DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Per MPEP 609.02(I) and (II)(A)(2), the examiner of a continuing application will consider information which has been considered by the Office in the parent application. Therefore, information considered in parent applications 17/107,823 (Pat. No. 11,977,885) and 18/621,539 (Pat. No. 12,405,787) has been considered during examination of the instant application. However, if applicant wants said considered information to be printed on any patent resulting from the instant application, applicant must ensure that said information appears on either an IDS or an 892 in the instant application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0059]: The phrase “the multiplication of its elements cannot be not done 1:1” is unclear and should be rewritten.
[0075]: “eigth” is a misspelling and should be corrected to “eighth”.
[0085]: In the phrase “number of it stages”, delete “it” to improve the clarity/readability of the phrase.
[0104]: Delete the article “a” located before “portions” as the article causes a grammar issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Figs. 3-5B are objected for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(a)(1) and 37 CFR 1.84(l), which requires the drawings be in black, and that all drawings be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, solid black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. When zooming into the figures, pixelation of letters, numbers, and lines can be seen. This is a sign that the drawings were either drawn in a color other than black or were downsized from their native size, causing the drawings to look blurry.
Figs. 2A-9 are objected for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(g), which requires that each sheet must include a top margin of at least 2.5 cm. (1 inch), a left side margin of at least 2.5 cm. (1 inch), a right side margin of at least 1.5 cm. (5/8 inch), and a bottom margin of at least 1.0 cm. (3/8 inch). Examiner believes the indicated figures interfere with the margins of the sheets, although they have not measured every margin to detect every possible interference.
Figs. 3, 5B, and 6-7 are further objected for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3), which requires that each number, letter, and reference character must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. Examiner believes the figures include numbers, letters, or reference characters that measure less than the required height, although they have not checked every single number, letter, and reference character for compliance.
Figs. 3-5B are further objected for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3), which requires that each number, letter, and reference character must not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces.
The drawings are further objected to because of the following informalities:
Figs. 3-5B: Each of the figures seem to comprise of graph lines, which should be removed.
Fig. 9, 910: Delete the article “a” located before “portions” as the article causes a grammar issue.
Claim Objections
Claims 22, 26, 28-30, 33-36, 38, and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22, line 1: An “is” is missing before “to” and should be inserted.
Claim 26, line 1: An “is” is missing before “to” and should be inserted.
Claim 29, line 2: Insert “the original form” before “into” to improve clarity/readability.
Claim 33, line 2: An “is” is missing before “to” and should be inserted.
Claim 34, line 4: Insert “source” before “registers” to ensure consistency of language used between claims.
Claim 35, line 2: An “is” is missing before “to” and should be inserted.
Claim 38, line 1: An “is” is missing before “to” and should be inserted.
Claim 40, line 1: An “is” is missing before “to” and should be inserted.
Claims 28-30 and 36 are objected to for inheriting the objection(s) of the claims in which they depend on
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“original form of the structured source data is pre-processed by an external agent to pack into the structured source data… the external agent generates the metadata” in claim 29 invokes 112(f). Applicant indicates the structure of the “external agent” to be a CPU (see [0039]). Since pre-processing structured source data and generating metadata is not a coextensive function of a CPU, an algorithm needs to be described in the specification (see MPEP 2181(II)(B)). Paragraphs [0068-0076] and Figs. 5A-5B describes an algorithm for pre-processing the original form of the structured source data into the structured source data and to generate the metadata. Applicant also indicates the structure of the “external agent” to be an intelligent sensor (see [0039]). However, the term “intelligent sensor” is not sufficient structure in a (means/generic placeholder)-plus-function limitation. Therefore, Examiner will not impose the limitation “intelligent sensor” from the specification into the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 26, 28-30, 32-36, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the portions of the unpacked source data" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There was no prior instance of “portions of the unpacked source data” within the claim or the claim it depends on. For the sake of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation to be “to select portions of the unpacked source data”.
