DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed July 29th 2025 are pending in the current action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “: a display panel on which a pixel is arranged” is duplicated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US2022/0208104).
Consider claim 1, where Chang discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel on which a pixel is arranged; a display panel on which a pixel is arranged; (See Chang Fig. 1, 2 and ¶42 where FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a configuration of a display device according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 2 shows a configuration of a sub-pixel array included in a display panel); and a data driver configured to apply a data voltage to the pixel through a data line and receive a signal output from the pixel through a readout line, (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶51-52 where the data driver circuit 12 converts compensated image data MDATA input from the timing controller 11 based on a data control signal DDC into a data voltage for image display and supplies the converted data voltage to the data voltage supply lines 14A_1 to 14A_m. During a sensing operation for sensing a threshold voltage of the driving transistor, the data driver circuit 12 may transmit a data voltage for sensing the threshold voltage to the sub-pixels SP, based on the first gate signal for sensing the threshold voltage supplied on a horizontal line basis and may convert a sensed voltage input from the display panel 10 via the sensed voltage readout lines 14B_1 to 14B_m into a digital value and may supply the converted digital value to the timing controller 11.) wherein the data driver comprises: a sensing driver configured to generate sensing data based on a sensing signal output through the readout line; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶66 where The data driver circuit 12 is connected to the sub-pixel SP via the data voltage supply line 14A and the sensed voltage readout line 14B. The sensing capacitor Cx is connected to the sensed voltage readout line 14B to store therein a source voltage of the second node N2 as a sensed voltage Vsen ) and a switching element having one end connected to the readout line and another end connected to the sensing driver or a voltage source in response to a switching control signal. (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶68 where the initialization switch SW1 switches current flow between an input side of the initialization voltage Vpre and the sensed voltage readout line 14B. The sampling switch SW2 switches current flow between the sensed voltage readout line 14B and the ADC.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kim (US2017/0294166)
Consider claim 2, where Chang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the switching element electrically connects the readout line and the voltage source to each other, (See Chang ¶68 where the initialization switch SW1 switches current flow between an input side of the initialization voltage Vpre and the sensed voltage readout line 14B.) and wherein the switching element electrically connects the readout line and the sensing driver to each other during sensing-driving. (See Chang ¶71 where The sensed voltage Vsen may be detected when the sampling switch SW2 in the data driver circuit 12 is turned on within the sensing period for which the second gate signal SEN for sensing the threshold voltage is maintained at the on level, and then the sensed voltage Vsen as detected may be supplied to the ADC.)
Chang teaches the switching element electrically connects the readout line and the voltage source to each other. However, Chang does not explicitly teach during display-driving. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Kim teaches during display driving. (See Kim Fig. 5 and ¶98 where the second switch SW2 may be turned on during a displaying period. Thus, the second reference voltage VREF2 may be applied to the readout line RLj and the first electrode of the OLED during the display period. Accordingly, the driving current can flow through the OLED.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display driving operation of Chang to supply the reference voltage during the display operation as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using existing circuits to supply an initialization voltage to better prepare the OLED.
Consider claim 13, where Chang teaches a method for operating a display device, comprising: a display panel on which a pixel is arranged; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶49 where The sub-pixel SP may include an organic light emitting diode (OLED)) a gate driver configured to apply a scan signal and a light emission signal to the pixel; and a data driver configured to apply a data voltage to the pixel through a data line and receive a signal output from the pixel through a readout line, wherein the data driver comprises: a sensing driver configured to generate sensing data based on a sensing signal output through the readout line; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶51-52 where the data driver circuit 12 converts compensated image data MDATA input from the timing controller 11 based on a data control signal DDC into a data voltage for image display and supplies the converted data voltage to the data voltage supply lines 14A_1 to 14A_m. During a sensing operation for sensing a threshold voltage of the driving transistor, the data driver circuit 12 may transmit a data voltage for sensing the threshold voltage to the sub-pixels SP, based on the first gate signal for sensing the threshold voltage supplied on a horizontal line basis and may convert a sensed voltage input from the display panel 10 via the sensed voltage readout lines 14B_1 to 14B_m into a digital value and may supply the converted digital value to the timing controller 11.) and a switching element having one end connected to the readout line and another end connected to the sensing driver (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶66 where The data driver circuit 12 is connected to the sub-pixel SP via the data voltage supply line 14A and the sensed voltage readout line 14B. The sensing capacitor Cx is connected to the sensed voltage readout line 14B to store therein a source voltage of the second node N2 as a sensed voltage Vsen ) or a voltage source in response to a switching control signal, (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶68 where the initialization switch SW1 switches current flow between an input side of the initialization voltage Vpre and the sensed voltage readout line 14B. The sampling switch SW2 switches current flow between the sensed voltage readout line 14B and the ADC.) and wherein the method comprises: (See Chang ¶68 where the initialization switch SW1 switches current flow between an input side of the initialization voltage Vpre and the sensed voltage readout line 14B.) and applying the switching control signal in a second level which is different from the first level in a sensing period, and wherein during the sensing period, the switching element electrically connects the readout line and the sensing driver to each other in response to the switching control signal in the second level. (See Chang ¶69 where for the sensing operation, when the first and second gate signals SCAN and SEN for sensing the threshold voltage are applied to the sub-pixel SP while being at an on-level Lon, the first switching transistor ST1 and the second switching transistor ST2 are turned on. In this connection, the initialization switch SW1 in the data driver circuit 12 is turned on..)
