DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 11-14 are withdrawn. Claims 17-22 are new. Claims 1-10 and 15-22 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that that a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses is “measured at 1 T and 400 Hz according to IEC 60404-2 standards” in line 32-34, while also being "calculated in accordance with Bertotti method” in line 34-35. It’s unclear what parameters are measured according to IEC 60404-2 standards and what calculation is performed in accordance with Bertotti method in order to obtain a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2023/0045797, IDS dated 12/01/2025), and further in view of EP’606 (EP 4603606A1).
Regarding claims 1-7, 18 and 20, Lee discloses (Abstract; [0017] to [0050]) a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in Lee to produce a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claims 1-5, 18 and 20. Lee also discloses that the steel may contain 0.004 wt% or less Nb, 0.004 wt% or less V, 0.004 wt% or less Ti, 0.05 wt% or less Ni, 0.002 wt% or less B, 0.1 wt% or less Sn, and 0.1 wt% or less Sb ([0041] to [0060]), which meets the amount of optional elements recited in claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, the recited composition is a prima facie case of obviousness over Lee. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
Lee
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
0.0001-0.007
≤0.005
0.0001-0.005
Mn
0.21-0.7
0.05-0.55
0.21-0.55
Si
3.0-3.6
1.5-4.0
3.0-3.6
Al
0.7-1.3
0.5-1.5
0.7-1.3
P
≤0.15
≤0.02
≤0.02
S
≤0.006
≤0.005
≤0.005
N
≤0.09
≤0.005
≤0.005
Si+Al+Mn
3.85-5.5
2.05-6.05
3.85-5.5
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Lee discloses that after annealing, the structure is recrystallized with a grain size of 50-100 µm ([0086]), which meets the recited grain size of recrystallized structure in claim 1.
Lee also discloses that a ratio of the recrystallized structure is 99% or more ([0086]), which meets the area fraction of recrystallized and non-recrystallized microstructure recited in claims 1 and 6-7.
Lee discloses examples ([0060]; Table 1, Specimen No. A3, A4) containing the amount of C, Si, Mn, P, S, Al, N, Ti, V, Nb, Cr, Ni, Sn, Sb, Cu and Si+Al+Mn within the recited composition range in claim 1. Lee also discloses that these examples have grain size of 73-75 µm and magnetic polarization at 5000 A/m of 1.65 T ([0075]; Table 3, Specimen A3 and A4), which meets the recited grain size and magnetic polarization recited in claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the structure is made of ferrite grains and the percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss is 35-45%. However, these structure and property limitations are determined by the steel composition and a method of making the steel sheet.
Lee discloses a method of making the steel sheet, comprising: heating the slab to 1200° C or less, hot-rolling to manufacture a hot-rolled sheet with a finish rolling temperature of 800 to 1000° C, coiling the hot rolled steel sheet at temperatures of 700° C or less, annealing the hot-rolled-sheet at 850 to 1150° C for 100 seconds, subjecting the annealed hot-rolled sheet to cold rolling, performing final annealing on the cold rolled steel sheet at 700-1050 ºC for 50-90 seconds followed by cooling to 100 ºC or less ([0082] to [0093]), which overlap the processing temperature and time recited in claim 11. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Cooling the hot-rolled sheet immediately after finish hot rolling is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to avoid abnormal grain growth caused by high temperature and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to cool the hot-rolled steel sheet immediately after hot rolling to a coiling temperature in the process of Lee in order to prevent abnormal grain growth.
Lee discloses that the hot rolled steel sheet has a thickness of 2 mm and after cold rolling, the steel sheet has a thickness of 0.15 mm ([0083] to [0085]). Thus, the cold rolling reduction rate in Lee is calculated to be 92.5%, which meets the recited cold rolling reduction rate in claim 11.
Lee is silent on the cooling rate from hot rolling finish temperature to coiling temperature, and the heating rate and cooling rate during annealing the cold rolled steel sheet.