Claims 34 and 39 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 23.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the portions of the unpacked source data" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There was no prior instance of “portions of the unpacked source data” within the claim or the claim it depends on. For the sake of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation to be “to identify portions of the unpacked source data”. Note that this also provides antecedent basis for “the portions” in claim 26, line 4.
Claim 35 and 40 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 26.
Claim 28-30 and 36 are rejected for inheriting the rejection of the claims in which they depend on.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the instruction" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if the limitation is referring to “an instruction” in claim 32, line 3, or referring to one of the “instructions” in claim 32, line 2. For the sake of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation to be referring to “an instruction” in claim 32, line 3.
Claims 33-36 are rejected for inheriting the rejection of claim 32.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the instruction" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if the limitation is referring to “an instruction” in claim 32, line 3, or referring to one of the “instructions” in claim 32, line 2. For the sake of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation to be referring to “an instruction” in claim 32, line 3.
Claim 36 is rejected for inheriting the rejection of claim 32.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,405,787 (hereinafter Pat. ‘787). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Pat. ‘787 anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 2-11, 16, 13-16, 20, and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,977,885 (hereinafter Pat. ‘885).
Regarding claim 21, Pat. ‘885 teaches an apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising a systolic array to:
execute an instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate;
read a plurality of source registers referenced by the instruction, wherein the plurality of source registers comprise unpacked source data and structured source data packed based on sparsity as packed source data;
provide a first subset of elements of the packed source data to at least one stage of the systolic array, the at least one stage comprising dot product circuitry;
select a second subset of elements of the unpacked source data , the second subset of elements corresponding to the first subset of elements; and
perform dot product accumulate operations (see claim 6).
Pat. ‘885 does not explicitly teach to provide data to a stage of the systolic array.
However, note that claim 6 of Pat. ‘885 indicates an instruction includes an operation to perform sparse systolic dot product and is executed by the systolic array. A systolic array that performs dot product operation(s) is characteristically configured in stages that include systolic array circuitry structured for performing dot product(s) when the execution is performed by one or more stages. Therefore, since there are a limited number of predictable ways for a systolic array to execute dot product instruction including to provide the data to one or more stages and to execute using the data on the systolic array, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the source data to the systolic array to take advantage of the structure of the systolic array of Pat. ‘885 to perform the processing in parallel for increased throughput.
Regarding claim 22, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the systolic array to perform the dot product accumulate operations using the first subset of elements and the second subset of elements (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 23 Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the systolic array further comprises a plurality of multiplexor circuits to select the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data based on metadata stored in the plurality of source registers (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 24, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the structured source data that is packed based on sparsity comprises elements of a broadcast register of the systolic array (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 25, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the structured source data that is packed based on sparsity comprises elements of an index register of the systolic array (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 26, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the systolic array to execute the instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate in order to identify the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data using metadata and to perform a dot product multiplication of the portions with a result of multiplication of the structured source data, and wherein the metadata is provided in a source register of the plurality of source registers called by the instruction (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 27, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein packed source data comprises at least one of a half-float datatype that packs two 16-bit elements into a channel, a bfloat datatype that packs two 16-bit elements into a channel, an int8 datatype that packs four 8-bit elements into a channel, an int4 datatype that packs eight 4-bit elements into a channel, or an int2 datatype that packs sixteen 2-bit elements into a channel (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 28, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the metadata indicates a position of non-zero elements in an original form of the structured source data prior to packing into the structured source data (see claim 8).
Regarding claim 29, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the original form of the structured source data is pre-processed by an external agent to pack into the structured source data by removing sparse elements from the original form, and wherein the external agent generates the metadata (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 30, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the external agent comprises at least one of a central processing unit (CPU) or an intelligent sensor (see claim 10).
Regarding claim 31, Pat. ‘885 teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processor comprises a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPGPU) (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 32, Pat. ‘885 teaches at least one non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
executing an instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate;
reading a plurality of source registers referenced by the instruction, wherein the plurality of source registers comprise unpacked source data and structured source data packed based on sparsity as packed source data;
providing a first subset of elements of the packed source data to at least one stage of the systolic array, the at least one stage comprising dot product circuitry;
selecting a second subset of elements of the unpacked source data , the second subset of elements corresponding to the first subset of elements; and
performing dot product accumulate operations (see claim 15).