Chang teaches the switching element electrically connects the readout line and the voltage source to each other. However, Chang does not explicitly teach applying the switching control signal in a first level in a display period; wherein during the display period, the switching element electrically connects the readout line and the voltage source to each other in response to the switching control signal in the first level. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Kim teaches applying the switching control signal in a first level in a display period; during wherein during the display period, the switching element electrically connects the readout line and the voltage source to each other in response to the switching control signal in the first level. (See Kim Fig. 5 and ¶98 where the second switch SW2 may be turned on during a displaying period. Thus, the second reference voltage VREF2 may be applied to the readout line RLj and the first electrode of the OLED during the display period. Accordingly, the driving current can flow through the OLED.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display driving operation of Chang to supply the reference voltage during the display operation as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using existing circuits to supply an initialization voltage to better prepare the OLED.
Claim(s) 3-8, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Lin et al. (US2017/0162113)
Consider claim 3, where Chang discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the pixel comprises: a light emitting diode; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶49 where The sub-pixel SP may include an organic light emitting diode (OLED)) a driving transistor having a first electrode connected to a high potential driving voltage line, a second electrode connected to a first node, and a gate electrode connected to a second node; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶60 where the driving transistor DT is turned on based on a gate-source voltage Vgs to control a current Ioled flowing through the OLED. The driving transistor DT includes a gate electrode connected to a first node N1 (gate electrode connected to a second node), a drain electrode connected to an input side of a high-potential driving voltage EVDD (a first electrode connected to a high potential driving voltage line), and a source electrode connected to the second node N2 (a second electrode connected to a first node)) a switching transistor connected between the data line and the second node and having a gate electrode configured to receive a first scan signal; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶62 where the first switching transistor ST1 applies a data voltage Vdata for sensing a threshold voltage as charged in the data voltage supply line 14A to the first node N1 in response to the first gate signal SCAN for sensing the threshold voltage, during the sensing operation.) a readout transistor connected between the driving transistor and the readout line and having a gate electrode configured to receive a fourth scan signal; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶64 where during the sensing operation, the second switching transistor ST2 switches a current flow between the second node N2 and the sensed voltage readout line 14B in response to the second gate signal SEN for sensing the threshold voltage such that a source voltage of the second node N2 which changes based on a gate voltage of the first node N1 is stored in a sensing capacitor Cx of the sensed voltage readout line 14B.)
Chang teaches a pixel circuit, however Chang does not explicitly teach a first light emission transistor connected between the high potential driving voltage line and the first electrode of the driving transistor and having a gate electrode configured to receive a first light emission signal. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lin teaches a first light emission transistor connected between the high potential driving voltage line and the first electrode of the driving transistor and having a gate electrode configured to receive a first light emission signal. (See Lin Fig. 11 and ¶79-80 where during normal operation (emission operations), EM is held low by display driver circuitry 20B, so transistor TE is on. Scan1 is low to maintain transistor T1 in an off state. Scan2 is high to maintain transistor T2 in an off state. With TE on, the data value on node Node1 (and the voltage on Node2) establishes a desired Vgs value across gate G and source S of drive transistor TD, thereby setting the magnitude of drive current Id for light-emitting diode 30.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pixel circuit of Chang by adding an emission transistor as taught by Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques to separately load data and emit to have more control over the pixel driving.