EP’606 teaches a method of making a non-oriented electrical steel sheet comprising heating the slab to 1000 to 1200° C, hot-rolling to manufacture a hot-rolled sheet with a finish rolling temperature of 800 to 950° C, cooling the hot rolled steel sheet to a coiling temperature of 400-700° C at a cooling rate of 20-100 ºC/s, annealing the hot-rolled-sheet, subjecting the annealed hot-rolled sheet to pickling, then cold rolling followed by annealing the cold-rolled steel sheet at 875 to 1050° C with heating rate of 10 ºC/s or more and cool the steel sheet from the annealing temperature to room temperature at a cooling rate of 50 ºC/s or less ([0060] to [0085]), which is analogous to the method of Lee. EP’606 discloses that the cooling rate and the heating rate are selected to make a steel having uniform grain size and to prevent uneven heating and cooling ([0077] to [0085]). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to cool the hot rolled steel sheet to a coiling temperature at a cooling rate of 20-100 ºC/s, and in the process of annealing the cold-rolled steel sheet, to heat the cold-rolled steel sheet to an annealing temperature at a heating rate of 10 ºC/s or more and to cooled the annealed cold-rolled steel sheet to room temperature at a cooling rate of 50 ºC/s or less as taught by EP’606 in the process of Lee in order to make a steel having uniform grain size and prevent uneven heating and cooling as disclosed by EP’606. The heating rate and cooling rate disclosed by EP’606 overlap the recited heating rate and cooling rate in claim 11. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, the recited heating rate and cooling rate in claim 11 are prima facie case of obviousness over Lee in view of EP’606. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
In view of the fact that Lee in view of EP’606 teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1 and a method of making the steel sheet with processing parameters overlapping the recited processing conditions in claim 11, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee in view of EP’606 to meet the limitation that the steel has the recited ferrite structure and the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 8-10 and 15-17, Lee in view of EP’606 does not explicitly disclose the recited mechanical properties in claims 8-10 and 15-17. However, in view of the fact that Lee in view of EP’606 teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1 and a method of making the steel sheet with processing parameters overlapping the recited processing conditions in claim 11, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee in view of EP’606 to meet the recited mechanical properties in claims 8-10 and 15-17. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses that the steel contains 0.005 wt% or less C, 0.05-0.55 wt. % Mn, 1.5-4.0 wt.% Si, 0.5-1.5 wt. % Al, 0.02 wt.% or less P, 0.005 wt. % or less S (Abstract; [0060]), which overlaps the recited ranges in claim 19. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claim 19 is obvious over Lee in view of EP’606.
Lee discloses that the steel may contain 0.004 wt.% or less Ti (excluding 0%) and 0.01 wt.% or less Cu (excluding 0%) (Abstract). The amount of Ti and Cu disclosed by Lee can be at impurity level. Thus, the essential elements disclosed in Lee meets the transition phrase “consists of” recited in claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses that the steel sheet has a thickness of 0.1-0.3 mm ([0074]), which overlaps the recited thickness in claim 21. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claim 21 is obvious over Lee in view of EP’606.
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses that the steel contains 0.005 wt% or less C, 0.5-1.5 wt. % Al, 0.004 wt.% or less Ti (excluding 0%) and 0 wt.% Arsenic (Abstract; [0060]), which overlaps the recited ranges of C, Al and Arsenic and close to the recited Ti amount in claim 22. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, the recited composition in claim 22 is obvious over Lee in view of EP’606.