Pat. ‘885 does not explicitly teach to provide data to a stage of the systolic array.
However, note that claim 16 of Pat. ‘885 indicates an instruction includes an operation to perform sparse systolic dot product and is executed by the systolic array. A systolic array that performs dot product operation(s) is characteristically configured in stages that include systolic array circuitry structured for performing dot product(s) when the execution is performed by one or more stages. Therefore, since there are a limited number of predictable ways for a systolic array to execute dot product instruction including to provide the data to one or more stages and to execute using the data on the systolic array, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the source data to the systolic array to take advantage of the structure of the systolic array of Pat. ‘885 to perform the processing in parallel for increased throughput.
Regarding claim 33, Pat. ‘885 teaches the at least one non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 32, wherein the systolic array to perform the dot product accumulate operations using the first subset of elements and the second subset of elements (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 34, Pat. ‘885 teaches the at least one non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 32, wherein the systolic array further comprises a plurality of multiplexor circuits to select the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data based on metadata stored in the plurality of registers (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 35, Pat. ‘885 teaches the at least one non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 32, wherein the systolic array to execute the instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate in order to identify the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data using metadata and to perform a dot product multiplication of the portions with a result of multiplication of the structured source data, and wherein the metadata is provided in a source register of the plurality of source registers called by the instruction (see claim 15).
Regarding claim 36, Pat. ‘885 teaches the at least one non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 35, wherein the metadata indicates a position of non-zero elements in an original form of the structured source data prior to packing into the structured source data (see claim 16).
Regarding claim 37, Pat. ‘885 teaches a method comprising:
executing by a systolic array of a processing device, an instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate;
reading a plurality of source registers referenced by the instruction, wherein the plurality of source registers comprise unpacked source data and structured source data packed based on sparsity as packed source data;
providing a first subset of elements of the packed source data to at least one stage of the systolic array, the at least one stage comprising dot product circuitry;
selecting a second subset of elements of the unpacked source data , the second subset of elements corresponding to the first subset of elements; and
performing dot product accumulate operations (see claim 20).
Pat. ‘885 does not explicitly teach to provide data to a stage of the systolic array.
However, note that claim 20 of Pat. ‘885 indicates an instruction includes an operation to perform sparse systolic dot product and is executed by the systolic array. A systolic array that performs dot product operation(s) is characteristically configured in stages that include systolic array circuitry structured for performing dot product(s) when the execution is performed by one or more stages. Therefore, since there are a limited number of predictable ways for a systolic array to execute dot product instruction including to provide the data to one or more stages and to execute using the data on the systolic array, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the source data to the systolic array to take advantage of the structure of the systolic array of Pat. ‘885 to perform the processing in parallel for increased throughput.
Regarding claim 38, Pat. ‘885 teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the systolic array to perform the dot product accumulate operations using the first subset of elements and the second subset of elements (see claim 18).
Regarding claim 39, Pat. ‘885 teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the systolic array further comprises a plurality of multiplexor circuits to select the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data based on metadata stored in the plurality of source registers (see claim 19).
Regarding claim 40, Pat. ‘885 teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the systolic array to execute the instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate in order to identify the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data using metadata and to perform a dot product multiplication of the portions with a result of multiplication of the structured source data, and wherein the metadata is provided in a source register of the plurality of source registers called by the instruction (see claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24-26, 28, 32-33, 35-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 12182695 B1) in view of Wikipedia (“Instruction set architecture”).