Consider claim 4, where Chang in view of Lin teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the readout transistor has one electrode connected to the first electrode or the second electrode of the driving transistor, and another electrode connected to the readout line. (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶64 where during the sensing operation, the second switching transistor ST2 switches a current flow between the second node N2 and the sensed voltage readout line 14B in response to the second gate signal SEN for sensing the threshold voltage such that a source voltage of the second node N2 which changes based on a gate voltage of the first node N1 is stored in a sensing capacitor Cx of the sensed voltage readout line 14B.)
Consider claim 5, where Chang in view of Lin teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the fourth scan signal is applied such that a turn-on level and a turn-off level are alternately switched at least once during a light emission period in which the first light emission transistor is turned on within one frame. (See Lin Fig. 12 and ¶80, 82 where during data loading operations, EM is taken high by circuitry 20B to turn off transistor TE and block current Id. While EM is high, circuitry 20B takes signal Scan1 high to turn transistor T1 on. With transistor T1 on, Node2 is precharged to a predetermined voltage, thereby establishing a known gate voltage Vg at Node2 of transistor TD. Scan2 is initially high, which holds T2 off. When Scan2 is taken low (which may take place one row time before emission starts, two row times before emission starts, or at any other suitable time), transistor T2 is turned on and a desired data value is loaded from data line Data to Node1 via transistor T2. Emission operations may then be resumed by taking EM low, taking Scan1 low, and taking Scan2 high. During preloading, EM is taken high to prevent current from flowing through light-emitting diode 30 while Scan1 is taken high and Scan2 is taken low. With Scan2 low, transistor T2 is turned on and known reference data (“sense data”) is loaded from line Data onto Node1) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pixel circuit of Chang operating the sense line as taught by Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques performed during a sensing operation.
Consider claim 6, where Chang in view of Lin teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein when the fourth scan signal is applied to the readout transistor in a turn-off level, a driving current flowing from the high potential driving voltage line to the driving transistor is applied to the light emitting diode, and wherein when the fourth scan signal is applied to the readout transistor in a turn-on level, the driving current is output to the readout line through the readout transistor. (See Lin Fig. 11, 12, 16 and ¶84 where Pixel 22 may be placed in emission mode after data has been loaded by taking EM low to turn on transistor TE, taking Scan1 low to turn off transistor T1, and taking Scan2 high to turn off transistor T2.)
Consider claim 7, where Chang in view of Lin teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the pixel further includes a second light emission transistor connected between the first node and the light emitting diode and having a gate electrode configured to receive a second light emission signal, and wherein the second light emission signal is applied such that a turn-on level and a turn-off level are alternately switched at least once during a light emission period in which the first light emission transistor is turned on within one frame. (See Lin Fig. 14-18 and ¶89-91 where and horizontal control signals (gate signals) such emission enable control signals EM1 and EM2 may be used to control transistors TE1 and TE2, respectively.)
Consider claim 8, where Chang in view of Lin teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the fourth scan signal is applied such that a turn-on level and a turn-off level of the fourth scan signal are alternately switched at least once during a light emission period in which the first light emission transistor is turned on within one frame, (See Lin Fig. 14, 15 and ¶89 where Scan2 is switched on to off at the start of an emission period at the same time that EM1 is switched from off to on) and wherein during the light emission period, a turn-off period of the second light emission signal and a turn-on period of the fourth scan signal overlap, and a turn-on period of the second light emission signal and a turn-off period of the fourth scan signal overlap. (See Lin Fig. 14, 15 and ¶89 where Scan2 is switched on to off at the start of an emission period where there is some overlap period during the period when EM2 is on)
Consider claim 19, where Chang teaches a display device, comprising: a pixel; and a data driver configured to apply a data voltage to the pixel, wherein the data driver comprises: a sensing driver configured to generate sensing data based on a sensing signal output through a readout line; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶51-52 where the data driver circuit 12 converts compensated image data MDATA input from the timing controller 11 based on a data control signal DDC into a data voltage for image display and supplies the converted data voltage to the data voltage supply lines 14A_1 to 14A_m. During a sensing operation for sensing a threshold voltage of the driving transistor, the data driver circuit 12 may transmit a data voltage for sensing the threshold voltage to the sub-pixels SP, based on the first gate signal for sensing the threshold voltage supplied on a horizontal line basis and may convert a sensed voltage input from the display panel 10 via the sensed voltage