89Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 reads “wherein the rear fixing strap is provided with a length adjuster to adjust a
length of the rear fixing strap the rear fixing strap comprises a first fixing strap and a second fixing strap” which should read “wherein the rear fixing strap is provided with a length adjuster to adjust a length of the rear fixing strap, wherein the rear fixing strap comprises a first fixing strap and a second fixing strap;”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected for the limitation “a pet carrier mountable in a vehicle having a front passenger seat, a driver seat, an armrest compartment positioned between the front passenger seat and the driver seat, a glove compartment, and a rear seat, the pet carrier being mountable on a vehicle device between the front passenger seat and the driver seat.” The limitation falls outside the scope of the claim as the claimed invention is directed to a pet carrier, not a system including both a pet carrier and a vehicle. Applicant may not claim specific elements of the body of the vehicle device as it is outside the scope of a pet carrier. Claim 4 is likewise rejected for the limitations regarding the armrest and glove compartment. Claims 9 and 11 are likewise rejected for the limitations regarding the seats and seat fixing mechanisms. Claim 12 is likewise rejected for the limitations regarding the headrests. Claims 2-3 and 5-8, 10 and 13-15 are rejected by virtue of dependency. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klinker (US 8607735 B1, as cited by Applicant in IDS dated 02/10/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Klinker discloses a pet carrier (101), mountable in a vehicle having a front passenger seat (left and right seats 142, 143), a driver seat (left and right seats 142, 143), an armrest compartment (140) positioned between the front passenger seat and the driver seat (see fig 1), a glove compartment, and a rear seat, the pet carrier being mountable on a vehicle device (140) between the front passenger seat and the driver seat (left and right seats 142, see fig 1), wherein the pet carrier (101) comprises:
a fixing structure (straps 106, 113) associable with a corresponding fixing facility inside the vehicle, to fix the pet carrier on the vehicle device at a position between the front passenger seat and the driver seat (see figs 1 and 3-4), the fixing structure is configured to be connectable to an anchoring structure at the rear seat of the vehicle (strap 113 has length adjustment and could connect to a rear seat connection via connector 114, see figs 1 and 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinker (US 8607735 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hobson (US-6237999-B1).
Regarding claim 2, Klinker discloses the pet carrier according to claim 1, where the fixing structure includes at least one of a rear fixing structure (113 with 114, see fig 1) on a longitudinal rear side of the pet carrier, and a side fixing structure on a transverse side of the pet carrier (side straps 106 and 116, see fig 1, 3-4 and 7).
Klinker fails to disclose wherein the fixing structure comprises a front fixing structure on a longitudinal front side of the pet carrier.
Hobson teaches wherein the fixing structure comprises a front fixing structure (front securing strap 22 with connector 25, see figs 1-5) on a longitudinal front side of the pet carrier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the pet carrier of Klinker with the front fixing strap of Hobson with a reasonable expectation of success as this will increase the stability and security of the attachment system.
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 2, and Hobson further teaches wherein the front fixing structure (22) comprises a front fixing strap (strap 22, see fig 1) extending out from the longitudinal front side of the pet carrier and a front connector (25) provided on the front fixing strap, wherein the front connector is configured to be fixed to a limiting structure located in a front of the vehicle (25 secures the pet carrier to the seat, see figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 3, and Klinker further discloses the limiting structure is the armrest compartment or the glove compartment (armrest 140, see figs 1, 4 and 7).
Hobson further teaches wherein the front connector is a ladder lock buckle capable of adjusting a length of the front fixing strap, the limiting structure is the armrest compartment or a glove compartment, and the front connector is configured to be arranged inside the armrest compartment or the glove compartment by placing the front connector in the armrest compartment or the glove compartment and closing the armrest compartment or the glove compartment; or
the front fixing strap (22) is provided with a length adjuster (26) configured to adjust a length of the front fixing strap, the front connector is a fastener (25) provided at a distal end of the front fixing strap, (see figs 1-5), the limiting structure is the armrest compartment or the glove compartment (the armrest of Klinker as modified with the front strap of Hobson teaches this limitation, see also 112(b) above), and the front connector is configured to be arranged inside the armrest compartment or the glove compartment by placing the front connector in the armrest compartment or the glove compartment and closing the armrest compartment or the glove compartment (the armrest of Klinker as modified with the front strap of Hobson teaches this limitation, see also 112(b) above); or
the front connector is configured as one or more loops, and the limiting structure is at least one of a passenger seat belt fixing mechanism and/or a driver seat belt fixing mechanism, and the one or more loops are positionable over at least one of the front passenger seat belt fixing mechanism and/or the driver seat belt fixing mechanism for fixation.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except where the fastener is a snap fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the fastener to be a snap fastener with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for a secure yet ease to use configuration and since the equivalence of fasteners and snaps for their use in the connector art and the selection of any known equivalents to connect two elements would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 2, and Klinker further discloses wherein the rear fixing structure (113) comprises a rear fixing strap (113, see figs 1-2) extending out from the longitudinal rear side of the pet carrier and a rear connector (114) provided on the rear fixing strap, wherein the rear connector (114) is configured to be connectable to an anchoring structure on the rear seat.
Regarding claim 7, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 5, and Klinker further discloses wherein the rear fixing strap (113) is provided with a length adjuster (117) to adjust a length of the rear fixing strap, and the rear connector (114) is provided at a distal end of the rear fixing strap (see figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 2, and Klinker further discloses wherein the side fixing structure (see annotated fig 2 below) comprises a side fixing strap extending out from a transverse side of the pet carrier and a side connector provided on the side fixing strap (see annotated fig 2 below), wherein the side connector is configured to be fixed at least one of the front passenger seat and the driver seat (see figs 1 and 7).