Regarding claim 21, Meyer teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1: Host system 100 as the apparatus) comprising:
a processor comprising a systolic array (Figs. 1-2, Col. 2, lines 13-21, Col. 4, lines 53-54, Col. 6, line 59 to Col. 7, line 2: Acceleration engine 112/accelerator 202 comprises processing engine array 210. Processing engine array may be a systolic array. The accelerators 112/202 may execute instructions and be referred to as a neural network processor. Therefore, the accelerators 112/202 are processors) to:
execute an instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate (Figs. 1-2 and 11, Col. 8, lines 20-33, Col. 19, lines 47-59: An accelerator 202 receives instructions to perform sparse matrix multiplication at the processing engine array, which comprises of performing multiple dot products. The results of the dot products are then accumulated within the processing element. Therefore, the instruction executed is to perform sparse systolic dot product accumulate);
read memory referenced by the instruction (Figs. 2-3 and 11, Col. 8, lines 20-50, Col. 9, line 59 to Col. 13, line 49, Col. 19, lines 47-59: When the sparse matrix multiplication is being processed, data is read from memory subsystem 204), wherein the memory comprise unpacked source data and structured source data packed based on sparsity as packed source data (Figs. 2-3 and 8, Col. 8, lines 42-50, Col. 9, line 59 to Col. 13, line 49: The data read from memory subsystem is weight data (i.e., unpacked source data) and input data indicated as a feature map (FMAP), which is data packed based on sparsity (see Fig. 3). Therefore, the input data is structured source data);
provide a first subset of elements of the packed source data to at least one stage of the systolic array, the at least one stage comprising dot product circuitry (Figs. 2-8, Col. 15, line 18 to Col. 16, line 43: The input data is provided to a processing element 800 of the processing engine array 210 (i.e., a first subset of the packed source data is provided to a stage of the systolic array), in which the input data is stored in a register of the processing element for further processing. The processing element includes multiplier circuitry 822 to perform a multiplication resulting in a dot product, therefore the processing element comprises dot product circuitry);
select a second subset of elements of the unpacked source data to utilize the at least one stage of the systolic array, the second subset of elements corresponding to the first subset of elements (Figs. 2-8, Col. 15, line 18 to Col. 16, line 43: Weight data is sent to the processing element 800, in which the weight data is associated with metadata sent to the processing element, in which the metadata corresponds to the selection of input data at mux 804 (i.e., a second subset of elements corresponding to the first subset of elements)); and
perform, at the at least one stage of the systolic array, dot product accumulate operations (Fig. 8 and Col. 15, line 18 to Col. 16, line 43: A multiplication of the selected weight data and input data is performed at multiplier circuit 822. Once the multiplication is performed, accumulation is performed with a partial sum at adder circuit 824).
Meyer does not teach that the instruction references a plurality of source registers comprising unpacked source data and structured source data.
Wikipedia teaches instructions which references a plurality of registers (Pages 4-6, Section “Instruction encoding”, under subsection “Number of Operands”: an instruction may reference three operands, in which all three operands can be registers). Note that both registers and memories (such as the memory subsystem in Meyer) serve the same purpose in terms of data to be stored and fetched for processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the memory subsystem of Meyer with a plurality of registers and have achieved similar and predictable results of storing data (See KSR Int'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Regarding claim 22, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the systolic array to perform the dot product accumulate operations using the first subset of elements and the second subset of elements (Meyer, Figs. 2-8, Col. 15, line 18 to Col. 16, line 43: The processing engine array 210 receives the input data, metadata, and weight data to each of the processing elements of the engine array, in which each processing element is to perform multiplication accumulation, such that the processing engine performs dot product accumulate operations).
Regarding claim 24, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the structured source data that is packed based on sparsity comprises elements of a broadcast register of the systolic array (Meyer, Figs. 2 and 8: Each processing element 800 of processing engine array 210 comprises of multiple registers to store a portion of the input data (e.g., FMAP_0, FMAP_1, etc.), in which the registers broadcasts data to the MUX 804 and to the next processing element. This results in the input data to comprise of elements stored in the registers. The register storing FMAP_0 as the broadcast register).
