DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 05/08/2026.
Claim Status
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 2-11 have been cancelled.
Claims 12-21 have been newly added.
Claims 1 and 12-21 are currently pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 2015/0308637) (hereinafter “Chang”).
Re claim 1, Chang discloses a phosphor wheel for a projection display device, comprising:
a substrate (323);
a phosphor layer (321) configured to convert excitation light into visible light; and
an intermediate layer (322) disposed between the substrate (323) and the phosphor layer (321), wherein the intermediate layer (322) is distinct from the substrate and configured to function as a reflection layer that reflects visible light emitted from the phosphor layer toward a projection optical system, and
wherein the intermediate layer (322) is configured to suppress separation and thermal degradation of the phosphor layer (321) when irradiated by excitation light having a power density of 30 W/mm² or more. (See figs. 6-8 and 11; paras. 0035, 0038-0039, 0043-0044)
Re claim 12, Chang further discloses the phosphor wheel according to claim 1, wherein the phosphor wheel is configured such that visible light emitted from the phosphor layer is extracted in a direction opposite the substrate (paras. 0035, 0038-0039).
Re claim 13, Chang further discloses the phosphor wheel according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer is configured to reduce transmission of excitation light toward the substrate (figs. 12 and 13; and para. 0039).
Re claim 14, Chang further discloses the phosphor wheel according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer is configured to mitigate thermal stress between the substrate and the phosphor layer (paras. 0034-0036).
Re claim 15, Chang further discloses the phosphor wheel according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the intermediate layer and the phosphor layer comprises titanium oxide (para. 0034).
Re claim 16, Chang further discloses the phosphor wheel according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the intermediate layer and the phosphor layer comprises a binder (para. 0034).
Re claim 17, Chang further discloses the phosphor wheel according to claim 16, wherein the binder comprises a polysilsesquioxane (para. 0032).
Re claim 18, Chang further discloses a light source device comprising: a laser light source; and the phosphor wheel according to claim 1 (abstract; paras. 0031, 0043).
Re claim 19, Chang further discloses the light source device according to claim 18, wherein the laser light source is configured to emit excitation light at a power density of 30 W/mm² or more (para. 0044).
Re claim 20, Chang further discloses a projection display device comprising the light source device according to claim 18 (para. 0003).
Re claim 21, Chang further discloses the projection display device according to claim 20, wherein the projection display device is configured to extract reflective light (paras. 0003, 0038-0039).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876