DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first non-final Office Action on the merits for application 19284752. Claims 1-18 are pending examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2025-10/07/2025-01/28/2026-02/05/2026-03/11/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim(s) 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-14 of US Application No. 18512243 and 1-14 of US Application No. 18512225 and claim(s) 1-10 of US Application No. 18825625. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same subject matter, perform the same method steps and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be free to practice one of the claimed inventions without infringing upon the other inventions.
Application number: 19284752
1. A visit promotion apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire captured images in which a user is captured; cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; calculate current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; and display information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user.
Application number: 18512243
1. A visit promotion apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire captured images in which a user is photographed; extract facial feature information from a face area of the captured images and cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication by comparing the extracted facial feature information with registered facial feature information stored in a database;identify a plurality of points visited by the user based on the face authentication;identify, based on a payment history of the user, amounts of payment at each of the plurality of points; andoutput a notification indicating a benefit is available to the user when the payment history indicates payments of at least a prescribed amount were made at a prescribed number or more of the plurality of points
Copending application number: 185122251. A visit promotion apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire captured images in which a user is photographed;
extract facial feature information from a face area of the captured images and cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication by comparing the extracted facial feature information with registered facial feature information stored in a database;
identify a plurality of points visited by the user based on the face authentication;
identify, based on a payment history of the user, a total amount of payment at the plurality of points; and
output a notification indicating a benefit is available to the user when the total amount of payment is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount.
Copending application number: 18825625
1.A visit promotion apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire captured images in which a face of a user is photographed at a plurality of points; extract the user's face area or facial feature information from the captured images and cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication; generate a composite image in response to satisfying a prescribed image generation condition based on the performed face authentication, wherein the composite image includes the captured image photographed at each of the plurality of points; transmit the generated composite image to a prescribed display terminal; and when the prescribed image generation condition is not satisfied at points where the face authentication is successful, transmit information indicating which points the user has visited already at the current time point, which points should be visited to satisfy the prescribed image generation condition and the number of points necessary to satisfy the prescribed image generation condition to the prescribed display terminal.
7. A visit promotion method comprising: acquiring captured images in which a user is captured; causing an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images;calculating current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points;calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; anddisplaying information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user.
7. A visit promotion system comprising: a prescribed photographing device configured to take images including a user's face area; a visit promotion apparatus configured to be able to communicate with the prescribed photographing device; andan authentication apparatus configured to store registered facial feature information in a database and be able to communicate with the visit promotion apparatus, wherein the visit promotion apparatus includes:at least one memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:acquire captured images of the user who has been photographed by the prescribed photographing device;extract facial feature information from a face area of the captured images and cause the authentication apparatus to perform face authentication by comparing the extracted facial feature information with the registered facial feature information stored in a database;identify a plurality of points visited by the user based on the face authentication;identify, based on a payment history of the user, amounts of payment at each of the plurality of points; andoutput a notification indicating a benefit is available to the user when the payment history indicates payments of at least a prescribed amount were made at a prescribed number or more of the plurality of points.
7. A visit promotion system comprising: a prescribed photographing device configured to take images including a user's face area; a visit promotion apparatus configured to be able to communicate with the prescribed photographing device; and an authentication apparatus configured to store registered facial feature information in a database and be able to communicate with the visit promotion apparatus, wherein the visit promotion apparatus includes: at least one memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire the captured images of the user who has been photographed by the prescribed photographing device;extract facial feature information from a face area of the captured images and cause the authentication apparatus to perform face authentication by comparing the extracted facial feature information with the registered facial feature information stored in the database;
identify a plurality of points visited by the user based on the face authentication;
identify, based on a payment history of the user, a total amount of payment at the plurality of points; and
output a notification indicating a benefit is available to the user when the total amount of payment is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount.