Regarding claim 25, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the structured source data that is packed based on sparsity comprises elements of an index register of the systolic array (Meyer, Figs. 2 and 8: Each processing element 800 of processing engine array 210 comprises of multiple registers to store indices of the input data (e.g., FMAP_0, FMAP_1, etc.). This results in the input data to comprise of elements stored in the registers. The register storing FMAP_0 as the index register).
Regarding claim 26, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the systolic array to execute the instruction for sparse systolic dot product accumulate in order to identify the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data using metadata and to perform a dot product multiplication of the portions with a result of multiplication of the structured source data, and wherein the metadata is provided in a source register of the plurality of source registers called by the instruction (Meyer, Figs. 2-3 and 11, Col. 8, lines 20-50, Col. 9, line 59 to Col. 10, line 35, Col. 19, lines 47-59: In the current combination, a sparse matrix multiplication instruction is to reference a plurality of registers, which identifies the input data and weight data (in which each processing element receives at least portions of the weight data) to be multiplied with the input data, and metadata associated with the input data. The instruction is to, when executed, instruct the processing engine array 210 to perform sparse matrix multiplication, which includes to perform a plurality of dot product and accumulate operations within each of the processing elements 800, in which each processing element multiplies the weight data and the selected input data using the metadata and accumulate the multiplication result with a partial sum to generate the final result).
Regarding claim 28, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the metadata indicates a position of non-zero elements in an original form of the structured source data prior to packing into the structured source data (Meyer, Fig. 3 and Col. 11, lines 11-24, Col. 12, line 19-25: Metadata is provided to indicate the position of non-zero elements of an original form (e.g., array 300) of structured source data (e.g., array 350), in which it’s used to be packed into the structured source data).
Regarding claim 32, the claim is mostly rejected for the same reasons as claim 21. Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, also teaches at least one non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to perform operations (Meyer, Fig. 1 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 4, line 12, Col. 6, lines 34-58: Instructions for acceleration engine 112 may be stored in processor memory 104. Processor memory may be a type of random access memory, which is a non-transitory machine readable storage medium).
Regarding claims 33 and 35-36, the claims recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium similar to the apparatus of claims 22, 26, and 28, respectively. Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claims 37-38 and 40, the claims recites a method similar to the apparatus of claims 21-22 and 26, respectively. Therefore, the claims are rejected on the same premises.
Claims 23, 34, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 12182695 B1) in view of Wikipedia (“Instruction set architecture”) and Ahmed (US 20200150958 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, does not teach that the systolic array further comprises a plurality of multiplexor circuits to select the portions of the unpacked source data to multiply with the structured source data based on metadata stored in the plurality of source registers.
Ahmed teaches a systolic array comprising a plurality of multiplexor circuits to select portions of the weight data (Figs. 2-3 and [0030, 0038, 0056]: Each tensor processing core comprises a plurality of processing elements, in which a plurality of tensor processing cores creates a systolic array. Each tensor processing core comprises of two muxes 274 and 275, which selects either the incoming weight data, or weight data from weight memory 25. The incoming weight data and weight data from memory as the entire weight data, where the muxes selects portions of the weight data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, with the teachings and techniques of Ahmed to have a plurality of muxes in the systolic array to either select the incoming weight data, or select different weight data from memory for processing. By providing the ability to select which data to be used by the processing elements within the systolic array, one of ordinary skill may be given more flexibility and control over the data being processed within the systolic array, which may be appreciated.
Regarding claim 34, the claim recites a non-transitory machine readable medium similar to the apparatus of claim 23. Therefore, the claim is rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claim 39, the claim recites a method similar to the apparatus of claim 23. Therefore, the claim is rejected on the same premises.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 12182695 B1) in view of Wikipedia (“Instruction set architecture”) and Anders et al. (US 20190042250 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein packed source data comprises at least an FP32 datatype that packs four 32-bit elements into a channel (Meyer, Fig. 3 and Col. 13, lines 11-23: for each feature map input element (e.g., FMAP_0), each element comprises four 32-bit floating-point data elements. The feature map input element as the channel).
Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, does not teach that the packed source data comprises at least an int8 datatype that packs four 8-bit elements into a channel.