Lee in view of EP’606 does not explicitly disclose the recited mechanical properties in claim 22. However, in view of the fact that Lee in view of EP’606 teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 22 and a method of making the steel sheet with processing parameters overlapping the recited processing conditions in claim 11, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee in view of EP’606 to meet the recited mechanical properties in claim 22. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 15-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,149 (US2025/0354243). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,149 teach a non-oriented electrical steel sheet having composition overlapping the recited composition in the instant claims, thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the amount of each element based on the ranges disclosed by claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,149 to make a steel sheet that meets the recited composition in instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,149 teach the structure limitations recited in instant claims. Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,149 also teach mechanical property limitations recited in the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 and 15-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,140 (US2025/0354233). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,140 teach a non-oriented electrical steel sheet having composition overlapping the recited composition in the instant claims, thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the amount of each element based on the ranges disclosed by claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,140 to make a steel sheet that meets the recited composition in instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05 I. The amount of Mn disclosed by Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,140 is close to the recited amount of Mn in claim 1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, the recited composition is obvious over Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,140. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,140 teach the structure limitations recited in instant claims. Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/289,140 also teach mechanical property limitations recited in the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 and 15-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/273,485 (US2025/0346977). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/273,485 teach a non-oriented electrical steel sheet having composition overlapping the recited composition in the instant claims, thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the amount of each element based on the ranges disclosed by claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/273,485 to make a steel sheet that meets the recited composition in instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05 I. The amount of Mn disclosed by Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/273,485 is close to the recited amount of Mn in claim 1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, the recited composition is obvious over Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/273,485. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/273,485 teach the structure limitations recited in instant claims. Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/273,485 also teach the mechanical property limitations recited in the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the applicants argued that claim 1 recites that "the steel sheet having a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses, measured at 1T and 400 Hz according to IEC 60404-2 standards, from 35% to 45% when calculated in accordance of Bertotti method". One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood from the language of the claim that the total iron losses are measured at 1T and 400 Hz according to IEC 60404-2 standards and that the eddy current losses are calculated in accordance of Bertotti method.
In response, the claim language does not recite that that the total iron losses are measured at 1T and 400 Hz according to IEC 60404-2 standards and the eddy current losses are calculated in accordance of Bertotti method. Please amend claim 1 to recite that the total iron losses are measured at 1T and 400 Hz according to IEC 60404-2 standards and the eddy current losses are calculated in accordance of Bertotti method.
Second, the applicants argued that the final-annealing of Lee is admittedly "for 50 to 90 seconds" (Office Action, p. 6). In contrast, the annealing time used in the present specification to provide "a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses from 35% to 45%" as recited in claim 1 is "40 seconds" ([0066], Table 2), which is neither close nor overlaps with the asserted "50 to 90 seconds" annealing of Lee. The Examiner failed to establish that "the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes".
In response, Lee discloses that the final annealing is performed at 700-1050 ºC for 50-90 seconds ([0086]; [0087]). Lee discloses an example with annealing temperature at 1000 ºC for 80 seconds ([0093]). Claim 11 recites that the final annealing is performed at 800-1175 ºC for 10-5000 seconds. Thus, the annealing temperature and time disclosed by Lee meets the annealing condition recited in claim 11. The applicants have not provided data to show that the recited percentage of eddy current loss in total iron loss can only be obtained when the annealing time is 40 second. Since Lee discloses an example with annealing temperature and time within the recited annealing temperature and time in claim 11, the method disclosed by Lee in view of EP’606 is substantially identical to the method recited in claim 11. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee in view of EP’606 to meet the recited ferrite structure and the percentage of eddy current loss in total iron loss in claim 1.
Third, the applicants argued: To the extent that a prima facie obviousness based on the reasoning of MPEP 2112 was established by the Examiner, steel sheet I2 of WO 2025/104645 (WO'645) is sufficient to establish that a steel sheet having a composition encompassed by asserted composition of Lee and having a microstructure encompassed by the microstructure recited in claim 1 does NOT necessarily have "a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses from 35% to 45%" as recited in claim 1 and overcome the presumption of obviousness based on MPEP 2112 and the reasoning of In re Best. Despite having the composition encompassed by the asserted composition of Lee and the microstructure encompassed by the microstructure recited in claim 1, steel sheet I2 of WO'645 does not have "a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses from 35% to 45%" as recited in claim 1. The percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses of Steels I2 is 34% (WO'645, p. 12, Table 3), which is outside the "from 35% to 45%" range recited in claim 1.
In response, the percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses of Steels I2 is 34%, which is close to the recited range from 35% to 45%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claim 1 is obvious over Lee in view of EP’606.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733