readout lines 14B_1 to 14B_m into a digital value and may supply the converted digital value to the timing controller 11.) and a switching element having one end connected to the readout line (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶66 where The data driver circuit 12 is connected to the sub-pixel SP via the data voltage supply line 14A and the sensed voltage readout line 14B. The sensing capacitor Cx is connected to the sensed voltage readout line 14B to store therein a source voltage of the second node N2 as a sensed voltage Vsen ) and another end connected to the sensing driver or a voltage source in response to a switching control signal, (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶68 where the initialization switch SW1 switches current flow between an input side of the initialization voltage Vpre and the sensed voltage readout line 14B. The sampling switch SW2 switches current flow between the sensed voltage readout line 14B and the ADC.) wherein the pixel comprises: a light emitting diode; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶68 where the initialization switch SW1 switches current flow between an input side of the initialization voltage Vpre and the sensed voltage readout line 14B. The sampling switch SW2 switches current flow between the sensed voltage readout line 14B and the ADC.) a driving transistor having a first electrode connected to a high potential driving voltage line, a second electrode connected to a first node, and a gate electrode connected to a second node; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶60 where the driving transistor DT is turned on based on a gate-source voltage Vgs to control a current Ioled flowing through the OLED. The driving transistor DT includes a gate electrode connected to a first node N1 (gate electrode connected to a second node), a drain electrode connected to an input side of a high-potential driving voltage EVDD (a first electrode connected to a high potential driving voltage line), and a source electrode connected to the second node N2 (a second electrode connected to a first node)) a switching transistor connected between a data line and the second node and having a gate electrode configured to receive a first scan signal; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶62 where the first switching transistor ST1 applies a data voltage Vdata for sensing a threshold voltage as charged in the data voltage supply line 14A to the first node N1 in response to the first gate signal SCAN for sensing the threshold voltage, during the sensing operation.) a readout transistor connected between the driving transistor and the readout line and having a gate electrode configured to receive a fourth scan signal; (See Chang Fig. 3 and ¶64 where during the sensing operation, the second switching transistor ST2 switches a current flow between the second node N2 and the sensed voltage readout line 14B in response to the second gate signal SEN for sensing the threshold voltage such that a source voltage of the second node N2 which changes based on a gate voltage of the first node N1 is stored in a sensing capacitor Cx of the sensed voltage readout line 14B.)
Chang teaches a pixel circuit, however Chang does not explicitly teach a first light emission transistor connected between the high potential driving voltage line and the first electrode of the driving transistor and having a gate electrode configured to receive a first light emission signal. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lin teaches a first light emission transistor connected between the high potential driving voltage line and the first electrode of the driving transistor and having a gate electrode configured to receive a first light emission signal. (See Lin Fig. 11 and ¶79-80 where during normal operation (emission operations), EM is held low by display driver circuitry 20B, so transistor TE is on. Scan1 is low to maintain transistor T1 in an off state. Scan2 is high to maintain transistor T2 in an off state. With TE on, the data value on node Node1 (and the voltage on Node2) establishes a desired Vgs value across gate G and source S of drive transistor TD, thereby setting the magnitude of drive current Id for light-emitting diode 30.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pixel circuit of Chang by adding an emission transistor as taught by Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques to separately load data and emit to have more control over the pixel driving.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12, 14-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claim 9 recites additional pixel structure: “an initialization transistor connected between a reference voltage line and the second node and having a gate electrode configured to receive a second scan signal; an anode initialization transistor connected between the light emitting diode and an initialization voltage line and having a gate electrode configured to receive a third scan signal; a first capacitor connected between the first node and the second node; and a second capacitor connected between the high potential driving voltage line and the first node.” While the elements may be found in Lee et al. (US2023/0368732) and Bae et al. (US2024/011263), the Examiner finds it a non-obvious endeavor to modify the pixel circuit of Chang and Lin with Lee and Bae to arrive at the claimed invention. Claims 14 and 20 recite methods and structure pertaining to the additional pixel elements and are objected to for similar reasons. Claims 10-12 are objected to based upon their dependency from claim 9. Claims 15-18 are objected to based upon their dependency from claim 14.
Conclusion
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624