3. A visit promotion system comprising: a prescribed photographing device configured to take images including a user's face area; a visit promotion apparatus configured to be able to communicate with the prescribed photographing device; and an authentication apparatus configured to store the user's facial feature information and be able to communicate with the visit promotion apparatus, wherein the visit promotion apparatus includes: at least one memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire the captured images of a face of the user who has been photographed by the prescribed photographing device at a plurality of points; extract the user's face area or facial feature information from the captured images and cause the authentication apparatus to perform face authentication; generate a composite image in response to satisfying a prescribed image generation condition based on the performed face authentication, wherein the composite image includes the captured image photographed at each of the plurality of points; transmit the generated composite image to a prescribed display terminal; and when the prescribed image generation condition is not satisfied at points where the face authentication is successful, transmit information indicating which points the user has visited already at the current time point, which points should be visited to satisfy the prescribed image generation condition and the number of points necessary to satisfy the prescribed image generation condition to the prescribed display terminal.
13. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program executable by a computer to perform processing comprising: acquiring captured images in which a user is captured; causing an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; calculating current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points;calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; anddisplaying information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user.
9. A visit promotion method performed by a computer, the visit promotion method comprising: acquiring captured images in which a user is photographed; extracting facial feature information from a face area of the captured images and causing an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication by comparing the extracted facial feature information with registered facial feature information stored in a database;identifying a plurality of points visited by the user based on the face authentication;identifying, based on a payment history of the user, amounts of payment at each of the plurality of points; andoutputting a notification indicating a benefit is available to the user the payment history indicates payments of at least a prescribed amount were made at a prescribed number or more of the plurality of points.
9. A visit promotion method comprising the steps performed by a computer, the visit promotion method comprising: of:acquiring captured images in which a user is photographed;
extracting facial feature information from a face area of the captured images and causing an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication by comparing the extracted facial feature information with registered facial feature information stored in a database;
identifying a plurality of points visited by the user based on the face authentication;
identifying, based on a payment history of the user, a total amount of payment at the plurality of points; and
outputting a notification indicating a benefit is available to the user when the total amount of payment is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount.
5. A visit promotion method performed by a computer, the visit promotion method comprising: acquiring captured images in which a face of a user is photographed at a plurality of points; extracting the user's face area or facial feature information from the captured images and causing an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication; generating a composite image in response to satisfying a prescribed image generation condition based on the performed face authentication, wherein the composite image includes the captured image photographed at each of the plurality of points; transmitting the generated composite image to a prescribed display terminal; and when the prescribed image generation condition is not satisfied at points where the face authentication is successful, transmitting information indicating which points the user has visited already at the current time point, which points should be visited to satisfy the prescribed image generation condition and the number of points necessary to satisfy the prescribed image generation condition to the prescribed display terminal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the changes above in order to cover slightly broader limitations. Furthermore, the claimed elements perform the same function as before. Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant would be prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application in the other copending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 7 is/are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claim(s) 1 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture), and claim(s) 13 is/are drawn to non-transitory computer readable medium (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, 7, and 13 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-18 are directed to displaying information indicating one more visit promotion points based on face or facial recognition. Specifically, claim(s) 1, 7, and 13 recite(s) acquire captured images in which a user is captured; cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; calculate current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; and display information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user, which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) and Mental Processes and is similar to the concept of (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
The Claim limitations are listed under Methods Of Organizing Human Activity, and Mental Processes and grouped as following:
acquire captured images in which a user is captured; cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations), and (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion),
calculate current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations), and (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion),
calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations), and (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion),
display information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations), and (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as apparatus, memory processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, computer merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the apparatus, memory processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, computer perform(s) the steps or functions of acquire captured images in which a user is captured; cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; calculate current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; and display information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a apparatus, memory processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, computer to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of displaying information indicating one more visit promotion points based on face or facial recognition. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the apparatus, memory processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, computer perform(s) the steps or functions of acquire captured images in which a user is captured; cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; calculate current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; and display information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of displaying information indicating one more visit promotion points based on face or facial recognition. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As for dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 further describe the abstract idea of displaying information indicating one more visit promotion points based on face or facial recognition. Claim(s) 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a apparatus, memory processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, computer to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of displaying information indicating one more visit promotion points based on face or facial recognition. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the apparatus, memory processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, computer perform(s) the steps or functions of identify one or more visit promotion points for satisfying the one or more remaining condition; display information indicating the one or more visit promotion points; display route information from a current position of the user to each of the visit promotion points; a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful; wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and display an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition; display, for each point, a required payment amount needed at the point to satisfy the benefit output condition. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of displaying information indicating one more visit promotion points based on face or facial recognition. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tagawa et al., (Foreign Application No. WO2022018792A1) in view of Walker et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20030018530).
