DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
The line quality of all the drawings, when zoomed in, illustrate an inconsistent line quality. 37 CFR 1.84 (Standards for Drawings), section L (Character of lines, numbers, and letters) states: “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined”. The drawings should be viewed in the USPTO’s patent center in order to see this problem.
The drawings (i.e., specifically figures 2-3) have poor line quality and thus do not meet the requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(L). The drawings should be viewed in the USPTO’s patent center in order to see this problem. The drawings (i.e., specifically figures 2-3) likely contain grayscale elements which causes image degradation in the USPTO electronic filing system. The drawings must be entirely bi-tonal, containing only black or white color values.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference numeral “300”, as shown in figure 3.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[...] drilling mud sample and enable said cleaning system[[ (410)]] to perform said cleaning action...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 cites: “[...] wherein said function of a rate of penetration is based on an estimate of an acceptable amount of cuttings contained in a drilling mud sample.” Examiner has confusion as to what the metes and bounds of the relative terminology “acceptable” is limited to in light of the instant specification. Though at least paragraph [0098] of the instant specification provides support for using the phrase “an acceptable amount of cuttings”, it would be unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to what “acceptable” is being defined as in light of the instant specification as the term is not limited. For example, is “an acceptable amount of cuttings” based on typical parameters, specific situations, thresholds, etc.? For examination purposes, the examiner will give its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the instant specification and will assume for the phrase to correspond to a drilling parameter threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe (US Publication Number 2022/0065102 A1; herein “Rowe”) in view of Graves et al. (US Publication Number 2017/0096893 A1; herein “Graves”) in further view of Pettapiece et al. (US Patent Number 9,726,003 B2; herein “Pettapiece”) and Mezgani et al. (US Publication Number 2023/0160269 A1; herein “Mezghani”).
In regard to claim 1, Rowe discloses: An intelligent cuttings sampler for the retrieval and testing of cuttings from a drilling operation comprising:
a sample extractor (144) which extracts a sample of drilling mud from a mud return system (i.e., return system comprising 142, 152 — paragraphs [0027-0030] and figure 1), comprising:
a plurality of openings (i.e., opening ends of at least 152) sized to allow for the passage of drilling mud containing cuttings (paragraphs [0021, 0027]), and
a flow mud pump (141) for extracting a drilling mud sample from the mud return system (Examiner notes that the mud pump 141 circulates the mud throughout the closed loop system and assists to extract drilling mud/samples from 152, in which a portion/sample of the drilling mud can be directed from 142 to 157/144),
a cleaning system which is configured to accept the drilling mud sample provided by the sample extractor and performs a cleaning action to remove fluid in the drilling mud sample resulting in a cutting sample (paragraphs [0027, 0077-0080]);
an analysis system (160) for performing an initial analysis on the cutting sample to classify a type of rock contained in the cutting sample (paragraphs [0078-0080]), and
a main controller, configured to control at least the flow mud pump (paragraphs [0031, 0034, 0181-018]).
However, Rowe is silent in regard to the following:
“a probe, wherein the probe is located inside of the mud return system and has a plurality of openings sized to allow for the passage of drilling mud containing cuttings,
a variable flow mud pump for extracting a drilling mud sample from the mud return system,
a packaging system for accepting and placing the cutting sample in a storage container, and
a main controller, configured to control at least the variable flow mud pump as a function of a rate of penetration of the drilling operation.”
Nonetheless, Graves teaches a similar type of wellbore surface extractor/analyzer system (158 — paragraphs [0023-0027]), similar to that of Rowe. Graves cites: “[...] the extractor and analyzer 158 may be in fluid communication with and receive samples of the drilling fluid through a probe connected to the return line 148” (paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the return line, as taught by Rowe, to include a probe, as taught by Graves, to provide additional analyzing means in the system.
Furthermore, Rowe is silent in regard to:
“a variable flow mud pump for extracting a drilling mud sample from the mud return system, and
a main controller, configured to control at least the variable flow mud pump as a function of a rate of penetration of the drilling operation.”
Nonetheless, Pettapiece teaches a wellbore drilling system comprising a controller (abstract, column 1, lines 14-24, and claim 1), similar to that of Rowe. Pettapiece cites: “[...] the controller is configured to compare one or more of the drilling parameter settings with one or more of the current ROP, WOB and DP and to provide output instructions to the hydraulic cylinder control system to automatically control drilling by adjusting the function of the hydraulic cylinder and the mud pump to adjust one or more of the current ROP, WOB and DP to maintain the drilling parameter settings” (claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the controller and pump system, as taught by Pettapiece, to include for the mud pump to be varbiablly controlled, and for the controller to control at least the variable flow mud pump as a function of a rate of penetration of the drilling operation, as taught by Pettapiece, to allow for maintaining drilling parameter settings (claim 1 — Pettapiece).
Furthermore, Rowe is silent in regard to: “[...] a packaging system for accepting and placing the cutting sample in a storage container...”.
Nonetheless, Mezghani teaches a drilling mud analysis system (abstract and paragraphs [0012, 0048]), similar to that of Rowe. Mezghani cites: “[...] the disclosure include a system and method for the automated sampling, preparation, analysis, and packaging of drilled cuttings. Specifically, one or more embodiments of this disclosure presents a modular integrated system for sampling, preparing, analyzing, and packaging drill cutting samples” (paragraph [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the system, as taught by Rowe, to include for a packaging system for storing drilled cuttings, as taught by Mezghani, to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of having backup samples in the case that the analyzing system fails or malfunctions (paragraph [0002] of Mezghani). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection A.
