DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/30/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 2 & 3b the elements 1041, 103, 1042, 1043, & 1044 have the same shading as element bp2. It is unclear as to how the elements 1041, 1042, 1043, 1044, 103, & bp2 are placed relative to each other. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, & 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saitou et al. (US 20080204619).
As to claim 1, Saitou discloses a display panel [abstract & figs. 1, 5-6, & 7-8], comprising:
a substrate (tft substrate 21) [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 47 & 67] a peripheral area (area outside effective screen 2) [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 47 & 67] and a display area (effective screen 2) [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 47 & 67] adjacent to each other, the display area provided with a plurality of pixel units (pixels 14) [figs. 1 & 7 & para. 49 & 67];
a gate driving unit (gate driver circuit 5) [figs. 1 & 7 & para. 47 & 67] provided in the peripheral area;
a connection unit (scanning signal lines 7 extending from gate driver circuit 5 to pixel 14 of effective screen 2) [figs. 1 & 7 & para. 47, 49, & 67] provided between the gate driving unit and the display area, and electrically connected to the gate driving unit and the plurality of pixel units [figs. 1 & 7 & para. 47, 49, & 67]; and
a shielding unit (static charge shield conductive film 60 & static charge shield conductive film 71) [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 59-68] provided on the connection unit;
wherein a projection area of the connection unit on the substrate corresponds to a projection area of the shielding unit on the substrate [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 59-68], and the shielding unit is electrically connected to a fixed potential [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 61-62 & 65-68]; and
the shielding unit comprises a first portion and a second portion, the second portion covers the connection unit (first portion corresponding to top portion of static charge shield conductive film 60 corresponding to left gate driver circuit 5 & second portion corresponding to bottom portion of static charge shield conductive film 60 corresponding to left gate driver circuit 5) [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 59-68] and comprises a second transparent conductive layer (ITO is used for forming the static charge shield conductive film 60) [para. 60 & 67], and the first portion is connected to the second portion [top portion of static charge shield conductive film 60 corresponding to left gate driver circuit 5 & bottom portion of static charge shield conductive film 60 corresponding to left gate driver circuit 5 form static charge shield conductive film 60 corresponding to left gate driver circuit 5].
As to claim 3, Saitou discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel units include a first number of rows of pixel units, the connection unit includes a second number of connection structures, the second number is matched with the first number, and each connection structure is connected to one row of pixel units (scanning signal lines 7 interleaved) [figs. 1 & 7].
As to claim 4, Saitou discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the gate driving unit has a first gate driving circuit located on one side of the display area (left gate driver circuit 5) [figs. 1 & 7 & para. 47 & 67], and a second gate driving circuit (right gate driver circuit 5) [figs. 1 & 7 & para. 47 & 67] located on the other side of the display area.
As to claim 6, Saitou discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first portion is connected to a conductive layer of the peripheral area (both static charge shield conductive film 60 connected to fixed potential) [figs. 1 & 5-8 & para. 59-68], and the first portion comprises a first transparent conductive layer (ITO is used for forming the static charge shield conductive film 60) [para. 60 & 67].
As to claim 7, Saitou discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the shielding unit (static charge shield conductive film 71 conducted with static charge shield conductive film 60) [fig. 8] has a first end (right end of static charge shield conductive film 71) [fig. 8] and a second end (left end of static charge shield conductive film 71) [fig. 8] opposite to each other, the first end is close to the display area, the second end is close to the gate driving unit (left end of static charge shield conductive film 71) [fig. 8], and the first end extends towards the display area and goes beyond the connection unit (right end of static charge shield conductive film 71 extended towards display area going beyond connection unit in horizontal direction) [fig. 8].
As to claim 8, Saitou discloses the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the second end is electrically connected to a conductive layer of the peripheral area (both static charge shield conductive film 60 connected to fixed potential) [para. 59-68].
As to claim 9, Saitou discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the fixed potential is a low potential [figs. 5-8 & para. 61-62 & 65-68].
As to claim 10, Saitou discloses the display panel according to claim 9, wherein the low potential is earth potential or common potential [figs. 5-8 & para. 61-62 & 65-68].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saitou, in view of Kikuchi et al. (US 20190333461).
As to claim 2, Saitou teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the connection unit is electrically connected to a first metal layer in the plurality of pixel unit (gate electrode 44 of pixel unit 44 is simultaneously formed with scanning signal line 7) [para. 55].
Saitou does not explicitly teach wherein the connection unit is electrically connected to a first metal layer in the plurality of pixel unit and a second metal layer in the gate driving unit.
Kikuchi teaches the concept of a display panel [abstract & fig. 1], wherein a connection unit (first conductive layer 14 corresponding to gate wiring line gl) [figs. 1, 11d & 15-17 & para. 141-145] is electrically connected to a first metal layer in a plurality of pixel unit (gate electrode 2p formed on same layer as gate wiring line gl) [figs. 16-17 & 11d & para. 95-97] and a second metal layer (second conductive layer 15) [figs. 1, 11d & 15-17 & para. 141-145] in a gate driving unit (gdm circuit 40) [figs. 15-17 & para. 141-145 & 287].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection unit of the display panel of Saitou, such that the connection unit is electrically connected to a first metal layer in the plurality of pixel unit and a second metal layer in the gate driving unit, as taught by Kikuchi to improve the durability of the display panel of Saitou, as taught by Kikuchi [para. 145].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saitou, in view of Ka et al. (US 20180226467).
As to claim 5, Saitou teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the connection unit comprises a first conductive layer (gate electrode 44 of pixel unit 44 is simultaneously formed with scanning signal line 7) [para. 55].
Saitou does not explicitly teach wherein the connection unit comprises a first transparent conductive layer.
Ka teaches the concept of a display panel [abstract], wherein a connection unit (scan lines formed of ito) [para. 140] comprises a first transparent conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first transparent conductive layer of the connection unit of the display panel of Saitou, such that the first conductive layer is a first transparent conductive layer, as taught by Ka, to improve image quality by reducing the noticeability of the connection units, as one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12406636. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
Claims of Instant Application
Claims of US patent 12406636
1
1 & 6
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
7
7
1 & 6
8
8
9
9
10
10
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koo et al. (US 20150205154).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622