DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Patent No. 20-2015-0004021 (“KR ‘021”).
With regard to claim 2, and as shown in Figure 2, KR ‘201 discloses an adaptor device, comprising:
a conduit structure (at 120) defining an adaptor conduit extending between an adaptor inlet (see below) and an adaptor outlet (at 124a), the adaptor conduit including an elbow conduit (at 122) extending to the adaptor outlet, the conduit structure configured to at least partially extend through an access point opening (see below) into a conduit section interior (see below) of a conduit section of a conduit (at 130) such that the adaptor outlet is within the conduit section interior and a central axis (see below) of the adaptor outlet extends at least partially parallel to a longitudinal axis (see below) of the conduit section within the conduit section interior (as shown in Fig 2); and
a conduit connector (at 123), the conduit connector configured to engage at least a portion of the conduit section to couple the adaptor device to the conduit section (where 123 engages a portion of 130).
With regard to claim 3, KR ‘201 discloses wherein
the adaptor device is configured to direct a fluid to flow through the adaptor conduit and through the adaptor outlet as a fluid stream (wherein the adaptor device is capable of being configured to direct a fluid through the adaptor conduit at 120 and through the adaptor outlet at 124a) directed through an upper portion of the conduit section in a particular flow direction (flow direction along the central axis) at least partially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section, such that the fluid stream is at least partially vertically spaced apart in a vertical direction from a lower portion of the conduit section, the vertical direction opposite to a direction of gravity, wherein
the upper portion (see above) of the conduit section includes a portion of the conduit section interior above the longitudinal axis of the conduit section interior in relation to the direction of gravity, and
the lower portion (see above) of the conduit section interior is a portion of the conduit section interior that is below the longitudinal axis in relation to the direction of gravity.
With regard to claim 4, KR ‘201 discloses wherein
the particular flow direction is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section (as shown in Fig 2 above).
With regard to claim 7, KR ‘201 discloses further comprising:
an inlet connector (at 110) configured to couple with a fluid supply conduit external to the conduit to cause the adaptor inlet to be in fluid communication with the fluid supply conduit (wherein the inlet connector at 110 can be configured to be coupled to a fluid supply conduit).
With regard to claim 8, KR ‘201 discloses wherein the conduit connector includes a clamp (see above) that is configured to directly engage and clamp an outer sidewall surface (see above) of a conduit section sidewall of the conduit section to couple the adaptor device to the conduit section (as shown in Fig 2).
With regard to claim 11, and as shown in Fig 2, KR ‘201 discloses a method to provide a fluid connection into a conduit section interior of a conduit section of a conduit (at 130) through a sidewall thickness of a conduit section sidewall of the conduit section, the method comprising:
inserting a conduit structure (at 120) of an adaptor device at least partially through an access point opening (see above) through the sidewall thickness and into the conduit section interior (see above), the conduit structure defining an adaptor conduit extending between an adaptor inlet (see above) and an adaptor outlet (at 124a), the adaptor conduit including an elbow conduit (at 122) extending to the adaptor outlet (at 124a), wherein the inserting causes the adaptor outlet to be within the conduit section interior (as shown in Fig 2) and a central axis (see above) of the adaptor outlet to extend at least partially parallel to a longitudinal axis (see above) of the conduit section within the conduit section interior; and
coupling the adaptor device to the conduit section (via connector at 123), based on engaging a conduit connector (at 123) with at least a portion of the conduit section (where 123 engages a portion of 130).
With regard to claim 12, KR ‘201 discloses further comprising:
directing a fluid to flow through the adaptor conduit and through the adaptor outlet as a fluid stream (wherein the adaptor device directs a fluid through the adaptor conduit at 120 and through the adaptor outlet at 124a) directed through an upper portion of the conduit section in a particular flow direction (flow direction along the central axis) at least partially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the conduit section, such that the fluid stream is at least partially vertically spaced apart in a vertical direction from a lower portion of the conduit section, the vertical direction opposite to a direction of gravity, wherein
the upper portion (see above) of the conduit section includes a portion of the conduit section interior above the longitudinal axis of the conduit section interior in relation to the direction of gravity, and
the lower portion (see above) of the conduit section interior is a portion of the conduit section interior that is below the longitudinal axis in relation to the direction of gravity.
With regard to claim 14, KR ‘201 discloses wherein
the central axis (see above) of the adaptor outlet extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (see above) of the conduit section within the conduit section interior (as shown in Fig 2 above).
With regard to claim 16, KR ‘201 discloses wherein the conduit connector includes a clamp (see above), and the engaging of the conduit connector with at least the portion of the conduit section causes the clamp to directly engage and clamp an outer sidewall surface (see above) of the conduit section sidewall to couple the adaptor device to the conduit section (as shown in Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR ‘201.
With regard to claim 6, KR ‘201 discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that at least a portion of the conduit structure defining the elbow conduit comprises silicone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the elbow conduit comprise silicone with a reasonable expectation of success to provide flexibility in the elbow conduit and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 9, KR ‘201 discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose further comprising a sealing member configured to seal at least an outer edge of the access point opening based on the conduit connector coupling the conduit structure to the conduit section.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to add a sealing member to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a sealing member with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
With regard to claim 15, KR ‘201 discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that at least a portion of the conduit structure defining the elbow conduit comprises silicone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the elbow conduit comprise silicone with a reasonable expectation of success to provide flexibility in the elbow conduit and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 17, KR ‘201 discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that the coupling of the adaptor device to the conduit section includes causing a sealing member to seal at least an outer edge of the access point opening.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to add a sealing member to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a sealing member with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent leakage and provide a more secure fluid connection and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 5-11, 13 and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 13, 15-17, 24, and 26-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,140,337 (“Patent ‘337”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader recitation of an adaptor device with a conduit structure and a conduit connector as presently claimed in the current application along with the independently and dependently claimed limitations of claims 2, 5-11, 13 and 15-18 are merely a broadened form of the limitations as disclosed in claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 13, 15-17, 24, and 26-28 of Patent ‘337.
Claims 2-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-17, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,379,133 (“Patent ‘133”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader recitation of an adaptor device with a conduit structure and a conduit connector as presently claimed in the current application along with the independently and dependently claimed limitations of claims 2-18 are merely a broadened form of the limitations as disclosed in claims 1-7, 9-17, 19 and 20 of Patent ‘133.
Conclusion
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679