extending between the proximate conduit section and the distal conduit section such that the proximate conduit section, the elbow joint conduit section, and the distal conduit section collectively define the elbow conduit, and
the inserting causes the conduit structure to at least partially extend through the access point opening in the first direction into the conduit section interior and to further extend to the adaptor outlet within the conduit section interior in the second direction (as shown below), such that the adaptor outlet directly exposes the distal conduit section to the conduit section interior through the adaptor outlet (where the adaptor outlet is directly exposed to the conduit section interior without the tee 13 - column 2, lines 48-49).
With regard to claim 12, Ligh discloses further comprising:
directing a fluid to flow through the adaptor conduit and through the adaptor outlet (column 3, lines 8-9) as a fluid stream directed through an upper portion of the conduit section in a particular flow direction at least partially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section, such that the fluid stream is at least partially vertically spaced apart in a vertical direction from a lower portion of the conduit section, the vertical direction opposite to a direction of gravity, wherein
the upper portion (as shown above) of the conduit section includes a portion of the conduit section interior above the longitudinal axis of the conduit section interior in relation to the direction of gravity, and
the lower portion (as shown above) of the conduit section interior is a portion of the conduit section interior that is below the longitudinal axis in relation to the direction of gravity.
With regard to claim 14, Ligh discloses wherein
the central axis of the adaptor outlet extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section within the conduit section interior (as shown above).
With regard to claim 16, Ligh discloses wherein the conduit connector includes a clamp (as shown above), and the engaging of the conduit connector with at least the portion of the conduit section causes the clamp to directly engage and clamp an outer sidewall surface of the conduit section sidewall to couple the adaptor device to the conduit section.
With regard to claim 19, Ligh discloses wherein the elbow conduit is configured to at least partially extend through the access point opening into the conduit section interior based on:
the distal conduit section being inserted through the access point opening to insert the adaptor outlet into the conduit section interior through the access point opening (where the distal conduit section is capable of being inserted into a conduit section interior thru an access point opening), and
the elbow joint conduit section being at least partially inserted through the access point opening based at least in part upon being pivoted to enable the distal end of the elbow conduit to pivot upwards to cause the central axis of the adaptor outlet to extend in the second direction within the conduit section interior (where the elbow joint conduit section is capable of being pivoted while being inserted into a conduit section interior thru an access point opening).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 20, Ligh discloses an adaptor device, comprising:
a first conduit structure (as shown below) at least partially defining a first conduit extending from an adaptor inlet; and
an elbow nozzle structure (as shown below) at least partially defining an elbow conduit extending to an adaptor outlet, the elbow nozzle structure configured to couple with the first conduit structure such that the elbow conduit and the first conduit at least partially collectively define an adaptor conduit extending between the adaptor inlet and the adaptor outlet through both the first conduit structure and the elbow nozzle structure,
wherein,
the elbow nozzle structure is configured to at least partially extend through an access point opening in a first direction into a conduit section interior of a conduit section of a conduit and to further extend to the adaptor outlet within the conduit section interior such that the adaptor outlet is within the conduit section interior and a central axis of the adaptor outlet extends in a second direction that is different from the first direction and is at least partially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the conduit section within the conduit section interior, the access point opening extending through a sidewall thickness of a conduit section sidewall of the conduit section (wherein the adaptor conduit can be configured to extend into a given conduit in a first direction from the adaptor inlet into an access point opening of the conduit and extend thru the conduit in a second direction different from the first direction to the adaptor outlet where the given conduit is longer in the second direction than the adaptor outlet),
the elbow nozzle structure (as shown below) includes
a proximate nozzle section defining a proximate conduit section configured to extend from an elbow conduit inlet in the first direction,
a distal nozzle section defining the adaptor outlet and further defining a distal conduit section extending in the second direction to the adaptor outlet at a distal end of the elbow nozzle structure, and
an elbow joint connecting the proximate nozzle section and the distal nozzle section, the elbow joint defining an elbow joint conduit section extending between the proximate conduit section and the distal conduit section such that the proximate conduit section, the elbow joint conduit section, and the distal conduit section collectively define the elbow conduit, and
the elbow nozzle structure is configured to at least partially extend through the access point opening in the first direction into the conduit section interior and to further extend to the adaptor outlet within the conduit section interior in the second direction, such that the access point opening directly exposes the distal conduit section to the conduit section interior through the adaptor outlet (wherein the adaptor outlet is configured to be directly exposed where the given conduit is longer in the second direction than the adaptor outlet).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 21, Ligh discloses wherein the proximate nozzle section at least partially defines an elbow adaptor conduit structure (as shown above), the elbow adaptor conduit structure configured to engage a portion of an outer sidewall surface of the conduit section to at least partially hold the elbow nozzle structure in place in relation to the outer sidewall surface.