Annotated fig 2
Regarding claim 10, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 9, and Klinker further discloses wherein the side fixing strap is provided with a length adjuster (117) to adjust a length of the side fixing strap, and the side connector is provided at a distal end of the side fixing strap (see annotated fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 11, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 10, and Klinker further discloses wherein the side connector (116) is configured as one or more loops, which are configured to be positionable over at least one of the front passenger seat belt fixing mechanism and/or the driver seat belt fixing mechanism for fixation (see annotated fig 2 above, and figs 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 11, and Klinker further discloses wherein the side connector is a webbing retainer capable of being adjusted and tightened (straps are nylon webbing, see col 5, lines 8-13 and figs 1-2); the side fixing strap is provided with an adjuster (117) to adjust a size of the webbing retainer; the webbing retainer is configured to be fixed by being fitted and tightened onto at least one of headrest of the front passenger seat and the driver seat, and onto a neck portion between the headrest and a backrest of the front passenger seat or the driver seat (see annotated fig 2 above and figs 1 and 7).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinker (US 8607735 B1) in view of Hobson (US-6237999-B1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Templeton (US-12075752-B2).
Regarding claim 6, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 5, and Klinker further discloses wherein the rear fixing strap (113) is provided with a length adjuster (117) to adjust a length of the rear fixing strap (see figs 1-2); the rear fixing strap comprises a first fixing strap (113), the first fixing strap (113) extends out from the longitudinal rear side of the pet carrier (see fig 1), and one of a buckle or a socket is provided at a free end of the first fixing strap (114).
The modified reference fails to teach the rear fixing strap comprises a second fixing strap; one end of the second fixing strap is provided with another of the buckle or the socket for engaging with the first fixing strap, and another end of the second fixing strap is provided with the rear connector.
Templeton teaches the rear fixing strap comprises a first fixing strap (120) and a second fixing strap (24); the first fixing strap (120) extends out from the longitudinal rear side of the pet carrier, and one of a buckle or a socket (connector 132) is provided at a free end of the first fixing strap (see fig 1); and one end of the second fixing strap (24) is provided with another of the buckle or the socket (132) for engaging with the first fixing strap (see fig 1) and another end of the second fixing strap is provided with the rear connector (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the fixing strap to be two parts as taught by Templeton with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for increased size adjustment and an easier user experience.
Regarding claim 8, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 5.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the rear connector is a LATCH hook, which is configured to be anchored and coupled to an ISOFIX interface on the rear seat.
Templeton teaches wherein the rear connector is a LATCH hook (see col 5, lines 58-60) which is configured to be anchored and coupled to an ISOFIX interface on the rear seat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the latch hook connector as taught by Templeton with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure a high safety standard for the connection device, thereby increasing safety of the pet in the carrier.
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinker (US 8607735 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kain (US-6863345-B2).
Regarding claim 13, Klinker discloses the pet carrier according to claim 1, wherein the pet carrier comprises a box (101), and the fixing structure is disposed on at least one of the box (see figs 1 and 3-5) and the base.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the pet carrier comprises a box and a base, the box is fixed on the base, and wherein a periphery of at least one of the box and the base is provided with a storage groove for storing the fixing structure.
Kain teaches wherein the pet carrier comprises a box (11) and a base (10), the box is fixed on at least one of the base (see figs 1 and 4), and the fixing structure (belt 13 and 16) is disposed on the box and/or the base (disposed in base, see figs 1-3); wherein a periphery of at least one of the box and the base is provided with a storage groove (21) for storing the fixing structure (see figs 4 and 7, see col 5, lines 9-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the pet carrier with the box and base combination and the storage compartment in the base as taught by Kain with a reasonable expectation of success as this provides a compact storage system for when the device is not in use.
Regarding claim 14, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 13, and Kain further teaches wherein a limiting structure (hook 59) is provided in the storage groove (21) to limit a connector of the fixing structure, to store the fixing structure in the storage groove (see figs 4 and 7, see col 5, lines 9-57).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinker (US 8607735 B1) in view of Kain (US-6863345-B2) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hartelius (US-9609845-B2).
Regarding claim 15, the modified reference teaches the pet carrier according to claim 13.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the bottom of the base is provided with an anti-slip structure.
Hartelius teaches wherein the bottom of the base is provided with an anti-slip structure (base panel 4 has a bottom layer of non-slip material, see fig 10, see col 4, lines 40-56 and claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the pet carrier base with the anti-slip material of Hartelius with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide further security and stability to the pet transport system, therefore increasing safety of the pet during travel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Klinker reference fails to disclose every element of claim 1, specifically “a fixing structure connectable to an anchoring structure at a rear seat of the vehicle.” The Office respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the 112(b) rejection above and the previous response to arguments, the claimed invention is directed to a pet carrier, not a system including a pet carrier and a vehicle device. Therefore, all limitations regarding the vehicle device are treated as functional limitations, and the cited art must be capable of those limitations, but does not need to explicitly demonstrate them. In regard to the limitations and Applicant’s arguments concerning the rear strap that is configured to be connected to an anchor structure on the rear seat – Klinker has a rear strap (113) that extends reward that and has a connector hook (114) could be used to connect to an anchoring structure on a rear seat based on user preferences, or in the case of a pet that is likely to lunge forward during car rides, requiring the carrier to have extra reward stability.
In response to applicant's argument that the pet carrier of Klinker does not disclose the claimed invention, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant’s arguments over the other cited references merely state that they do not cure the deficiencies of the Klinker reference and are therefore moot as Klinker does disclose the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642