Anders teaches a sparse matrix with 8-bit integer data elements (Fig. 6 and [0045, 0061-0062]: The VFVSMM instruction is to perform variable sparsity matrix multiplication using sparse matrices as inputs, in which the sparse matrices can comprise of 8-bit integer (int8) data elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, with the teachings of Anders to have the feature map input element comprise of four 8-bit integer data elements. One of ordinary skill would recognize that by reducing the element size and changing the element data type, the storage requirement for storing the data would be reduced, in exchange for a smaller data range and reduced accuracy.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 12182695 B1) in view of Wikipedia (“Instruction set architecture”) and Valliappan et al. (US 20220058026 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the original form of the structured source data is packed into the structured source data by removing sparse elements from the original form and the metadata is generated (Meyer, Figs. 2-3 and 8, Col. 8, lines 42-50, Col. 9, line 59 to Col. 13, line 49: An original form of the input data (such as the elements shown in PE array 300) is to be processed and packed by the systolic array (which could refer to processing engine array 200 of accelerator 202) into the input data by removing sparse elements (turning the elements shown in PE array 300 into the elements shown in PE array 350). The removal of sparse elements also results in the generation of metadata, which includes sparsity row information to indicate which row of the input data that a non-zero value corresponds to. Meyer performs the identical function substantially the same way of removing the sparse elements from the original form and generating the metadata and produces substantially the same results of generating the structured source data and metadata. Therefore, the algorithm described and performed by accelerator in Meyers is equivalent to Applicant’s algorithm of removing the sparse elements from the original form of the structured source data and generating metadata to indicate the non-zero elements and performed by a CPU (see MPEP 2183, Factor A)).
Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, does not teach that the original form of the structured source data is pre-processed by an external agent to pack into the structured source data by removing sparse elements from the original form, and wherein the external agent generates the metadata.
Note that Meyer indicates that data may be pre-processed (Meyer, see Col. 1, lines 37-38). Furthermore, note that the system of Meyer comprises of a processor, which acts as a CPU of the host system (Meyer, see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, line 45 to Col. 4, line 12, processor 102)
Valliappan teaches to pre-process data using an external agent (Fig. 1A and [0044]: Input data can be pre-processed using processors 124. The processors as the external agent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, with the teachings of Valliappan to have the processor in the host system of Meyer to process the original form of the structured source data into the structured source data, which would result in removing any sparse elements, and to generate the metadata for the structured source data. One of ordinary skill would recognize that by pre-processing the data prior to sending the data to the accelerator, there would be no need to process the data at the accelerator. Therefore, the accelerator wouldn’t need additional hardware to process the data, which may be appreciated by one of ordinary skill.
Regarding claim 30, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia and Valliappan, teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the external agent comprises at least one of a central processing unit (CPU) or an intelligent sensor (Meyer, Col. 3, line 45 to Col. 4, line 12: In the current combination, processor 102 is the main processor of the host system 100 and executes program code such as operating system 120. Therefore, the processor must be a CPU of the host system).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 12182695 B1) in view of Wikipedia (“Instruction set architecture”) and Lee et al. (US 20150199214 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, does not teach that the processor comprises a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPGPU).
Lee teaches a processor comprising a GPGPU (see Fig. 2 and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Meyer, in view of Wikipedia, with the teachings of Lee to have the accelerator comprise a GPGPU. With the accelerator comprising a GPGPU, one of ordinary skill would be able to offload one or more operations from the accelerator to the GPGPU, keeping the hardware complexity of the execution pipeline of the accelerator low, which may be appreciated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11023807 B2: Narayan et al. teaches a neural network processor, where input data is sent through a crossbar and transfers the data to each of the processing elements based on an index received from instruction processing (see Figure 2).
US 20210150362 A1: Zhang et al. teaches a processing unit to store weight data in a plurality of banks and using the data to perform partial dot products, in which the data is referenced to using bank internal indices (see Figs. 7 and 8B)
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2183
/David J. Huisman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183