As to Claim 1, Tagawa teaches a visit promotion apparatus comprising: (Face recognition promotion device/system. The system promotes use of face authentication through installed terminals at various locations.),at least one memory configured to store instructions (The face-recognition promotion device includes memory 11a and storage 110a containing program 111. The processor loads and executes that program.), and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: (Control unit 10a is implemented by a processor such as a CPU and executes program 111.),acquire captured images in which a user is captured; (Acquisition unit 121a acquires the user’s face image taken at the time of face authentication by the camera of installed terminal 400. Also, camera 410 recognizes the user’s face and captures the image.),cause an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; (Authentication request unit causes face authentication of the user’s face image captured by the camera against the registered user’s face image.),calculate current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; (The integration unit integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition at the plurality of installed terminals; output unit 160 outputs a privilege according to the accumulated score.); (Installed terminals are placed at various locations; examples expressly include a scenic spot, airport and station. The system integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition on a plurality of installed terminals.), display information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user; (User terminal display 340 can display score information and privilege information).
Tagawa does not teach calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition.
However Walker teaches calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; and (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tagawa to include calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition of Walker. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that calculate one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 2, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion apparatus according to claim 1.
Tagawa further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: identify one or more visit promotion points for satisfying the one or more remaining conditions; and (The integration unit integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition at the plurality of installed terminals; output unit 160 outputs a privilege according to the accumulated score.); (Installed terminals are placed at various locations; examples expressly include a scenic spot, airport and station. The system integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition on a plurality of installed terminals.), display information indicating the one or more visit promotion points; (User terminal display 340 can display score information and privilege information).
As to Claim 3, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion apparatus according to claim 2.
Tagawa further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:display route information from a current position of the user to each of the visit promotion points; (Fig. 16 and 17: An example of arranging a plurality of installed terminals in a specific area (for example, a shopping district) to encourage users to use biometric authentication will be described. In FIG. 16, installation terminals 400a, 400b, 400c, 400d, and 400e are installed at points A, B, C, D, and E, respectively. The user shall use biometrics for the first time. In the installed terminals 400a, 400b, 400c, and 400d, the range (upper limit value and lower limit value) of the score that can be given to the user at the time of successful face authentication is determined, respectively. The range of scores that can be obtained includes the number of times the user has performed face recognition on multiple installed terminals in the past, the purchase price associated with the installed terminal that has succeeded in face recognition, and the previous face recognition success time (for example, A). It can be determined based on the required time, which is the difference between the time at the point) and the time when the face recognition is successful this time (for example, the time at the point B).
As to Claim 4, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion apparatus according to claim 1.
Walker further teaches wherein the benefit output condition includes at least one of: a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 5, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion apparatus according to claim 1.
Walker further teaches wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: display an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the benefit output condition includes at least one of: a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the benefit output condition includes at least one of: a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 6, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion apparatus according to claim 5.
Walker further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: display, for each point, a required payment amount needed at the point to satisfy the benefit output condition; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
As to Claim 7, Tagawa teaches a visit promotion method comprising: (Face recognition promotion device/system. The system promotes use of face authentication through installed terminals at various locations.),acquiring captured images in which a user is captured; (Acquisition unit 121a acquires the user’s face image taken at the time of face authentication by the camera of installed terminal 400. Also, camera 410 recognizes the user’s face and captures the image.), causing an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; (Authentication request unit causes face authentication of the user’s face image captured by the camera against the registered user’s face image.),calculating current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; (The integration unit integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition at the plurality of installed terminals; output unit 160 outputs a privilege according to the accumulated score.); (Installed terminals are placed at various locations; examples expressly include a scenic spot, airport and station. The system integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition on a plurality of installed terminals.),displaying information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user; (User terminal display 340 can display score information and privilege information).