In regard to claim 5, Rowe further discloses: wherein said cleaning system further comprises an initial shale-shaker configured to accept said drilling mud sample from said sample extractor and separate cuttings from drilling mud (paragraphs [0027, 0077, 0141]).
In regard to claim 9, Rowe in view of Graves, Pettapiece, and Mezghani disclose the preceding claim.
However, the modification of Rowe in view of Graves, Pettapiece, and Mezghani fails to teach: “[...] wherein the analysis system comprises a photography device capable of taking photographs in ultra-violet and visible light and wherein the classification of rock contained in the cutting sample is based on the output of a trained machine learning algorithm.”
Nonetheless, Mezghani teaches a drilling mud analysis system (abstract and paragraphs [0012, 0048]), similar to that of Rowe. Mezghani cites: “Although not depicted in FIG. 4, it is envisioned within the scope of the disclosure that the plurality of sensors include multiple other sensors used to analyze the drilled cuttings 27. To this end, cameras with automated algorithms may be used to monitor the drilled cuttings 27 and ensure that the drilled cuttings 27 are not damaged by other sensors. Moreover, brightfield cameras, hyperspectral cameras...” (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the analysis system, as taught by Rowe, to include a photography system capable of taking photographs in ultra-violet and visible light and wherein the classification of rock contained in the cutting sample is based on the output of a trained machine learning algorithm, as taught by Mezghani, to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of providing additional analysis to determine the state of the drilling mud/cuttings and drilling operations (paragraph [0039] of Mezghani). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection A.
In regard to claim 10, in view of the modification of the preceding claim(s), Mezghani further discloses: wherein the photography device is a hyperspectral camera (paragraph [0039]).
In regard to claim 11, in view of the modification of the preceding claim(s), Mezghani further discloses: wherein the packaging system is configured to separate a subset of said cutting sample for additional analysis (paragraph [0012] | see claim 1 rejection herein).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe (US Publication Number 2022/0065102 A1; herein “Rowe”) in view of Graves et al. (US Publication Number 2017/0096893 A1; herein “Graves”) in further view of Pettapiece et al. (US Patent Number 9,726,003 B2; herein “Pettapiece”), Mezgani et al. (US Publication Number 2023/0160269 A1; herein “Mezghani”), and Smith (US Publication Number 2022/0283138 A1; herein “Smith”).
In regard to claim 7, Rowe in view of Graves, Pettapiece, and Mezghani disclose the preceding claim.
However, Rowe is silent in regard to: wherein the cleaning system further comprises: a washing station configured to perform a first washing action being performed with a solvent selected based on a type of the drilling mud, a second washing action being performed with detergent, and a third washing action being performed with water, a drying station configured to perform a drying operation using a heating element and/or a vibration element.
Nonetheless, Smith teaches a similar type of drill mud system which requires cleaning the mud, in which Smith cites: “[...] the cuttings sample is caught using a sieve-like device or device serving as a sieve, such as that similar or equivalent to a kitchen strainer, from the mud after it is discharged from the flow line and before it enters the possum belly. The sample is then usually washed and dried. Drying using high heat may compromise the sample. As such, air drying may be advantageous in some aspects. Washing using soap, detergents, solvents, or diesel is not recommended. A simple water-based wash is typically better. Alternatively, the cleaning step may simply comprise cleaning cuttings using mild brushing/abrasion, such as using a toothbrush or other similar device. Such dry-cleaning methods may be very advantageous where salt makes up part of the geologic formation, as washing such samples in water removes an actual part of the rock by the dissolution of the salt” (paragraph [0311-0312]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the cleaning system, as taught by Rowe, to include the steps, as taught by Smith, to allow for sealed at the well samples to be analyzed prior to post analysis, i.e., after cleaning, etc. (paragraph [0311] — Smith).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe (US Publication Number 2022/0065102 A1; herein “Rowe”) in view of Graves et al. (US Publication Number 2017/0096893 A1; herein “Graves”) in further view of Pettapiece et al. (US Patent Number 9,726,003 B2; herein “Pettapiece”), Mezgani et al. (US Publication Number 2023/0160269 A1; herein “Mezghani”), and Tonner et al. (US Patent Number 10,927,671 B1; herein “Tonner”).
In regard to claim 16, Rowe in view of Graves, Pettapiece, and Mezghani disclose the preceding claim.
However, Rowe is silent in regard to: “[...] wherein said analysis system further comprises at least one of a XRD module, XRF module, and/or a LIBS module.”
Nonetheless, Tonner discloses that drilling mud analysis system(s) “[...] may include additional components 520, such as lighting, an on-line x-ray fluorescence (XRF) device, an on-line x-ray diffraction (XRD) device...” (column 14, lines 24-34).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the mud analysis system, as taught by Rowe, to include for on-line x-ray diffraction (XRD) device, as taught by Tonner, to perform additional analysis of drill cuttings (column 1, lines 8-12 & column 14, lines 24-34 of Tonner).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, and 12-15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references in the PTO-892 relate to cuttings sampler systems.
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676