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 22, Ligh discloses wherein the adaptor device is configured to:
receive a fluid at the adaptor inlet, and
direct the fluid through the adaptor conduit and into the conduit section interior via the access point opening and through the adaptor outlet in the conduit section interior in a particular flow direction, the particular flow direction at least partially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section (wherein the adaptor device is capable of receiving a fluid at the adaptor inlet which is directed thru the adaptor outlet in a particular flow direction).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 23, Ligh discloses further comprising:
an inlet connector (as shown above) configured to couple with a fluid supply conduit that is external to the conduit to cause the adaptor inlet to be in fluid communication with the fluid supply conduit.
Note: the fluid supply conduit and the conduit are not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 24, Ligh discloses further comprising:
a conduit connector (as shown above), the conduit connector configured to engage at least a portion of the conduit section to couple the adaptor device to the conduit section.
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 26, Ligh discloses wherein the elbow nozzle structure includes an elbow adaptor conduit structure (as shown above), the elbow adaptor conduit structure configured to engage a portion of an outer sidewall surface of the conduit section to at least partially hold the elbow nozzle structure in place in relation to the outer sidewall surface.
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 27, Ligh discloses wherein the proximate nozzle section, the elbow joint, and the distal nozzle section has a respective outer diameter that is configured to be equal to or smaller than a diameter of the access point opening (where the outer diameters are capable of being configured to be equal to or smaller than a diameter of an access point opening of a given conduit).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 28, Ligh discloses wherein the elbow nozzle structure is configured to at least partially extend through the access point opening into the conduit section interior based on:
the distal nozzle section being inserted through the access point opening to insert the adaptor outlet into the conduit section interior through the access point opening (where the distal nozzle section is capable of being inserted into a conduit section interior thru an access point opening), and
the elbow joint being at least partially inserted through the access point opening based at least in part upon being pivoted to enable the distal end of the elbow nozzle structure to pivot upwards to cause the central axis of the adaptor outlet to extend in the second direction within the conduit section interior (where the elbow joint is capable of being pivoted while being inserted into a conduit section interior thru an access point opening).
Note: the conduit is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 29, Ligh discloses system, comprising:
the adaptor device of claim 20;
a fluid supply source (column 3, lines 8-9), the fluid supply source configured to dispense a fluid through a fluid supply source outlet; and
a fluid supply conduit (as shown above), the fluid supply conduit configured to couple the adaptor inlet of the adaptor device to the fluid supply source outlet of the fluid supply source to establish fluid communication between the fluid supply source outlet of the fluid supply source and the adaptor inlet of the adaptor device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9, 15, 17 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligh.
With regard to claim 6, Ligh discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that at least a portion of the conduit structure defining the elbow conduit comprises silicone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a portion of the conduit structure defining the elbow conduit comprise silicone with a reasonable expectation of success to provide flexibility in the elbow conduit and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 9, Ligh discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that further comprising a sealing member configured to seal at least an outer edge of the access point opening based on the conduit connector coupling the conduit structure to the conduit section.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to add a sealing member to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a sealing member with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
With regard to claim 15, Ligh discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that at least a portion of the conduit structure defining the elbow conduit comprises silicone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a portion of the conduit structure defining the elbow conduit comprise silicone with a reasonable expectation of success to provide flexibility in the elbow conduit and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 17, Ligh discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that the coupling of the adaptor device to the conduit section includes causing a sealing member to seal at least an outer edge of the access point opening.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to add a sealing member between elements to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a sealing member with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
With regard to claim 25, Ligh discloses further comprising a sealing member coupled to the elbow nozzle structure, the sealing member configured to seal at least an outer edge of the access point opening based on the elbow nozzle structure at least partially extending through the access point opening in the first direction into the conduit section interior of the conduit section of the conduit.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to add a sealing member to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a sealing member with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 13, 18 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is an example of another adaptor device with a conduit structure, a conduit connector and an elbow conduit.
Applicant's amendment of at least claim 2 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679