Tagawa does not teach calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition.
However Walker teaches calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; and (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tagawa to include calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition of Walker. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 8, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion method according to claim 7.
Tagawa further teaches further comprising: identifying one or more visit promotion points for satisfying the one or more remaining conditions; and (The integration unit integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition at the plurality of installed terminals; output unit 160 outputs a privilege according to the accumulated score.); (Installed terminals are placed at various locations; examples expressly include a scenic spot, airport and station. The system integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition on a plurality of installed terminals.), displaying information indicating the one or more visit promotion points; (User terminal display 340 can display score information and privilege information).
As to Claim 9, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion method according to claim 8.
Tagawa further teaches further comprising: displaying route information from a current position of the user to each of the visit promotion points; (Fig. 16 and 17: An example of arranging a plurality of installed terminals in a specific area (for example, a shopping district) to encourage users to use biometric authentication will be described. In FIG. 16, installation terminals 400a, 400b, 400c, 400d, and 400e are installed at points A, B, C, D, and E, respectively. The user shall use biometrics for the first time. In the installed terminals 400a, 400b, 400c, and 400d, the range (upper limit value and lower limit value) of the score that can be given to the user at the time of successful face authentication is determined, respectively. The range of scores that can be obtained includes the number of times the user has performed face recognition on multiple installed terminals in the past, the purchase price associated with the installed terminal that has succeeded in face recognition, and the previous face recognition success time (for example, A). It can be determined based on the required time, which is the difference between the time at the point) and the time when the face recognition is successful this time (for example, the time at the point B).
As to Claim 10, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion method according to claim 7.
Walker further teaches wherein the benefit output condition includes at least one of: a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 11, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion method according to claim 7.
Walker further teaches wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and the method further comprises: displaying an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and the method further comprises: displaying an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and the method further comprises: displaying an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 12, Tagawa and Walker teach the visit promotion method according to claim 11.
Walker further teaches displaying, for each point, a required payment amount needed at the point to satisfy the benefit output condition; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
As to Claim 13, Tagawa teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program executable by a computer to perform processing comprising: (Face recognition promotion device/system. The system promotes use of face authentication through installed terminals at various locations.),acquiring captured images in which a user is captured; (Acquisition unit 121a acquires the user’s face image taken at the time of face authentication by the camera of installed terminal 400. Also, camera 410 recognizes the user’s face and captures the image.),causing an authentication apparatus to perform face authentication based on the user's face area or facial feature information extracted from the captured images; (Authentication request unit causes face authentication of the user’s face image captured by the camera against the registered user’s face image.), calculating current satisfaction status of the user against a benefit output condition, the benefit output condition being based on the face authentication at a plurality of points; (The integration unit integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition at the plurality of installed terminals; output unit 160 outputs a privilege according to the accumulated score.); (Installed terminals are placed at various locations; examples expressly include a scenic spot, airport and station. The system integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition on a plurality of installed terminals.),displaying information indicating the current satisfaction status and the one or more remaining conditions of the user; (User terminal display 340 can display score information and privilege information).
Tagawa does not teach calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition.
However Walker teaches calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition; and (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tagawa to include calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition of Walker. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that calculating one or more remaining conditions needed for the user to satisfy the benefit output condition would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 14, Tagawa and Walker teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 13.
Tagawa further teaches identifying one or more visit promotion points for satisfying the one or more remaining conditions; and (The integration unit integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition at the plurality of installed terminals; output unit 160 outputs a privilege according to the accumulated score.); (Installed terminals are placed at various locations; examples expressly include a scenic spot, airport and station. The system integrates scores resulting from successful face recognition on a plurality of installed terminals.), displaying information indicating the one or more visit promotion points; (User terminal display 340 can display score information and privilege information).
As to Claim 15, Tagawa and Walker teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 13.
Tagawa further teaches further comprises: displaying route information from a current position of the user to each of the visit promotion points; (Fig. 16 and 17: An example of arranging a plurality of installed terminals in a specific area (for example, a shopping district) to encourage users to use biometric authentication will be described. In FIG. 16, installation terminals 400a, 400b, 400c, 400d, and 400e are installed at points A, B, C, D, and E, respectively. The user shall use biometrics for the first time. In the installed terminals 400a, 400b, 400c, and 400d, the range (upper limit value and lower limit value) of the score that can be given to the user at the time of successful face authentication is determined, respectively. The range of scores that can be obtained includes the number of times the user has performed face recognition on multiple installed terminals in the past, the purchase price associated with the installed terminal that has succeeded in face recognition, and the previous face recognition success time (for example, A). It can be determined based on the required time, which is the difference between the time at the point) and the time when the face recognition is successful this time (for example, the time at the point B).
As to Claim 16, Tagawa and Walker teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 13.
Walker further teaches wherein the benefit output condition includes at least one of: a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the benefit output condition includes at least one of: a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the benefit output condition includes at least one of: a condition that the face authentication is successful at a predetermined number or more points, and a condition that payment history exists at one or more of the points where the face authentication is successful would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 17, Tagawa and Walker teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 13.
Walker further teaches wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and the processing further comprises: displaying an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and the processing further comprises: displaying an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the benefit output condition includes a condition that a total amount of payment at points where the face authentication is successful is greater than or equal to a prescribed amount; and the processing further comprises: displaying an amount of payment needed to satisfy the benefit output condition would provide more data that would help in determining a more accurate content to be provided to the user and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 18, Tagawa and Walker teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 17.
Walker further teaches wherein the processing further comprises: displaying, for each point, a required payment amount needed at the point to satisfy the benefit output condition; (establishes conditions that must be satisfied to earn a reward. The purchasing-condition field stores conditions that “must be satisfied by a group in order to earn the reward.” Conditions can concern purchase amount, timing, products/services, location, payment method, or other required tasks.), (group-status field stores the group’s status “as it relates to earning a reward” and can store the group’s progress towards earning the reward.), and (gives a concrete example: where $1,000/week for six weeks is required, the system can indicate that week 1 was successful and that $887 has been spent in week 2 to date.).
NPL Reference
6 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The NPL “Facial Recognition Advertising: The New Way to Target Ads at Consumers” describes “If the refrigerator door's display changes from Pepsi to flavored water before your eyes the next time you walk into a Walgreens, don't be surprised. Walgreens is rolling out a new technology that embeds cameras, sensors and digital screens into its cooler doors, creating smart displays that target ads to individual customers. The sensors and cameras connect to face-detection technology that can pick out a customer's age and gender, as well as external factors like if it's hot or raining outside and how long you stand there, and even pick up on your emotional response to what you're looking at. This allows the doors to act as a dynamic, responsive marketplace, similar to how online ads use your information to more effectively advertise to your interests. The doors boast several benefits, like real-time stock information and instant campaign feedback, but also bring up questions about the future of targeted marketing and where the line of intrusion exists in this modern marketplace.”.
Pertinent Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference#20170068845 teaches similar invention which describes According to an embodiment, a people search system includes a receiver, a detector, a search unit, and a display. The search unit obtains features of a first face image and a second face image of a predetermined person and searches for the predetermined person based on a similarity between the features of the first and the second face images when an inhibiting factor is not detected, and generates a third face image that is a composite image of the second face image and the inhibiting factor, obtains features of the first and the third face images, and searches for the predetermined person based on a similarity between the features of the first and the third face images when the inhibiting factor is detected The display displays the search result of the predetermined person obtained by the search unit..
Conclusion
/TAREK ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621B